All parent member reviews for The Real World

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bySamanthamaster1 November 20, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

25+ IF you wan't to watch this pure garbage.

I absolutely HATE this show, because, it has all the bad stuff that's not healthy for young kids under 25 to see and hear, way too much sexual content/sexual innuendo, too much swearing, too much partying/drinking, and, too much violence. I don't blame the kids on the show, because, they're still young themselves, they're under 25 as well (most of them are under 21), I blame MTV, the producers of this show, and the entertainment industry for having these young kids on this dangerous show, showing negative behavior, and, targeting at youth ages 12 - 24. I don't recommend this show for anybody at all, but, especially for children under 25, because, cognitive development doesn't end until the age of 25, this show will profoundly damage a child's cognitive development. I'm 21 and I hate that children my age/generation like this show, i'd rather have them watch teletubbies (a show even a 2 year old is too old for) before this horrible show. I'm so above this junk or any other junk on MTV. We should call this show "The Fake World", this show is FAR from real. This is why there are so many troubled kids out today, because, of all this junk media, they have to be learning it from somewhere. Children of any age imitate what they see on TV, because, they're young and impressible. When I say children, a child to me is anyone under 25 years of age, because, of cognitive development. This is the worst show in the world besides The Walking Dead. Just the opening theme alone "Stop being polite and get real", that already teaches our youth to rebel against authority. I would NEVER watch this trash even if it was the last show on earth. Trust me, there are a lot of bad reality shows out there such as Jersey Shore and The Bad Girls Club, but, this show is the absolute WORST reality show ever, even worse than BOTH Jersey Shore and The Bad Girls Club combined and those are another two poor quality shows. I know there's always been troubled kids, but, now-a-days, it's an epidemic and I blame junk media like this very low class show. Unfortunately, even though this targets at children ages 12 - 24, but, I think it would mostly appeal to children ages 18 - 20, because, those are the first three years where society expects them to be independent and they're children seeing other children around their age and they will just think that's how 18 - 20 year old's act and that's not true. Even when I was 18, I hated this show, hated it at 18 and still hate it now at 21. Even though the cast members can range from ages 18 - 24, but, I think most of them are only from ages 18 - 20. Children younger than 25 shouldn't either be on The Real World or even watching it. No offense to the kids who like this show, i'm just giving my honest opinion about The Real World.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byashsum April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byM&M1995 July 28, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

MTV's social experiment has grown stale over the years.

When The Real World began its run on MTV in 1992, the idea of putting 7-8 twentysomething strangers under one roof and watching them interact with one another was entertaining. Now in its 30th season, the reality television giant is no longer fun or inspirational. At one point, The Real World was known for casting your average, authentic person, and some of the stories they shared and their personal experiences were heartbreaking and many people could relate to their situation. The cast members used to get jobs while on the show and contribute to charity work. Nowadays, things have changed. The show casts attractive models and actors who are only looking to go on The Real World to have a good time, party, have sex, and apparently "find out who they are" in the middle of it all. The recent seasons have established "twists" which modify the original premise of the show. For example, Season 29 was named "Ex-Plosion": the housemates discover halfway through the season that their former lovers will move in with them and disturb their already formed relationships. The current season, Season 30, is called "Skeletons": the cast members get weekly visits from people from their pasts that they would rather forget about (such as former flames, ex-friends, bullies, horrible bosses, and estranged relatives). As one can expect, The Real World is jam-packed with drama, and pointless confrontations almost always ensue, with a healthy dose of "f*ck", "bitch," "whore," "d*ck," "bastard," "a**hole," and more. Some cast members get violent and are kicked off the show. For example, during the 2011 Las Vegas season, cast member Adam Michael Royer was kicked out of The Real World house for trashing the hotel room, throwing and knocking furniture, and getting close to hitting fellow female cast member Nany Gonzalez in a drunken rampage. In the 2013 Portland season, Nia Moore got physical with many of the cast members, including Jordan, Averey, and Johnny, culminating into a hair-pulling, fist-throwing brawl. In the end, Nia stayed in the house after a shocking house vote that was in favour of keeping her, even after the problems she caused. In addition to fighting, sex is another large component of the show. One night stands, drunken hook-ups, threesomes, and infidelity are all common. The 2009 Cancun season, for instance, was filled with a surprising amount of sexual escapades. Most seasons have an LGBT cast member, and discussions about coming out and homosexuality cannot be avoided. The cast members discuss and engage in promiscuity. There is your typical kissing and flirting, as well as on-screen sex, and hot tub actions is practically a series staple, at times making viewing a little uncomfortable even for the most mature individuals. Drunken antics sometimes involve nudity (although sensitive parts are blurred out) and same-sex romance. The cast members visit sex shops and strip clubs. Discussion about sex toys, pregnancy, virginity, and references to masturbation are not unheard of. The cast goes out clubbing in the majority of episodes, and are seen drinking alcohol, dressing and dancing suggestively, smoking, and behaving sloppily. Some cast members have alcohol/drug addictions which are discussed in length and make for storylines. Finally, Subway restaurants are blatantly promoted, as are other locations that the cast members visit. Teens might find it amusing watching The Real World and laughing at the immature behaviour of its cast members, but other than that there is no substance to the show that was once a decent social experiment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2, 10, and 16 year old Written bymeanestmomevr March 26, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A train wreck in the making

I hate to love this show. But I can't turn away from the train wreck. Would not let my kids watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 August 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

MATURE teens only not for kids!

This show is inappropriate for children. There are fights galore and the cussing is REALLY BAD!! Words are bleeped but you know what there saying. Most people are immature and whiny they act 12 instead of 21. This show makes kids think that this is how real adults should act, but thats farther than the truth.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysunny46 March 27, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byYBNormal January 7, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byBlueIce6102 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good for older teens, with solid minds.

Most 8th and 9th graders in public schools know abotu everything mentioned on the show. The issue is do they have the solid minds to decide, hey thats bad. If you think your kid wont be influenced to go and have sex with 3 people in 1 night, go ahead let them watch it.
Adult Written byladidanz April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

For a MTV Generation

Since the cast members are 18-25, the show is appropriate for those ages, and mature teenagers. Social issues like aneroxia, alcoholism, and gay stereotypes are addressed in a good way, and the show can be a used as a tool to talk to teens about these issues.
Adult Written bykadmarco April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

If you want a soft porn on tv then this is perfect.

I saw the first episode and it began like this. They all got togethter in the house. ONe girl whined about there not being a gay guy. A black babtist found the gay guy(there's always a gay guy in the house) and he said "I think it's wrong that your gay". Then they all went out partying. There was a threesome kiss, smacking eachother's buts, etc. They got home and one of the girls wanted to have a "sleepover" with another guy. He said he'd be up in 20 minutes but he ended up making out with another girl and it actually showed about 5 minutes of making out.(oh and they were all drunk as heck). The episode continues like that. How is this the real world? IT's just a bunch of rich, horny, teens.