Kid reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 140 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 261 reviews
Kid, 11 years old August 8, 2010

This is not SAFE!

Well i have played and they do use cyber sex and my parents let me continue on the website but then it was an issue but i knew to get off of it when a teenager asked me where i live, whats your address,don't worry i wont hurt u,i will take care of u and i will make u feel good so i ran to my mom and i was to be asked to never be on there again the guy got in trouble and found out he was 30.so it can happen to teens to so thank u and thank u for listening!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byFaralynn February 18, 2010

Pros and Cons of IMVU (warnings and advice included)

I don't mind it, but there are a few pros and cons, and unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros. The sexual content is a bit overboard, especially in chat rooms and some groups, though luckily a some people put "18+" or "XXX" or "Rated R" in their group titles or in certain threads. Sadly, due to curiosity and natural rebellion, children will lie about their age and be accepted into these groups/rooms, even if the creator makes a homepage check or group check on the members. I'm a member, and while most groups aren't focused on sex, the ones that are are a problem. The viruses that are interconnected with the IMVU 3D chat is also a problem; they crash computers at least two weeks after installation, and slow down the computers due to the sizes of the files. Predators aren't likely to seek out your children, but just in case, it is best to keep personal information to a minimum, which means limiting the things you put on your homepage or setting it on "Friends Only" or having it so that you and only you can view your homepage, and only putting people you know and trust as friends. Naturally, that's common sense. As for parents' concerns about child safety, if you inform your child about the dangers of Internet predators and viruses(preferably starting at a young age; the younger they learn, the more instinctive the information becomes), they may think you're being a worrywart, annoying, or over-dramatic, but they will absorb the information. The customer service for IMVU is virtually non-existent; the only way to get the CEO or other members of the company to listen to your complaints, you must try almost everything, even if you're a dedicated member that's been on the site since it first began. Also, the “Help Tickets” in IMVU only give you a computer-created response, if any at all. The complaints in the forums are given an equally mechanical response, advising the member(s) to file a “Help Ticket”. However, IMVU is not all negative. Like all social networking sites, you can interact with people from around the world and make new friends, as well as keeping in touch with old ones. Unlike most, you can create virtual products and gain computer graphics skills. You can also enhance your writing skills and let your creativity blossom, though it is easy to get hooked to the idea of constant creative juices flowing in and around you, just as you can get hooked on Facebook applications and MySpace groups That does not mean IMVU is necessarily addictive; it's just fun, though it could be addictive to many. It's easy to become engulfed in the virtual world, to have it mean more than the real world, like many other games. The nudity is a problem, and I know first-hand that if another Avatar is showing nude or sexual content, you WILL see it, even without the "Access Pass" or "VIP Membership". If you're an aspiring writer or graphics creator, IMVU is great as a creative or educational outlet. If you're smart about keeping your personal information(for those that don't know, that includes your full name, age, birthday, address, school/work, and appearance) to a limit, it is a great way of meeting new people and staying in touch, as I stated before. IMVU credit-based websites and companies, like those of other virtual currencies, make money from the members by offering better deals for credits than the company itself. The language in the site is not censored as it should be, probably to help keep the size of the site to a minimum. Virus protection is highly recommended, preferably from Norton, Ad-Aware, and/or AVG, and the temptation to download the 3D Chat is probably one best ignored. Viruses can also be transferred through trusted links, so run virus scans regularly to catch any signs of viruses(if you download the Chat or not) so you can get rid of it before it can cause more than minimal damage to your computer, if any. Sticking to groups that seem appropriate – or buying products that are appropriate – for your age group will keep the sexual/drug/alcohol/violence exposure to an equally appropriate rate. Though it might seem a pain or unnecessary, if you're under 18, it would help if your parents were kept informed of any threats, inappropriate messages, disturbing content, or other things that make you feel uncomfortable; 1) so they trust you more, 2) so they can help, if possible, and/or 3) so they can inform the police if the messages/content continues. These are just suggestions, mostly for PCs since Macs are more immune to viruses, though are recommended for both, though I'm not an expert. These are just observations and recommendations from a member of IMVU.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Kid, 10 years old June 22, 2011

My sisters IMVU obbession

Im ten yrs old and my 15 year old sister plays on it and i saw her character naked and having sex with another persson.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byiKarnage August 27, 2009

Get your 11 year old daughter off the internet.

I have been reading the reviews and I noticed that everyone was complaining about the sexual content and innapropriate speech. I have also noticed that almost every review was from a child from the age of 11-13. To me they shouldn't even be on the internet unmonitered. They are still young, I mean im 16 but I'm very mature for my age. But what I'm saying is that young kids can easily attract a virus to your computer by not knowing what they are doing. And yes IMVU can be a little offensive but why is your 11 year old daughter on it? If you do not like your child on IMVU than you can block the side under parental controls. But instead you all want to rant and rave about IMVU being a very innapropriate site. That is your opinion, and the only way that you can see the innapropriate content is, like everyone has been saying, an access pass. You have to have access to a credit card and you have to be 18 years or older with a verefied account. I recommend that a child 14 years or older can play this game with no harm. If they are any younger they shouldn't even be able to type that well and this is a typing software. Us teenagers use it as a hobby, we can show off our virtual avatars and increase our social skills. Yes some people have boyfriends and girlfriends and even some married, but I dont see any harm in that. It's not unhealthy or wierd, sometimes people like your personallity more than your looks and IMVU can be that chance. I have noticed that IMVU was crowded with innapropriate content but know it has switched management and its undergoing alot of changes, and slowly but surely it is correcting all of the innapropriate products and behavior. This is a good past time and it can even get you into development, helping you educationally by teaching you 3d software and design. But I think i've taken up alot of your raving and ranting time and i'll let you go so you can let ur kids on the internet. Oh btw facebook and myspace is no different, people can still have "sexual conversations" with your kids. In conclusion QUIT giving IMVU a hard time. Its a great product and an addicting hobby. Thank you so much :)JessyJeter. Avatar name iKarnage.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Privacy & Safety
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 8 years old August 20, 2010

WHY I KIND OF HATE IMVU

i dont feel good cause IMVU is a very unsafe web i wish i had imvu its like a adult you no kind of you no things

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written bykirakira97 July 9, 2010

You have to be responsible to use this fun site.

I find this site only inappropriate if your kid makes it inappropriate. Parents blame the site for what their kids choose to see and say and do with whomever your kid wants to talk to. The site's message is a generally good one about making friends and expressing yourself.Its how your kid does it that makes it inappropriate.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Positive Messages
Kid, 12 years old July 2, 2011

A disgrace to online gaming

I have never had an account on IMVU, but one of my former friends did. She told me her cousin, who is 18, had showed her it. When I slept over at her house, I saw her playing it. She had a collection of private messages with people who were about 18-30 years old. Note that my friend is only 12. She had given away her real name. In this review I will refer to her as C. Some messages were like, "C i want u and i luv u sooooo much" and "cmon C lets have some fun ;)". And then there's the advertisements... I was on one of those flash game websites. It was meant for kids my age. When I decided to play a game, an advertisement popped up on the side of my screen. It showed two IMVU people (lacking a better term) dressed as the characters from the movie Avatar. The people-avatar things were making out, while the female had her legs wrapped around the male. Both were only wearing underwear. So overall, this website looks horrible. I won't ever join this website.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2010

Who made this webstie and why?

Sexual content: Users can get all the way undressed, giving them the option to kiss, make out, or have sex. Violence: Users are allowed to kick each other, slap each other and give each other wet willies. Product Placement; You have to pay for a better membership Safety Issues: Its very often that users ask each other to online date, there's no moderators. It's easy for a old man or women to lie about his/her age and talk to children and teens, which is a HUGE safety issue. I hear a lot of stories about people saying their 14 when they are really over 30. User content issues: Users often argue, ask each other to online date and say lots of rude, nasty sexual comments. This is not for kids or even teens! Language issues: Since there is no filter, users can swear without getting banned. Drinking drugs and smoking: As Common sense media said, on the user home page. Off- 17 and Under Iffy- 18-21 On- 22 and up. This is not safe at all! Keep it away from your computer

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byitachi3679 February 18, 2011
its alright..i mean...so clothes in the catalog IS disturbing...the chat rooms can become dirty but...you can find friendship chat rooms instead of fools or 18+ people makeing out online...which is totaly NOT RIGHT! NEVER DATE ON IMVU! if your looking for something like this...please go look up the sims 3

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byTrueWords September 6, 2011

Truee Review OF Imvu From the Eyes of a Ex-User

Imvu is not a place for children 17 and younger even though some user are as young as 12. Imvu is fulll of sex and drug use. Even if the AP Pass, the pass used to get access to MORE raunchy things, isn't purchased raunchy things are still in the catalogs. And i know this only because i was once a user of this horrific place.
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2009

I tried this once...

When I tried this, it clogged up my laptop with so many popups I had to delete it from my files right away. I wasn't even able to locate the chat rooms or even see my avatar! I don't know the content of the site, as I was not able to view it, but downloading it took at least two hours of my time! It was horrible. I do NOT recrommend this site to anyone who doesn't want their computer clogged with spam. BOO IMVU!
Kid, 9 years old December 23, 2010

Its alright

I have seen so many adds for it so I thought it might be fun not about the boys I just liked the rooms and when I logged on I faked my age on purpose to see if it was safe no it isn't I logged myself on to 18 in one minute I am also on stardoll I recomend stardoll you get friends and for older kids talk a little deeper and I know thousands of people who as my friends already are on it and we chat.now IMVU is a STUPID USELESS GAME and thats just the start.definletly over 20 thats when I plan to get a boyfriend seriously.but it would be GREAT for 20 up.Like if you have money and are sensible then its perfect but I would NOT reccomend for under 18 at the very least.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Educational Value
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2010

Off for kids tweens and some teen ages

Users can make out and even have sex. Also, its very graphic. Safety is an issue because strangers can talk to anyone. Punching and kicking can also happen. You have to pay to not get flirted with or attacked! Since its a free chat, users can swear. Drinking drugs and smoking are found on user home pages.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old August 22, 2011

My opinion on this site

Well, in my opinion I think It's a fine site for kids 11 and up. It's not dangerous unless you don't teach your child about online safety. People may say it''s a bad site but it's really not. Some people might think the people are to mean, but you could find a loving family and build a great friendship and not involve into the trouble other people are making. I'm 11 and I think this site is fine. Most people may not agree but this is just my opinion and how I think. So no, I don't think this is a dangerous or bad site. As long you lay down rules for your child and watch them a couple of seconds to make sure they do the right thing, the site would be a good cyber community to enjoy.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 11 years old July 25, 2010
Well, i'm 11 and i had a user before. I had quite a experience on this website. I dated a guy that was 16 and when it came to phones, he asked for a photo of me in my bikini, i said nothing back and told my mom. That ended it. My mom deleted my account and i am NEVER gettin back on that web ever again til im 13 . but if some older random guy ask for innapprioate stuff when i start it, im quiting till the age of 16. i recommended this website to 16 year olds and up. and there is a lot of sexual stuff in this web.. if i ever have kids, im never goin to let them on this site EVER till the age of 16 or 13.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheOnlyTellerOfTruth August 15, 2016

Great

There is nothing bad about it. People get banned when other people call it bad. Everyone who calls it bad are brain dead I am actually an adult and I say this game is fantastic for all ages and people don't have to go to rooms where there's kissing and sex 1 out of 10 rooms are like that. It makes since to buy credits and it is not a waste of money.
Kid, 10 years old July 20, 2010

Too much love?

I loved this website but before you download this I have to tell you it broke my pc like it died for good this is the new laptop i got from my family. A lot of sex is included

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byK33MIA_KIM November 1, 2009
Love it!.... Dear Parents, you should not worry if your child is online as long as they know no information Is shared and YOU AND YOUR CHILD know who there talking to you, you should be able to trust your child and plus out of my own experience imvu users have never done anything unusual or suspicious or sexual neither have they threatened everyone is so nice and if anything happens they have a blocking and a reporting page! (Thanks to that) but i do believe if you are younger than at least 13 i wouldn't necessarily recommend it but if your child is responsible and they can for sure handle imvu then it would be fine (i would recommended watching your child in case)its not anywhere say like myspace because myspace is all social networking but imvu you can do so much P.s. imvu must be downloaded oh and it is educational because it involves 3D graphics and more! Sincerely, Kim

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byloveyall22 April 20, 2015

Dont try it if you are under a certain of age14

They say horrible things that may be very inappropriate such as sexual contact, and the profanity. I was just board and i wanted to play a game this game . This guy said "let me be your daddy and i will be the nastiest and dirtiest daddy ever but don't tell your mom". There clothes are very bad for younger viewers.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byLuxeyGirl May 19, 2010

Parents & teens, keep IMVU away from your computer!!

I played this game for just a small while and uninstalled it shortly after deciding I had bad experience. In reguards to how appropriate it is, I would strongly advise parents and teens not to install this game. The interaction and entertainment comes solely from social interaction. IMVU is, essentially, a collection of chat rooms with the added bonus of user-customized avatars. Being that this is an advanced source of social interaction, there it a socially heircy / popularity system within the active community - which I could see easily (even subconsciously) encouraging & pressuring teen players to step beyond their comfort zones or disreguard the safety precautions they should always take on the internet. This is espcially a subject of concern given other player input and the environment of an open social forum. Aside from the games browser in itself, a lot of players also use & encourage other players to use MSN or Windows Life Messenger (even Skype) to communicate between one another after establishing a friendship. Player web profiles are often not as censored as some would consider safe or desired. Romantic and adult ideas are heavy within the games chatroom, avatar catalogues, and the players themselves. Any level of exposure is practically a given, as is that of innapropriate language! Players can purchase enhancements for their homes, avatars, and personal accounts using credits. Credits are either bought or poorly earned. To "earn" credits, one must complete bogus offers or similar through irruptible websites that often and / or either require personal information, install malware to ones computer, and often install unnecessary junk to ones computer. These offers often require a cell phone number, (which will most likely charge ones cell phone bill on a regular basis until service is manually discontinued), an e-mail address (which will most likely be spammed), or other unknowns concealed in fine print. After completing these offers, deals, or participating in such advertised & company-supported services it's not even a likely guarantee the player will recieve the credits IMVU advertises apon completion. This is a total rip-off. Additionally, the interface and graphics are generally poor. I woulden't doubt theres far safer, more reliable, more enjoyable, better quality social simulation games available on the internet - as this choice is clearly near the bottom of the barrel reguarding all of those most-desirable aspects. I'd also note that amazing, all-satisfying, teen-appropriate games of this catagory are extermely sparce and mostly require some not-commonly-met, little-understood demands (restricting genre, restricting socially, costly, demands on computers). In my personal opinion, it's my experience that your time and effort might be better invested in a different genre of games or entertaining web-based activity. I'd strongly caution all interested against IMVU!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety

Pages