Kid reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 190 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 278 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheOnlyTellerOfTruth August 15, 2016

Great

There is nothing bad about it. People get banned when other people call it bad. Everyone who calls it bad are brain dead I am actually an adult and I say this game is fantastic for all ages and people don't have to go to rooms where there's kissing and sex 1 out of 10 rooms are like that. It makes since to buy credits and it is not a waste of money.
Teen, 13 years old Written bykirakira97 July 9, 2010

You have to be responsible to use this fun site.

I find this site only inappropriate if your kid makes it inappropriate. Parents blame the site for what their kids choose to see and say and do with whomever your kid wants to talk to. The site's message is a generally good one about making friends and expressing yourself.Its how your kid does it that makes it inappropriate.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Positive Messages
Kid, 11 years old August 8, 2010

This is not SAFE!

Well i have played and they do use cyber sex and my parents let me continue on the website but then it was an issue but i knew to get off of it when a teenager asked me where i live, whats your address,don't worry i wont hurt u,i will take care of u and i will make u feel good so i ran to my mom and i was to be asked to never be on there again the guy got in trouble and found out he was 30.so it can happen to teens to so thank u and thank u for listening!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byChessecake April 9, 2008

I Cryed! I laughed!

Ummm.... Hi, my name is Parrish and i really like IMVU because it gives you a chance to meet new friends.Also IMVU is really really fun for teens my age.
Teen, 14 years old Written byXxxxBabyJade101 August 14, 2019

Its not as bad as ppl make it seem

Its 2019 now and its really good people are funny and its not askin people for phone numbers and stuff I saw adults complain about the chat well...you can always go to another one and report them...you cant judge the game off of a first experience they act all sites have to not have people acting violently but games like msp,club penguin and ect are like that for teens and adults we are having fun with it and its ok thats what makes the game fun unless u catch your kids doing this stuff pls let people do their thing have a nice day and try to have fun and give things a try dont judge things by other people's behavior also its funny how adults say not for kids but act like y'all cant read its like 15+ like it says that but yall say not for kids like we know it say that in the description dumb ass lol

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bymirah April 30, 2019

love and good

i love this app so much it good
Teen, 13 years old Written byFaralynn February 18, 2010

Pros and Cons of IMVU (warnings and advice included)

I don't mind it, but there are a few pros and cons, and unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros. The sexual content is a bit overboard, especially in chat rooms and some groups, though luckily a some people put "18+" or "XXX" or "Rated R" in their group titles or in certain threads. Sadly, due to curiosity and natural rebellion, children will lie about their age and be accepted into these groups/rooms, even if the creator makes a homepage check or group check on the members. I'm a member, and while most groups aren't focused on sex, the ones that are are a problem. The viruses that are interconnected with the IMVU 3D chat is also a problem; they crash computers at least two weeks after installation, and slow down the computers due to the sizes of the files. Predators aren't likely to seek out your children, but just in case, it is best to keep personal information to a minimum, which means limiting the things you put on your homepage or setting it on "Friends Only" or having it so that you and only you can view your homepage, and only putting people you know and trust as friends. Naturally, that's common sense. As for parents' concerns about child safety, if you inform your child about the dangers of Internet predators and viruses(preferably starting at a young age; the younger they learn, the more instinctive the information becomes), they may think you're being a worrywart, annoying, or over-dramatic, but they will absorb the information. The customer service for IMVU is virtually non-existent; the only way to get the CEO or other members of the company to listen to your complaints, you must try almost everything, even if you're a dedicated member that's been on the site since it first began. Also, the “Help Tickets” in IMVU only give you a computer-created response, if any at all. The complaints in the forums are given an equally mechanical response, advising the member(s) to file a “Help Ticket”. However, IMVU is not all negative. Like all social networking sites, you can interact with people from around the world and make new friends, as well as keeping in touch with old ones. Unlike most, you can create virtual products and gain computer graphics skills. You can also enhance your writing skills and let your creativity blossom, though it is easy to get hooked to the idea of constant creative juices flowing in and around you, just as you can get hooked on Facebook applications and MySpace groups That does not mean IMVU is necessarily addictive; it's just fun, though it could be addictive to many. It's easy to become engulfed in the virtual world, to have it mean more than the real world, like many other games. The nudity is a problem, and I know first-hand that if another Avatar is showing nude or sexual content, you WILL see it, even without the "Access Pass" or "VIP Membership". If you're an aspiring writer or graphics creator, IMVU is great as a creative or educational outlet. If you're smart about keeping your personal information(for those that don't know, that includes your full name, age, birthday, address, school/work, and appearance) to a limit, it is a great way of meeting new people and staying in touch, as I stated before. IMVU credit-based websites and companies, like those of other virtual currencies, make money from the members by offering better deals for credits than the company itself. The language in the site is not censored as it should be, probably to help keep the size of the site to a minimum. Virus protection is highly recommended, preferably from Norton, Ad-Aware, and/or AVG, and the temptation to download the 3D Chat is probably one best ignored. Viruses can also be transferred through trusted links, so run virus scans regularly to catch any signs of viruses(if you download the Chat or not) so you can get rid of it before it can cause more than minimal damage to your computer, if any. Sticking to groups that seem appropriate – or buying products that are appropriate – for your age group will keep the sexual/drug/alcohol/violence exposure to an equally appropriate rate. Though it might seem a pain or unnecessary, if you're under 18, it would help if your parents were kept informed of any threats, inappropriate messages, disturbing content, or other things that make you feel uncomfortable; 1) so they trust you more, 2) so they can help, if possible, and/or 3) so they can inform the police if the messages/content continues. These are just suggestions, mostly for PCs since Macs are more immune to viruses, though are recommended for both, though I'm not an expert. These are just observations and recommendations from a member of IMVU.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeukenrol July 6, 2015

Oh boy...

I personally tried this game out myself... when trying to join rooms, the only rooms you'll find are rooms for sex, fetishes and sexy poses. It may advertise itself as for teens, but if you're really that desperate for sexy things, just go watch porn. Don't let your kid play this game

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byloveyall22 April 20, 2015

Dont try it if you are under a certain of age14

They say horrible things that may be very inappropriate such as sexual contact, and the profanity. I was just board and i wanted to play a game this game . This guy said "let me be your daddy and i will be the nastiest and dirtiest daddy ever but don't tell your mom". There clothes are very bad for younger viewers.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byTrueWords September 6, 2011

Truee Review OF Imvu From the Eyes of a Ex-User

Imvu is not a place for children 17 and younger even though some user are as young as 12. Imvu is fulll of sex and drug use. Even if the AP Pass, the pass used to get access to MORE raunchy things, isn't purchased raunchy things are still in the catalogs. And i know this only because i was once a user of this horrific place.
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2010

Who made this webstie and why?

Sexual content: Users can get all the way undressed, giving them the option to kiss, make out, or have sex.
Violence: Users are allowed to kick each other, slap each other and give each other wet willies.
Product Placement; You have to pay for a better membership
Safety Issues: Its very often that users ask each other to online date, there's no moderators. It's easy for a old man or women to lie about his/her age and talk to children and teens, which is a HUGE safety issue. I hear a lot of stories about people saying their 14 when they are really over 30.
User content issues: Users often argue, ask each other to online date and say lots of rude, nasty sexual comments. This is not for kids or even teens!
Language issues: Since there is no filter, users can swear without getting banned.
Drinking drugs and smoking: As Common sense media said, on the user home page.
Off- 17 and Under Iffy- 18-21 On- 22 and up.
This is not safe at all!
Keep it away from your computer

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old February 17, 2010

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Positive Messages
Kid, 10 years old February 5, 2010

very bad for younger children like me

imvu is the worst most innopropriet website that i have seen youtube is better then this i mean really i tried joining u have to "install" wich i hate number 2: i sasw the pictures of "romantic couples" wich i find bad for kids number 3: the rating isnt the best and theres no protection of the "type chat" wich means like if u say a bad word u can say it cause theres no protection!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written bysweetg799 April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written bysurfergirlie April 9, 2008

its a fun site..but it could be dangerous!

Imvu is a great site! its soo much fun. u can chat and meet new ppl..and sometimes u meet some strange ppl..but u can block weird ppl and report abuse to ppl u are uncomfortable around..so imvu is pretty much only dangerous if u make it to be..and about drugs/alcohol/sex/language..well that is not really something u can stop..but if it get to out of hand then u can report them or block them! have fun and be safe!! LUV YA! Peace =]
Teen, 14 years old Written byKukii6 May 30, 2020

Child predators

Child predators will ask for nudes and be inappropriate .Don't accept friend request from random people u don’t know

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byLucyxxxx May 13, 2020

Doesn't seem right.

I recently got this game recently and it doesn't seem right at all, I will be deleting it probably tonight. I am always scared about stuff happening on it and I would not recommend this for 17-.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byKylaimvulove12 April 3, 2020

This game is not that bad yet

I love this game it's popping
Teen, 13 years old Written byBaeli February 13, 2020
The game isn’t rlly that bad! The parents are blaming the game bc the KIDS decide to go into those rooms for “fun stuff”. it isn’t that bad if you don’t put your self in bad situations. As long as you go into rooms to have friendly convos and stuff you’d fine. If YOUR KID decides to go into a “fun stuff” room it’s there fault not the games. Stop blaming the game

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byKandye December 13, 2019

15+

I think this game is for kids aged 15 and up, There is alot and i mean, Alot of sex, Swearing and other, I dont recommend this for 9< . Also for Safety and privacy, A lot of people apporach me (23 to 30) , Thats a reason why i think it's 15+.Thanks for listening! Keep your child safe.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages