Parent reviews for TeenVogue

Common Sense says

Fashion-forward posts, ads, and some controversial content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 48 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 7 reviews
Adult Written bymo m. July 11, 2017

Trash - Anal Sex article

I am writing about the anal sex article --- ISSUED FOR TEENS TO READ ! Common sense media? FARRRRRR from any kind of common sense !! What is wrong with you ? This is by no means any form of educating teens -- there are SEVERE dangers and you place it in a manner that as if it is some form of beauty product ! I see the adult magazine --- I refuse to buy it -- it is similar in content ! This is a family decision and discussion --- this or anything remotely close is not at all acceptable for teens! I am disgusted beyond belief !! I plan on sharing my thoughts with vendors that take ads out on this trash magazine ! No wonder kids today are having the severe problems they suffer --- magazines like this ARE NOT HELPING! Its all about the money for you ------ BIG MISTAKE ! TRASH THAT IS WHAT THIS RAG IS, PURE TRASH !
Adult Written byMichelle E July 11, 2017

Disgusted by article directed to teen girls Anal sex

Sexualization of teens normalizing anal sex is akin to grooming and vile! There is nothing natural "must use lots of lube"'really!?! teaching girls to be sexual depositories for boys pleasure! I am thoroughly disgusted! I've shared with 100's of parents and they in turn are doing the same. You are Vile pigs!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDoug V. July 9, 2017

Re-think your rating Common Sense media, this is garbage.

Absolutely the raunchiest, most left material I have seen. Marketed for teen girls? ABSOLUTELY NOT. Growing up is hard enough without having this stuff presented as normal and age appropriate. Check out the fine article on "The Right way to have Anal Sex.' Just what your 13 year old needs to know. They won't even refer to the sexes as Males and Females. Maybe you'd like to get a one sided article about resisting Donald Trump or read about celebrity losers and how they handle life. I am so sad for the teens of today being exposed to this and believing it is the norm. Fight this junk!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byPhillipaD January 25, 2021

Promoting rape porn

This is horrendous. Apart from a journalist of theirs going on a rant on social media telling women to “suck my chopped off dick”, now they’re promoting rape porn. A quote from their article “Is Watching Porn Bad? What You Need to Know”
BY NONA WILLIS ARONOWITZ (article here: https://archive.is/tUu2D)

“Porn that portrays nonconsensual sex, for instance, isn’t necessarily misogynist if it centers all characters’ pleasure and agency. The next time you come across seemingly racist or sexist porn, give some thought as to whether the porn you’re watching is self-aware and feminist, rather than simply reproducing bigotry.”

Non consensual sex is rape. This is normalising rape and rape porn to children. This is grooming. I cannot believe they actually wrote this and published it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byJ S July 11, 2017

Is this a How-To Guide for Age-Inappropriate Exploration or is Teen Vogue Grooming Teens for Predators?

Gigi Engle's article on anal sex is highly inappropriate for a magazine that claims to be for teens interested in "fashion and style." This article is semi-clinical and very graphic. It reads like a how-to guide and encourages teens to explore having anal sex - including how to ask a partner for it. There's a huge difference between acknowledging that teens have drives and curiosity and explicitly encouraging acts that are highly inappropriate for this age group - and illegal below an age of consent. Shame on Teen Vogue - you - Conde Nast (publisher) and Elaine Welteroth (Editor in Chief) either have a very warped concept of what is appropriate, or you're profiting from bringing this to impressionable teens. Disgusting!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byCandaloo G. July 11, 2017

Teen Vogue promoting illegal sexual activities by minors

Teen Vogue has crossed the line with many articles (including recently one on what to give your friend as a gift that just had an abortion). They are targeting our vulnerable children and trying to "normalize" controversial and often illegal activities. Their latest article on how to have anal sex didn't even include a sentence about using protection to protect against STD's until it was EDITED by the author. Teen Vogue needs to re-name their magazine OR STOP printing inappropriate material for 13 year old girls to read.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byAL R July 9, 2017

Sexually explicit articles

The most recent online version provides children with a sexually explicit guide. Parents should know that this time of material is in what is marketed as a fashion magazine for teens. Also, the material encourages teens to explore dangerous sexual behaviors without providing the facts that such behaviors can cause serious health issues. Parents and kids should know that the magazine include this type of material.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byEd L. April 18, 2017

teen mess

too sum it up this magazine lets teens think its ok.
sex
witchcraft
etc

where are the moral values lets just give a message of do what you want be free and liberal
what a mess

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10 and 13-year-old Written byLaura M. March 30, 2017

Totally Inappropriate Content for a TEEN Magazine!

I subscribed to this magazine for my 13 year old daughter. Up until Volume 1 for 2017 it seemed to be not too bad, though there has always been a ton of advertisements. When Volume 1 2017 arrived, I practically had to lift my chin off the floor as the cover read: The Sex - Coming Out - Obsession - Heartbreak - Love Issue. In it, there are articles on things such as: "Self-Love" (masturbation,) the role porn plays in sex, and both straight and gay sex. I consider myself to be fairly open-minded, but I see no reason for a magazine that has the word TEEN on the cover to be discussing any of these things with young people who ARE NOT ADULTS!! This is definitely not age-appropriate reading material for a teen (unless that teen is 18 or 19 and happens to be an adult.) If, for some reason, I want someone to discuss these things with my child, I will give my consent for the discussion. Subscription cancelled!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written byStacy M. February 10, 2017

Articles are NOT for young teens

Article http://www.teenvogue.com/gallery/post-abortion-gift-guide that tells you to buy your friend an angry uterus heating pad after an abortion. What 13 year old should even have this on their mind!?!
Adult Written byMissPep45 July 1, 2019
Adult Written bynikki.vc April 29, 2019

Worst thing for our young girls

This magazine just promoted young girls aged 11-16 to consider sex work as a profession. That it's comparable to being a doctor. I'm not making this up. It even stated "If you support women’s rights, I urge you to support the global demand for sex work decriminalization, and fund evidence and rights-based intersectional programs aimed at sex workers and their clients." Teaching young girls how to have anal sex and encouraging them to sell their bodies. Absolutely disgusting and not for children or anyone!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bycandace S. January 30, 2018

Disgusting

Teaching teens about anal sex, it’s just an abomination. But it goes along with the ultimate agenda so hey whatever anything goes today. Just turn your blind eye. I’m not even a parent if I was look out Teen Vogue

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent Written byJanie D. August 14, 2017

Adult content

The sexual content in this magazine is not age appropriate. They know that they have readers as young as 11 and 12 years old. Why are they instructing them to add sex toys and condoms to their back to school list and giving instructions on how to engage in anal sex? Why can't we just let children be children. That particular article should be considered adult content and illegal to distribute to minors under 17. They accuse the parents who complain of being homophobic. This is not about homosexuality. It's about the fact that it is wrong to instruct children on how to do something that is clearly not age appropriate. They also forgot to include all the possible health problems that this particular activity can result in. The site rated them high for being educational. Yet they don't fully educate. If you are going to educate on how to do something, educate about the risks as well!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written bySam P. July 25, 2017

This has changed since my days!

The common sense media rating is way off the mark to not include several ticks by the sexual content column. The recent anal sex article is ridiculous, not because of "homophobic backlash" but because this is a magazine with preteen readers - I am as excited about that content here as I would be in a Nancy Drew book. This article follows on the heels of post-abortion gift giving, and regularly sexually charged articles and content - while pretending to empower teen girls. Couple that with the unrealistic images and it is about on par with porn in terms of valuing young girls. Nothing says empowerment louder than teaching our girls they are merely play toys valued for their sexual nature and appearance from a young age. This is a dangerous message masquerading as "acceptance."

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent of a 8, 13, and 15-year-old Written byReagan L. July 23, 2017

Are you serious?!

I just joined Common Sense Media. And this rating on Teen Vogue is the first one I saw. I will be unsubscribing now. If the good people at Common Sense Media think it's okay for 13 year olds to read about what heating pad you should use after an abortion and how to safely get fucked in the ass, then why in the hell would I bother with any of the rest of their ratings?

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byWriterMomof3 July 22, 2017

Keep this away from your children!!!!!

Teen Vogue is absolute garbage--filled with information no young minds should be exposed to, such as how to have anal sex, how to masturbate, how to help when your friend has an abortion. It's magazines like this that are poisoning the minds of our youth.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent Written byMary N. July 21, 2017

Not appropriate for teens

Parents may want to avoid this magazine because of its sexual content that seems more geared toward adults than teens. I know I don't want my 14 yr old reading step-by-step guides to anal sex, masturbation and sex toys. It's supposed to be a fashion magazine but a lot of changes have been made to the magazine recently and Teen Vogue is now sexually explicit. Just wanted to warn parents that some of the articles are inappropriate and should not be in a teen magazine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent of a 6 and 9-year-old Written byMimitexas July 21, 2017

Things have changed a bit!

Teen Vogue has now decided it is appropriate to instruct 11-17 year olds in the area of anal sex. Steer clear!
Adult Written byVelma L. July 20, 2017

Teen Vogue is Trash

Teen vogue targets 11-17 year old. The June issue printed a how to have anal sex. This is preposterous!! We need to protect our kids and this magazine is introducing them to something they don't need to know at this age.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff

Pages