Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan

Common Sense says

Violent political thriller hits marks but lacks nuance.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 18+
Based on 24 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 3 reviews
Adult Written byMartinMomma September 1, 2018

Great action but graphic sex and language

My husband and I were looking forward to this action triller for months. But as is the trend with all Amazon Prime, Netflix and Hulu series this was graphic with sex selcenes and language. We wish it had been done by a network so it had less language and nudity.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byruprayn September 3, 2018

Graphic sex

Be careful of this one parents - there is graphic (really pornographic) sex depicted with female nudity. I believe episode 3. So cringeworthy because it was unnecessary and had little to do with the plot. Not suprisured Netflix - just disappointed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 8 year old Written byLahmoran September 2, 2018

High in entertainment but graphic and gratuitous

The shows are extremely entertaining, action-packed, and thrilling. However, lots of language: lots of the f word and gds here and there. There is also female nudity: breast and back side.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bycoffeebee September 3, 2018

Good action

Good action and intriguing plot, but quite a bit of graphic sex and language. Had they toned those down it would be well-worth recommending.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written bySeattle Mom September 7, 2018

NOT for kids - CSM misssed the boat with their review of this one

It’s constantly annoying to me how the peoples who produce entertainment don’t give a rats-a#! what they expose kids to. We all know kids are going to be watching a lot more than we want them to on when we’re not looking. This is a prime example of gratuitious sex (and plenty of violence) being added where they are absolutely not needed. Your kid does not need to learn about adult kinks this early in life. Not family viewing. The fact that it’s one more show that paints brown people as underground terrorists is another reason to skip it. BTW, CommonSenseMedia’s reviewer missed the boat calling this one age-16 viewing. Some female nudity is not the same as adults with real messed up habits that kids are better off not knowing about.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bySharnaPauly September 11, 2018

Amazon Ruined Jack Ryan franchise

The Jack Ryan franchise has always been associated with a character of integrity. None of the Jack Ryan movies included nudity. As far as I am concerned it is not fit for any age. The second episode was enough for me to stop and read reviews. After reading of the perverse, gratuitous scene in episode three I decided not to watch the series! They ruined it! Why do these producers who claim to support “me too,” stand against sex trafficking and support women’s rights continue to promote nudity degrading women through film?

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byKT_D September 12, 2018

Pornographic, but otherwise entertaining

Disappointing is the only word I can think of to describe this series. My husband and I were enjoying the storyline and suspense. We are also fans of John Krasicki. However, there started to be nudity in every episode and gratuitous nudity at that. Sex scenes that were unnecessary and obviously intended to get ratings. Some that just honestly grossed us both out. I would love it if there were quality shows that didn't include this type of thing. Violence was to be expected with this type of storyline, but not the nudity.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 14 year old Written bynwfinfan September 15, 2018

Good but was not going to continue if 1 more sex scene

I enjoyed the show and really like John K but was extremely disappointed in the amount of sexual items and one i would list as pornographic. Sorry but i dont get it at all that fake sex is so shoved in our facea now days. The language was pretty bad as well. Other than that i enjoyed the show but i would never personally recommend it but would not judge anyone that did either. Definitely not for kids or families.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byWdboudreaux September 18, 2018

Good plot, until graphic sex scenes

I was really excited about this series and the pilot episode was good. The 2nd had to add in sex with backside nudity but then, the 3rd episode was when I shut it off. I was disappointed to see the show going so far with the nudity and making the scene closely X rated. Seemed like it was going to be interesting but I won’t watch such filth, sorry. (Not sorry)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byAlucardD20 September 2, 2018

Great Show, a nice reboot and look at Jack Ryan

So this really doesn't follow any of the books, because really it can't as most of the stuff for Ryan was in the '80s or earlier. Sure they could have adapted Ryan Jr, stories I guess, but they didn't. The creators decided to take the elements of how Clancy would have written Ryan, but in a modern taken. There is some sexual scenes not appropriate for children as the women bare their breasts, maybe not needed... but we got it. Just be aware if you have younger ones watching with you. The story otherwise is amazing as it shows how Ryan deals with PTSD and becoming our hero when all he wants to do is be an analyst for the CIA.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bySouma September 1, 2018

Plot

Graphic...PG Or 17+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byFlightDeckPhoto October 5, 2018

Pure Porn

Great series...UNTILL. Why did they have to insert gratuitous porn starting at episode 3? This seems to be an unwritten law now: stuff produced by Netflix or Amazon MUST include porn and non-stop F-words. This is the third Amazon-produced offering we've tried, and they were all bathed in filth. We have just given up trying. No more for us. Are there really that many jaded desensitized viewers out there?

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byLeaper September 10, 2018

Lots of profanity, sex & nudity, mediocre acting

I was a little surprised when I watched this at the amount of profanity, sex, simulated sex and nudity but I could have over looked it if the acting was better and the plot line better written. I was impressed with Krasinski in "The Office" "13 Hours" and "The Quiet Place" but in this his acting is mediocre at best and the other actors are equally as bad. My family was really looking forward to this and were very disappointed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byAnjt1998 October 7, 2018

Spoiled by Unnecessry Graphic Sex

Honestly, I’m just so frustrated. Took a really great book and movie line, and added unnecessary graphic sex and nudity to this show which just spoiled it. And as a heads up - this occurs starting in the third episode. The story line is strong, acting good - adding that in just alienates a significant portion of the viewing public and made the show uncomfortable to watch.. Disappointing.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMagdymama September 9, 2018

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byTC_JJW December 17, 2018

gratuitous violence and sex

I love the Jack Ryan character from the books and love John K which makes this series so disappointing and upsetting. Some episodes barely feature him, rather they are filled with horrific and unnecessary scenes of just gratuitous violence and violent sex acts. I tried but am done and so is my husband.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bydragonwolf December 29, 2018

Disappointed by sex and language

Disappointed that they ruined this series with unnecessary sex scenes and vulgar language.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bystewbets January 10, 2019

Pure Filth

Loved the pilot episode. Could have done without the excessive language, but I was willing to look past that. However, my wife and are were not willing to put up with the gratuitous sex and pornography they chose to introduce in the next couple episodes. We will not finish the series because of this. This is garbage that no one of any age should be watching.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJDiesel December 30, 2018

Unnecessary Gratuitous Sex and Language!

NOT FOR FAMILIES! Love Tom Clancy's character, Jack Ryan. However, Amazon has reduced this franchise to trash. Nothing quite like settling in with your young teenage son, who is also a Clancy fan, to watch Jack Ryan take on America's enemies, to instead by blindsided by PORN! Common Sense better revise their reviews, particularly concerning Episode 3, which is where the series ended for me.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bycbert December 29, 2018

Good Storyline- Too Much Sex

I hope other parents will take the time to read these reviews before watching this show with their teenagers... I was looking forward to watching this show because I'm a fan of John Krasinski and I thought the action and plot would appeal to my whole family. I was very disappointed, though, at the amount of unnecessary sex contained in the show. I will take the blame this time because I didn't check the rating before allowing my 14-year-old daughter to view the show with us. Now I see that it is rated TVMA, and for good reason. It is disappointing that it is so hard to find shows that we can watch with our 14 and 17-year-old. So many of the new TV shows, especially on the pay networks like Amazon Prime Video and Netflix, contain too much questionable content. I truly wish TV producers would find a way to tell these stories without adding extra sex scenes that are not necessary to the plot. There is a real need for quality family programming that is not geared toward little kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff

Pages