All parent member reviews for GaiaOnline

Parents say

(out of 133 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byAZK-DSS August 4, 2009
 

This has nothing to do with the website, it has to do with the parents.

You all say gaia online is this horrible website, where there is porn, cybering, nudity, sexually suggestive content. Have any of you taken the time to turn on your TV to the music station? To the movie stations? Have you seen a PG-13 movie as of late? If you had you'd see that many of the things that are allowed on this website are in those movies, granted yes, there are porn trolls, but trolls don't just exist on gaia, they exist on every forum based website online. Also you should stop blaming the website, stop petitioning it's removal when in fact you need to become more internet savvy, you need to become more aware of what your children are doing, it's not hard to go into your browser history after your child has been on and see what they are up to, and even better, it's not illegal. if you review what they are doing to be wrong you should discuss it with them, you can also buy programs that block the website, firewall it and make it inaccessable to your child unless they have a password. Children are learning about sex in their schools, in what they see on television and what there listening to on the radio, and the books they read. Chances are the things you blame gaia online for are your own short comings, and are things they have known about since they were a child. Hell even when I was a child I knew what sex was before I ever used the internet in my life. Gaia online is a great website, and there are moderators and staff that work as fast as they can to ban people who prey on children and those who post real nudity. All there moderating staff consists of adults and a good amount of those adults are actually parents themselves, I have in my time on the site met many parents who play gaia. Once again I'll repeat it for the mere sake of being redundant, it's not gaia onlines responsibility to safeguard any child OVER the age of thirteen, that's your responsibility. So become more aware, be in your childs business, but not over their shoulder. AZK
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byNinaMu November 21, 2013
 

Beware of your wallet

Gaia's new business model aggressively pushes spending real money on the site. Every day users are bombarded via email, pop-up advertisements and announcements with sales. Some of their "Sales" feature virtual items with a price tag of hundreds of dollars. Even when the price tag is not so hefty, there are so many of these sales, it would be easy to get carried away and ending up spending more money than intended. Users cannot opt-out from the constant advertising. (Pop-ups and sale-related announcements cannot be disabled.) Gaia is monetizing every aspect of the site and is making it evident that users who pay have an advantage over non-paying users. Younger users and teenagers who are still learning to manage their finances, may be easy prey. There is even an exclusive club for "big spenders" in which the reward is to have private access to more sales. Although this could be a good opportunity to talk to kids about the value of money, I'd be wary of the site in general. If your kid is on this site, place clear limits on spending and monitor that they're not spending every dollar they have purchasing stuff on the site, because Gaia is intending that they do just that.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byRowan_R October 21, 2010
 

I Think Not PARENTS BEWARE!

I am an ex-user on this site. I mean I suffered a lot of cyber bullying. They tote that it is a place for creativity, but the users well some, will tear your work down even though you are trying to have fun. There have been some pretty hurtful things said to me on this site. And I fear for a few children I know who use this site, because they too have suffered a taste of cyber bullying. And it is happening all under the parents' noses. PARENTS BEWARE! This site is a breeding ground for bullies. My recommendation would be NOT to allow your children the opportunity to even enter this site. I know I never will allow mine to do so.
Adult Written byKuromi Kat January 9, 2011
 

No Parents!

I hate it. I am a former member. This is a cyber bully site in my opinion. People are rude in the forums, they are rude period. I was told people were nice on the site. So I gave a bit of a bio announcing I was an Occultist, and said that I am Wiccan. I got a person messaging me. These were not nice messages. "You know that s**t is fake right? There is no such thing as "The Occult" outside of H.P. Lovecraft, and other literature. And vampire s**t (THAT IS HOW IT IS SPELLED! Not Vampyre)... THATS FAN GIRL TWITARD S**T! So I guess your a twitard." THEN I dont respond and I get many more messages like this, that could be construed as flat out cyber bullying. I mean I am more or less an emotionally strong person, but I worry for the kids. I also had a similar dilemma as rowan_r. I am a musician and posted some lyrics. I got GREAT reviews from friends, but after sharing some lyrics, I got a lot of bad reviews. As well as some person saying "YOU CALL THIS S**T MUSIC!?" commented. Let me explain my concerns "Language My Kids Cant Use" The language on this site is pretty bad. Those messages didnt censor as I had. "Messages Aren't Positive" Just as it said. Apparently I am not the only one. I have friends as well who have had mean messages here too. "Safety Is an Issue" I say this because I feel that this was a minor cyber bully attack. And I am SURE there are others who do a lot worse than this person. As I said, my concern is the youngsters on here. I dont want them to go through what I went through or worse...
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bySleep Isabella February 20, 2010
 

Perfect for Teens AND YOUNG ADULTS

Towards those who have admitted to being under 13 years of age: Don't be surprised to one day find yourself banned from Gaia. It will remain banned until your 13th birthday rolls by. By rules of Terms of Service(What all who want to try are REQUIRED to read), any persons under the age of 13 are NOT ALLOWED ON GAIA. Not only is it against Gaia's ToS rules, but it is also against AMERICAN LAW. Remember, Gaia HQ is located in Sacramento, California, which is of course in America. To those underaged users, YOU KNOW YOU'RE NOT ALLOWED TO BE ON GAIA, SO YOU SHOULD NOT BE GIVING ANY SORT OF REVIEW. During registration, if an underaged user gives their real birthdate, they are immediately blocked from joining Gaia. Therefore those kids need to receive a punishment from their parents. And to those parents, the internet is not your babysitter, get of your butts and actually PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT YOUR KIDS ARE DOING ON YOUR COMPUTER.
Parent Written byStars_Mars January 29, 2014
 
LEARNING

Protect your wallet

I've been an active user for 10 years. I started playing it was I was 13. I'm now 23 and still use it. Now, Gaiaonline's userbase is diverse and is good for kids to learn about culture, advice of life events, grammar, and all that good stuff. You are pretty protected from Trolls (people who are bad and post naughty things) because they get banned right away and the content is pulled. Out of my 10 years, I have only seen 1 troll post nude photos of porn. And it was removed in seconds. But the main issue about this site is the constant pressure of BUY, BUY , BUY. What happen was that Gaia went under new management and got a new CEO whose only focus was to exploit items for cash. The only way to buy anything for your avatar (it's also a dress up site) on Gaia is with gold. But this new CEO has inflated the market, making gold so hard to obtain, and then selling items in the cash shop for silly prices. 50 dollars is the standard for 1 ITEM. You can buy things with Gaia's fake currency, but it's almost impossible (we have our own marketplace similar to the stock market) so the only option is buy with cash to have anything in this site. This can be a big problem if your child is a compulsive buyer. If you want to see if Gaia is good for your child, if you give them money and it disappears in 1 day and you ask them what happen, it most likely went into Gaia. And if you have a problem with your kids putting real money in a fake items...then Gaia is not safe for your kids. This is a great site because of the users. But consumerism is really really bad.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byJillabean January 20, 2014
 

No longer the site it once was.

As a 10 year member of Gaia Online and mother of two teenage boys, I once approved of the site for my children, but no longer. Teenage girls sell pictures of themselves for Gaia Gold, the virtual currency, and little moderation takes place within these forums, please look out for your daughters. Consumerism has swept the site in the past months, offering sales every day up to 3 times a day, for virtual items. The items are priced for real world money, in the form of Gaia Cash, upwards of $1000 for one (virtual) item, the average item prices ranging from $50 - $250. This is not an exaggeration. This type of marketing is taking place on a site aimed at 13+ users, for items named with innuendos such as "Flynns Booty", "Flynns Chest", "Santa's Sack" which are nothing more than gambling type items. Furthermore, a large majority of the user base has protested the introduction of these sales and items on a grand scale, only to be continually ignored by the admins. Many valued members of the site are leaving due to the company's behavior and treatment of the site, this includes company staff as well. Several current and former staff members are steadily leaving negative reviews for the company to the public eye. There is clearly something wrong with this once amazing site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator Written byMiss Jellyfish December 30, 2013
 

Not good for young kids, they just want your money.

I've been on this site since 2005. I was 15 or 16 when I joined and I think that's a more appropriate age for the site. I never had problems with cyber bulling personally or the problems with cyber sex some of the other users have claimed, though I'm sure it is there. You need to be wise enough to avoid the users that are like that, which is why I recommend this site be for older users. My main issue with Gaia right now, which is especially bad for the young ones is the consumerism. I don't think kids should be taught to pour their money into VIRTUAL items. The site is pushing spending money TOO much and with the economy the way it is, it is NOT a good place for your money. If something happens to your child's account all the items they spent with real money could be jeopardized. It's wasteful. Gaia has good users on it still, however, the way the site has been changing has been for the worse. They push and push and push you to spend money so you can have the coolest avatar. It's almost impossible to get most of the items and keep up with the gold economy without spending real money. Use the site for the community if you must, but avoid falling for cash scams. Be weary.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written bySekken November 6, 2013
 

A Gaian who's a mom too

I am a Gaian and have been for a very long time. Back when I joined Gaia was all it claimed to be. Never did it ask for money, the forums were smut free, and the avatars where never to 'sexy' or mostly naked. Now however every outfit is about sex, 89% of the forums are dirty, the town is full of rampaned cyber-sex, and Gaia it's self is out right harassing people to BUY with real money, giving rewards to those willing to spend 100's to 1000s of dollars a month. There is in fact a shop where ONE idem is 1,000 dollars real money. An no you can't do anything with it but put it on your Avatar. It's outrageous and out of control, being a parent I would NEVER let my kid on to this site EVER.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTrinkuh November 5, 2013
 

its suck since the new CEO!

I have been on gaia since it opened and now its all about the money and all these kids that are way to young for this site is annoying us. and this new CEO took over and treat all of like crap!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bySugardream August 4, 2009
 

REALITY

Gaiaonline is an amazing site for the simple fact that it allows you to develop your opinions and grow somewhat through conversations, debates or roleplaying. I call it a "story site" when people ask me about it. For the simple fact that I am an aspiring writer and being able to roleplay with some of the other members on the site has allowed my writers voice to grow considerablely. I gain amazing ideas from some of the things that I read, the avis that I see or some of the stunning writing, or artwork done by other members. Yes, there are some bad people on Gaia. Like there are bad people on EVERY site. Really, parents, people against Gaia for any sort of sexual reason, you need to get a grip. If you're trying to ban this site for that reason then you may as well try banning facebook, msn, twitter, youtube, myspace. And any other site that is on the internet. In fact, you may as well try banning the internet all together because even on Wikipedia people can look up "sexual content". If you don't like the site then I suggest that you keep your own children or teens off of it. Last I checked, I already have my own parents who tell me what I can and can't do. They trust that I'm not an idiot who would upload a nude picture of myself. I'll let you know a little secret, if there's a nude picture of your child on the internet...its because THEY put it there. Not me, or Gaia, or anyone else. They did it. They made the bad choice they didn't know what to do because YOU didn't teach them. You can't hide your kids from the world. If you want to try and do that, then move to a community where computers are illegal.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written byProud Gaian January 26, 2011
 

Great site for all ages over 13 years old

Okay, let me clear it up for all you irresponsible parents and butthurt Gaians out there. Gaia is a 13+ site, meaning that it caters to TEENAGERS, YOUNG ADULTS, AND ADULTS. If you think Gaia is the place for young children, hit that back browser right now, because it is illegal for them to be on the site. Also, I see a lot of negative reviews about there being rude people on Gaia. If people are just being critical to you, grow a thick spine and stop being butthurt. If people are flaming you left and right, you're supposed to report it using the report button. And speaking of the report button, if you see anything that violates the Gaia TOS, report it. The moderators work hard to make sure that Gaians follow the rules. They can't get all the rulebreakers since there's so little of few and so many members (150 against 23 million users), so that's why they need YOU to report so they can clean up the bad contents faster. Lastly, Gaia is not your babysitter. If your child chooses to take sexual images of his/herself, it is YOUR AND YOUR CHILD'S FAULT, not Gaia's. You should be teaching your child what to do and what not to do on the internet.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written byChrenys August 9, 2014
 
LEARNING

As a member for eight years...

I joined up to the site in 2006. When I began, the community was pretty good. For the most part, everyone helped one another, talked with one another, and making friends was fairly easy. Granted, I ran into several issues, even then. In Towns (the flash-based community area where you can have your own house and chat in a certain map), there were more than a few times where I would run into a few people attempting to cyber. Some people, as you can expect, were very rude and intolerant... as is the case on any other site in the world, and its commonplace in real life as well. Over the years, Gaia's fallen apart. It was once my safety but right now, under new management, it's changed. The community is awful and it's hard to find nice people without an event going on, and the market has been inflated so much that it's impossible for any existing users to get anything they want without paying money, so imagine what a new user would need to go through? Each item released, where it would have once been under 15k in my first years, is now in the billions. Let that sink in a moment. Billions. They way they handle users complaining is simply to either ignore them or shut them up temporarily. They have done very little with our complaints since the inflation began, and likely before then as well. With the growing difficulty to do much of anything with the market, and in turn avatars, the majority of the market is filled with people who purposely list an item far above what it is worth so they can make a profit. On the other hand, the positives. The roleplaying community, while many of the topics are very similar, can be some of the best fun I've ever come across. It's a good place to spend time and practice your writing, as various levels of skill are spread across this forum. It's a good place to make friends and meet people with similar interests. Thankfully, with the market the way it is, the "Quests/Charities" forum is the place to go. I have my own quest thread there, one I share with my friend and my mother, who also has a Gaia account. We have gotten a large amount of donations, and people are very kind and understanding. Earning gold is hard, but it does teach a good lesson; nothing is ever easy to obtain, but getting what you want is worth it when you work for it. Overall, it is a fun site when you know your way around it and make some friends to play with. Unfortunately, there is no way to completely filter out any of the bad talk and violence without going on a mass banning, which... would really take out the majority of the community. Parents, be warned. There is no site out there not specifically made for children that is completely safe and 'clean' for a child. If you want a place for them to learn and not be exposed to this 'bad' behavior, I would suggest keeping them away from schools, radio, tv... anything, really, and most certainly Gaia. Otherwise, have at it. It's a fairly good experience.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byashleyo July 25, 2014
 
LEARNING

StayFarAway

The only thing gaiaonline wants to teach your kids is how to spend more money on Gaiaonline. The COO has been to conferences to describe what he calls "gamification" which compares the average user to a lab rat getting addicting to dopamine. Gaiaonline's parent site has created a new site call tentacl, which is a 18+ adult only site. Advertisements for tentacl on Gaiaonline are common. Gaiaonline also has released many many items that are sexualized in nature. Male and Female get pretty equal treatment with the sensual images. Kissing, masturbation, nakedness, groping. All of this and more can be simply and easily done with the items that gaia is releasing. With a little ingenuity you can certainly create an avatar that heavily implies intercourse. Worse of all, gaia has been extremely greedy. they are constantly having sales on items that you can purchase with real money, and always have a gold generator in their shop to purchase with real money. Gold generators will give a user up to a certain amount of gold, often much less than the advertised "jackpot". Not only does this teach kids that money is what you need, "get more gold! Now with a higher jackpot!! Gold Generators on sale Today!!", but it also is a terrible introduction to gambling. It's easy to get hooked on these "fun" gold generators that will always get you at least something, but what happens when you start gambling in the real world and actually lose money because of it? Not only that, but gold generators are completely ruining the experience if you want to play on gaiaonline without spending money! Gold generators have put so much gaia gold into their virtual economy that you cannot afford to buy items without first buying some gold. Terrible terrible terrible. I cannot stress this enough that you should never ever allow your child to go on gaiaonline.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byHoney.Sickle May 15, 2014
 
LEARNING

Stick to your kid's shoulder while they're on this website.

From nudity to sexually explicit avatars, this is not for anyone under 16. Many content in the forums does contain sex or sexual situations.While there is a filter for swearing, it can easily be turned off. There are many items containing smoking, drinking, being drunk, and more. There is an issue where many people try to scam others to take items, passwords, and more. You'll find cyber bullying and harassment to be a normal thing. With this website, it is pay for premium. You have to spend real life money to get any good items in the game, or to use special features. While you can earn 'gaia cash', there are viruses and many more issues regarding the tasks to earning it. The website has standard laws that you must be over 13 to join, but the content on the other side of the wall is much different from the "Join" page.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byKoda Crest April 21, 2014
 
LEARNING

A Double Edged Blade

I've been on Gaia Online since soon after it first launched in 2003. I have watched the site develop from a small community driven forum hub, to a bustling crossroads of lifestyles. Gaia Online itself offers an in-depth Terms of Service upon signup, which is, admittedly, not as well upheld as it could be, due to some moderation being user based and bias. To begin, Gaia is a site for people aged 13 and up. Users who have admitted, or can be proven to be, under the minimum age are immediately banned from the website, and in some reoccurring cases, an IP ban ensues. This makes it impossible for your child to get back on a website they are not of the age to be on. The site runs off of an in-game gold system, where you earn gold by playing games and posting in forums. There are quite a few forums for banding together to help others, having in depth discussions on contemporary world problems, trading artistic talents and even writing stories with others. But in recent history and new ownership of the site it has turned more towards a financial profit point, causing some aspects of the site to grow a tad more adult in content. I wouldn't warn against giving a child who spends 8+ hours a week money for this site if it were five dollars every two weeks. As it's a fair trade off for the consumer and entertainment provider to make. Your child gets hours of entertainment for very little money on your part. I would, on the other hand, warn against not moderating their activity and spending. There are a few parts of the site (see: Life Issues and Chatterbox) where your child is vulnerable to a lot of bullying. As is with any forum based site. In fact, many children post for advice in the first mentioned forum, and receive adamant opinions on how to act from outside sources. This can headily affect their decisions, and not always for the best. There is also a sister site to Gaia Online called Tentacl. This is an 18+ site, with much more adult themes. Please, if your child is on Gaia, look into this other site and make sure you are aware of what it looks like so you can know if your child is in a place they shouldn't be.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byklkt1107 March 19, 2014
 
LEARNING

Site is moving more and more to pay to play

This game site is obviously about to undergo a great change. They are pushing cash items at the rate of 10+ a day. They aren't listening to the players about what they want, like more fish for aquariums. As far as children go, there are too many ways people could speak privately. I would not advise it for children
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bypleasebringlove January 26, 2011
 

Please, rethink.

I'm sorry but I'm assuming the only people that would allow their children to go on the site, are lying and are just players onto the site itself (consider, how big the site is and how much those players are into this web site). But, there is nothing age-appropriate about this site, not even for someone under the age of eighteen. Let me explain more into this; Gaiaonline is suppose to obey the United States Law - including, Cali's law. In which, they do not. There are children on that site selling pictures of themselves without clothing (just their underwear - some cases, even more) to other people on that site, in which this site allows for many, many years. How is this even right? This is illegal, why would you ever want you children to be on a site like this? I found such information about this site, after reading a forum posted on the site, itself. Please do take a look at what you're really allowing your children to be on: gaiaonline.com/forum/site-feedback/t.68961264_1/ In fact, there is also a lot of bullying on that site, people will post pictures of each other in a certain area to put down other users. If someone is reaching out for some help, they usually get shot down and called names, just for reaching out to the site. The site is no real community, this site is out-of-control and something needs to be done with it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byPvt. Sokolva January 6, 2011
 

This site has the most terrible community of people I have ever seen. Someone sent me a message full of slasher porn pictures.

This game one of those interesting concepts that I explored when I was younger out of curiosity. Truthfully, all the problems I have with this site are purely because of its weak protection and terrible community. And it really does have a terrible community. I used to post and comment on the Writer's Corner forum, where people would post their poems and stories, and writers could talk with each other about writing. Even from day one, I couldn't help but notice that there were a lot, more than I've ever seen on one of these sites, of people that had nothing better to do with their day that play the game for hours and be nasty to everyone. I've seen older kids and even adults tear apart a 12 year old girl's poem. They told her she was terrible poet, told her to give up on writing and read Sylvia Plath to see how a REAL writer wrote. At one point during the mockery someone mentioned her mother and she revealed that her mother had died, at which point they teased her even more cruelly, saying she was begging for pity when she wasn't at all. She was confused and hurt, and I was so angry I never went back after that...but I saw stuff like that happen almost EVERY TIME I got on Gaia. People were rude, odd, just downright wierd...One writer (an adult) randomly started talking about taking drugs until he threw up, and then writing a poem in his vomit. There was even a time that someone I didnt' know sent me a message, and I went to see what it was, expecting a friend request, and found hard core slasher porn, pages and pages of it. As soon as I realized what it was I deleted it, but that kind of thing is not something I would want any child exposed to. Parents should basically remember that this is a kind of cult following site, and most of the sites inhabitants are mostly adults who questionably spend hours and hours on a site where you dress up an avatar into various fantasy costumes and earn money to buy more. The people are very very rude and can be incredibly cruel. I left the site and never looked back.
Adult Written byThe Fox November 10, 2010
 

Good and Bad

I'm an on-going member of the website. On some points this website is very good. There is plenty of imagination throughout everything on the website. Just going into forums of interest is a good boundry to abide by if ever the 14 - 16 joins the website. The site sends words of warning to educate the users in reporting inappropriate messages or content. The right role-playing forums can provide much fun (although I have only done a few), but users need to manage what to say and control their actions to keep it age and content friendly. There are many more positives, but that'll take a longer personal review. The bad side is of course the content when ignorant users decide to post obnoxious messages or create inappropriate forums. I've seen the current topics... some of them scare me, and I been on this website for nearly 2 years! To parents of Gaia Online users (13 - 16), talk to your kids about following the internet safety and observe their activities for at least a total of 1 to 3 hours a week to see what they talk about. Check their settings and ensure that the warning for exiting the website is enabled and other security settings are active. Don't forget talk about internet safety and internet etiquette. From a first hand experience- internet etiquette is seriously deplorable on the website.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages