Parents say

(out of 22 reviews)
age 17+
Review this title!
Adult Written bylunag126 April 28, 2013

This game ruined my life, and quite possibly will ruin yours.

When I was 11, I was a lost soul. I had no friends, had depression, low self esteem, and was one of those mature looking, but inside very impressionable kids. One day I was browsing the Internet and came across this website, "Second Life." it looked like everything I had hoped for. New beginnings. A chance to be a pretty, sociable girl. Only problem? It was for 18+ only. I didn't think much of lying about my age. After all, I wasn't academically stupid and knew how to accurately portray an eighteen year old. Well, that was one of the most regrettable mistakes I've made. Ever. By the time I was eleven, I'd become a potty-mouthed, stupid, shopaholic, cybering addict who was failing all of her classes because she spent several hours a day chatting with shallow friends. I'm ashamed. That game is lime crack. It doesn't solve anything and does nothing but wreck you from the inside out. And, the horrifying thing is; I can't get off of this website, it's so boring, but so horrifyingly addicting. I'm only 13, and I feel as if I'm on a doomed road. I've told my parents about this and they've uninstalled it from my computer, but I know how to work a computer and how to hide the application from my parents. TL;DR-do not touch this game. It ruins lives.
Adult Written byCedric_Cross August 13, 2011

Immorality? In MY Secondlife? Deal with it.

Okay.... Why are children posting about this game? Well, no, not game, but still. Second life Has been an 18+ game for 8 years now. And yeah, there are a lot of horrible things on it. I know. I'm a user of three years now. And a developer. It's a little thing called common sense, people. When you create a sandbox environment like this, you can only expect people to do things like that. It's the internet but fully interactive.... in 3D. You learn how to avoid its' bad places and whatnot. If you enjoy those places, and you're over 18, more power to you. But I will tell you all this. THat place has taught me more about coding and 3D modeling than any book or website ever has. In the three years I've played, I can now create fully functioning AI, model an entire character, animation and all, and more. There is a teen grid with heavy restrictions on creations for younger folks who want to still get in on the good side of SL and personally I would rather join that if it weren't for my already successful business in the mainland programs and houses. And yes, you spend money on it, it's a fully functioning economy parallel to earth's. You can actually survive in real life off of your earnings in it if you're any good. Too long didn't read? -NO KIDS, IT'S AN 18+ GAME. -IT GIVES FULLS CREATIVE TOOLS INCLUDING A LIGHTWEIGHT SCRIPTING LANGUAGE ANYONE CAN LEARN, EXPECT DISTURBING CREATIONS. -LEARN TO DODGE THIGNS YOU DON'T LIKE, IT'S STILL THE INTERNET. -IT WAS MEANT AS A SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT FOR THE CREATIVE. LEAVE IT AT THAT. thank you.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, 10, 10, and 17 year old Written byCharlie The Cat December 22, 2011
Adult Written byahedge May 20, 2011
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of an infant, infant, and 11 year old Written bynuku May 5, 2011

love it

It's okay for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Educator and Parent Written bykimmbafnp August 15, 2016

Porn in the supposedly 'no adult content" areas

All the reviews on common sense media were old, and upon reviewing the rules for Second Life, I gained the impression that things had changed and that there were now adult areas for those over 18 and "general" areas that were adult content free: "General" areas in Second Life do not advertise or make available content or activity that's sexually explicit, violent or depict nudity. As we've also often said, General regions are areas where you'd feel free to say and do things that you'd be comfortable saying and doing in front of your grandmother, or a grade school class. Institutions such as universities, conference organizers, teen-friendly Second Life merchants, and real world businesses, for instance, often operate General-rated regions" - quoted from the Second Life online guide. My teen daughter and I decided to check it out, as she loves Sims4 and this seemed like a possible online setting that was similar and allowed distance play with friends as well as selling custom content, which she currently creates for Sims4. We finished our orientations and within 5 minutes of exiting the orientation and trying to figure out what to do next - and this is in the supposedly clean general area - we were suddenly assaulted by a multitude of flying images of senior men performing oral sex on each other accompanied by music. The images were everywhere, so essentially floating all over both of our computer screens, and there was no way to stop or block it. As newbies we stood there (in SL, or sat here on the couch real world) completely horrified. I immediately had my daughter close the program while I tried to figure out if there was a mechanism to contact a moderator, file a complaint, something. You cannot file a complaint without a user name - I have no idea who caused that to happen. This is so blatantly against their self proclaimed rules and supposed segregation of areas. I was also considering using the Second Life program to supplement teaching in a course (I teach online for a university) as I've read several articles about how it augmented lessons on the online environment. There is no possible way I can ever consider doing such a thing after this experience - what if that had occurred to a student shortly after setting up their online presence and before they managed to go to the designated class area? We were literally just outside the "you've finished your orientation" area, so an area where all persons new to Second Life initially go. Summary: This company is unable (or unwilling) to enforce their own rules allowing inappropriate adult material into ALL areas with no recourse, no means of reporting, no moderators to contact for assistance - nothing. This is absolutely in no way family friendly for any age. In fact, as an adult woman I don't consider it female friendly either.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bydragracer October 21, 2011

great for kids 11&up

great
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written by123Kal April 15, 2016

Great Expression, extremely unsafe

Hey guys, call me Callan. *this was my first review* Second Life allows for great expression and creativity and customization of ones avatar. The freedom is endless in Second Life. It is also extremely unsafe. There are no moderators. Noobs, as new members are called are preyed on by old time users. Stalking is not dealt with. There is no way to contact Linden Labs about abuse. The only option when one is stalked and harassed is to file a report. One is never given feedback about the report made. There no person to person contact dealing with abuse in Second Life. You can call the Linden lab number, they will tell you to file a report-and that they do not address abuse. You can contact them in chat as a premium member, they will tell you to file a report and that they can not address abuse. There is no person to person contact dealing with abuse in second life, so trolls run rampant. There is no warning when you enter Second Life about the safety issues that can arise in a virtual world. Predators prey on noobs that do not know better, trying to get real life information to stalk them more. There are good people and creativity in second life but it is run very poorly in terms of safety. Linden Labs does not seem concerned at all about matters of harassment and stalking within Second Life no matter how long you have been in Second life and no matter how much you have spent there or invested in your account, community and experience there.**************************this is my updated review********************************************* I have previously reviewed Second Life at least a few points for creativity. But I feel to make another review because one of the most important things on any virtual site or avatar forum, safety, is not handled well by Second life. Second Life is surely the most creative virtual world however when a resident encounters abuse in Second Life there is no one-on-one assistance. You are told to file reports, but you never know if anything comes from it and it seems most greifers, harassers, stalkers are not dealt with no matter how long it goes on. I find it disturbing that a site that allows anything to occur has no form of moderation or at least someone to speak to about abuse. It is amazing to be able to create an avatar however you want and to have freedom in a virtual world however it is a terrible experience to have what you built in Second life taken away when you are harassed non-stop. I am reading more and more about people having problems on this site. Issues of cyberstalking, harassment, abuse, hacking are not dealt with by Second Life. One of the things I also loved about Second Life, perhaps what I loved the most about it was the roleplay sims, especially the medieval and fantasy themed sims. The creativity and dedicated roleplayers who made amazing stories and characters was wonderful to be a part of but I dealt with a lot of harassment in roleplay sites. There is no moderation in the roleplay sites either and people are able to do cruel things and true harassment under the guise of roleplay. Also people form bonds with people they roleplay with and trust them and predators are able to use that. There is no protection in roleplay sims, some of the administration at these sims are involved in group stalking and harassment. Just because a sim says ‘general’ or ‘moderate’ rated does not mean it is safe, there are predators who find those they can victimize in those sims because they feel they can find less suspecting or vulnerable people at those sims, particularly women and sensitive men, but also those disabled etc. Stalking in Second Life can easily go to real life. Harassers and griefers who have been doing it long know how to hack computers, also they manipulate people into giving real life information then stalk the person collecting information from all over the internet etc. Once again, Second life has no moderators, not one. Second Life does have beautiful creativity but it is unsafe and there are no administrators/support/ moderators who help when there are abuse problems in Second life.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byPatrick808 March 22, 2016

Very very good Virtual World for creative teens (not 'website')

I can see a lot of negative reviews on here so I'd think I'd pipe in as SL is apparently often under attack by IMVU. They want you to disregard it before you try with cutting remarks instead of truthful objective criticism. I'd like to open a window of truth on this progressive technological platform. I joined SL myself back when I was 13. I currently parent my nephew who is disabled and has very little access to the real world due to severe agoraphobia and cervical contortion. He really loves it, just as I did. Second Life really is what it sounds like, it's not a game, it's not a website. SL is a full scale immersive environment for all ages above 14 that having a buzzing imagination or have special needs (or both!) It's not for some teenagers, but it's great for those you want to prepare for real life. In a way, SL is a lighthearted yet more fantasy-permitting simulation of real life. You can even buy land and houses, but I do not recommend it unless you spend quite some time in the world, regardless of your age. SL is also easy to control by a timed firewall that prevents your child from using SL outside allowed times, just like a website. It's not for everyone, try with patience. I know some people go on about how sexual the 'site' is but SL is merely real life online, it's a world not a site. To attack SL for this is likely attacking the entire internet for certain sites. SL could easily be renamed to "The 3D Internet". Adult areas are very carefully listed under a Adult section that cannot accessed by registrants under 18 and a Moderate section that cannot be accessed by registrants under 16. To be perfectly honest, the Moderate regions are often quite appropriate for 12+ as most region's graphics limit the appearance of any violence to cartoon-like violence. Though, there is hardly any violence in Second Life, least outside of Moderate sandboxes (where I've only ever seen effective trolls/griefers) and specifically combat-rated 16+ Moderate sims. If you have a child who lies about their age to access the Adult / Moderate areas, then it is no different to a child lying about their age to get into a bar in real life or onto some adult/violent website (which is very easy outside of but not in SL!) Second Life is always full of friendly people, though I encourage anyone sensitive to keep away from the subcultures unless they're involved in them outside of SL. These include but are not limited to: Furry, Goth, Vampire and Were. You're not likely to find many of these subcultures in a PG region, however. Of things you can actually do in SL: * Build - this one is so CRUCIAL in these modern times for creative children and adults. We are heading into the 3D-5D world of art and design and as much as crayons are useful in sketching, 3D modelling and sculpting skills are the future. You can import meshes and sculpties from almost any 3D program such as Blender (which is free), ZBrush and Autodesk 3ds Max and Maya. SL is a great way to feel committed, to want to build and you can even Script and Animate, import these to SL. You can also import pictures to SL (e.g. textures, art for showcase, screenshots, patterns and 3D object maps). I must note that importing anything costs 10L$ but it encourages the artist to be more careful and efficient with their work. However, modelling (constructing with blocks - a great start!) is absolutely free. You can build in the sandbox which is temporary until you save it to your inventory but you can also rent or purchase land to host entire exhibitions. It's creative, intelligent and teaches maturity. * Scripting - so much this! Scripting is a form of high-level programming and will teach your children how to manipulate code and objects in 3D-4D space. The syntax of the built-in coding environment is very much Java / C++ like and there is a whole wiki of support for it. It's a great way to perk creative interest to your children and gift them secretly the skills of a modern day computer programming genius! The skills carry over into scripting and programming skills outside of SL. * Education - There are lingual classes, art classes, science classes, museums, art galleries, tutorials, educators and all kinds of awesomeness in SL. The projects of these educational facilities often means great places to visit for inspiration as well. Frequently educators try to realistically rebuild historical, conceptual and scientific environments even, really great! * Business Skills - This can be anywhere between easy and hard in a manner is speaking, SL is a great way to use your creative skills (as mentioned above) to make and sell things in-world and you can sell things as-is, meaning whether you make freebies or fully fledged projects, you have room to form a business in SL. Business doesn't have to cost you a cent in SL, as long as someone wants to buy your creations or services, it's up to you how you go about it. As long as you don't frequently lie about what your product does, you won't need to take any precautions. It's great to teach your children key life skills and whether you buy L$ from real money or just earn the in-game, your children will soon enough wise up to how they should buy anything that might interest them. Things to purchase are another resident's creation or service, which can be anything of interest permitted within the region's rating. SL is ultimately cheaper yet far more productive than any other video game or website out there. If I had to say, coupling the pro-educational fun side of websites like YouTube with SL will be the ultimate package substitute for any game ever. SL can suck people in, just like anything else that's brilliant and immersive but it's going to give so much back if you reward your child for what they achieve. My nephew is really so much happier since I showed him SL, he has friends, he has a great portfolio for such a young age and his aspirations are so high. SL is certainly future-proof and I would also encourage those over the age of 18 to try this, especially if they have social difficulties. Oculus Rift is also a good thing to try out with SL, it's really pretty if you have a decent graphics processor in your computer. People sometimes bash SL for its graphics but SL has the best graphics you could have for a world made by both amateurs and professionals. It's got the best graphics for what it is (over say There, Active Worlds, Worlds, etc), the most disappointing things about SL is the physics engine and lag that can be experienced in some locations, but this is mainly caused by the fact everything in SL is an object the updates for everyone at once. Each time someone edits an object, it updates for everyone, too so really this is not SL's fault as it's just a con of what's required to have such a world. I'd like to remark that even PlayStation Home tried to copy Second Life but it was too hard to support, keep up to date, expand, etc. SL simply unbeatable for its non-game based success, it's the biggest Virtual World to this date and has been for a decade. SL has so much work put into it, I'd say it's got at least half the world's economy in it for for the amount of hopes it has given to future worlds just like it. Already its owners, Linden Lab, has got Project Sansar coming along the why. VR is the future and every member of the future generation should be allowed to involve themselves now and have a head-start if you ask me! I don't know how anyone could bash SL and then act like a 2D website is somehow more better, it's like comparing apples and oranges. SL even has voice chat and internal games for many age groups. Voice chat can be turned off, I don't use it, personally and it's the only real exploit I can think of. The rating for SL should be the same as real life because it depends where you go and who you're with. Any glitch you find is more likely to humor you, such as flying chairs or walking through a wall while stuck in a maze of a place. For all the VWs and MMOs out there, SL is the least consumerist, you aren't obliged to buy anything, you can make it if you work hard enough (which I do recommend since you'll appreciate things more), I've only ever paid for avatars myself. SL is a creative encouragement and a project vehicle. For anything I do ever buy, I make sure it goes to a creator I trust and support and stupidity is not an age, try before you buy or just consider how much it means for you. I've never spent more than a single PlayStation game's worth in money. And unlike, say PS Home, there are no expiration dates for SL and ultimately the creators can import into OpenSim, so anything you make in SL isn't very easily lost if you're careful with it. Don't pay attention to amateur videos of SL, they are taken in adult areas usually and rarely do residents make YT videos (besides trolls) because most decent people feel worried about recording someone else's work, though creators and some streamers do have decent videos. Note also it's hard to record SL smoothly while on a higher graphics mode in high pixel resolution or it appears choppy just like with many similar forms of online 3D software. The best thing to do is try it. SL's primary audiences are: Teens who need more creativity in their life, skilled yet or not. Teens with special needs who can't immerse themselves offline too well. Teens who want to grow up fast and mature but have great fun. Adults with social difficulties or special needs. Adults trapped in contrary lifestyles that need a online subculture to fit into. Yes - adults who don't get out much and need adult things (children DO NOT get access to this). Later age teenagers who need to learn more construction than destruction. Things that get instantly banned on SL: Adults roleplaying as children in sexual situations. Condoning or permitting pedophilia. Adults attacking children in general. Persistent griefing, trolling and/or cyber-bullying. Underage members in adult regions (which requires lying about age). Sexual things or explicit conversation in a PG-13 area. The attacking of minorities and protected groups. Religious conversion and/or extremist groups. Gangs/fams/mobs (one of the things that killed PlayStation Home). SL has special admins known as Lindens which are plentiful (you can search the word Linden in resident search if you don't believe me!) some are more voluntary and some are more employed. There is a hierarchy to support and anti-abuse. You can also ask Linden Lab via support and even via telephone. SL is part of a fully fledged business, it's not some little website, it's a technological innovation used by and used in many universities. The Lindens support many aspects of SL, being such a massive and widespread world. SL uses a grid and has its own map, an easy to use search, etc. You can alternative viewers which can be modified to benefit and protect you and your child in many ways including privacy. To be honest, however, considering the structure of SL and how disinterested people are on any website within any small period, I wouldn't worry. While indeed SL has the ability to chat, it's more about creative collaboration, unlike say IMVU where there is hardly any world there to productively alter. Since they're always bashing SL, I thought I'd add a little footnote. --- WARNING: I'd like to state a warning over IMVU vs Second Life conflicts. IMVU is owned and managed (e.g. by Jon Watte) by a subculture known as Furries (a form of cartoon animal roleplayers) who are not always clean as a internet subculture. IMVU often attacks SL for being out of control but IMVU has little protection for under 18. IMVU owns a cluster of virtual websites aimed at perverts including the animal porn-filled FurAffinity. If you do your research you will discover IMVU's owners are endorsed with satanic-like persons who are trying to convert their young members into autozoophiles and zoophiles for consumerist community economy (as they charge via commissioned created works). I recommend that in both SL and IMVU or any VW you keep your children far away from the Furry subculture. Do not fear SL and monitor your children if you don't believe me. IMVU tries to aim at children with their Bratz-doll esque avatars but yet often apply skimpy clothes and neko outfits. I'm not even religious myself and yet I can say these guys are the embodiment of the beast. http://www.furaffinity.net/journal/6588324 http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/furaffinity.net Please keep to Second Life, Worlds, There or Active Worlds (though SL is much more open and creative if you explore) and ignore the decadent IMVU supporters. SL has been trying its hardest to remove these subcultures, unlike them and children as I will say again, do not have access to 18+ regions. Please research against the rumors. I always believe eyes rule better than prejudice. Moove is also a website to avoid, such websites who compete with SL genuinely do become pervert heavy because they lack the creative environment. You'll find that SL cannot be used for sex unless you deliberately go out of your way to buy virtual genitals, as well! I encourage everyone to leave bad reviews for FA and IMVU as those are genuinely websites who try to ensnare children. Review the demographics also, as above and below. http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/secondlife.com http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/imvu.com See here for a few of the top SL destinations: http://secondlife.com/destinations
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator Written byMezlet June 24, 2015

Mind Games

Please please do not let kids or even adults who are vulnerable use this game it is full of evil long term gamers who enjoy to manipulate and cause awful mind games with people. I have seen this and it has not been very pleasant. The gamers are mainly in all the clubs and sex areas which I totally disagree with they will approach people and start to groom them for various things which worries me a lot. There are some very nasty people and the company do not at all safe guard them and I am very concerned about the mind game element to the game which the company themselves think is not happening. It is and it can emotionally be a rollercoaster for people. Please please be very careful in this game if you wish to venture into it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byhannahs2 May 9, 2015

UH UH!

Save the time and play Fantage instead of this mess. Jump away. Sign out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byLizzie P. October 13, 2016

Most Definitely, Without a Doubt, Not for Kids

Do not, and I must emphasize, do NOT allow your child to "play" this simulation. From the very first moment I entered Second Life, a man at the learning island Sim, where you are first rezzed in SL, took me to his strip club and offered to show me how the controls work on the bed. I played around and clicked a few buttons, mind you, I am 19, but I laughed at him the entire time. Then he started to undress and the game was over, no thank you. I zoomed out of there faster than you can say hot tamales. Aside from the obvious sexual exploitation in the game, where even bean bags have inappropriate poses, it's just incredibly difficult to maneuver. Once you master the controls however, and there are many , the possibilities are totally endless. You can fly a plane, ride a horse, be responsible for feeding your Avi, own real estate, start a business, paint, fly, have a prim baby, etc. If it's in real life, it's in Second Life. But keep this in mind for any and every aspect of real life. Now, Ageplay is completely and totally prohibited by Linden Labs, meaning sex with a child avatar is punishable by instant ban, regardless of time or money put into your account. This is why many people simulate as a child in SL, as a form of escape from the sexual aspects. Most people see a child Avi and treat them as a child, refraining from swearing, putting away alcohol, etc. This does not mean the child Avi is an actual child. But let me put it to you this way: SL is not a game. It's a simulation. Some people use it to relive a happier childhood; perhaps they had an abusive one. Every single person behind the screen is old enough to master the heaps of controls necessary to move through the site. So any 3 year old is NOT 3 years old. Speaking of 3 year olds, and this is my last point, becoming a child is expensive. They use a mesh body, more difficult to make, so more expensive to buy. And the clothes, hair, shoes, etc. must be bought exclusively. It complicates an already difficult user interface. They're extremely cute and lifelike! But they're real people, most often good people, simulating as a child. End report. Thanks for sticking it out. SL isn't for anyone under 17. Swearing, sex, exploitation, and expensive to avoid the above. Always complicated. Completely endless possibilities! And lastly, if it's in real life, it's in Second Life. But do you want to thrust your kid into the darkest parts of real life?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRose V. October 10, 2016

second life has its potentional

Great site for people with creativity. Has a learning curve. Check out the user guide on secondlife.com
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byginat1 July 25, 2016

DISGUSTED ........BE WARNED SL is a scam that takes your money.

MY BAD EXPERIENCES with Second Life ...a few months ago signed in to play Second Life, for a while i played with my default avatars, because it took me a while to figure out how to make transactions from Pay Pal and Skrill to top up my SL account with Linden Dollars, when i learnt how to do it i topped up my SL account with lindens, $30 each time, on 2 different avatars, until i had enough money to buy everything i needed to create my avatrs' new looks, just about when i was going to buy all my stuff, costing around 11000 lindens each look my accounts were put on hold by the administration, for whatever reason i still have no idea....so i sent a case report asking them what the matter was and instead of explaining to me what the problem was they sent me an email telling me that i was banned from playing and that my account would be lost for good, together with all the MONEY i had deposited into my account, amounting to 25000Linden Dollars... strangely enough i have heard stories like this from other avatars i used to chat with and even read reviews on other forums but never really believed them until it actually happened to me. So for those of you who are about to embark on a journey into SL, beware that once they see your account is topped up with a good amount of money they shut you down, without any explanation whatsoever, NO follow up emails to tell you where you went wrong, they make it IMPOSSIBLE for you to communicate with them, keep the money you uploaded and transfer it back into their own currency, (yes Linden Dollar can be transfered into real money) .... SL is nothing but a scam, A money laundering machine disguised under a "game" to steal money from you !! I was on for almost 3 months and nothing happened, until i topped up both accounts with 25000Linden Dollars, imagine how much money SL is stealing from all the people this has happened to. Forget trying to get in touch with them after they shut you down. they seem to vanish with all the money they stole never to answer any of the emails sent to them....thank you Second Life for being such THIEVES . you will eventually get caught !!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bydjxpurity January 1, 2016

Adults Only - Don't Fall For The Parental Controls

Let me start off by saying, I've been playing this game actively as an adult for a very long time now and I still play every day, so I can tell parents from first hand experience what the game is like. This is no look and judge type of review! People like to tell you that there are parental controls on Second Life, but they are very, VERY weak and they only aid you in virtual shopping and exploring. They do not protect you from the players whatsoever. I've been playing this game as an adult for over a year and I would not want my future children to play this game, nor do I play this game with children present. This game is #1 by far very sexual, people turn to Second Life for sexual release when they can't get it at home. Some come off very aggressive and some even play out scenes of rape and sexual assault. Not only is it sexual from people looking for sex and having sex, mostly everyone is partially or fully nude wherever you go. Moderation on this game is really bare. When virtual shopping on the SL Marketplace, it is nearly impossible to look for a sweater for your avatar even with filters on without hundreds of genitals and people having sex popping up on your screen , you just can't get away from all the sex and all of the nudity. The consumerism only gets worse over the years, it seems you can't do anything in the game without someone wanting to sell you something. You can't enjoy the game without being pressured into it or someone making you feel obligated to buy something. Then there are people that become millionaires in real life off of the game by doing various things such as scripting and real estate that everyone wants to be like them, so you have millions of people with nothing but money and virtual currency on the mind. As far as drugs and booze, the club scene is just as you would expect it to be. Most virtual clubs are filled with strippers, sex on the dance floor, people smoking virtual joints and ordering pixelated bottles of Gin. Violence is also a big thing on here especially from those who are into the Gorean scene, zombie killing or just weaponry in general. My biggest warning to parents: There is unfortunately a large number of pedophilia cases on this game. These people not only target children in the real world, but they persuade people into dressing their avatar into children for their own disgusting sexual desires. I can not stress this enough that it does happen and even though Linden Labs (the creators of the games) strongly advises against it and encourages it's players to report these people, it is nearly impossible to stop all these cases, so it's best just to avoid it all together. So definitely, this is not for kids whatsoever. This game never will be for children. I've heard rumors of a child friendly grid, but I would never trust it. Steer clear at all costs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byjonhnnyroleplae December 7, 2015

ScamLife

Secondlife is a dying 3-world where Linden Lab-SL allows and promotes "escorts" (animated prostitution), it is defintely not for any minor. As you teleport from simulation to simulation be prepared for varying sim rules. For example, one sim only the sim owner can eject and or ban (means if you attempt to teleport there again you'll be denied access) while yet other sims certain group members can eject or ban you even without vaild justification. For example, if you put select sim/group members on block you could be banned from that particular sim. Yet another example, if you disagree with these empowered group-sim members be prepared to be ejected and or banned from that sim sight. This only one of many Secondlife "catch 22s." This 3-d world uses a currency called Linden dollars AKA L$, which you earn various ways in SL, or buy with a credit card. Here is where the manipulation begins too. SecondLife uses artificial intelligence (bots) usually what seasoned SL residents deem "insult bots" programmed to literally insult you in various way. One example: these insult bots will cut down your avatar appearance in hopes you will spend more L$ to improve/upgrade your current body and shape, which translates into more margin (profit) for Linden Lab-SL. As mentioned above you can be ejected and or banned from any sim for any reason, but there is way around it. All you have to do is create a "new" SL account, but you'll have to re-buy (spend more) all your items since none of it is transferable to a new account. See the manipulative pattern; however there is far more to SL than just their 3-world. SecondLife has a "Forum" website. SecondLife provides a forum site where SL announcements are posted, along with residents' questions and comments. Also, you can login into this site and alledgely post answers to residents questions. If you are really techy avoid this site; since SL heavily promotes use of Nvidia products (I am assuming Linden Lab-SL is either sponsored by Nvidia and or gets a kickback for promoting their products.) IF you attempt to post anything of technical facts that contradicts SL's heavy promotion of Nvidia, yes you guessed it you can be banned from the forum. Of course, there is a way around the forum ban, which you can probably guess by now. You'll have to create a new SL account to post again in SL's forum, but that is only the tip of the icebrg. While losing 100s of SL residents (users) they have gone through various CEOs too. The current CEO that I am aware of is Ebbe Altberg AKA "Ebbe Linden" who worked as a YAHOO executive for approximately four years. The Yahoo chatrooms no longer exist (closed.) What makes this interesting before Yahoo closed those chatrooms they posted (for all to see) they were tracking IP addresses, which most thought was to deter the pedophiles from preying on kids. No one realized that after Yahoo closed those rooms that names/info of all users would be SOLD to various online companies. Is it possible to expect the same style identity piracy when SL finally closes?? Will SecondLife survive? As many discover a former YAHOO executive now leads SL (most current CEO I am aware of..it is a revolving CEO door), varying sim rules, non stop SL manipulation to force you to spend more money along with dwindling number of SL users it is a simple answer. No
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byannoysrough January 16, 2013

Common sense is key.

It honestly irks me that a vicelike grip on such media is being enforced by perceived moral guardians. The NFK rating is definite; the open-world nature of this simulator definitely entails a myriad of immoral activity – anything from mundanely drinking a virtual cocktail (with no effect of drunkenness on either you or your avatar as far as experience has told me) to explicit, fetishist sex (I'm not joking at all). In spite of this, the possibility of encountering such an event should be nullified by the presence of ratings which can be easily blocked off (General, Mature, Adult) where necessary. It doesn't take parental control (where applicable) to stop it; it takes common sense and decency – I for one have yet to have any encounters with sex on SL because I do not even log on to Adult regions. Just on a side note: the site itself has great educational potential in the form of historical roleplay and virtual campuses as well; that's not possible to deny. Also, if you're under 16, why then are you on that website anyway?
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byArty August 25, 2012

Second Life Platform Age Appropriatness

I think Second Life Is a brilliant virtual world platform as it can connect you with different cultures and traditions; but it can also be dangerous if abused: by giving out sensitive information, such as email addresses, second-life can be enjoyed as long as it is used safely and by an appropriate age group(16+) Second life is mainly for adults aged 18 and over and most of the online shop content is for this age ONLY. Second Life is used to build objects and create brand new Sims, (user created 3D World.) Second Life has a currency which is used to purchase clothing etc.. and all items are categorized into G,M and A content. When logged into Second Life platform you have settings which allow you to enter different G,M and A sims.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written bystarrparrent1 November 24, 2011

bad staff

moderators are supposed to be good at their job!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byTitusaki November 20, 2011

My Review on Second Life.

I'm pretty sure that it is possible for anyone of any age to be able to join Second Life. Meaning that teens or possibly younger people will be exposed to the sexual things that are on Second Life. Sexual things like completely nude avatars that are detailed and that everyone is able to see. And may be exposed to sex poses as well. Second Life has a rating system of (G) General, (M) Moderate, and (A) Adult. Everyone I think may start off as (G) but it is easy to change the rating to (G) (M) and (A). Just go to the Online Website and lie about your age in 'Age Verification' to be able to change the rating to be able to go to Adult rooms and to be exposed to Adult things. You are only able to do the 'Age Verification' once. So if a person is a teen or younger and they do the 'Age Verification' correctly to their real age, then they can only do it once which will prevent them from going into an Adult room until they are truly and Adult. I'm currently 20 years old but I was 19 when I lied about my age in "Age Verification' to be able to change my rating to (G),(M), and (A), to be able to go to Adult rooms. Also in Second Life, there are certain rooms where people are able to take out weapons like guns and swords and actually be able to use them. Like to be able to shoot at people and at targets etc... When people shoot at people, no damage can be done that that person's avatar. All that can be done is annoying the person or just having fun. There are a few guns on Second Life that can shoot people up into the air and the only way to stop flying, is to teleport back to the same room, teleport to a different room, or to have a friend teleport you back to the same spot. One person on Second Life, that I didn't know, shot me into the air, I teleported back to the same spot and he continued to shoot at me over and over, which kept flinging me into the air. I got so frusterated that I tried to report him over and over to get rid of him, I tried to block him, but that didnt seem to work. Eventually he left and if I ever see him again, it will be paybacks because now I have the gun similar to what he had. Second Life may be laggy for certain computers. Second Life would not play smoothly on my old computer, but it plays smoothly on the new computer I have which is like a gaming computer. If people are not able to play Second Life, then they may go to another virtual chat site, which is IMVU, which plays pretty well on most peoples computers. Look more into IMVU if you want. Oh! and on Second Life, there is an awesome Historical Museum Room called 'The Holocaust Museum'. There you can learn about the Holocaust and Learn what had happened in that time. So also Second Life can also be Educational.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex

Pages