Parent reviews for Second Life

Common Sense says

Adult themes easily encounted in popular virtual world.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 51 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 46 reviews
Adult Written byCedric_Cross August 13, 2011

Immorality? In MY Secondlife? Deal with it.

Okay.... Why are children posting about this game? Well, no, not game, but still. Second life Has been an 18+ game for 8 years now. And yeah, there are a lot of horrible things on it. I know. I'm a user of three years now. And a developer. It's a little thing called common sense, people. When you create a sandbox environment like this, you can only expect people to do things like that. It's the internet but fully interactive.... in 3D. You learn how to avoid its' bad places and whatnot. If you enjoy those places, and you're over 18, more power to you. But I will tell you all this. THat place has taught me more about coding and 3D modeling than any book or website ever has. In the three years I've played, I can now create fully functioning AI, model an entire character, animation and all, and more. There is a teen grid with heavy restrictions on creations for younger folks who want to still get in on the good side of SL and personally I would rather join that if it weren't for my already successful business in the mainland programs and houses.

And yes, you spend money on it, it's a fully functioning economy parallel to earth's. You can actually survive in real life off of your earnings in it if you're any good.

Too long didn't read?
-NO KIDS, IT'S AN 18+ GAME.
-IT GIVES FULLS CREATIVE TOOLS INCLUDING A LIGHTWEIGHT SCRIPTING LANGUAGE ANYONE CAN LEARN, EXPECT DISTURBING CREATIONS.
-LEARN TO DODGE THIGNS YOU DON'T LIKE, IT'S STILL THE INTERNET.
-IT WAS MEANT AS A SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT FOR THE CREATIVE. LEAVE IT AT THAT.

thank you.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byAnisSyazwane December 29, 2019

Weird and bad yet good

Second Life was one of my worst and weirdest experiences, I am glad it didn't ruin my life or changed in drastically.

Does it affect school? I remember I played it when I was 12 - 13, I lied about my age. When I played it, my grades remained decent, it's not like I had good grades to start off with before I even played it but I still manage to get amazing grades during exam. My mom had to scold me once not to skip sleeping to play it, and I controlled my gaming from that day on.

Wifi quota? It costs a lot. I had to stop playing when the wifi quota got too high. It's a bad thing yet at least I learned that wifi quota was a thing. From that day, I only play the game in an internet cafe while dining my family. We went there whenever we need high speed internet, it was good.

Social life? Nothing is affected much. I am good at keeping up a mask to hide my eccentricity and game addiction. I still have friends. I didn't have much social life to start off with so I've got nothing to lose.

Growing up? Nah not much problem. I got pretty bored of the game since there is nothing much to do.

Virtual experience? Buggy but the people there are sorta okay. I was warned about the dangers of online. Don't just add friends until you know them. Know which one is legit. Be more critical and cynical.

Virtual roleplaying experience? It was okay. Although I don't do much.

Computer viruses? Yeah there are a lot. Even just using the average website may contain that. Use antivirus protection application and you'd be safe even while online gaming.

Overall safety? Just like real life, there are dangers. You just need to think more critically and know which one is legit or not, you'll be fine.

Learning experience? Great! I learned that ZBrush and Marvelous Designer was a thing and what are .obj and mesh files are. I communicated with creators and they are really nice on sharing their knowledge. It's good if you want to do 3d modelling or programming.

Gaming experience? Eh, I have seen better. I moved on from it and started playing Elder Scrolls. Second Life needs to open the ability to change movement controls and hotkeys. Since it lacks that, I am completely turned off by the game now

Payment experience? I didn't and can't pay for anything due to Paypal transaction issues with my country. There are ways to earn L$ inworld like getting a virtual job. I use the L$ I earned to create things and then sell them, I earned more. Yes, you need L$ to upload mesh or textures. I don't know how to explain them well why it is like that but you can search it up. It's just like real life but a virtual one.

Now time for the deeper negative stuff.

Sexual content? Yes, it is an 18+ game for a reason. But it is to be expected like the internet as well. You can make the content to 'general' only and it'll hide/censor all sexual content.
____

Conclusion: should an 18 year old play this?
For some learning experience or roleplaying fun, maybe. There are more videos now about 3d modelling and programming that it's better off going to Youtube than in Second Life, back then it wasn't really easy to find.
As long as the player is aware and responsible, then there are no issues trying Second Life out.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byConcerenedMothers May 17, 2019

Really Realistic

Everyone in this game makes fun of me, just like in real life!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byxXShimmerPassionXx July 9, 2018

Second Life! Wow!

Second life definitely is a great game. An open sandbox, an open WORLD! Where you can explore, and have a good time! Great game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBrandi S. June 1, 2018

Absolutely NOT for kids or teens!!

This game is not suitable for kids or teens. When I first made my account I was 32 and met the wrong person. I’m sure there’s some good people but not in my case. I became friends with whom I thought was one of the nicest people and turned out to be so wrong. That was farthest from what they was! Turned out they was a computer hacker. This person got into our family photos of my children , extended family and friends photos! Not just photos anything on our computer, they steal everything. I had always told my children not to talk to people online they didn’t know and I watched them closely. The same thing I told my children not to do I did. I let my guard down. These type people look for easy prey and the naive innocent people just trying to enjoy a game. I have to say it’s been like an absolute nightmare still dealing with this evil pyscho that happens to be a Hospice nurse in Tennessee and it’s been 11 years! These type of people are very sneaky, charismatic, they definitely bring on the charm and VERY difficult to catch. People are crazy so becareful and watch your children, teens and yourself on any online games. I’ve given all online games up because of what happened. We live in a scary world for sure. Lesson learned for me! It’s a shame someone can’t just feel at ease and play an online game without worrying about those type of people ready to pounce. I don’t want anyone else to go through what I have. If you’re an adult wanting to play this game keep your guard up too to protect yourself!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bylunag126 April 28, 2013

This game ruined my life, and quite possibly will ruin yours.

When I was 11, I was a lost soul. I had no friends, had depression, low self esteem, and was one of those mature looking, but inside very impressionable kids. One day I was browsing the Internet and came across this website, "Second Life." it looked like everything I had hoped for. New beginnings. A chance to be a pretty, sociable girl. Only problem? It was for 18+ only. I didn't think much of lying about my age. After all, I wasn't academically stupid and knew how to accurately portray an eighteen year old. Well, that was one of the most regrettable mistakes I've made. Ever. By the time I was eleven, I'd become a potty-mouthed, stupid, shopaholic, cybering addict who was failing all of her classes because she spent several hours a day chatting with shallow friends. I'm ashamed. That game is lime crack. It doesn't solve anything and does nothing but wreck you from the inside out. And, the horrifying thing is; I can't get off of this website, it's so boring, but so horrifyingly addicting. I'm only 13, and I feel as if I'm on a doomed road. I've told my parents about this and they've uninstalled it from my computer, but I know how to work a computer and how to hide the application from my parents.
TL;DR-do not touch this game. It ruins lives.
Adult Written bySparkyDeluxe45 March 28, 2019

Hypocrite

I really think is purely business, Second Life is out there to get your money mostly, unfortunately is full of people who love to take away from you everything they can and Linden Labs is no help at all, all they care is to see the money come in, I loved it at first, you do make a lot of friends from all over the world but the thing is that second life are such hypocrites because their famous TOS (Terms Of Service) claims to condemn ageplay (pedophilia) and I agree 100% with this but After 8 months playing in Second life I was banned, I filed 7 tickets and they got closed within 5 hours, I tried calling and got the answering machine to direct my call to the right department only to hear a recording that there is no help over the phone and to get help on line? After 7 tickets and no answers, I provided them with names and also they could see my chats and inventory, never once I did anything wrong but not a single word from them except that my case was closed . Is amazing that they let creators make and sell anything you want for Zoophilia, Pedophilia, Rape and their TOS condemn it?
HYPOCRITES and BULLIES but don't just take my word for it, I am not the first nor last person to be banned for no reason, check the other reviews here or other places, google and see the stuff they sell in Second Life, that's ok because is money going into their pockets and then they tried to make themselves look good because they randomly ban people every so often. Don't waste your time or money.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAnya J April 17, 2018

Fantastic Virtual Reality, but not for kids!

I love SL dearly and think it's the best virtual reality ever conceived and actuated...

- BUT -

...people need to understand that Second Life is NOT a game, it was never designed to be a game and it will never be a game, therefore children MUST be protected from accessing it.

Humans being what they are, there IS a lot of seriously 'seedy' and demented adult activity that goes on (same as real life), which CAN mostly be avoided by changing your account settings so you're prevented from accidentally teleporting to a cesspool of slime bags.

You'll still see the odd moron desperate for attention, wearing next to nothing while pretending to look all innocent, but you can permanently de-render them so you never see them again (if you use the Firestorm Viewer - the official Viewer doesn't offer any such conveniences).

You can also block them from ever communicating with you, so it's not as though you're left completely helpless.

A child, however, wouldn't know those things and seeing activities of such a twisted, 'base' nature could - potentially - psychologically damage them for life.

As far as I'm concerned, any adult allowing a child access to Second Life should not only have their heads read, but be convicted of child abuse.

It. Is. NOT. A. Game!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byRoxie R. December 30, 2016

Second Life Is Not What You Think

Second Life is an abusive and violent game. I left the game altogether because of all the threats, bullying and abusive behaviour towards me from other players. This game will ruin you! This game will take control of you and reality! As far as I'm concerned, Second Life should be banned for good!! I will never ever play this game again!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bydavidmcbride1963 February 7, 2021

Toxic and lacking management

I worked for the company and found they have a lack of professional management. They hired and celebrated depraved individuals and fired skilled and competent workers. The manager in my office was formerly a cable internet installer and his subordinate manger was formerly a DVD rental store guy. I have never worked in a company that treated its customer base with greater contempt. I resigned my position.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byKing_of_Hearts October 18, 2018

Second Life is 100% NOT for Kids!!!!!!!

Nudity, adult conduct/language, lots of adult items and potential for actual kids to meet predators should they bypass the age filter and log in. It's like turning the internet into a 3D user created world, everything dangerous about the internet applies to Second Life.
It's not too bad for adults over 18 though, there's plenty to do and see, people to meet and if you're into creating things it's worth checking out.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bykimmbafnp August 15, 2016

Porn in the supposedly 'no adult content" areas

All the reviews on common sense media were old, and upon reviewing the rules for Second Life, I gained the impression that things had changed and that there were now adult areas for those over 18 and "general" areas that were adult content free: "General" areas in Second Life do not advertise or make available content or activity that's sexually explicit, violent or depict nudity. As we've also often said, General regions are areas where you'd feel free to say and do things that you'd be comfortable saying and doing in front of your grandmother, or a grade school class. Institutions such as universities, conference organizers, teen-friendly Second Life merchants, and real world businesses, for instance, often operate General-rated regions" - quoted from the Second Life online guide.

My teen daughter and I decided to check it out, as she loves Sims4 and this seemed like a possible online setting that was similar and allowed distance play with friends as well as selling custom content, which she currently creates for Sims4.

We finished our orientations and within 5 minutes of exiting the orientation and trying to figure out what to do next - and this is in the supposedly clean general area - we were suddenly assaulted by a multitude of flying images of senior men performing oral sex on each other accompanied by music. The images were everywhere, so essentially floating all over both of our computer screens, and there was no way to stop or block it. As newbies we stood there (in SL, or sat here on the couch real world) completely horrified. I immediately had my daughter close the program while I tried to figure out if there was a mechanism to contact a moderator, file a complaint, something.

You cannot file a complaint without a user name - I have no idea who caused that to happen. This is so blatantly against their self proclaimed rules and supposed segregation of areas. I was also considering using the Second Life program to supplement teaching in a course (I teach online for a university) as I've read several articles about how it augmented lessons on the online environment. There is no possible way I can ever consider doing such a thing after this experience - what if that had occurred to a student shortly after setting up their online presence and before they managed to go to the designated class area? We were literally just outside the "you've finished your orientation" area, so an area where all persons new to Second Life initially go.

Summary: This company is unable (or unwilling) to enforce their own rules allowing inappropriate adult material into ALL areas with no recourse, no means of reporting, no moderators to contact for assistance - nothing. This is absolutely in no way family friendly for any age. In fact, as an adult woman I don't consider it female friendly either.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byhannahs2 May 9, 2015

UH UH!

Save the time and play Fantage instead of this mess. Jump away. Sign out.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTrue Vortex July 31, 2021

Illusions

I used second life for several years. Personally, I feel it should be an age verified platform. There is a lot of adult content and it is easy to lose track of what a minor child is doing on the platform. If you choose to let your child on this platform, keep your electronics in a public room of your home facing out. As far as the consumerism goes on this platform, the product results features seem inflated to me. So something that may seem popular based on games store search results may not be popular in the game. I bought many things I thought people liked that turned out to be unwanted on sims. The community boards have lots of social issues, but answers to questions like "What information does LL keep? How do I stay safe on this platform or How do I age verify net zero results.
Adult Written byAlaina Chrest April 28, 2021

Be sure to use the parental settings

Second Life is suitable for teens as long as a parent makes the account for them to make sure they aren't lying about their age, the game will automatically filter out anything that isn't suitable for their age up until they turn 18 and are allowed to go to areas where adults hang out, the only thing that might be a concern is adults posing as children but this can happen in any online game. Most people are actually very respectful and will try to keep adult stuff away from the eyes of young players.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAngel-D April 27, 2021

Stay away

Keep your kids away from this world,, Any creator who is in second life is worshiped like a god this is why they tell you its great.. Children can play this game and there are men on here who are willing to sleep with under age kids
Second life knows about this and if you complain you are told to withdraw your complaint or be banned, mostly its older woman jumping from man to man in second life. over sized penis, rape, which woman on there encourage men to rape unsuspected woman( jumping on furniture and having sex while there afk,, imagine this was your kid... If you do your homework and look up the neverland scandal which affected second life a good few years ago, second life was caught out when a reporter went undercover in second life and exposed Linden Labs, only then did LL get rid of them, Please be careful i was only there a short time and that was enough.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byZygotee April 25, 2021

If you have no real life then second life is for you.

Second life is literally one of the worst things ever made.Not only are many of the people on there catfish's and creeps and pedophiles,But they also claim this "Game" is not a "Game" when literally all second life is...is grown ass adults in real life that sit there and decorate their avatars up that look nothing like them,might not even be the same sex or race their claiming to be in real life,avatars fucking everywhere in second life,it's like one huge prostitute site full of people who want to be slutty and nasty and degrading to themselves and others,you can literally collar a person on there like a sex slave and they have to go everywhere your avatar goes,decorating houses to bring their fake avatar freinds into....ITS A FUCKING GAME,the sad thing is adults are the ones playing this game and making it sick and disgusting.sure people make stuff on there but there is creators on imvu as well and imvu is not that disgusting because they have a choice in everything they do on imvu,on imvu your avatar can't get raped but on second life it sure the hell can...why would they let that be apart of that site?? it's disgusting,Also not to mention people on there have to spend thousands of REAL dollars to rent fake freaking land on that game,it costs 100's of real dollars of month for land rent etc....why waste real money and alot of it on fake stuff thats not yours on a site that could be shut down tomorrow.I am shocked second life is even still around.It needs to go.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byRonald Bizzle February 2, 2021

Linden Lab is Aiding and Abetting Criminal Activity

Millions of real life dollars are siphoned from the Second Life music community yearly....without any royalties paid to rightful copyright owners for use of their material...nor are there any real life taxes imposed....all the while....Linden Lab profits from transfer fees for out-going/laundered money.....and music venues wish to act like hotshots while they harbor entertainers who think they are above the law and avoid paying federal taxes on millions of virtual world (Second Life) income.
Some people believe real life regulations stop at the log in screen entering Second Life
When you speak out against corruption in Second Life....they attempt to flip it around...make you out to be the bad guy...YOU are the criminal.......your name entered into ban list all around the grid.
Second Life has become an evil empire full of corruption, greed and trolls....There are much better things to do than to consolidate yourself with a bunch of a--holes.
Department of the Treasury - Internal Revenue
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f3949a.pdf
Youtube: https://youtu.be/UIIEnmt5ZAM
Robert69 Little - Winner of AVI Choice Award (May 2016)
https://youtu.be/LFd0Kl_MvzE
A lot of real life money revolves around virtual world music venues....hiring of entertainers ($20.00 per hour...sometimes a lot more than that.....plus tips.........some earning up to and well over $400.00 per week in real life income)....dance animations, guitars, pianos, drum sets....etc....venues furniture....blah, blah, blah. It cost money to buy virtual world lindens (money) and then it cost again to transfer lindens (money) back out into the real world.
Linden Lab does NOT publicize "live music" events in Second Life by way of videos. I would assume this is a way to keep their money laundering operation under wraps.
https://secondlife.com/my/community/events/?lang=en-US
BBB- Linden Lab Reviews:
https://www.bbb.org/us/ca/san-francisco/profile/online-gaming/linden-lab...

Tweets to Phillip Rosedale and Ebbe Altbert of Second Life
https://youtu.be/rq9uUKrXFz0

I don't believe I've ever run across a bigger loud mouth, egoistic con-artist in all my life.....truly sickening.....: Seth Regan aka "Mankind Tracer"
http://www.slenquirer.com/2021/01/spotlight-on-seth-regan-aka-mankind.ht...

Linden Lab is Aiding and Abetting Criminal Activity - Part 2
https://youtu.be/dQIfAcfKl7A
Linden Lab - What Part Of Corruption Is Not Visible
https://youtu.be/W3YPaRLa2oQ
Scams are endless in Second Life...: were there is money.....people will do just about anything to get their hands on it.
Linden Lab - What Part Of Corruption Is Not Visible - Part 2
https://youtu.be/34bzgpxuEDU
Linden Lab - What Part Of Corruption Is Not Visible - Part 4
https://youtu.be/uCCoR9j0Xuk

They can't even host for "Feed A Smile" with any sort of integrity.
Adult Written byLisa T. January 31, 2021

BDSM

Second Life is a site where people in the BDSM community meet. It also has a large Muslim population looking to revert people.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byEverRlch_18 January 21, 2021

Pages