Parent reviews for The OA

Common Sense says

Strange, supernatural sci-fi series has disturbing content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 19 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 11 reviews
Adult Written bySadman December 20, 2016

Sex scenes ruin it

Someday Netflix will realize that not every show has to have explicit sex scenes. But sadly The OA isn't one of them. The sex meter should be at max and the age limit should be set for 18+. Like all Netflix shows. Biggest disappointment here is that this show comes from Brit Marling whose work I've admired in the past and who usually shows restraint.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byHannah M. May 16, 2019

DISGUSTING

Was enthralled with the story until, inevitably.... like any Netflix original, they had to ruin it with a borderline pornographic sex scene that had absolutely no warning in the first episode. I’m completely disgusted that there was no warning or label warning about graphic sexual content.
I’m a 23 year old married female and completely devastated that this kind of non- affectionate, graphic and crude sex is what people are watching these days.
I don’t recommend to anyone, ESPECIALLY teens or children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJoelle Z. October 1, 2018

Was enthralled until a GRAPHIC sex scene

I am absolutely stunned. I watched about 20 minutes of this show and I was very interested: it's mysterious and has a relatively darker, Stranger Things vibe. But about 15 minutes in, a sex scene came out of NOWHERE, with absolutely no context. When I say sex scene, I mean nudity, exposed breasts, obvious sexual acts, and pretty much every option away from actually showing it. I literally jumped and had to look away to pause and exit Netflix. I am disgusted that there was NO warning and NO context to the explicit scene. I am 19 years old and I am embarrassed by what I just watched. I'm completely disappointed as well, the show looked really interesting but there's no way I'm risking coming across that again. Thanks for that Netflix. Do not for the love of all things pure let your kids watch this.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byWebbhead2 June 3, 2019

Whoa nooo.. For adults

Within the first 20 min teenagers are very obviously having sex and oral sex.
It's a great message as to how much society has changed for the worse.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 5 and 9-year-old Written byANVP May 5, 2019

sudden sex scene

opening scene left some to be desired with directing. Concept of the mystery ok. Sudden onset of nudity and sex 15 min in with no warning. No thanks.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bykristinw3 May 21, 2017

I'm liberal with media, and this is bad

I'm generally more open about media when it comes to me watching it. My husband as I enjoyed the main actress I another movie and so we watched this show. Maybe 15 minutes in and super gratuitous sex scene with teenagers... they didn't "show " anything and yet showed everything. I trusted the review of Common Sense Media... we will no longer be doing that.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDebbie A. March 2, 2017

Completely inappropriate

I wish there were a recommendation higher than 18 and up. I won't watch this at all let alone with my 18 year old son. First episode has a filthy graphic sex scene. There is no lead in of affection that implies a sex scene is coming for those who may want to turn it off. Very explicit actions are suddenly in your face. I don't want to watch a crude unmarried hookup with vulgar language with even my adult children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byrobertsceer August 1, 2019

Why oh why must you kill it with sex and language?

Yes one day not only Netflix, but all film makers will understand how graphic sex and unsavory language destroys a potentially fabulous viewing experience. I wanted to watch this with my young adult children. Season 2 was even worse. The language!!! I like the mystery, creativity and the quest for justice. However, there is no explanation for the extreme scenes of sexual content and the offensive language. The creators are cutting away a good chunk of the viewing public.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byShharc02 July 14, 2019

Beware, Borderline Porn Scene right in the Beginning

I am super disappointed that Netflix keeps sneaking explicit sex scenes into movies that, otherwise, could have been good films. I do not need to see a woman and man having sex from behind as her breasts, both fully visible, bounce up and down as he thrusts from the back. Adults should only be watching this movie and even then, if you are not into "soft porn" as it is called, this is not the movie for you.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAngel G. N. January 1, 2018

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byRoger K. December 24, 2016

Highly engaging.

While the entire ensemble produces a rich and provocative tale with wonderful speculations on the afterlife and the fabric of the universe, there are gratuitous sex scenes that could have been hinted at with all the same effect.

Instead what we get is added sex scenes of a magnitude that simply weren't necessary.

I'd go no lower than age 16, and a mature 16 at that.

Still a splendid tale.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 15-year-old Written byMr. D. December 20, 2016

Well done but not for teens or kids! Graphic sex from the first episode.

Early on in the first episode is graphic sex scene that also include pretty graphic oral. Was surprised and caught off guard by it. Definitely a hard R rated program. The sex should be a 5 star on this...not 4. A lot of comparisons were made to stranger things...aside from the fact that it is trippy and mysterious, TOTALLY different market on this one.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bydfilmpro December 13, 2019

Do better Commonsensemedia!

Garbage, thanks for the heads up CSM. I shouldn’t have to read every other review to find out there’s pornography in the very first episode. Was about to switch it off when I got assaulted with it. What a waste of talent and a deplorable excuse for entertainment. A good case for cancelling Netflix over. This site is useless from “the experts".. What parent thinks it’s a good idea to let a 16 year old girl watch this?

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byLlamaLogic152 March 27, 2019
The OA is a beautifully directed show with some very important and thought provoking themes. Some may say that the show has too much sex or violence, but I would disagree saying that it doesn’t have more than what children are already exposed to everyday throughout media usage. The OA presents messages of self made families and of hope in a very unique and authentic way. Along with this the story telling of the show is able to draw you in and it keeps you wondering what will happen next. Although the reviews for this show are not all positive I recommend that you open your mind to the messages of this show and try to give it a chance.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bywolf214wolf March 25, 2019

really good show, but not for the smallest

The show is put out very well, maybe not for everyone. If you like it, you'll love it. Yes, it contains some nudity but teens are used to that these days, I mean if you open the internet adult videos are probably the easiest to find. Language wise, the show is not more than what most people are used too.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written by543law March 23, 2019

The OA

The best to show ever

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byKandas March 22, 2019

Keeps a persons mind thinking

I love this show. It’s away from the normal crap most series are about and it keeps a person thinking and at some points on the edge of my seat. The actors are amazing and do a great job keeping a person entertained. The sex scenes are pretty much what every show is showing nowadays so I wasn’t surprised or offended. It just made the show that much more real!! I pray they keep the series going.
I don’t watch much for Netflix series BUT this one I’m addicted too. Well done! ❤️
Adult Written byYeet_or_be_Yeeted November 29, 2018

Promising, gets weird, oh maybe this is cool... nope, the heck

Concept: Interesting.
Acting: Pretty Good
Nudity: Yes, but why?
Science: Is it really
Fiction: Butterfly? Magic lady person in dreams
Plot: I thought I knew what was happening but turns out I don't
Questions: Is that Phylis from The Office?
Conclusion: Have you ever seen Pumped Up Kicks music video?
Parent Written byMatt H. January 8, 2017

Important work

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models