All parent member reviews for Omegle

Parents say

(out of 40 reviews)
age 17+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bymoviemadness April 11, 2010
 

Omegle is ONLY for responsible teens and up

Omegle can be fun -I've had some great conversations that have been truly educational and fun! There are also some issues, horny men and teens abound, trolls are everywhere, and there are lots of users who swear, talk about any subject they want, share links to questionable material, ask for personal information such as e-mail addresses or facebook, or demand chat/webcam sex. For any child, or teens that aren't responsible, omegle.com can be downright dangerous. For responsible ones, it can be fun!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bypandora09 February 17, 2012
 

Not For Kids!

Hi My 13 year old daughter has recently been going on Omegle,a friend told her it was a fun way to meet new people.. This is a lie,can any of you guess what happened next? My daughter rushes to me absolutely traumatized by what she saw. A grown man was sending her inappropriate pictures and asking for her to do the same! I wanted to investigate myself so I went onto Omegle and as soon as I started a chat I was asked for my 'asl' which I believe stands for age,sex and location. So I say that I am female,13 and then this stranger is asking for my email and is asking me to do inappropriate things. All I can advise is stay away from that site! Omegle is certainly not for children and I don't think adults should be on it either. It is a sick place for grown men looking for a sexual thrill. I would also say to not go on webcam either,because apparently there are men there absolutely naked. From parent to parent please don't let your kids on this site!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byLorry123 March 31, 2010
 

porn galore

terrible, very rude males showing their private parts.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bykgcobb December 2, 2009
 

No No No - not for teens especially teen girls!

Hate it. Not for middle school or younger teens - especially girls! Dangerous and unnecessary access to cruising pedophiles or just curious, inappropriate men.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bySmith Miller February 18, 2014
 

Omegle

Omegle is totally boss and has tons of funny jokes.. However, please not children may be exposed to violence, racism, sexism, sex, porn, ect. the list goes on. =))) Dont forget drugs too
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byrockin59 January 7, 2011
 

REALLY BAD!

It's horrible! Nothing good comes from it. I went on just to see what it's about. I know people are untruthful. So was I. People who go on this site should be aware of hackers/trackers. Scary stuff. This site or any other sites that is similar to this should be banned! I highly agree with what I just said. What a waste of time to meet people! Not a good idea at all. Meeting people on the internet is always wrong. This upsets me a lot!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written byshugarbaer13 August 27, 2010
 

okay for 18+ bad, not exceptable for 18and down!

I think that it is a okay website for people 18 and older to get on and chat but they also have the option to go on live chat where people show inappropriate behaviors and not appropriate body parts and actions that are not suitable for children under 18 years of age!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byOmegle Chatter October 4, 2009
 

Chatting on Omegle

Omegle is open to anyone- that is its unique value prop. but also opens the doors to unsavory types. A similar site GettingRandom.com is limited to registered users of Facebook and be safer for that reason.
Parent Written byjjj1922 July 10, 2013
 

PARENTS AND TEENS BEWARE!!!!

I stay at home and watch our children like a hawk (helicopter, over-protective parent here) and Our very own quiet and shy 13yr old was told about the site by a friend and tried it out.....we ended up contacting our local authorities due to an 18yr old in a different state asking her to go to Mexico with him!!!! That was within a few minutes of conversation. This site is horrific! The authorities knew about it and they don't recommend the site for ANYONE! It is too dangerous whether you are 13 OR 18! If you are an adult on the site, please be aware that you are at risk for having a discussion that could possibly be misconstrued by a minor, or their parents/guardians. Is it worth your life, your freedom, your child's life to "chat with a stranger"???? Get real. Grow up. This site (and the creator) is lucky there isn't a class action lawsuit to be shut down, regardless of the "terms" and "disclaimers"....much of which a teenager could not possibly understand anyway. Hopefully there will be an investigation as I am taking our situation and complaint as far as I can (congress, local representative, etc.) I have contacted the media about this as well. Parents: Get the word out! Save a life! Do not allow your children on the site, block it, and tell other parents!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byLaneyWhite December 5, 2012
 

Parents beware - Omegle might just as well be called "Peodophiles R us"

I found out by chance that my (just) 14 year daugher has been using this site. Now banned. Her conversations (referred to in subsequent emails) involve guys asking her for sex and asking to meet her in hotels for sex. I am appalled by the absolute faceless nature of this site, just a "hi" from a stranger. I pretended to be a 14 year old girl and after a quick introduction - John, a college student from South Africa (yeah right) was asking me if I was horny. This site is just a breeding ground for men pretending to be boys preying on young girls. Parents, do not let your children use this site. I am a huge fan of the internet but this is a very disturbing side of it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byBarbara Yates August 27, 2012
 

CAUTION!

Even though I've taught my daughter abut internet safety, she still went on this site where a guy said he took her picture and then threatened her that he would share it (she was in her bra) if she didn't do things that made her hugely embarrassed. We are both freaking out. Keep your kids away from this site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byiEmmyful April 10, 2012
 

Safety is more important than virtual relationships of any kind

My daughter had the most terrifying experience here. To any young women who happen to read this, I urge you to protect yourself and stay away from this site. Men always claim to be either 16, 18, 19, or 21. It is unsettling and bizarre. Just for a test, I went online and claimed to be a 13 year old girl. Most men told me that they were teens or in there 20s and even went so far as to encourage sexual contact between me, even though I was claiming to be 13. They told me that I was being rude when I tried to disconnect. Trust me, if you are looking for a young man, this is NOT your place to do so. Young women who feel like no one wants then fall into the trap of these predators so easily. Please, do not open yourself to the risk. Do not risk becoming just another statistic- Someone who lost their life to sexual predators online. As a parent, I can not tell you how important your safety is.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bykathkrogh November 27, 2011
 

15? With all the trash on there? Good idea, but the bad/risks definitely outway the good.

My 12-year old just came to me and told me he walked past the computer (in a common area) where my 18-year old was on omegle. I don't know what was going on, but my 12-year old saw the word "rape" on the screen. Now he's worried about his big brother. I guess, we'll all be discussing this more... By the way, I logged on to check it out before I talked with my kids, the first ? was asl (age, status, location, I assume) and then "do you want to see my C***?" Yipes! And, of course, now I have to worry about my younger son going on the website since he saw his "big bro" do it. Blah.
Adult Written byDanotto94 April 23, 2011
 

It's more of a site to use when you're bored and feel like chatting with random people.

Well, I used the site a few times to just meet people in different countries and maybe to stay in contact with them via other social networks (Facebook, Skype), but the only major disadvantage I see is the amount of sexual exposure, become there have been numerous video chats starting out with the other anonymous person exposing an intimate part, but the good part is that you can instantly disconnect. I've met many interesting people not interested in "dating" and have received their contact information. I'd stick with my specified age limit, but it's really the user who must willingly decide what purpose they want to use Omegle for.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educator and Parent of a 12 year old Written bypeterker January 15, 2010
 

Bad Idea

After all the effort we expend getting kids to understand the danger of revealing personal info on the internet, and how hard it is for kids not to be tricked into giving too much away in conversation, I should think it would be obvious that this is a Bad Idea! I have very little problem with my son using online chat tools to talk to his friends, but the idea of chatting with total strangers just doesn't make sense
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byFreedomFromCens... August 30, 2009
 

Fun to use when you're bored! You might get to know some interesting things

Yes, you basically talk to strangers with this, parents. However, as long as you have stressed the dangers of giving out your name and age to these people, then you're good to go. Languge? Depends on the person, always expect it, but it shouldn't be a big deal for anyone over 13+ (this goes by my saying that if you don't want your child to hear something in the media, its a good chance he's already heard it tons of times at school, you can't keep your children innocent forever anyway, you'll hurt them in the process). I've used this several times and actually got a few interesting conversations going, one from a person living in German, as far as he told me. Overall, its a fun, safe, anonymous way to talk to anyone across the world about anything you want.
Adult Written byTeensOpinion17 July 13, 2015
 

Omegle.., yay or nah?

I've been going on this site for a few years now, I was roughly around 13/14 when I first went on it. I have to say it IS a risky site to go on as you don't know who you may come across...that being the horny creeps and so forth. However, that being said you do have the option to disconnect if you feel uncomfortable talking to someone and there's no one to say that you NEED to tell people where you're from and your age...overall I would say its an OK website, for those who use it sensibly. Only users aged 13 and up can access the site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byabidiner July 10, 2015
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 15 year old Written byNeen March 20, 2015
 

A pedophile's playground

As a mom and professional therapist, I see no reason why anyone, child or adult, would want to talk to complete strangers unless they were looking for sexual content or had some serious pathology. when I discovered my 15 year old had downloaded this app, I also discovered two men who had solicited her for her kik and snap chat info. Why any parent would allow their child to have this app, speaks volumes to their inability to set limits. This is an open invitation for pedophiles and sexual predators.
Adult Written byWoo13 January 15, 2015
 

Ew... No and Ew.

This website is literally a trap for under aged girls. 99.9% of men on here are creeps who want to pollute the innocence of teens. All they do is flash their parts. Teens find something better do, stick with snapchat, facebook or whatever common social media. Just know that talking to strangers is always a risk. Someone can easily track your IP address from you connecting to their webcam and get your location. Then what would happen if this person shows up to your house? Nope. find another way to have fun b/c this is not it. Parents block this
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages