All parent member reviews for Facebook

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 147 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 year old Written byrlblondes March 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

only for kids 13+

I agree with the reviews. My step-son's mother opened an account for him to play Farmville. We did not agree with him having an account since he is only 8 years old. She assured us she had the account private. Sure enough after a week or so one of her friends forgot they had an 8 yr old as a friend and were using inappropriate language which was displayed on his wall. There have been other incidents that showed her lack of monitoring the account so we have closed the account.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 year old Written byXOXILING April 6, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not great for any kid

Who doesn't love Facebook. I have it and most of my friends have it; but when m,y daughter wanted it I was quite skeptical. Not that I was worried about inappropriate content, my daughter is good about that stuff. What worried me - and my worries came to fruition, was the CYBERBULLYING. One may laugh at the thought, but honestly, it's happening all over the place. Kids are committing suicide over being bullied, kids can be mean, and the ability to impulsively blurt something out about someone and not have to do it to their face is quite strong. Kids are not required to have fact to face communications anymore - they break up via text, they constantly IM and now...Facebook. I'm not a fan! Not for kids!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 11 year old Written bytishtay February 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
OK, as a geek computer user I'm bringing up a kid that is going to be exposed to computers for the rest of her life. I set up her account (yes you are supposed to be 13)....made sure all the controls I could put were in place and retain the passwords and sign on information. I go in EVERY day to make sure no one is contacting her. We have only family on her facebook and one friend that I have approved, who also has his family watching him just as closely. She plays a few of the games and generally keeps in contact with family in this way. Since we live across country this is one of the few ways they get to "talk". We don't allow her to have any personal pictures except for her dog so that is not an issue. We have gone over the safety basics and have made it very clear that this is a learning experience on how to deal with the internet. I've had less problems with facebook than with some other "kid friendly" sites....I have to say the ONLY way we would have her on facebook is if I am vigilant on looking all the time at what is going on. That being said we've had a lot of fun and good experiences.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bymyrab51 January 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for older teens

Firstly, it is actually against site policy for a child under the age of 13 to even sign-up. If it is discovered that a user is under that age, they will be removed from the site. There is a good deal of sexual content, as well as advertising. Some of this can be filtered out through filters built into the site, as well as ad blocking software. The applications can be even more iffy than the social networking. I found a crass user name on the Naruto game application. I figured seeing it was a kids cartoon I would report it. Unfortunately, the game is not ran by a company that only acquired rights, Crunchyroll. They quoted, "The Naruto game is relatively un-moderated so we don't really change names or anything." This should set off flags to parents. There are also violent apps such as Mafia Wars, in which you obtain bloodied weapons, or take hits out on each other. There are some kid safe apps as well. FarmVille is one of them. If your child is pretty trustworthy, and has a good head on their shoulders, Facebook can be a decent place. It is a great place to talk with your friends, share photos, and play a few games. Just like most of the internet, proceed with a little caution.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent of a 17 and 20 year old Written bybjccot February 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It has become the necessary social connection, and the usual slippery slope down for younger and younger audiences (what is it that slides downhill?). As a tech.coordinator for my small school, I am struggling with how to educate kids, parents, and other teachers about age-appropriate behavior on websites -- what should I do when I hear about a fifth-grade teacher encouraging students to set up a Facebook account? The school has no specific policies in place, so I should start the policy-making process. But to my mind, this case is a pretty straightforward issue: Facebook itself declares a minimum age limit. Adults should NOT ever encourage students to bypass that. In addition to that legal distinction, I believe Facebook is an insecure place with shifting sands of privacy settings hard enough for savvy college students to navigate, let alone immature tweenagers. I would strongly discourage Facebook use before high school.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bymdg0421 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bydaveluv21 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An excellent site but use with caution

Facebook is a good site for keeping in contact with friends, there's lots of quizzes to do and games to play but some profiles may contain violent or disturbing video or photos and you should not put any personally identifying info on your profile like phones numbers. Overall an excellent site the best of its type on the net.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byblacky123 May 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 5, 8, 12, 14, 16, and 17 year old Written byMissBridgette July 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I wouldn't recommend this site

Even though, I myself do own a facebook. I am absolutely against the use of it for my children in my house until age 15, with one rule... You friend me. I know my way around a facebook page, therefore most parents who have their children added do not know, that there are specific settings where children can actually block certain content from just YOUR sight. Suppose one of my kids had pictures up from a recent party, they can go to edit settings on the album they posted it in, and changed it to "friends only" and then there is that "except...." button. There they can type in MY name and click save. DONE. I will never be able to see that album. So I do a 1-2 time a month "check up" where I have my kids log on, skim through everything, and tell them to show me something that I think looks suspicious. I have a 14 year old, who begged me to get a facebook, so I let him, because his grades were marvelous last semester, but... I had him give me his login information, since he is younger, and more naive. I want to keep an eye out on him from the random people who sometimes even add me. There are so many things to watch out for on facebook. I've seen some pages of kids, their statuses are about drinking, smoking, parties, ext. They have crude, sexual pictures, girls making out with out girls, its very hard to keep track of the 400 or so people that your teenagers have added. It's a hard site, but I've allowed it in my house, because I myself use it, keep a close eye on your kids if they are on this site. And make sure you know Facebook better then your teenagers, I recommend every parent of a kid on facebook gets a facebook themselves.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byKira123 June 1, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Facebook for Teens

well for those who worry about it watch what your kids do. Yea there are certain ages that should not be allowed cause they bring school drama home and then fight over facebook, parents take a active role in your kids life....
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJOhannahJO May 13, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

i love facebook it is the best thing that has ever happend in my life, it is my life i couldn't live without it!

Love it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 8, 12, 14, and 16 year old Written bysupa mom June 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great site for teens

This show is great for teens because it is up to them what they do. Tell them not to be friends with anybody they do not know personally. As long as they do that, it could be ages 11+. If they don't though, there could be very bad content and sometimes even stalkers. Just tell them to be very careful and they will be fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

teens not kids under 13

NOT FOR KIDS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygemmamm April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

facebook

I've used facebook for a few months now, you can't customize your profile like on myspace, but its more secure (only friends can see your profile) than other profile sites and more friends oritated. Theres alot of fun games and applications you can add aswell. Its sitable for kids, but most people on it seem to be at least 16.
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byFinnella Flanagan October 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Remember kids under 13 aren't even supposed to use it!

I really don't like FB but it's become an integral part of teen life. I did something very non-standard when I didn't allow my son to use his actual last name on his account. I wanted him to reserve that for when he was older and might need it for job hunting, etc. It also made me very nervous that so many friends had so much information available to non-friends: RL name, RL picture, school being attended. If I were a sick person, I could have tracked down several of his female friends very easily and without even friending them first. So you need to set up your childrens' privacy controls and then you have to create your own account and friend your children so you can see what they are doing. It's a huge hassle, but you shouldn't let your kid onto FB if you are not willing to do this. Also warn them about all those FB games. They will try to get you to give them information, such as your cell phone number, so they can charge you real money to play. Shun them. And since the under 13 crowd aren't even supposed to be on FB, I wouldn't let my younger son have a page. Lucky for me, he's not interested.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bybianca7788 May 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Facebook is how YOU make it

The thing is, Facebook is how YOU make it. It could be all the concerns I listed or NONE . It could be all the highlights I listed or NONE. Before you allow your childeren to go on Facebook make sure they know how to use it correctly and always monitor what they are doing on there.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8, 11, and 15 year old Written bybeckyhall February 10, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

FB says 13 and up for a reason!

Only kids who have been well educated in cyber safety and bullying should be on this site. Parents must friend their children and have access to their passwords and all content. Be sure kids know that anything on their page can be copied by a friend or shared with others - treat it like a postcard, not a sealed letter. Parents should also walk their kids through the privacy and application settings to make sure that their information is not readily accessible by the general public or by apps or businesses. I use it, and my 15yo uses it, because it's fun and useful. But we monitor carefully - both mine and his! I have concerns about Facebook's changing privacy policies, and I "friended" their policy page to stay informed. My 11yo and 8yo will NOT have access to FB until they are at least 13.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byseen-all-movies November 22, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for anybody whit a bit experience or knowledge about using online interact services

shore Facebook is in theory the opposite of basic online rules, you interact whit people, post images and personal info about yourself and if you're not careful and sett security settings it's possible for anyone to read all about you, however facebook is a great way to interact whit friends, family and others, instead of calling all of your friends saying: i got a haircut, you post a simple text on Facebook saying the same, all of your friends can read, comment and like it, you can let friends view your holiday photos whit out having to send all of them a bucket of paper or send a thousand emails, just upload them to Facebook and everybody can see them. Just to add to it Facebook actually do have great safety customization features so if you wanna keep things private it's easy. And yeas, it is a lot of commercial, due to the fact that Facebook get's about 1 000 000 new user every single day, i believe that it's a great market for commercial there and that you get pretty good product placement there, some people are easily affected by commercial's and such people should not use Facebook unless their spending can be controlled. If you have some basic knowledge about being careful on the web, not talking to strangers and such things, Facebook is nothing more than an awesome way to interact and keep in touch whit your friends, family and others.
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom July 11, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Kids say its safe, But it just isn't

On facebook. Anything can happen, Getting attacked by pedophiles online and simple bullying occurs. There have been many cases of kids commiting suicide because of some such horrible comments. Why do people automatically assume its safe because they put some weak privacy setting. Pedophiles can Know where you live to some extent. Town etc and see your profile picture. Which is why I do not put a picture of myself on there. Its not safe at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bychildrenmatter July 26, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Increases your child's risk of viewing pornography

Hacking and phishing is a big concern on Facebook. Who has not seen the "I can't believe her father walked in on this" (or some similar title) video. Phishing is common on Facebook. This simply means they lure your password out of you and then other sites have the ability to post under your screen name. Recently, the photos attached to these type of scams have become more graphic. It's hit or miss. You may or may not stumble across pornography. Unfortunately for the the children of my friends, they were able to view sexually explicit material from the comfort of their own walls when another person was phished. If pornography is a concern, Facebook is not for your children. They are more likely to click on phishing links and even if they do not, chances are, they have friends who will and then will inadvertently post this material for them to view. I do wish there was a family-friend social networking site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages