All parent member reviews for Facebook

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 149 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 12 year old Written byXOXILING April 6, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not great for any kid

Who doesn't love Facebook. I have it and most of my friends have it; but when m,y daughter wanted it I was quite skeptical. Not that I was worried about inappropriate content, my daughter is good about that stuff. What worried me - and my worries came to fruition, was the CYBERBULLYING. One may laugh at the thought, but honestly, it's happening all over the place. Kids are committing suicide over being bullied, kids can be mean, and the ability to impulsively blurt something out about someone and not have to do it to their face is quite strong. Kids are not required to have fact to face communications anymore - they break up via text, they constantly IM and now...Facebook. I'm not a fan! Not for kids!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bychildrenmatter July 26, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Increases your child's risk of viewing pornography

Hacking and phishing is a big concern on Facebook. Who has not seen the "I can't believe her father walked in on this" (or some similar title) video. Phishing is common on Facebook. This simply means they lure your password out of you and then other sites have the ability to post under your screen name. Recently, the photos attached to these type of scams have become more graphic. It's hit or miss. You may or may not stumble across pornography. Unfortunately for the the children of my friends, they were able to view sexually explicit material from the comfort of their own walls when another person was phished. If pornography is a concern, Facebook is not for your children. They are more likely to click on phishing links and even if they do not, chances are, they have friends who will and then will inadvertently post this material for them to view. I do wish there was a family-friend social networking site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8, 12, 14, and 16 year old Written bysupa mom June 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great site for teens

This show is great for teens because it is up to them what they do. Tell them not to be friends with anybody they do not know personally. As long as they do that, it could be ages 11+. If they don't though, there could be very bad content and sometimes even stalkers. Just tell them to be very careful and they will be fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 year old Written byrlblondes March 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

only for kids 13+

I agree with the reviews. My step-son's mother opened an account for him to play Farmville. We did not agree with him having an account since he is only 8 years old. She assured us she had the account private. Sure enough after a week or so one of her friends forgot they had an 8 yr old as a friend and were using inappropriate language which was displayed on his wall. There have been other incidents that showed her lack of monitoring the account so we have closed the account.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent of a 17 and 20 year old Written bybjccot February 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It has become the necessary social connection, and the usual slippery slope down for younger and younger audiences (what is it that slides downhill?). As a tech.coordinator for my small school, I am struggling with how to educate kids, parents, and other teachers about age-appropriate behavior on websites -- what should I do when I hear about a fifth-grade teacher encouraging students to set up a Facebook account? The school has no specific policies in place, so I should start the policy-making process. But to my mind, this case is a pretty straightforward issue: Facebook itself declares a minimum age limit. Adults should NOT ever encourage students to bypass that. In addition to that legal distinction, I believe Facebook is an insecure place with shifting sands of privacy settings hard enough for savvy college students to navigate, let alone immature tweenagers. I would strongly discourage Facebook use before high school.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byFinnella Flanagan October 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Remember kids under 13 aren't even supposed to use it!

I really don't like FB but it's become an integral part of teen life. I did something very non-standard when I didn't allow my son to use his actual last name on his account. I wanted him to reserve that for when he was older and might need it for job hunting, etc. It also made me very nervous that so many friends had so much information available to non-friends: RL name, RL picture, school being attended. If I were a sick person, I could have tracked down several of his female friends very easily and without even friending them first. So you need to set up your childrens' privacy controls and then you have to create your own account and friend your children so you can see what they are doing. It's a huge hassle, but you shouldn't let your kid onto FB if you are not willing to do this. Also warn them about all those FB games. They will try to get you to give them information, such as your cell phone number, so they can charge you real money to play. Shun them. And since the under 13 crowd aren't even supposed to be on FB, I wouldn't let my younger son have a page. Lucky for me, he's not interested.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 5, 8, 12, 14, 16, and 17 year old Written byMissBridgette July 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I wouldn't recommend this site

Even though, I myself do own a facebook. I am absolutely against the use of it for my children in my house until age 15, with one rule... You friend me. I know my way around a facebook page, therefore most parents who have their children added do not know, that there are specific settings where children can actually block certain content from just YOUR sight. Suppose one of my kids had pictures up from a recent party, they can go to edit settings on the album they posted it in, and changed it to "friends only" and then there is that "except...." button. There they can type in MY name and click save. DONE. I will never be able to see that album. So I do a 1-2 time a month "check up" where I have my kids log on, skim through everything, and tell them to show me something that I think looks suspicious. I have a 14 year old, who begged me to get a facebook, so I let him, because his grades were marvelous last semester, but... I had him give me his login information, since he is younger, and more naive. I want to keep an eye out on him from the random people who sometimes even add me. There are so many things to watch out for on facebook. I've seen some pages of kids, their statuses are about drinking, smoking, parties, ext. They have crude, sexual pictures, girls making out with out girls, its very hard to keep track of the 400 or so people that your teenagers have added. It's a hard site, but I've allowed it in my house, because I myself use it, keep a close eye on your kids if they are on this site. And make sure you know Facebook better then your teenagers, I recommend every parent of a kid on facebook gets a facebook themselves.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byKira123 June 1, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Facebook for Teens

well for those who worry about it watch what your kids do. Yea there are certain ages that should not be allowed cause they bring school drama home and then fight over facebook, parents take a active role in your kids life....
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

teens not kids under 13

NOT FOR KIDS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bytishtay February 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
OK, as a geek computer user I'm bringing up a kid that is going to be exposed to computers for the rest of her life. I set up her account (yes you are supposed to be 13)....made sure all the controls I could put were in place and retain the passwords and sign on information. I go in EVERY day to make sure no one is contacting her. We have only family on her facebook and one friend that I have approved, who also has his family watching him just as closely. She plays a few of the games and generally keeps in contact with family in this way. Since we live across country this is one of the few ways they get to "talk". We don't allow her to have any personal pictures except for her dog so that is not an issue. We have gone over the safety basics and have made it very clear that this is a learning experience on how to deal with the internet. I've had less problems with facebook than with some other "kid friendly" sites....I have to say the ONLY way we would have her on facebook is if I am vigilant on looking all the time at what is going on. That being said we've had a lot of fun and good experiences.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bydaveluv21 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An excellent site but use with caution

Facebook is a good site for keeping in contact with friends, there's lots of quizzes to do and games to play but some profiles may contain violent or disturbing video or photos and you should not put any personally identifying info on your profile like phones numbers. Overall an excellent site the best of its type on the net.
Adult Written bymdg0421 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of an infant, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 year old Written bymykidsarebabies April 14, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

12+

MY 12 YEAR OLD EVEN HAS A FACE BO OK ACCOUNT
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRainbowprincess April 9, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

fake identity theft

I had trouble with someone copying my facebook page, and posing as me. They made sure I couldn't see it and that other people could. I left because of it, and I plan on never going back.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byValen Erap December 27, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Unblocked: The Blocked Side of Facebook

There's a great new book called, Unblocked: The Blocked Side of Facebook, which shows the real side of Facebook for teenagers. This is the side of Facebook parents don't see. Please if you have a teenager or soon to be teenager - this is a must read! As a bonus there’s a Slang and Emoticon Dictionary in the back of the book. For a short time Amazon is offering $5off Unblocked. Promo Code: UTGYQQHB
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bynduns September 14, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I kind of owe this site a lot...

It's thanks to Facebook that I was not only able to finally contact old friends I hadn't seen in quite some time but also help me patch up conflicts I had with people I used to... um... not have a very strong relationship with back in my elementary/high school days. The site does have a lot to do. There are a lot of games... most of which have somewhat high standards of what you must do to enjoy it fully... but they are numerous and most work very well for free online games, though I did eventually give them up when I started working mostly due to the fact that most of these games involve you being on once every hour to get the full experience. As for language and the like... it's all up to you and your friends. The site doesn't censor swearing, so if you're opposed to swearing... um... either make sure you have the right people on your friend list or just deal with it because most people over the age of 12 in this world swear. Safety and Privacy also isn't an issue as you can choose to make your profile private to strangers. As for consumerism... well, many organizations like to advertize stuff on that site and send you random friend invites so they can get to you, but that's about as bad as it gets. All I can say is, yeah, it's not the most impressive site out there but if you want to contact old friends and never got around to asking for their emails before and neither of you have found the time to see each other offline, this helps big time.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byArty August 25, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Facebook Communication Safety

I think Facebook is one of the safest social networking sites in my opinion. I think it can used for good intentions, e.g positive communication, Facebook games and interest finding( Facebook 'likes'.) But Facebook should only be used by 13+ as it can be riskier for people with a lower understanding of Privacy Settings and Internet Safety. All privacy settings should be set at the safe level which is : the most sensitive information should be seen ONLY by you. Always check your settings regularly( particularly if you have changed your Facebook page to the new Timeline.) Overall I think that Facebook is a site which is the most useful as you can share and tell people you know about Events, parties and important information. Its a useful tool for communication in an even where you can't get a a phone. Communication has now gone web based and its a part of modern day life.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 18, 18, 18, 18, 18, and 18 year old Written byKatherineHouston June 20, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Poking is violent!

In the world of facebook you can poke others and there is lots of cyberbullying and my son patrick was called a doodoo head and a silly but! This website is not for us!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent Written bybored guy May 22, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

hmm

not as bad as youtube bcuz porn or graphic violence stuff isnt allowed but it shouldnt be for kids under 14 or 15 bcuz there is still bad stuff
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bylily345 April 28, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not safe

its not safe at all if you have a child on facebook tell them to get rid of it!!They can really get your age and how you look and address.So if your kids have facebook even teens face book is for nobody at all its not safe!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages