Parent reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 140 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 261 reviews
Parent of a 4 year old Written bySlumber April 6, 2011

Relax and think about the positive's that can come from con's

I am 22 and have been using IMVU for about 5 years and have seen just about everything. It is what you make it. There are millions of people using this program and even more on the internet alone. Just like you teach your children about safety's outside of IMVU and the internet. You teach them about the dangers over the internet, as well. You can't be there all the time and it's up to you to warn them ahead of time of the consequences of the decisions they could make. Over the years, I have seen IMVU make many changes and continue to change for the better. IMVU is great in many ways and myself have learned a lot from it. The people I have met on IMVU have been mostly great, everyone has there own agendas on there, but most people are respectful and if they are not its very easy to close the window and leave. You always have the power in those situations and at a even safer distance. Just like if a stranger tried to offer your kid a ride you tell them to scream for "help" and run. On IMVU or any sort of chat site you tell your kids to say NO and close the window. My aunt also use's it and it is a great way for us to keep in touch and a lot of other close friends. She allows her children to use it and controls everything they do on IMVU. They have their friends from school on it in a room that their mother picked out for them to use to hang out in. Simply, if your kids are going on there looking for sexual people and items then they are going to find it, just like in the real world. That being said it's obvious for teens and up. I think we are all aware on what it's like to be a teen. They are going to do it one way or another if they want. Probably, shouldn't be so over-protective or all your hair will fall out! =]

This title contains:

Educational Value
Parent Written byMomof4greatgirls January 24, 2011

Not for children or even teens

I myself go on the site, I love creating the graphics. But, it is NOT a site for kids or even teens...the first thing you are greeted with in most chat rooms is "do you have a webcam?" and I have been asked for photos, I have been asked for my cell number to chat on the phone by men in other countries, I have had very inexplicit sexual desires given to me...by men and woman. It's not a place for kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAshivara April 9, 2008

Do not rate something that you've used for a week or so

I'm a developer on IMVU and have been there since around 2 years. To acces the mature content products you have to have atleast 18 and the so called Acess Pass that costs $20. I know that a lot of kids sign up there simply to explore in a way "sexuality". The staff is trying to "fix" things regarding comments as the starting one in here but those compromises cost developers as me not just their time but also money...yes I earn money from IMVU and pay some of my college needs and etc.No normal adult would go tell a kid in a chat now to jump on something and also if the kids feels disturbed by him/her it can always report and block him/her.For me IMVU's for all ages just not for all people regarding their immaturity.
Adult Written byIMVUout February 1, 2011
I feel it should be banned completely from the PC.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 12 year old Written byconcerned paren... September 13, 2010

Absolutely not for teens

This site allows children to potentially view pornographic content. I lures with Sims style graphics. block this site!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 18+ and 18+ year old Written byrougierouge June 13, 2011

Lighten up!

In the internet world anything goes. TEACH your kids not to trust whom they are talking to, and NEVER give out private information. I use this site, I have a blast there, but I am NOT a child. I am a mature woman, having fun, playing dress up with pixel dolls and laughing at the silliness of it all. Lighten up people... if you don't want your child exposed to internet dangers then don't have an internet connection. Period!
Adult Written byConcernedperson October 27, 2010

NO PERSON UNDER THE AGE OF 18 SHOULD USE THIS SITE!!!!

I think that it is really up to you to decided what is right for you. I don't think that this is site for children at all!!!! I do use it, but I'm 29 and choose to communicate with people this way. You don't have to buy all the crap that they have on there. PARENTS YOU SHOULD GET YOUR CHILDREN OFF THE COMPUTER ANYWAYS AND FIND THEM A HOBBY!!! PARENTS NEED TO WATCH WHAT THEIR CHILDREN ARE DOING INSTEAD OF JUST LETTING THEM DO WHAT THEY WANT. PARENTS THESE DAYS DON'T WORRY TO MUCH ABOUT WHAT THEIR CHILDREN ARE DOING ON THE COMPUTER ANYMORE OR DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW TO SET PARENTAL CONTROLS ON THEIR COMPUTERS. I THINK THAT IT IS FUNNY THERE ARE MORE COMMENTS FROM CHILDREN THAN ADULTS ON HERE. JUST GOES TO SHOW YOU THAT PARENTS DON'T PAY MUCH ATTENTION TO THEIR CHILDREN ANY MORE. I think that if people are being taken advantage of on this site, its due to their own stupidity.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byIamgrateful September 6, 2013

WHATCH OUT FOR IMVU

My 11yo daughter got on this site without permission. I tried to block it many way and she could still access it. When I called to disable it I was asked to give remote access to David the IMVU operator. I regret not being more wary. David located in India informed me daughters computer had been hacked, told me it was a very serious situation but that he could help. For $500 they would send it to a cisco tecnician for 1week or online for 349.00 for 40ish minutes and I could pay by check???? This sounded very sketchy and I asked to speak to the manager who later after much difficult back and forth he admitted he was also the owner. They kept saying that everything was very confidential and eventually hung up. I am very concerned about their integrity especially after telling me they were the only liaison to what would solve my problem and not the Apple store etc. BE AWARE!!!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bybertbert November 2, 2012

are you crazy?

theres no way this site is for kids unless you want your child taught to be pregnant to her pixel Dominate as he's surrounded by his 3 other slaves, or better yet they can have online parents some who will even go behind YOUR back to get them a ACess Pass, want to watch your child learn to carry a teddy bear and dress as a school guy for her 40 year old online lover so he buys her things? Imvu tries to hide it but this happens every minute of everyday!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 3 and 9 year old Written byThe kitchen queen June 14, 2010

band it form pc

My daughter is Internetpro and she is right this website includes Sex and this website is for no meer child to get close up to this website down right horrbile P.s my daughter wrote this but this is what i thought

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTheSanguineOne June 2, 2011

Sexual Atmosphere for Older Teens

Sexual: IMVU has chatrooms where most of the late teens there discuss sexual things commonly. As a member of the website, I have many friends that call themselves "mistresses," "masters," "slaves," "goddesses," "pets," etc., and such names are of the world of fetishism . . . A totally sexual experience not meant for early teens and younger. Swearing: Everyone swears all the time with words ranging from the least offensive to the most distasteful. Consumerism: Ehh, there are McDonalds-themed chatrooms and Starbucks-themed chatrooms and even some that have the Wal-Mart emblem on the front. Nothing wrong with those, since they're not sexually suggestive. Privacy: I am often asked where I live and whether people would like to see my feet or genitals with pictures or webcam shows. As long as you avoid the perverts, you should have no problem, BUT make sure you DO NOT list any information about your city. Sure, you can say you live in Louisiana, but don't say, "Oh, yeah, I live in Lafayette . . . " It's a bad idea. Overall: I love IMVU, but it's simply not meant for young teens and under.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byMikanojo June 22, 2012

IMVU is NOT safe for children.

IMVU promotes itself to 3rd party vendors and potential investors as being a family-friendly site, open to children as young as 13. The reality is that while it caters to young people with fun games and 3D dress up, chat and groups, at the same time IMVU is also catering to BDSM slavery, bestiality (yiffing is the slang term), sexual age-play involving children and adults, and some adults who pretend to be children, involved in sexual content and themes. The most common listed interest in IMVU is 'escort service' then "slave / master / mistress / switch". IMVU has incredibly ineffective separations between children and abusive sexual themes and content. IMVU does not actively monitor its own site for content, instead it relies on the users to report on each other, at which point those reports go on a to-do list for their customer service that is currently outsourced to Manila, where people interpret (or misinterpret) the vague rules of IMVU in an unequal manner. X rated inappropriate products are a constant problem, appearing in the adult and children's catalog. The slavery BDSM content has actually been endorsed by IMVU in bundled products they sell - there may well be slave owners among the staff for such emotionally and psychologically abusive bondage, domination, sadism and masochism to be so prolific in IMVU. In plain words, IMVU entices children to use their site and then at the same time also attracts, harbors and supplies online sexual deviant predators with access to BDSM content. IMVU is a child molester's dream come true. A virtual community with an over-sized red light district that has no police, and judges who are under-trained..

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGirlNextDior October 3, 2011

Poor parenting is to blame, not IMVU.

Hmm. I'm sorry but a lot of you who wrote reviews are parents who are a bit over protective of their children. NO IMVU is NOT for children under the age of 13. At all. Under no circumstance. But if your children are doing things on the internet you don't like or are not aware of, then it's your fault. Do not blame other sites for existing just because you don't know how to be a parent in this technological age. I'm 20 years old. I started using IMVU about a year ago. I enjoy it a lot. I have made many good friends on there. I'm a creator. It has given me opportunities to make real life money by doing something I love doing. I use a fake name on it, I don't give out my real name. And no one but the people I truly trust know where I live. I am smart enough to know who I can and can't trust. There are ways to find out who's legit and who is not. Anyways, it is easy to get out of uncomfortable situations you might find yourself in. .All you have to do is press X or sign out or disable your account. So if your child/children are using IMVU and making friends, and you are concerned, then monitor them. It's unfair of you to run around saying that IMVU should be banned. IMVU is no different than any other social networking stuff like AIM messenger, msn messenger, yahoo messenger, even Facebook or Myspace because both of those now have a chat box. So, just be a parent and know what your kids are doing on the internet. I can remember being 13 and getting on chat sites. IMVU is harmless in comparison to those things. All the people who talk about all the sexual content that is there, are exaggerating a bit. It's there. But unless you go looking for those things then you will run into them very infrequently. There's people on there who ask for sexual things but it's definitely NOT worse than if you went on a chat website. IMVU is actually quite good at banning users who are abusive as long as they get reported and IMVU has a strong set of rules under their TOS. Sexual content is not allowed in public chat rooms but we must remember to report those things so they won't happen again! There are extra features which include more sexual content, but those are features that have to be paid for. So to end this, to all you parents out there, just be a parent and watch your kids.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byNuttyflip March 29, 2015

Severe risk of highly explicit sexual content

My daughter registered with this site some months ago. I didn't like the look of the avatars and asked her not to use it any more; she gave her agreement. Unfortunately she was lured in again. Her school sets maths homework using an online provider and so I allowed her to use a computer in her bedroom for homework purposes. After retrieving the laptop from her room recently I discovered that she had 'found a room' with another user and that he (I assume) had proceeded to described pornographically sexual acts that his avatar was performing on her avatar. The language and content described were extremely explicit. She is eleven years old. Parents, unless you are physically monitoring your child's computer activity 100% of the time, I recommend you do not allow your child to register with this site.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byA NAME THAT EXISTS August 21, 2015

I've been on IMVU for 9 years

I signed up for IMVU when I was 13 years old in 2006, I'm almost 23 now. I told the truth about my age because I believe that was the requirement. Even though I played so long I can't say if it was worse then or now. In 2006 adults and kids could be in the same room and do AP actions. I remember strip clubs and bikinis on the beach. Somehow those were the only rooms I went to and I always made sure I was in a room with more than 3 people because it's just boring and weird with 1 person and that right there can get you into trouble. IMVU was like a place you can do everything you can't do in real life. And that's how it should be. Experience craziness and bad things online will teach you not to do it in real life. That was the lesson I learned from it. Online you should be able to do anything as long as you don't bring it to real life or hurt people, unless they want to be hurt?. I didn't have any relationship on there and I still haven't now because things like that should only happen in real life even if you connect with that person you shouldn't do it. Anyways I left that game for a few years because I needed to study hard to complete my dream and I did! so I came back recently and it's really interesting to watch how everyone behaves. Everyone says this game is not educational but it is, now there are a lot of foreign people there and if you see them say the same things over and over you could learn their language because hello, they are just saying the same stuff you say, just in their own code they learned while growing up. It also teaches you to not be like the people on there. Not to get addicted or try to find people to date or use money on the site because all the time on the pulse, peole are complaining they dated or trusted someone and spent a lot of money on them but they cheated, this stuff happens in real life but yea same stuff happens on here and there is always some VIP/AP person complaining they are bored. I ask VIP/AP life is boring? Glad I didn't waste my money to find out. I am proud to say that I have not spent more than $10 on IMVU. I just bought a name token for $1.00 during an awesome sale in like 2007 and glad I did because I wanted to become a developer and don't even need VIP because I'm an old member, how nice right. I don't use it but if the site is still up then maybe I will when I turn 60 and retired and have nothing to do because honestly I think that's the people that truly should be online so they can find other elders to talk to and relax because they have worked hard their lives, not playing on computer all day and complaining as a young person. For now I will just watch the people on the pulse and occasionally in the rooms while I work because it's pretty weird and interesting how everyone behaves like it's real life. I think something is wrong with them all and hope they will get help. I sometimes wish I can help but that would require getting to know the person so they finally listen to me tell them to stop it's not real and you know this. The reviews on this site are equally as interesting. I'm glad to be born at the time I was to enjoy all this. Lol. Perfect! I just hope everyone continues to be idiots and spend their money on the game to keep the site up because it provides me with great entertainment.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBougiePGlory June 10, 2011

IMVU SHOULD BE 18 AND OVER! DONT BE FOOL BY KID FRIENDLY LOOK!

I am an active member of the IMVU community. Whether you like or hate the website is based on personal experience. I have gain many friendships on the website... but I am an adult. 1. IMVU allows profane language, things such as smoking, shooting each other, violence, etc. 2. Even the GA poses, I wouldnt want my 13-15 y/o child in a kissing pose with another child on the internet. 3. Kids have access to way too much adult content and the potential to run into many other people who LIE about their ages. 4. The rooms are NOT MODERATED by any staff. Instead they are moderated by a group of your own peers that you dictate to watch your public rooms. 5. IMVU has no control over who you child meets and how they meet them. Even ADULTS are being scammed on this website, so imagine impressionable children. IMVU is to wits end trying to defend that this is a kid friendly game when it is NOT... There is violence, drugs, nudity, and sexual content just laced throughout the site. It may LOOK kid friendly with the big headed avatars but lets be serious, you cannot mix adult content with a teenage environment and have good results. IMVU needs to make this site strictly 18 or over. Altho I think a mature child of 16 could probably handle it, they are minors and IMVU has no way of protecting minors from adults or adults from the minors in either case. People are lying about their age, saying they are older or younger. You have to have money to even pay for things like VIP and more credits to enjoy the game... so all it takes if you giving your child the credit card info so they can purchase credits for a seemingly harmless online game and they take the info and purchase AP.. and BOOM... instant access to an adult world.... PARENTS THINK TWICE BEFORE LETTING YOUR UNDERAGE CHILDREN ON THIS SITE! REVIEW THE SITE YOURSELF AND MONITOR THEIR ACTIVITIES ON THIS SITE!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byORose March 1, 2013

What a joke Not for Any Age

Ok let get to the point here, what i been reading is Addicts and Family who do not know what IMVU is and leting there kids play, i tell you a story here, i been doing some chat i been on Imvu for some time i was talking to a women who leting her 11 year old On imvu and talk freely to any one she want but yet she get upset when someone is so unhappy they wanted to die clameing they are wrong, but yet she have her kid age set to 21, one more story of how so many of the so called Rp there run by PPl who do not work and put most of there cash in to the room outfit and so on, Imvu is full of addicts who do not know what is real and what is not Imvu need to be put down or atless have a time set on there so you not behide playing or tapeing all day You will read a post or two of some kid clameing how bad it is or how good it is take a look at there age Imvu do not want Ppl under 13 on there site but kids still do

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byalicia_d7 May 26, 2012

U SHOULD KNW

it shows sexual positions.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDesayne August 15, 2011

Imvu review

I have been a user on IMVU for almost four years now. Four years of my money and time have gone into this site and I am absolutely appalled by the blatant and constant disregard for their customers and community. Time and time again, IMVU have ignored the wishes and concerns of their users by forcing through changes, removing popular functions and squeezing it's famed developer community for every penny they can get. The first thing I would like to highlight is the abhorrent lack of customer services that this site provides to the users there. It a common experience for people to receive inadequate, to down right off-topic responses to complaints and help tickets that are filed. I have only ever filed a couple of tickets, which were with regards to their previewer (a developer tool used to create custom content). The responses were not only unhelpful, but also ill-explained and resolved none of the issues I had raised with them. I know of dozens of users who have had many more ill-dealings with their customer service. To put it concisely; there is no customer service on imvu. Only customer's frustrations. The second thing is the peer review system IMVU implemented a couple of years back. Not only does this system allow for users to pass through inappropriate content at their discretion, it also takes forever for a developer to submit through to the catalogue system. This measure is entirely insufficient and it is frequent for adult rated content to leak though to the minors on the site. The third is the 'dev tokens', promo credits system and increased profit margins that were forced onto the developer community. Promo credits cannot be used on-site in the same way as bought credits. They have no value anywhere other than in the custom created content catalogue. These credits then are converted into DEV tokens. They only account for a very small portion of the original spenditure with promo creds and are used when submitting products to the catalogue. So in other words, the content creator is loosing out on a lot of credits. IMVU also increased the percentage of profit they took from the items which drove catalogue prices and derivation costs up significantly. The fourth is the introduction of the 5k credit transfer limit. Now this was introduced (without prior consent or consultation of the community) in order to increase security levels. Of course, this sounds all well and good, but it posed a massive problem to a forum section called the GASR (Graphic Arts Services and Requests). This forum is a place for the artists in the community to advertise their services and take requests and commissions for artwork and DP's (default pictures, which are profile pictures). Obviously, with levels of popularity and different measures of talent, there were prices varying from a couple of hundred credits, to over 10k in credits. Those who had prices for items costing over the 5k then faced the problem that people could no longer purchase their items. This affected custom home and product page layout designers and coders, custom 3D meshers, custom catalogue requests and graphic artists. This credit limit also effected user-created contest groups and pages which offered prizes for winning. IMVU clearly didn't consider anyone's opinions or the consequences of their actions when implementing this new security measure which received an uproar from it's users. Then there was the Top Modelz game fiasco in which IMVU actually promoted art theft with a slogan that actually stated within it... 'steal the best pictures', again bringing outcry and anger from it's community. They had also submitted every user into this game without prior notification or consent. The game was rife with adult rated pictures and content which were on full view to the minors in the community (the age limit being a mere 13 years old). The popular voice chat feature which had recently been added was then removed from public rooms without notification and again, without consulting community opinion. This leaving frequent chatters to mourn it's loss after only a few months of it's introduction. Then the command *saveOutfit command was removed in a recent (and faulty) update to the IMVU client (the interactive, 3D chatting program imvu bleats on about so much). This command was popular amongst outfit contesters (a daily outfit challenge run each day by IMVU in which users create pictures with catalogue items to fit a specific theme) and is a requirement in user-created contest groups. It instead replaced it with the glitchy and controversial 'change outfit' feature, which actually allows users to change their picture in an 'entry is final' contest. This action was taken despite petitions to keep the function. As was done in several instances stated above. Child safety is also VERY questionable, as with the instances aforementioned, they have also got very slack age verification measures which allow users younger than 13 to access it's site and there are ways that these underage users can purchase something called an Access Pass, which provides access to adult rated content such as nude avatars, flaccid genitalia, sexual action poses and furniture, alcohol, cigarettes and gore products. Occasion after occasion, IMVU have proven that the value profit margins more than customer satisfaction. They have, at every turn, made life more difficult for the talented developer base that have made the company what it is today, the dedicated, the loyal and the longtime users that have poured countless hours and cash into it's depths and shirked on it's responsibility to those in it's community who require it's assistance with issues and providing sufficient security to the vunerable younger users who are at risk of being exposed to adult-rated content and predatory users. If it weren't for the amazing community of users on this site, the extensive and high quality catalogue of developer products and some redeeming chat features that are available, this site would be a memory of my long distant past. IMVU would do well to appreciate their users, to value opinion and build relationships within the community, because without them, this site would be nothing.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFlowers gybhbhbhb January 1, 2016

READ

If you are thinking about letting your child on this game think again! Imvu is a very innopropiate game aimed at teenagers which includes innopropiate dance moves such as - Twerking and also sex poses.There is a place you can shop on imvu which has a lot of stuff mainly casual stuff but also includes stuff like bikinis and lingeries which is not suitable.The chat rooms are mainly make out or love chat rooms which has sex poses .the people in the chat room like to do cybering which is basically acting out sex DONT LET YOUR CHILD ON THIS I used to go on this when I was 12 and my mum found out and banned it from me SHE EXPLAINED ITS LIKE PORN! Which is true even though I was on it for making my avatar pretty

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages