Parent reviews for True Blood

Common Sense says

Sexy, bloody vampire drama for adults only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 39 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 76 reviews
Adult Written byzee_rawr January 28, 2010

best for 13+

haha okay so im 13 and i wach this show, and i have not turned phsycotic, i am not demented or messed up because of it. i think the age 13 would be an okay age for kids to wach this. i love this show. i think that if you wach this show, you must also read the books because they compliment each other very well.

This title contains:

Language
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bychristian2011 January 4, 2013

Vampire TV series loaded with violence, sex and drugs. 18+

True Blood is definitely not like Twilight or other vampire teen-flicks related to that matter, because it has a reputation of being extremely high in terms of sexual content, violence, language and drug use. There are at least 1-2 sex scenes in every episode and most of them are very explicit included with graphic nudity, thrusting, penetration and climaxing (orgasms) strongly displayed. However, there's no genital or pubic region visible in the following scenes, but there's only 2 very brief scenes that slightly expose them. The violence that occurs between the vampires and humans is very bloody, gory and graphic, often ending with shocking and disturbing results. Whenever a vampire dies, they explode into a pile of blood and guts; scenes of graphic beheadings, shootings, disembowelments, sexual assault and more. Language is very strong and frequent (uses of f**k, sh*t, c**t, c**k, pr*ck, p*ssy, d**k, godd**n, and other crude and anatomical terms including racial slurs (n*gger, etc.). Drugs play a major role in this TV series as well, because the vampire blood is a drug to humans, which it also works as a hallucinogen and a viagra to those whom take it. True Blood is recommended to be viewed by adults only to the nearly countless gruesome and bloody deaths, pervasive strong language, explicit sexual content, nudity and graphic drug use. If your teenage child is extremely mature for his/her age and understands the negative impact and behavior of our current society, then True Blood might be a possible choice for them. Discuss the content to them before they watch it, for pre-caution.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bytwimom1967 November 19, 2009
Absolutely hate the show. I bought the season one serious because I needed to fill my twilight void. This show is NOTHING like the wonderful romance books in the Twilight Saga. All the women in the show are portrayed as dumb, sex objects. The acting is terrible. The so-called souther drawl they have is nothing like lousiana--i ought to know, I'm from Louisiana. The vampires are just plain evil and satanic rapists. I was totally turned off by this show and I'm getting a refund!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 13 year old Written byJenoi July 11, 2012

Vampire Eroticism not for Kids

I love this show, though I'm not sure why exactly, it's kind of dumb. The vampires are laughable, but there's lots of other good stuff in the show. That being said, it's definitely not for kids, there's tons of casual sex and I don't think it's healthy to expose teens with developing sexual appetites to vampiric eroticism.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byVirginia D. August 14, 2016

Addictive, Sexy Fantasy Drama

True Blood is a fantastic series, full of wonderful characters and an addictive plot line. What happens when vampires and other creatures begin to come out of the coffin? Characters are complex, colorful and often not entirely human, making for an interesting and fun series. Main themes involve tolerance, romance, family and friendship. Often themes also include backstabbing and betrayal, but also there are strong characters who truly love one another and take care of each other fiercely. Best suited for a mature audience however, it's full of sexual content, violence, language and a fair amount of drug use. Sexuality includes nude breasts and buttocks, realistic sex, orgasms and prostitution. Violence is more fantastical then realistic and includes a good amount of blood, when vampires die they explode as blood bags. Biting is often erotic and a part of sex, and vampire blood is considered a drug to humans. Drinking is a regular part of the show as one of the main stages is a bar. Marijuana is also used, although not frequently. Language is also strong and frequent, including all the colors of the rainbow. As the series progresses it becomes more outrageous and wacky but if you have a decent stomach, don't mind strong sexuality and language and enjoy an out there fantasy drama this show is wonderful and you're in for seven seasons of sexy, campy fun.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byDaniellemarie March 1, 2014

It's superb

Ok I must say true blood is graphic, but however it is a fantastic and addictive series and I think 14 and up are mature enough to understand what is going on and what they are talking about! Teens will love it because of the vampires and werewolves.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bypresley10 December 31, 2009

An ADULT show, Twilight for the 18 and ups

Very similar aspects to twilight, but much more hardcore. The sex and violence is raw and realistic, but a little bit too much at times - to the point of off-setting, discomfort, and raised brows, even to an experienced 17 year old. Enjoyed the show somewhat, but not for the acting or harsh depiction of southern attitude and thought process. The storyline and juicy episode-ending scene are what hook you for more. Not too much beneficial content at all though. My advice? keep the Twilight Tweeny boppers away from this one... This is the dark, inappropriate side of the New Moon.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBlackLodgeLife September 25, 2012

This show is not for children! 18+ ONLY!

Don't get me wrong, this show is great but.... True Blood is not a family show, it is nothing like Vampire Diaries or Twilight, Even as an adult I say that there is TOO MUCH sexual materiel. This show would be the best thing that ever happened to me if it were not for that. Do not let your children under 18 watch this show.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymileycyruse54 January 28, 2012

Great Show with lots of sex violence and language

True Blood is just another vampire show. I watched it with my 15 year old sister and when I started watching it I was 17 years old. 11 summers ago. I am now 28. This show I would definitely not let my 10 year old watch. She wanted to watch it so much with me but I wouldn't let her because of the violence,sexual content, and strong language. But I mean for a 13-14 year old it's not like you can't handle sexual content violence and language. It would be okay for 13-14 year olds. But definitely not anyone under the age of 13.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byHello2222 November 27, 2013

PLEASE READ PARENTS

There's not much is say about this movie all you need to know parents that there is strong violence Strong Graphic Language Drug Use Strong Graphic Sexual content and Graphic Nudity. And don't forget the gay Graphic sex. I would not let my mature 16 year old daughter watch this Graphic discussing Show. Now one under 18 should watch this series.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 7 and 11 year old Written bykikinymph August 10, 2009

Evaluate for your

I suggest that before you say yes or no to your children watching this show, a parent needs to see it first, and evaluate how it fits in with your child/ren and their understanding of the world. While my children are able to watch it, I wouldn't necessarily allow other children to watch it. I use the sex, violence, vampires, shape shifters, drug and alcohol usage, and most other potentially problematic issues as teaching moments and conversation starters. If you like Charlaine Harris' southern vampire stories, then this is for you, as it is based on that particular book series.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo July 23, 2012

Sexy Supernatural Show

Vampires. Sex. Werewolves. Sex. Violence. Sex. Witches. Sex. Demons and fairies. Did I mention sex. I'm talking Sex and the City sex scenes, just shy of soft porn. There is nothing left out of these movies. Lots of people die, and there's plenty of blood. This adaptation of the Sookie Stackhouse novels delivers and is pretty good. For any responsible parent, this is a poor choice for even the most mature teens. If you're letting your kids watch this series, then let them watch everything. You might as well.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 May 5, 2012

horrible

horror the characters put the whore in horror

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byfirstavenger11 February 12, 2012

True Blood

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byNeonKennedy November 19, 2011

Strongly recommended drama

Excellent series. not for people who get grossed out easily.
Adult Written bytylermiklos1995 January 15, 2012

GREAT (for adults 17 and up)

its a good show for adults

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLeela21 July 28, 2011

NOT FOR KIDS!!!!

This show I started watching last season, so I have a lot to catch up on, but I would say 17+ with the parent's consent. It is an adult show, not made for children or young teens. It is a grown up fantasy and fairytale, with supernatural thrown into the mix. It is awesome if you are an adult and vampires and the supernatural are things you can tolerate. Can't wait to catch up where I left off onto Season three:)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by56 YEARS OLD MOVIES July 9, 2012

VERY GOOD FOR MATURE

Very good me and my wife watch it on dvd it is R18+. the sexual content nudity and sex scenes are not what teens should be watching. it has every single swear word Made!! including FU*K CU*T BAST*RD BI*CH SH*T WHORE AND A LOT MORE

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDark_Princess May 14, 2012

.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written byzinger55 April 25, 2012

Great show, not good for young.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages