All parent member reviews for FooPets

Parents say

(out of 84 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bybewareparents November 24, 2010

Foopets borders on fraud and breaks children's hearts.

Anyone who lets their kids play on this site is a fool. You now have to pay money to play on here and their terms of service say that they can delete any content at any time. So basically, your kids pay for pets and items that can be deleted tomorrow. .............It is supposed to be for 13 and older only....but anyone who plays on this site is only getting ripped off...... The biggest problem is that they sell you pets and items for your pets that have a price. Then they have a marketplace where kids can trade things. That would be a great teaching tool if Foo didn't constantly change the rules. One day my child bought a pet that cost 15.00 dollars (once converted to real money) and the next day foo changed the price of that pet to 5 dollars. My child was crying her eyes out. Then they had a way for you to "earn" foogems so you can buy pets with them....after months of earning these gems foo suddenly and without any notice stopped the practice and now all her hard work was for nothing. She cannot get the pet she worked for because they yanked it from her. Further, customer service on this site is downright abusive. They attack parents who complain and tell them repeatedly either to keep paying or shut up. And if you really complain loudly, they delete your account and keep all your child's pets and delete them all. This site is a rip off. Don't believe me? Here is a quote from their terms of service: "FooMojo has the right to change, edit, modify, delete or discontinue (a) any feature, function, description, process, art, images, and / or format on FooPets (b) any part of all of FooPets website and/or applications, (c) restrict access to parts of all of FooPets at any time without notice. Simply put, we may change this site or delete content or features or any services provided in any way or any time and for any reason or no reason." You would have to be a fool to give money to a site that claims they can keep your money and give you nothing in return any time they please. Can anyone tell me if this is even legal? Keep people away from this site!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydewl April 9, 2011
Foo Pet executives have again joined the ranks of corporate mentality. We are back to the "have" and the "have nots". After permitting children and youths to perhaps enjoy "playing" and "feeding" their "virtual" pets without paying any money these corporate bullies are taking away these kids "pets" because they do not have money as of April 26th 2011. Foo Pets always had "pay" things for those that had the money but now if you don't have any money you cannot have your pet anymore that you have diligently fed, watered, walked and played with for years. Shame on the Foo Pet money hungry corporation bullies.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byFictionalWriter October 5, 2011

What a way to go downhill, FooMojo...

*FYI, not a parent, just an over-seventeen year old who used to be on the site* I used to play FooPets back before it became required to "pay to play." Before that, it was fun. At first it had been addicting. The game can teach you how to be responsible with things like trading, selling/buying, making new friends, and handling "money" if you are smart enough to learn. If you were under the age of thirteen you had to have a parent help you sign up and pay for ClubFoo membership to show that they approve of you being on that website. Otherwise they weren't allowed on the forums. A few lied about their age, but not much that I saw. After awhile it started changing for the worse: people weren't allowed to post any pictures or outside links (links leading anywhere but a page connected to FooPets or FooMojo, the company behind FooPets) on the forum. This was due to complaints from parents and various members saying that some pictures were too inappropriate, which some of them were but not ALL of them. Then they took away a couple of the forums - one of them being the Roleplay forum, which was big with a majority of the members. It started going more downhill as they placed more restrictions on the Litter License (the item needed to breed your pet) and other things; after awhile Dr. Ron left and Dr. Jane came in. Other things that went downhill: not able to submit items for the marketplace (many members did this, and were angry when this happened); only allowed to sell items back to the marketplace/couldn't sell your items to others - this got rid of trading amongst players; only allowed to sell pets to the pound (some found a way around this but they were sold for a higher price than what they were sold back for). MANY great players left, including some mods the admins had "hired" to help maintain the website and its players. And by great, I mean great - mature people who were often older than eighteen years old, were creative, smart, dedicated, and despised the constant changes that occurred in just a few months. When the notice came that those not signed up for ClubFoo or ClubFoo Plus were going to be banned after April 26th many either quit early or stayed until the last minute. Before then the forums went crazy with spam and more inappropriate posts in the Chat forum - some people were talking about leading a type of revolt, or signing a petition to get FooMojo to stop. You can't even go and check on your pets now without signing up for the membership first. Just a note from an old player, who loved the old FooPets very dearly: DON'T. PLAY.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byhsparent June 18, 2013

Warning - content not suitable for children under 17

My daughter loved FooPets.... until she inadvertently ran across highly inappropriate content for a child. If you are going to let children under 17 play, I suggest you are very careful that you set the parent dashboard to seriously restrict their ability to interact with any other players.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bylaurenhannahsmom December 19, 2010

This site is an outrage. Bullied my child.

I would not let my child go near this site! My daughter, who is 10 was on foo pets for quite awhile & loved it! She apparently hit a button and received more foo dollars than she was supposed to - as there was a glitch on their site. She's 10 - she didn't know. She got more money the more she pushed it, so of course she pushed it! When she tried to log in a few days later her account was suspended. She was devastated. She emailed them and said she was so confused & she was crying and worried about her pets and what could do to get her account back. They responded and told her she was a cheater, she was deceptive and they were disappointed in her and that she'd never get her account back!! I was horrified. I emailed them on that direct post and now see that the 'Foo Administrator' has closed the chat w.out responding. Apparently they can bully a child but don't want to deal w/ the parents. I would not go on this site no matter what age you are. Now that I see all the other posts I see I'm not alone in this. This site is an outrage.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTwilighterGurl13 December 9, 2010

Foo Pets Is NOT Safe!

My child who's 13 years old got a few pets and she came across a few people who were using bad language to her.They kept sending her rude messages for no reason.Some people were even cursing to her.I do NOT reccomend this website to children under 13 because there are some cursing rude comments.I also don't think this website is safe because I searched Dr. Ron online and he used to dress up like a women and steal money from people.It said that he had spent a few years in jail and he probably made that ClubFoo Memebership to just get money from people.So, I suggest not to waste your money or your time on Foo Pets because it's no fun at all and it's not very appropriate for children under the age of 13. Parents should monitor theur child's activity on Foo Pets because there are alot of people asking for personal information which is NOT safe (for children under the age of 13).Some children even give away personal information.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byworrywart29 November 28, 2010

Foopets or FooPests?

Have been member of the website for over a year. As an adult member,my maid issue is lack of customer service. Seems like whole staff skipped that course. Site that used to be for 13+ but now allows kids under 13 on the site too ( true with limited benefits, unless they dish out crazy amount of money aka 80 bucks a year), is not safe for those kids and never will be. When I started out, website was nice,pleasurable place to get away from everyday mess. After many changes that were supposed to improve the site but in fact made it unusable for many members, I am left with frustration, every time I log in. People with slower computers/internet connection were literally told that if your machine can't handle the site, rack off. If you don't like the changes, rack off. Despite of all our efforts of trying to compromise with the company, our pleas and suggestions fell on deaf ears. After that more changes were implemented and now even faster PCs have trouble loading the pet. They have removed every way of earing FooDollars by making up ridiculous excuses- And when we want explanations they send us to TOS section which claims that Foopets is not forced to give any explanations about anything they do. It's a shame really.Site had so much potential and now I have developed just hazardous curiosity of how fast can this site go down. Some of the most idiotic shoot-ourselves-in-the-foot business decisions are made on that side every day. In fact it should be textbook example for young business men/women of what not to do when userbase is the blood in your company's veins. I'm telling you,having a real pet is less high maintenance and less stressful than having a foopet and you can invest that 80 bucks a year into vet bills or training. Either way,your money will be well spent. And your kid doesn't have to cry his/hers eyes out if one day Dr.Ron decides to shut the site down. And as far as I see it, that day is not very far away.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byconcernedincali November 27, 2010

Foo should be shut down.

Im sorry but NEVER let your children on this site. Really you shouldnt even be on it. I used to be one of the adult users. The admin harass and abuse members as well as let other users do so as well. They do not protect your children's safety (I have since taken my children as well as myself off). There were various instances or porn pictures posted, violent messages on forums and user walls, not always by users. And I have seen more then a few death threats get nothing more then a warning over and over again. The children are at a HUGE risk of harm. And the adults will be dumbfounded and filled with frustration over their treatment as well. AVOID THIS SITE AT ALL COSTS. And if you decide to join, PLEASE keep your children away. For their sake.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written bytylerkeller May 2, 2010
i love this game!but i dont know how to get the foopets in the same room? if you know please tell me! thank you!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byAvalowell November 25, 2015

Violets good

I think everyone should have a chance to play
Adult Written bycgwh May 1, 2011

it sucks,they pretty much blackmail us,and they dont listen.

I used to love it till they decided to kick everyone out,I had my pup for at least 2 years,and she was ripped away from me,if you cant pay,you cant play,considering they're trying to have this as mostly kids,that's stupid,I never was on forums till I found out about this,I didn't even know about the forums,I just went to play with my pup as she helped me get over the death of my real dog....I put the messages aren't positive because the message I got is "money is everything,no matter who you hurt" and that's not something to teach kids.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byabbyt1 November 17, 2014

Foopets is finally turning around

The description of FooPets is outdated. It is free again and the problems with it were solved.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byDaeDreamer April 19, 2011

Run For The Hills!

They are positively abhorrent at customer service, completely ignoring their members' concerns. They are soon to become a pay to play only site, but they have consistently charged more money for features and items while consistently taking more and more features and items away. Granted, their pixel pets are as realistic as they get. Awesome, in fact. So much so, that people become emotionally attached to them. A phenomenon covered by FooMojo's ToS. And frankly, they use those pets as a means of emotional blackmail. Further, their forum moderators are not nice people and are extremely rude and condescending. Adults are treated like children and children are treated like refuse. Trust me, EVERY negative comment here is spot on. As of the 26th of April (2011), when the site becomes strictly pay to play, I predict an epic exodus from the site. Their numbers are already dropping. Many predict that the site is going to go down and no one from the company has bothered to effectively dispel that rumor. Moreover, except for their announcement of becoming pay to play only, they keep their members in the dark about every change and they change the site compulsively. Again, those changes almost always include revocations of features and items and an increase in what they charge for everything. Additionally, the site is completely unstable. Consistently glitches, "whites out," doesn't load, search features have not worked the entire two years I've been a member and way too much more to mention. I won't even go into the HORRIBLE lessons this site "teaches" children. Bah! Harsh words? You bet. But very, very true. And if you were to visit the FooPets forums right now, you would run for the hills. Honestly, do your research, you'll find that I am not exaggerating one little bit. Stay away, for your own personal health and well being and especially, the health and well being of your children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bymargpitcher January 3, 2011
The site used to be wonderful. The recent art glitch, however, where FooPets failed to put a limit on the amount of FooDollars one could get, caused hundreds of members to keep pressing the buttons. Foo's response to this was to call children cheaters, accuse them of stealing cash, money laundering, and grand theft. Additional responses included over-emotional anger blurts from the admin. Some younger kids were afraid they would be taken from their homes and put in jail, due to this admin's horrid customer service skills. They suspended the members, and, upon returning, these members found that their IP had been infected by FooPets due to their failure to release the IP tracking. Mobile does not work, InstaCare works only intermittently in certain situations, and manual feed works, but does not register. In short, those who were suspended cannot take care of their pets without receiving a "mad cat" error (511) every few clicks. Despite numerous complaints to member support, no response has been received. FooPets allowed an increase in pet ownership, and then proceeded to jack up prices so high that kids are now having to sell of their scene items - and oftentimes their pets - to pay for virtual flea medication. Their customer service team consists of volunteer, unpaid, untrained members - who often respond with one of two responses: 1. It's your fault, or 2. We're working on it. And, as of late, no response is being received at all regarding the issue. The owner of the company has been in serious legal trouble before, and the company investors aren't happy. He is also unreachable, and never responds on the site, other than issuing empty newsletter commentary - no doubt from his resort in the Caymans. The company has received thousands and thousands of complaints over the non-user-friendly changes they have made, but assume the "that's tough" attitude towards members. I have never seen a site so inconsiderate of their customers. They feel that because the customers "love" their little virtual pets, they can do what they wish. Sadly, many members are quitting - they've had enough. Their terms of service (which no on reads), states they can latch onto your computer - and, while blocking an IP is legal, however unethical, doing so such that it inhibits use of that user's PC is not legal. As well, nearly all the images that are sold on FooPets to decorate scenes with, have been heisted from other sites - Foo allows members to submit such art (for a cost, of course), probably hoping that if the member gets nailed for copyright violation, they won't. Very tacky. The site has eliminated all ways of purchasing items, and to decorate a scene nicely, it can run you anywhere from $10-$15 real dollars. And, prices continue to go up.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byFuming Parent December 14, 2010
I am a parent and I am appalled by this site. It is DANGEROUS for children and nothing but a rip off for adults. Recently the site had tripled the cost of membership...non refundable membership..and now gives you less and less for your money. If you are fool enough to take advantage of longer and cheaper options, you end up losing it all......................I have seen the adults tell children they are immoral and should not be allowed to roam society (and this by the employees on the site). Shocking! ..................There is rampant cursing on this site that easily gets around the computer sensors by using a space here and there. Employees are there when it is time to bash the children but strangely absent when it is time to protect them...............I read the terms of service to complain and discovered to my horror that it says they will give you nothing and keep your money if they want at any time. You have no right to complain about anything and you have no recourse. ..............................I feel like the world's largest fool for skipping that part when I signed on. Who would agree to just hand over money for a promise of nothing in return? Please don't fall into the trap I did. .................Did I mention that my 13 year old daughter cried her eyes out after one of the employees called her a thief? If I had the time to sue them for slander I would. It is not my daughter's fault if they don't know how to program their own site!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byTophsome November 26, 2010

Don't waste your time, or money

I've been a member of this site for more than a year. And honestly? The only reason I'm STILL there is because of some of the users I've met, and my desire to be able to say "I was there!" when it crashes. The graphics are fun, the puppies are cute, and that's about all the positive there is about the site itself. Unless, of course, you like being talked down to, treated like an idiot and eyed up for the size of your wallet. Want a fun pet SIM game? Forget about this one.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bycalichic89 October 1, 2010

Just another greedy business that chose money over the customers who have to pay it

This site used to be fun. At first this company cared about their clients. Now it's just become like every other company, one who only cares about money. This game has virtual money called foodollars and without them, the game is next to pointless. There used to be easier ways to earn virtual money in this game. Fashion shows were one of them and they were my favorite feature about this site. You dressed up your pet and entered them and if they placed you won money. It was like that since they introduced it. Now you no longer win money but you still have to pay money for the clothes. That doesn't make any sense because fashion shows are the only thing clothes are good for. The shows were my only source of making money. This site just keeps getting worse. The users have multiple complaints and they don't care. They no longer listen. It used to be free to join and now you have to pay to join and you don't get your money's worth. Your paying more for a lot less. This site is full of restrictions so it's no longer fun to play the game. Parents, unless you want your kids to keep running back to you asking for your credit card don't waste your money on this game. Some kids have even taken their parents credit card without permission, but you can't really blame them. This site has taken away every source of making a decent amount of the virtual money in the game so the only option is to pay. Those kids wouldn't be reaching for their parents' wallets if this site didn't take away the ability for them to earn money in the game. Instead of learning how to earn money, kids are learning to keep asking mommy and daddy for their money, and when that doesn't work, they often try to scam people on the site in order to get it. That's not something I would want my kids to learn about and yet the site is making it so. We shouldn't have to CONSTANTLY pay more money to have fun we should be able to earn it. It used to be that you wouldn't need to invest more than $10 or $15 in this game. Now I wouldn't be surprised if some people have payed $60 or more on a dog or a cat that doesn't even exist.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byLynnSue June 17, 2015

Disappointing

There are several options of pay: Free: you get nothing and you can't participate in the activities that make it really valuable as a game. Two levels of paid: great for those devoted people who have a lot of dogs. Pricey: not something in most people's budgets. Free leaves you with nada, zip, nothing to accomplish anything with. Forum alert: not safe for anyone. I cannot believe the crap and the inappropriate things these teens put on the forums. The administrators can not get to to the threads fast enough to close and or censor them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bykat belle March 28, 2015

not a good environment

Foo Pets is not a good environment for any kids. The admins argue with children . they want to be paid for membership and they don't have any real games that challenge children. older kids on here have inappropriate user names such as bisexual or sexy b----!!! be careful of their site, membership can and will be will be canceled after you have paid them. with no refund. I would not recommend this site to any one because it is more aggravation than its worth.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byAndrea99 November 25, 2014

Stay away

This site should not be trusted. The owner claims he is about to shut the place down yet is advertising year memberships. You cannot really play for free, it is a scam designed to get your kids to buy those memberships. They are supposed to teach good pet care yet the way you get ahead in the game is to breed hundreds of litters and dump them in the pound. If you care about animals, don't let your children on this site.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism

Pages