Parent reviews for Marapets

Common Sense says

Virtual world low activity; pretty high on safety.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 19 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 42 reviews
Adult Written bywkidd April 1, 2019

awful staff

The experiences with the staff directly are indicative of how poorly this website is run. Very childish mentalities and much unfairness across the site. If you have not been a member the whole time the site has been running and are not kissing the staff's rear-ends, do not bother. Also there is a severe privacy issue and corruption issue. Stay away at all costs!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byElementum August 13, 2013

Avoid at all costs!

The site is in overall, completely unsafe. It was hacked at least five times in less than a week by a hacker who was never even caught. The Staff in this game informed me that the hacker was only able to infiltrate Marapets' security because their site had NO security at all--according to them, it wasn't even necessary because they have never had an issue with hackers up until now. What kind of logic is that? It's like leaving your doors open and just waiting for the burglars to come charging in before considering those locks.

Because of their incompetence, explicit material such as pornography and much more were posted for hours in a CHILDREN'S FORUM. Not only is their practice incompetent, but it's also extraordinarily unethical and I would not advise any parent to allow their children to visit this site--it's just not safe.

Their ads are also constantly riddled with malware and my anti-virus has blocked dozens of attempts at a security breach while browsing its pages.

Apart from the safety and ethical concerns, this site is also not worth investing in. Updates are typically delayed for months at a time, and this is because this site only has one game coder -- a man named "Ian." This man is not qualified for the job and has permitted countless bugs to exist in the game at the expense of players' good experience. It is no wonder why when I visited this site years ago, there used to be at least 5,000+ active players... but nowadays you'll hardly find it reaches as little as 600. This game is dying, and quickly.

Its Staff Team is also extremely rude and will ban you without an explanation... you literally just get a ban notice with no explanation! They've banned me personally five times, and I had to spend hours arguing with them that their reasoning for doing such doesn't stick before they unbanned me. They exonerated me from everything, but after each unbanning, I never got so much as an apology and they ALWAYS acted as if I was to blame. They're evidently too prideful to admit they made a mistake.

This game has provided me with what I can bluntly say the WORST consumer experience I have ever experienced and I would not recommend anyone to join this game unless they're a sucker for disappointment and abuse.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGwlyrics July 19, 2021

Malware ads, super restrictive rules that make it unplayable

Site is littered with ad garbage. You get banned for being inactive now apparently. No one should play this web game. It's a ripoff anyway to make money off gullible children and the founder is racist. If you want to play with friends don't bother especially if you use the same wifi. I had friends get banned for this. There is nothing to gain by playing marapets and there never will be.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byEmero January 9, 2021

Worst moderators on the Web

The staff'moderators are extremely rude, and won't hesitate from chat banning you or other punishments for literally what they ADMIT are assumptions about intentions. They can be wrong every time they warn you, but they will not admit it, and trash talk you as if it's your fault that they're 30-40 years old trying to poorly moderate a kid's site. If they wrongly assume 2-3 times then you get chat banned for 1 hour - 2 days. If you explain to them they're wrong, you'll get further warned.
All they do is assume, they won't ask you what you meant by something or what you're trying to do, they anonymous send you a warning (where they will usually admit what they're warning you about is based of of what they can assume without actually asking or researching a topic, literally punishing you for their poor guesswork) which you can't directly respond to, because they don't -want- you to explain yourself, and they especially don't like being made to feel stupid by being corrected with basic logic or -being told the truth, instead of having the situation based off of assumption.-
If you correct them, they will talk down on you as if it's your fault they're wrong about something, (or in honesty's case, wrong about something, all the time.) I mean, they're literally trash talking kids because they THEMSELVES are wrong about something.
Staff do not care about individuals. Only themselves. And they act like unsympathetic idiot hypocrites for the remainder of the game.

Used to be a great game, but it's gone to trash for all the trashy, useless moderators.

Also, the Adult forum isn't NSFW, it's just for chatting amongst those who aren't 13-14 y-o kids.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byShahril_2207 March 1, 2021

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAliciasWorld February 11, 2020

This site has LE or restricted pet species and items that are hard to obtain!

There are some species that are limited edition and restricted. One limited edition species I want so bad is the Rusty. It can be only obtained by completing the Rubbish Dump mission thirty times. If you fail to complete a mission, it will send you back to level 1. Also, If I got a Rusty, I would put the Baby Costume on him/her although it seems to cost around 35,000,000 MP. It was from an account upgrade from June 2005. It cannot be found on shop search or auctions. The reason why I wanted a Rusty is because it reminds me of the name of one of my future dogs. This site frustrates me so much!!! :(
Adult Written byamu24 October 13, 2019
Adult Written bycrumpets May 18, 2019

Marapets was a cool site then....

This site was neat years ago when it was newer they had cool give aways for real life items like a Nintendo ds then the owners greed took over, the events used to be new and exciting then they just start having the same events with no interesting new ones. they used to add new games every week or few weeks down to never adding new games they took away daily high scores which was the only thing that made the games any fun. SOME not all staff are lame they judge too fast and punish people without communication including the owner then hardly say sorry when they one who are wrong. just try and undue the punishment they wrongfully gave you all while still treating YOU THE CUTSOMER crappy... the site sometimes has no staff online ive seen lots of hacking scammers and trolls
Adult Written bySteven Rode December 23, 2018

Auction house unfairness.

Auction house is a major problem people can see your Currency and instantly jump over your MP cap for what you wanting. You have to be rich or you loose all high costing auctions. To actually afford AU you need a bank/paypal which need to be 18+ to have.
Adult Written byMaria_The_Vampire April 19, 2018

My favorite MMO RPG

-really fun
-well run
-nothing in particular is inappropriate or anything (as far as I've seen) but 11 seems like the right age?
Adult Written byl B. September 16, 2016

Just don't bother

Staff won't help with anything. They just leave you and dont reply, no matter what the issue seems to be
Adult Written byKatie S. August 28, 2016

Content is great. Nice community.

I look at the other reviews and think that we are not talking about the same website! There is cartoon violence and some mild expliciatives are used but you can set your child an underage account up so they don't have access to the social features of the site. The content is good and there is always something to work towards whether it is a collection or a mission etc.
Adult Written byKittencat March 9, 2016

Terrible site- terrible stadd

Adult Written bycommonsenselady December 28, 2012

The Scoop

I use this site. I was converted from the almighty Neopets. I disagree with a lot of these posts on how horrid Marapets is. The forums are aimed at an audience of 13 and up, and when kids sign up they are supposed to put their real age (sure that doesn't always work, but that is not Mara's fault). Second, pets do NOT die unless a very expensive item is purchased. They do not die from inactivity or not feeding your pet. The only bad things I have to say about Mara is that there are some not so child friendly 'cute' images. Such as the Trash fairy (portraying drunkenness), Fat and Skinny costumes/Obese fairy (prejudice against certain weights), and some minor cursing and innuendo. Oh, and Marapets forum users in RC and SC are primarily liberal and democrat. There is a discussion forum open for all users 13 and up where people can debate real life issues (homophobia, abortion, and legalizing marijuana among the topics)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 14-year-old Written bysuffacate May 7, 2011
Okay, this is 2011. Marapets is a virtual website kinda of like Neopets. You can play games, care for pets, join or make clubs, buy (with real money) Account Upgrades, chat on message boards, restock, trade & auction items, and a lot more things. The only thing you have to watch on there is the message boards, cussing is frequent - I mean frequent. You will see conversations about sex, alcohol, drugs, rape, gays, politics and there is usually a lot of arguments and bashing. Staff and users frequently use cuss words and innuendos. Some words are not permitted, of course, the site is just a little more laid back on rules. A good site, overall.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom August 18, 2010

I can't really say its any good.

Its alright if you don't go on forums. If you say one thing wrong in forums that someone doesn't agree with. The whole forum goes absolutely nuts at you. They will cuss you and call you names. When you are new people all the time call you "Newbie" basically implying you know nothing about the site. For a pet site you get a load of tough asses on it. I don't like it really.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bypalmtrees_palmtrees April 5, 2010

Mara vs. Neo?

I looked at other reviews about marapets before eventually joning.As for forum trolling you'll find idiots that will knock you down because of the things you like or the things you do basically everywhere on internet unless you go to a pet site where trolling is banned like petRPG (RPG IS GREAT!!).I personally stoped going on the neopet forums because I was called a few names and harassed here and there.But are the two realy the same? Well,both have fairys exept not even neo's Darkest Fairy or Jhudora go to the point of drunkeness (trash fairy), promoting obesity (obese fairy), or literally killing your pets (decapitation fairy and light fairy).I agree with the person who said you have to accept dark humor to love the site.Maybe even warpy humor.I have both so I find mara enjoyable except the fact you must keep your pet from "dying".And both neo and mara have annoying (VERY ANNOYING!) ads exept mara's can be more "disturbing".And "gold members" are the only ones who can create the "limited edition" pets I believe,maybe I'm wrong.
But that doesen't bother me.Too much.I love both neo and mara but both need to say "Vomvoyage" to thier ads.My conclusion is mara is a great site, but only for some.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 3, 12, and 13-year-old Written bymolokaicreeper July 20, 2009

Great for adults, ok for teens, not good for kids.

I have been in Marapets since August 2007. Like I mentioned in my rating, I suggest Marapets for individuals over 13 years of age. The gameplay and activities in the site are a lot of fun. And it is easier to play than Neopets. Marapets has a lot of cutesy stuff (true) but the fairies are either all evil, gruesome or lazy, so they don't set good examples for children. I honestly think you need to like dark humor to love this site. With headless pets and mummy pets due to being sacrificed by fairies this is definitely not for kids. It is extremely addictive, specially to adults.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bychocolate241 June 5, 2009

This is such a biased report

You've obviously haven't given the site time, or explored it. There is plenty of stuff to do, and plenty of goals to achieve. The forums are a great place to kill time and make new friends. There are staff and Moderators watching the site to ensure there is no crude or inappropriate comments posted. You get the chance to personalise your profile and character, PLUS YOU DON'T HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING. They have the Account Upgrade system there for anyone who would like to donate. Its a great site for all ages. I have siblings that are 8 and 10 on there, and they may not be old enough to use the forums or mail other users, but they have plenty of things to do. I also have friends that are 20 on there. Everyone is there to enjoy themselves.