All parent member reviews for The Simpsons

Parents say

(out of 133 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written bywillweber July 8, 2009
 

Not as bad as Family Guy

Most episodes of this show are O.K. for kids to watch, unless you worry about Homer's frequent alcohol consumption. Some episodes have mildy sexual content, so watch out. About the bad language, however, from what I can tell, my 12 year old son hears worse in middle school than this show ever utters. One last note; although Bart can be a bad role model, most of his stunts would be impossible for your child to repeat, so I wouldn't worry too much.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 15, 2012
 

Very good.

This is a great show! It is really funny.It never fails to make me laugh!
Parent of a 17 year old Written byastrictparent May 29, 2013
 

NOT APPROPRIATE AT ALL!

Ok. It is seriously NOT FOR KIDS because this show is very inapporpraite. I cannot believe you'd let your 9 year old son watch this. Definately not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byANRAVEL April 9, 2008
Adult Written bygloobadude April 9, 2008
 

Thats it! Its rated PG!

The Simpsons, first off, is not 14! It is PG, some, I think around 7 or 9, are rated 14, but the whole show is mostly PG! The Simpsons has some stuff that parents might find inappropriate... for 4 year olds! Okay, sorry, there might be some stuff that might be found inappropriate but I've watched this since I was a baby, litterally! (Yes I faked my age) Some sex is included, but its mostly in the newer season. It's not that bad, and most of it is just, well, not bad. And sex is part of nature, why not get a head start! (Just kidding, but its really not that bad) Now language, thats a different story. They say the h word, a word, d word, and somtimes the b word. They swear in every episode, but it's not like that many bad words are there much, but they cuss every episode. Now violience is just like a regular cartoon, except blood apears somtimes. Overall Simpsons is a great show everyone should watch.
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
 

Hilarious

This is a great TV show... one of my all time favorites I really wouldnt be conserned about your kids watching this
Parent Written bybatmansuperman March 16, 2013
 

Not the best choice.

Lots of sex and violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 3, 2012
 

simpson show

simpsons is a funny animated comedy that never gets old!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bybabymonkee May 6, 2014
 

The Simpsons

A very funny show for the family, Homer does drink beer loads and does some pretty stupid stuff when he is drunk!The Itchy and Scratchty Show is gross,parents will need to tell younger viewers that its not real(especially if their cat lovers!)My dad (Big) thinks that the simpsons is the best TV show ever ! little (9)
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySomeperson1234567890 April 16, 2013
 

Best Cartoon of our Time

Best show since the Flintstones
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 8, 10, and 14 year old Written byIamASafeOne April 7, 2013
 

SIMPSOOOOOOONNNNSSS

RATING FOR MY KIDS: There is heavy drinking, language, and violence (guns, slapstick) so it's inappropriate. I change it when my 8 year old is around, I change it when my 10 year old is around (sometimes she goes in the other room and watches it) and I leave it on for my 14 year old. RATING FOR MYSELF: it's funny and CSM is right, everyone does get along. It's an entertaining cartoon about a family. It's very wacky and creative sometimes relative. I like the character personalities and the jokes in this. It appeals all of my family. I'm glad this cartoon never ended. Some good morals too!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBlakeMontgomery July 6, 2012
 

Old Style Humor.Ok for Mature Tweens.

Lets review the characters Homer-He is a drunk alcoholic,Who usually is unfair between his kids.He acts like he likes lisa more than Bart.Which leads him to strangling Bart. Marge-Probally the most common sensed character.She is fair between her kids,loves her hhusband,but yet crazy at times. Bart-He is the bad rebel,Who gets in trouble at school,Disrespects his dad like there is no tommorow and usually ends up into chaos. Lisa-The only thing Lisa wants is the best for her family.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byIgnisMidnight September 10, 2011
 

Close But No Cigar

I have been watching this show ever since i can remember, but far as i can tell my parents don't really care what i watch so i guess i have to make the judgement myself. The Simpsons contains elements that most young children wouldn't get, and language they may repeat in school, not knowing it's not okay. They have drinking show in every episode and a hell-raising 10 year old on some episodes in school. The Language is common But in some episodes it's worsen with those would be TV 14. Though not as bad as south park they did do a episode that resembled it. I can fairly say this show it appropriate from the more intelligent 10 year old and up +
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 year old Written bycone March 12, 2011
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDuncanDerund May 10, 2014
 

The Simpsons

This tv show is a great animated classic. First with the language. There are some uses of d*mn h**l s**t. The only extreme curse that I heard is from when Bart figures out a mystery and steps on the suspect's Foot and says "F**k you you s**ty Bart Simpson. There are some references to being gay like in one episode that has a gay parade with lesbian sexual innuendo. Characters refer to butt as a*s and there are some women who sometimes show A quarter of their bra open. They show Homer in the bed with Marge and they even when extreme in one episode where they have a sex scene in the bed with no nudity. Now drugs Homer goes to Moe's pub a lot and he drinks alcohol. One episode has Bart drunk and Homer and him make their own beer illegally. One episode goes as far as cocaine. Violence has a little bit of gore and Homer sometimes smokes and he has a taser to shock his cigar. There is blood in some episodes Bart plays crime video games which include guns and blood. In one episode a teenage bully goes extreme when he tries to shoot Homer in the head. There is some crime behavior when Homer downloads illegally and he gets arrested when he goes to jail there are references to death metal and how they remind them about Death. There is some consumerism about movies like the Hunger Games being Survival Games which is Actually a spoof. This is a great TV show for young Tweens and teenagers.
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byLuisionPinchLopans February 2, 2014
 

It's Pretty Good

The Simpsons what can I say it is a good show but it's not the best show ever. But, there are some mature plots in this show that kids might not get but older people will get this show is apporiate for 7 years and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byCoolkidz January 21, 2013
 

pure simpson

the simpsons is not a adult show theres very little swear words and when there is its minor. kids of age 8should know not to look to any of the carectors(bart and homer in particular) as role models. the sexual content is not to strong. plus most ephsodes are rated tv pg anyways.so in conclusion the simpsons is a great show that is kid apropite
Parent Written byRoznar July 27, 2012
 

A great cartoon, but not for kids

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytreat02 February 17, 2012
 

the best!

this is my fave. my ten year old and i love watching this. i know that i recommend. it is amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by@@@ December 16, 2011
 

REALLY overrated.

"Family Guy" and "The Big Bang Theory" are television programs tens of thousands of times funnier than this pathetic excuse for a comedy. "The Simpsons" is always my last resort when I have nothing to do. It's painfully boring, but children will possibly like it, as around 95 percent of the humour is aimed at people 5 and older. Still, "The Simsons" is the third best show on television, which shows just how terrible that industry is.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages