Kid reviews for gURL

Common Sense says

Frank girls' site has advice, fun, and iffy stuff.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 20 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written byKatnissrocks June 20, 2015

Too Biased. Not honest at all

I don't find this site to be honest or appropriate at all. Gurl.com actually encourages teenage girls to have sex and to conform to common positions on controversial issues . To top it off, most articles, such as the ones on abortion,feminism and religion are slanted to a liberal view, not allowing any form of free opinion whatsoever. Sure, at times the site's messages can be positive but for the most part Gurls.com is leftist, stereotypical, and dishonest. This is not a great, or even good site and I encourage teenaged girls( especially those who don't share the authors' views) to look somewhere else for better messages.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byCallie00 March 5, 2015

Good Website for Teen Girls

There are quite iffy content on GURL, mainly about sex. There are several articles and boards about sex (in fact, there's actually an entire section called "Love and Sex"!), and many of those actually encourage teens having sex. I think that's wrong as teens are NOT ready to have sex, and the media shouldn't be encouraging that.

HOWEVER, GURL does offer good advice on family, friends, crushes, bisexual/gay/lesbian/transgender issues, school, etc. It also has fun quizzes and games to do. There is also a forum in which you can socialize with others members of GURL.

I would say it is off for eleven and under, pause at twelve, and on from thirteen to college-age.

P.S.: There are also a bit of swearing, but usually replaced with asterisks and symbols such as @ss and d*mn. However, teens are aware of swearing, and some of your teens may swear anyway. Also, there is a bit of consumerism; mostly ads, though. Consumerism isn't really a big deal, though.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byalynichelle May 3, 2013

Advice, help, perfect for curious girs

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old September 8, 2012

WORST WEBSITE EVER!!!!!!

If you are smart stay off this site! My mom took one look and said NO! This is not the website for anyone! Saty off it!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byclairise May 4, 2011

perfect for any age 12+

i think this is a great website for teenage girls because it gives them the facts about their period, ther pubes, their "hair" down there and what to do with it, dating issues and family issues. its just very educational and gives you the facts on sex and everything else. i dont find it bad..

This title contains:

Educational Value
Teen, 14 years old Written byilenee. April 18, 2011

Go GURL :]

Yes, there are some iffy stuff on there, but it basically is a website where a girl can get some advice from other people. Not to mention to meet new people and to express herself. I've been there a lot lately, and its not bad. its actually educational because you learn about your changing body.. boys.. all the subjects a girl needs to know when she's growing up.

So i think its a go

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 17, 2011
I like this site estpiecally the comics and they talk about what might happen later on, or what happen if I do this. It is a good site for teaching them what might happen.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written by-smile.kid- February 5, 2011

Teen Straight-Talk

It's not encouraging negative behavior. The website gives girls the facts about sex, drugs, body image, and relationships. The website is educational, it doesn't encourage you to go out and have sex with every guy you see. That's still your choice to make. Gurl just gives you the information you need to make these choices.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2010

NOT okay!

Why encourage negitive behavior???

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byilovegir November 3, 2010

mehhh. not too bad

its ok. if ur having problems with boys, ur body, or daily life, this is where you go. You get to ask questions and get good feedback. Also, you can look at what other girls have asked and see what they got. Its very useful and there are fun games on here too.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Kid, 9 years old October 30, 2010

More of a teen site, not tweens are young girls

Eh, this site isn't the best butisn't for girls 10 and under it encourages s*x and has some iffy languages.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThreeDaysGracesGirl August 25, 2010

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens.

This is a good site -again, member-, it's educational and is very helpful.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bypinkdolphin5 August 19, 2010
Sounds bad

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bythedramaqueen17 July 9, 2010

good 4 16 n up no younger

wow! im 14 and i think this site is horrendous! i was on 4 ten minutes and already i see horrind cursing not just h*** but i see the f word muliple time bleh this site is not good at all.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite July 5, 2010

Good for curious girls

Those of you who can't stomach it don't go.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2010

Yuck!

This site is horrible, if I say so myself. A lot of topics are related to sexual topics, and a lot of that stuff. It is awful bad, and anyone can say anything! This is bad.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old April 8, 2010

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byNerd Philosophies. October 31, 2009

It's a good site for mature tweens and teens

This site is pretty open with issues teenage girls face. Help me Heather is a pretty good help section. The fact that anyone can comment is great, because actual girls can tell you how it really is. The sexual content isn't encouraging sex in preteens and teens, just explaining concepts of safe and unsafe sex, STDs, and all the consequences of having sex. The label it section has some iffy language, but it's all in educational purpose.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Educational Value
Teen, 13 years old Written byadjaja May 17, 2009

Great Website for Teens

I really like it, it gives great information on important issues, such as stuff moms talk about with their daughters.
There are some comics that include sex, but it is not shown in images and they don't discuss the actual sex.
In one comic a girl discusses buying condoms with her cat.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008