All parent member reviews for Marapets

Parents say

(out of 7 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byElementum August 13, 2013
 

Avoid at all costs!

The site is in overall, completely unsafe. It was hacked at least five times in less than a week by a hacker who was never even caught. The Staff in this game informed me that the hacker was only able to infiltrate Marapets' security because their site had NO security at all--according to them, it wasn't even necessary because they have never had an issue with hackers up until now. What kind of logic is that? It's like leaving your doors open and just waiting for the burglars to come charging in before considering those locks. Because of their incompetence, explicit material such as pornography and much more were posted for hours in a CHILDREN'S FORUM. Not only is their practice incompetent, but it's also extraordinarily unethical and I would not advise any parent to allow their children to visit this site--it's just not safe. Their ads are also constantly riddled with malware and my anti-virus has blocked dozens of attempts at a security breach while browsing its pages. Apart from the safety and ethical concerns, this site is also not worth investing in. Updates are typically delayed for months at a time, and this is because this site only has one game coder -- a man named "Ian." This man is not qualified for the job and has permitted countless bugs to exist in the game at the expense of players' good experience. It is no wonder why when I visited this site years ago, there used to be at least 5,000+ active players... but nowadays you'll hardly find it reaches as little as 600. This game is dying, and quickly. Its Staff Team is also extremely rude and will ban you without an explanation... you literally just get a ban notice with no explanation! They've banned me personally five times, and I had to spend hours arguing with them that their reasoning for doing such doesn't stick before they unbanned me. They exonerated me from everything, but after each unbanning, I never got so much as an apology and they ALWAYS acted as if I was to blame. They're evidently too prideful to admit they made a mistake. This game has provided me with what I can bluntly say the WORST consumer experience I have ever experienced and I would not recommend anyone to join this game unless they're a sucker for disappointment and abuse.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bypalmtrees_palmtrees April 5, 2010
 

Mara vs. Neo?

I looked at other reviews about marapets before eventually joning.As for forum trolling you'll find idiots that will knock you down because of the things you like or the things you do basically everywhere on internet unless you go to a pet site where trolling is banned like petRPG (RPG IS GREAT!!).I personally stoped going on the neopet forums because I was called a few names and harassed here and there.But are the two realy the same? Well,both have fairys exept not even neo's Darkest Fairy or Jhudora go to the point of drunkeness (trash fairy), promoting obesity (obese fairy), or literally killing your pets (decapitation fairy and light fairy).I agree with the person who said you have to accept dark humor to love the site.Maybe even warpy humor.I have both so I find mara enjoyable except the fact you must keep your pet from "dying".And both neo and mara have annoying (VERY ANNOYING!) ads exept mara's can be more "disturbing".And "gold members" are the only ones who can create the "limited edition" pets I believe,maybe I'm wrong. But that doesen't bother me.Too much.I love both neo and mara but both need to say "Vomvoyage" to thier ads.My conclusion is mara is a great site, but only for some.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written bycommonsenselady December 28, 2012
 

The Scoop

I use this site. I was converted from the almighty Neopets. I disagree with a lot of these posts on how horrid Marapets is. The forums are aimed at an audience of 13 and up, and when kids sign up they are supposed to put their real age (sure that doesn't always work, but that is not Mara's fault). Second, pets do NOT die unless a very expensive item is purchased. They do not die from inactivity or not feeding your pet. The only bad things I have to say about Mara is that there are some not so child friendly 'cute' images. Such as the Trash fairy (portraying drunkenness), Fat and Skinny costumes/Obese fairy (prejudice against certain weights), and some minor cursing and innuendo. Oh, and Marapets forum users in RC and SC are primarily liberal and democrat. There is a discussion forum open for all users 13 and up where people can debate real life issues (homophobia, abortion, and legalizing marijuana among the topics)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 14 year old Written bysuffacate May 7, 2011
 
Okay, this is 2011. Marapets is a virtual website kinda of like Neopets. You can play games, care for pets, join or make clubs, buy (with real money) Account Upgrades, chat on message boards, restock, trade & auction items, and a lot more things. The only thing you have to watch on there is the message boards, cussing is frequent - I mean frequent. You will see conversations about sex, alcohol, drugs, rape, gays, politics and there is usually a lot of arguments and bashing. Staff and users frequently use cuss words and innuendos. Some words are not permitted, of course, the site is just a little more laid back on rules. A good site, overall.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom August 18, 2010
 

I can't really say its any good.

Its alright if you don't go on forums. If you say one thing wrong in forums that someone doesn't agree with. The whole forum goes absolutely nuts at you. They will cuss you and call you names. When you are new people all the time call you "Newbie" basically implying you know nothing about the site. For a pet site you get a load of tough asses on it. I don't like it really.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3, 12, and 13 year old Written bymolokaicreeper July 20, 2009
 

Great for adults, ok for teens, not good for kids.

I have been in Marapets since August 2007. Like I mentioned in my rating, I suggest Marapets for individuals over 13 years of age. The gameplay and activities in the site are a lot of fun. And it is easier to play than Neopets. Marapets has a lot of cutesy stuff (true) but the fairies are either all evil, gruesome or lazy, so they don't set good examples for children. I honestly think you need to like dark humor to love this site. With headless pets and mummy pets due to being sacrificed by fairies this is definitely not for kids. It is extremely addictive, specially to adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bychocolate241 June 5, 2009
 

This is such a biased report

You've obviously haven't given the site time, or explored it. There is plenty of stuff to do, and plenty of goals to achieve. The forums are a great place to kill time and make new friends. There are staff and Moderators watching the site to ensure there is no crude or inappropriate comments posted. You get the chance to personalise your profile and character, PLUS YOU DON'T HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING. They have the Account Upgrade system there for anyone who would like to donate. Its a great site for all ages. I have siblings that are 8 and 10 on there, and they may not be old enough to use the forums or mail other users, but they have plenty of things to do. I also have friends that are 20 on there. Everyone is there to enjoy themselves.