All parent member reviews for The Simpsons

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 120 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written bywillweber July 8, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as Family Guy

Most episodes of this show are O.K. for kids to watch, unless you worry about Homer's frequent alcohol consumption. Some episodes have mildy sexual content, so watch out. About the bad language, however, from what I can tell, my 12 year old son hears worse in middle school than this show ever utters. One last note; although Bart can be a bad role model, most of his stunts would be impossible for your child to repeat, so I wouldn't worry too much.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written byastrictparent May 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT APPROPRIATE AT ALL!

Ok. It is seriously NOT FOR KIDS because this show is very inapporpraite. I cannot believe you'd let your 9 year old son watch this. Definately not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 15, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Very good.

This is a great show! It is really funny.It never fails to make me laugh!
Adult Written byANRAVEL April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjoekabyemela April 14, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

the simpsons

this is a very good show and its suitable for all kids its a family show
Parent Written bybatmansuperman March 16, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not the best choice.

Lots of sex and violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 3, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

simpson show

simpsons is a funny animated comedy that never gets old!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Hilarious

This is a great TV show... one of my all time favorites I really wouldnt be conserned about your kids watching this
Adult Written bygloobadude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Thats it! Its rated PG!

The Simpsons, first off, is not 14! It is PG, some, I think around 7 or 9, are rated 14, but the whole show is mostly PG! The Simpsons has some stuff that parents might find inappropriate... for 4 year olds! Okay, sorry, there might be some stuff that might be found inappropriate but I've watched this since I was a baby, litterally! (Yes I faked my age) Some sex is included, but its mostly in the newer season. It's not that bad, and most of it is just, well, not bad. And sex is part of nature, why not get a head start! (Just kidding, but its really not that bad) Now language, thats a different story. They say the h word, a word, d word, and somtimes the b word. They swear in every episode, but it's not like that many bad words are there much, but they cuss every episode. Now violience is just like a regular cartoon, except blood apears somtimes. Overall Simpsons is a great show everyone should watch.
Parent Written bySomeperson1234567890 April 16, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Best Cartoon of our Time

Best show since the Flintstones
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 8, 10, and 14 year old Written byIamASafeOne April 7, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

SIMPSOOOOOOONNNNSSS

RATING FOR MY KIDS: There is heavy drinking, language, and violence (guns, slapstick) so it's inappropriate. I change it when my 8 year old is around, I change it when my 10 year old is around (sometimes she goes in the other room and watches it) and I leave it on for my 14 year old. RATING FOR MYSELF: it's funny and CSM is right, everyone does get along. It's an entertaining cartoon about a family. It's very wacky and creative sometimes relative. I like the character personalities and the jokes in this. It appeals all of my family. I'm glad this cartoon never ended. Some good morals too!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBlakeMontgomery July 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Old Style Humor.Ok for Mature Tweens.

Lets review the characters Homer-He is a drunk alcoholic,Who usually is unfair between his kids.He acts like he likes lisa more than Bart.Which leads him to strangling Bart. Marge-Probally the most common sensed character.She is fair between her kids,loves her hhusband,but yet crazy at times. Bart-He is the bad rebel,Who gets in trouble at school,Disrespects his dad like there is no tommorow and usually ends up into chaos. Lisa-The only thing Lisa wants is the best for her family.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byIgnisMidnight September 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Close But No Cigar

I have been watching this show ever since i can remember, but far as i can tell my parents don't really care what i watch so i guess i have to make the judgement myself. The Simpsons contains elements that most young children wouldn't get, and language they may repeat in school, not knowing it's not okay. They have drinking show in every episode and a hell-raising 10 year old on some episodes in school. The Language is common But in some episodes it's worsen with those would be TV 14. Though not as bad as south park they did do a episode that resembled it. I can fairly say this show it appropriate from the more intelligent 10 year old and up +
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 year old Written bycone March 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byCoolkidz January 21, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

pure simpson

the simpsons is not a adult show theres very little swear words and when there is its minor. kids of age 8should know not to look to any of the carectors(bart and homer in particular) as role models. the sexual content is not to strong. plus most ephsodes are rated tv pg anyways.so in conclusion the simpsons is a great show that is kid apropite
Parent Written byRoznar July 27, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A great cartoon, but not for kids

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytreat02 February 17, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

the best!

this is my fave. my ten year old and i love watching this. i know that i recommend. it is amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by@@@ December 16, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

REALLY overrated.

"Family Guy" and "The Big Bang Theory" are television programs tens of thousands of times funnier than this pathetic excuse for a comedy. "The Simpsons" is always my last resort when I have nothing to do. It's painfully boring, but children will possibly like it, as around 95 percent of the humour is aimed at people 5 and older. Still, "The Simsons" is the third best show on television, which shows just how terrible that industry is.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, 10, 10, and 17 year old Written byCharlie The Cat November 16, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

WRONG

Ages 2-5 Off Ages 6-15 Iffy Ages 16+ On. So those 6+ Admitted but not Recommended for Under 16. CSM It's rated TV-PG some episodes are rated TV-14
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byThatKrazyGuy March 29, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A Classic Since 1989!

The Simpsons is rated TV-PG for mild language, adult humor, mild sexual content, and some violence.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models

Pages