All parent member reviews for FooPets

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 83 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bybewareparents November 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Foopets borders on fraud and breaks children's hearts.

Anyone who lets their kids play on this site is a fool. You now have to pay money to play on here and their terms of service say that they can delete any content at any time. So basically, your kids pay for pets and items that can be deleted tomorrow. .............It is supposed to be for 13 and older only....but anyone who plays on this site is only getting ripped off...... The biggest problem is that they sell you pets and items for your pets that have a price. Then they have a marketplace where kids can trade things. That would be a great teaching tool if Foo didn't constantly change the rules. One day my child bought a pet that cost 15.00 dollars (once converted to real money) and the next day foo changed the price of that pet to 5 dollars. My child was crying her eyes out. Then they had a way for you to "earn" foogems so you can buy pets with them....after months of earning these gems foo suddenly and without any notice stopped the practice and now all her hard work was for nothing. She cannot get the pet she worked for because they yanked it from her. Further, customer service on this site is downright abusive. They attack parents who complain and tell them repeatedly either to keep paying or shut up. And if you really complain loudly, they delete your account and keep all your child's pets and delete them all. This site is a rip off. Don't believe me? Here is a quote from their terms of service: "FooMojo has the right to change, edit, modify, delete or discontinue (a) any feature, function, description, process, art, images, and / or format on FooPets (b) any part of all of FooPets website and/or applications, (c) restrict access to parts of all of FooPets at any time without notice. Simply put, we may change this site or delete content or features or any services provided in any way or any time and for any reason or no reason." You would have to be a fool to give money to a site that claims they can keep your money and give you nothing in return any time they please. Can anyone tell me if this is even legal? Keep people away from this site!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydewl April 9, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Foo Pet executives have again joined the ranks of corporate mentality. We are back to the "have" and the "have nots". After permitting children and youths to perhaps enjoy "playing" and "feeding" their "virtual" pets without paying any money these corporate bullies are taking away these kids "pets" because they do not have money as of April 26th 2011. Foo Pets always had "pay" things for those that had the money but now if you don't have any money you cannot have your pet anymore that you have diligently fed, watered, walked and played with for years. Shame on the Foo Pet money hungry corporation bullies.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byFictionalWriter October 5, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

What a way to go downhill, FooMojo...

*FYI, not a parent, just an over-seventeen year old who used to be on the site* I used to play FooPets back before it became required to "pay to play." Before that, it was fun. At first it had been addicting. The game can teach you how to be responsible with things like trading, selling/buying, making new friends, and handling "money" if you are smart enough to learn. If you were under the age of thirteen you had to have a parent help you sign up and pay for ClubFoo membership to show that they approve of you being on that website. Otherwise they weren't allowed on the forums. A few lied about their age, but not much that I saw. After awhile it started changing for the worse: people weren't allowed to post any pictures or outside links (links leading anywhere but a page connected to FooPets or FooMojo, the company behind FooPets) on the forum. This was due to complaints from parents and various members saying that some pictures were too inappropriate, which some of them were but not ALL of them. Then they took away a couple of the forums - one of them being the Roleplay forum, which was big with a majority of the members. It started going more downhill as they placed more restrictions on the Litter License (the item needed to breed your pet) and other things; after awhile Dr. Ron left and Dr. Jane came in. Other things that went downhill: not able to submit items for the marketplace (many members did this, and were angry when this happened); only allowed to sell items back to the marketplace/couldn't sell your items to others - this got rid of trading amongst players; only allowed to sell pets to the pound (some found a way around this but they were sold for a higher price than what they were sold back for). MANY great players left, including some mods the admins had "hired" to help maintain the website and its players. And by great, I mean great - mature people who were often older than eighteen years old, were creative, smart, dedicated, and despised the constant changes that occurred in just a few months. When the notice came that those not signed up for ClubFoo or ClubFoo Plus were going to be banned after April 26th many either quit early or stayed until the last minute. Before then the forums went crazy with spam and more inappropriate posts in the Chat forum - some people were talking about leading a type of revolt, or signing a petition to get FooMojo to stop. You can't even go and check on your pets now without signing up for the membership first. Just a note from an old player, who loved the old FooPets very dearly: DON'T. PLAY.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byconcernedincali November 27, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Foo should be shut down.

Im sorry but NEVER let your children on this site. Really you shouldnt even be on it. I used to be one of the adult users. The admin harass and abuse members as well as let other users do so as well. They do not protect your children's safety (I have since taken my children as well as myself off). There were various instances or porn pictures posted, violent messages on forums and user walls, not always by users. And I have seen more then a few death threats get nothing more then a warning over and over again. The children are at a HUGE risk of harm. And the adults will be dumbfounded and filled with frustration over their treatment as well. AVOID THIS SITE AT ALL COSTS. And if you decide to join, PLEASE keep your children away. For their sake.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTwilighterGurl13 December 9, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Foo Pets Is NOT Safe!

My child who's 13 years old got a few pets and she came across a few people who were using bad language to her.They kept sending her rude messages for no reason.Some people were even cursing to her.I do NOT reccomend this website to children under 13 because there are some cursing rude comments.I also don't think this website is safe because I searched Dr. Ron online and he used to dress up like a women and steal money from people.It said that he had spent a few years in jail and he probably made that ClubFoo Memebership to just get money from people.So, I suggest not to waste your money or your time on Foo Pets because it's no fun at all and it's not very appropriate for children under the age of 13. Parents should monitor theur child's activity on Foo Pets because there are alot of people asking for personal information which is NOT safe (for children under the age of 13).Some children even give away personal information.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bycgwh May 1, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

it sucks,they pretty much blackmail us,and they dont listen.

I used to love it till they decided to kick everyone out,I had my pup for at least 2 years,and she was ripped away from me,if you cant pay,you cant play,considering they're trying to have this as mostly kids,that's stupid,I never was on forums till I found out about this,I didn't even know about the forums,I just went to play with my pup as she helped me get over the death of my real dog....I put the messages aren't positive because the message I got is "money is everything,no matter who you hurt" and that's not something to teach kids.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byDaeDreamer April 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Run For The Hills!

They are positively abhorrent at customer service, completely ignoring their members' concerns. They are soon to become a pay to play only site, but they have consistently charged more money for features and items while consistently taking more and more features and items away. Granted, their pixel pets are as realistic as they get. Awesome, in fact. So much so, that people become emotionally attached to them. A phenomenon covered by FooMojo's ToS. And frankly, they use those pets as a means of emotional blackmail. Further, their forum moderators are not nice people and are extremely rude and condescending. Adults are treated like children and children are treated like refuse. Trust me, EVERY negative comment here is spot on. As of the 26th of April (2011), when the site becomes strictly pay to play, I predict an epic exodus from the site. Their numbers are already dropping. Many predict that the site is going to go down and no one from the company has bothered to effectively dispel that rumor. Moreover, except for their announcement of becoming pay to play only, they keep their members in the dark about every change and they change the site compulsively. Again, those changes almost always include revocations of features and items and an increase in what they charge for everything. Additionally, the site is completely unstable. Consistently glitches, "whites out," doesn't load, search features have not worked the entire two years I've been a member and way too much more to mention. I won't even go into the HORRIBLE lessons this site "teaches" children. Bah! Harsh words? You bet. But very, very true. And if you were to visit the FooPets forums right now, you would run for the hills. Honestly, do your research, you'll find that I am not exaggerating one little bit. Stay away, for your own personal health and well being and especially, the health and well being of your children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bylaurenhannahsmom December 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This site is an outrage. Bullied my child.

I would not let my child go near this site! My daughter, who is 10 was on foo pets for quite awhile & loved it! She apparently hit a button and received more foo dollars than she was supposed to - as there was a glitch on their site. She's 10 - she didn't know. She got more money the more she pushed it, so of course she pushed it! When she tried to log in a few days later her account was suspended. She was devastated. She emailed them and said she was so confused & she was crying and worried about her pets and what could do to get her account back. They responded and told her she was a cheater, she was deceptive and they were disappointed in her and that she'd never get her account back!! I was horrified. I emailed them on that direct post and now see that the 'Foo Administrator' has closed the chat w.out responding. Apparently they can bully a child but don't want to deal w/ the parents. I would not go on this site no matter what age you are. Now that I see all the other posts I see I'm not alone in this. This site is an outrage.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byFuming Parent December 14, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I am a parent and I am appalled by this site. It is DANGEROUS for children and nothing but a rip off for adults. Recently the site had tripled the cost of membership...non refundable membership..and now gives you less and less for your money. If you are fool enough to take advantage of longer and cheaper options, you end up losing it all......................I have seen the adults tell children they are immoral and should not be allowed to roam society (and this by the employees on the site). Shocking! ..................There is rampant cursing on this site that easily gets around the computer sensors by using a space here and there. Employees are there when it is time to bash the children but strangely absent when it is time to protect them...............I read the terms of service to complain and discovered to my horror that it says they will give you nothing and keep your money if they want at any time. You have no right to complain about anything and you have no recourse. ..............................I feel like the world's largest fool for skipping that part when I signed on. Who would agree to just hand over money for a promise of nothing in return? Please don't fall into the trap I did. .................Did I mention that my 13 year old daughter cried her eyes out after one of the employees called her a thief? If I had the time to sue them for slander I would. It is not my daughter's fault if they don't know how to program their own site!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byworrywart29 November 28, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Foopets or FooPests?

Have been member of the website for over a year. As an adult member,my maid issue is lack of customer service. Seems like whole staff skipped that course. Site that used to be for 13+ but now allows kids under 13 on the site too ( true with limited benefits, unless they dish out crazy amount of money aka 80 bucks a year), is not safe for those kids and never will be. When I started out, website was nice,pleasurable place to get away from everyday mess. After many changes that were supposed to improve the site but in fact made it unusable for many members, I am left with frustration, every time I log in. People with slower computers/internet connection were literally told that if your machine can't handle the site, rack off. If you don't like the changes, rack off. Despite of all our efforts of trying to compromise with the company, our pleas and suggestions fell on deaf ears. After that more changes were implemented and now even faster PCs have trouble loading the pet. They have removed every way of earing FooDollars by making up ridiculous excuses- And when we want explanations they send us to TOS section which claims that Foopets is not forced to give any explanations about anything they do. It's a shame really.Site had so much potential and now I have developed just hazardous curiosity of how fast can this site go down. Some of the most idiotic shoot-ourselves-in-the-foot business decisions are made on that side every day. In fact it should be textbook example for young business men/women of what not to do when userbase is the blood in your company's veins. I'm telling you,having a real pet is less high maintenance and less stressful than having a foopet and you can invest that 80 bucks a year into vet bills or training. Either way,your money will be well spent. And your kid doesn't have to cry his/hers eyes out if one day Dr.Ron decides to shut the site down. And as far as I see it, that day is not very far away.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byTophsome November 26, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Don't waste your time, or money

I've been a member of this site for more than a year. And honestly? The only reason I'm STILL there is because of some of the users I've met, and my desire to be able to say "I was there!" when it crashes. The graphics are fun, the puppies are cute, and that's about all the positive there is about the site itself. Unless, of course, you like being talked down to, treated like an idiot and eyed up for the size of your wallet. Want a fun pet SIM game? Forget about this one.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bycalichic89 October 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Just another greedy business that chose money over the customers who have to pay it

This site used to be fun. At first this company cared about their clients. Now it's just become like every other company, one who only cares about money. This game has virtual money called foodollars and without them, the game is next to pointless. There used to be easier ways to earn virtual money in this game. Fashion shows were one of them and they were my favorite feature about this site. You dressed up your pet and entered them and if they placed you won money. It was like that since they introduced it. Now you no longer win money but you still have to pay money for the clothes. That doesn't make any sense because fashion shows are the only thing clothes are good for. The shows were my only source of making money. This site just keeps getting worse. The users have multiple complaints and they don't care. They no longer listen. It used to be free to join and now you have to pay to join and you don't get your money's worth. Your paying more for a lot less. This site is full of restrictions so it's no longer fun to play the game. Parents, unless you want your kids to keep running back to you asking for your credit card don't waste your money on this game. Some kids have even taken their parents credit card without permission, but you can't really blame them. This site has taken away every source of making a decent amount of the virtual money in the game so the only option is to pay. Those kids wouldn't be reaching for their parents' wallets if this site didn't take away the ability for them to earn money in the game. Instead of learning how to earn money, kids are learning to keep asking mommy and daddy for their money, and when that doesn't work, they often try to scam people on the site in order to get it. That's not something I would want my kids to learn about and yet the site is making it so. We shouldn't have to CONSTANTLY pay more money to have fun we should be able to earn it. It used to be that you wouldn't need to invest more than $10 or $15 in this game. Now I wouldn't be surprised if some people have payed $60 or more on a dog or a cat that doesn't even exist.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byhsparent June 18, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Warning - content not suitable for children under 17

My daughter loved FooPets.... until she inadvertently ran across highly inappropriate content for a child. If you are going to let children under 17 play, I suggest you are very careful that you set the parent dashboard to seriously restrict their ability to interact with any other players.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byBananaHiccup November 27, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

FooPets total rip off and bad news.

I have two grandchildren. I do not allow them on this site. A lot of the kids on the site are bad news with very shabby boundaries if at all, and Support tends to favor some of them, i.e., will suspend you without a justifiable cause to keep one of their crybabies from throwing a fit.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bydragonsrule2020 June 19, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

foopets: review

foopets is an educational game that lets you take care of adorable pets and it teaches you responsability. and when you breed your foopets its not like it shows it, it just shows the adorable babies. yes it is kind of messed up that you have to pay but it is the best animal game ever. the only other game i have found where it actually shows the animals moving and stuff is bella sara. you can feed them, play with them, dress them up and if your under 13 it takes the breeding off so shut up.
Adult Written byNicoleCaroline March 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Foo is 50-50

I was on foopet's for 5 year's that's untill April when you had to $6 then after 5 month's they changed it to $12, at least we are not paying $60 for 6 month's like Club Penguin! what a Rip off! But Foopet's did teach me to look after my pet's or they would be taken off me. I came so addicted to foopet's and met lot's of friendly User's but now all foopet care's about is Money! Don't waste your time or Money!
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much consumerism
Parent Written bybojangles2012 February 19, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Caveat Emptor

It's obvious the volunteers who are ambassadors on this site have no customer service training or skills. They are very rude to members and children are treated with next to no respect. The site has so many complicated rules concerning when, where, or what you can post in the forums that it's commonplace to see new members being insulted because of a perceived infraction. There is a very small group that is very chummy with these volunteers (ambassadors) and woe to anyone who disagrees with them in any way. I would not recommend this site for children. When I first joined FooPets it was a positive site advocating positive behaviors. This isn't the case anymore, and instead has become a site for a small handful of people to insult, bully, and disparage any member who doesn't agree with this social clique made up by ambassadors and a few members.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bydogslover101 February 11, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Foopets:)

I have a foopets account I have had it for 2 yrs now and I love foopets they are adorable puppies and kittens that u can adopt with foodollars I think it should be available for everybody and free for everybody again:)
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written bynuku12 February 5, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Website is a scam and needs to change

I made an account just so i can protest against foopets. I used to play this when it did not require any money, and i find it absolutely insane that they are now charging 5$ a month just to play with a virtual pet. With the amount of money you need to use on foopets, you could probably save more money by buying a real life pet. This place used to be fun and addicting, now it is corrupted by people who want money. They even deleted my account because i wasn't in clubfoo, and i started playing foopets when it just came out.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byelsadutchy October 12, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

pay-to-play for kids ... no way

this site used to be good for kids, with some parental guidance. However, since April 26 it is pay-to-play only, which is not in keeping with their views on teaching kids about caring for pets.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism

Pages