Parent reviews for TeenVogue

Common Sense says

Fashion-forward posts, ads, and some controversial content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 39 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 4 reviews
Parent of a 12 year old Written bytealsweety July 16, 2009

This title contains:

Consumerism
Positive Messages
Adult Written byDoug V. July 9, 2017

Re-think your rating Common Sense media, this is garbage.

Absolutely the raunchiest, most left material I have seen. Marketed for teen girls? ABSOLUTELY NOT. Growing up is hard enough without having this stuff presented as normal and age appropriate. Check out the fine article on "The Right way to have Anal Sex.' Just what your 13 year old needs to know. They won't even refer to the sexes as Males and Females. Maybe you'd like to get a one sided article about resisting Donald Trump or read about celebrity losers and how they handle life. I am so sad for the teens of today being exposed to this and believing it is the norm. Fight this junk!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byStacy M. February 10, 2017

Articles are NOT for young teens

Article http://www.teenvogue.com/gallery/post-abortion-gift-guide that tells you to buy your friend an angry uterus heating pad after an abortion. What 13 year old should even have this on their mind!?!
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byLaura M. March 30, 2017

Totally Inappropriate Content for a TEEN Magazine!

I subscribed to this magazine for my 13 year old daughter. Up until Volume 1 for 2017 it seemed to be not too bad, though there has always been a ton of advertisements. When Volume 1 2017 arrived, I practically had to lift my chin off the floor as the cover read: The Sex - Coming Out - Obsession - Heartbreak - Love Issue. In it, there are articles on things such as: "Self-Love" (masturbation,) the role porn plays in sex, and both straight and gay sex. I consider myself to be fairly open-minded, but I see no reason for a magazine that has the word TEEN on the cover to be discussing any of these things with young people who ARE NOT ADULTS!! This is definitely not age-appropriate reading material for a teen (unless that teen is 18 or 19 and happens to be an adult.) If, for some reason, I want someone to discuss these things with my child, I will give my consent for the discussion. Subscription cancelled!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent Written byElizabeth A. February 20, 2017

Teen Vogue is inappropriate for teenage girls

I'm writing this so that parents will look at magazines before they subscribe or at least read the magazine before handing to your child. My daughter's grandmother ordered her a subscription to teen Vogue because my then 14 year old daughter was interested in fashion. I didn't bother to read the magazine, assuming that if her grandmother ordered it, it must be appropriate. I picked up the most recent issue we received last week. It is so inappropriate and very much against our traditional family values and everything we've been teaching our daughter. It's also a political propaganda device to influence young people. If this is what you choose for your child, that's fine. I just want to warn other parents who don't want this influence for their daughters. Buyer beware.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byrylie_5491 July 24, 2012

Great magazine!!!

This is a great magazine for fashion forward tweens! My daughter loves it and it is very appropriate for her age. (12) I've flipped through some issues and the outfits are both cute and appropriate! There is a fair amount of advertising but they are appropriate as well. My daughter loves reading them and it encourages her to create some of her own outfits!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Consumerism
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byBV V. February 23, 2017

Not appropriate for more conservative parents

I’m not naïve. I’m sure my 14 year old already knows more about sex then my wife and I have told her, and perhaps more than we’re entirely comfortable with, but I would really think twice about buying this for her. It feels like Teen Vogue is treading into some dangerous territory, looking to compete more closely with Cosmopolitan, which is really edited for 18+ WOMEN. I don’t object to any of the fashion featured in the magazine, nor do I object to political discussion (I encourage it), I do however object to the editors of Teen Vogue preaching feminist independence on one hand, but telling young women what they should think on the other… As if, a conservative minded teen girl is somehow betraying her gender. The deal breaker for me is the sex edit. Yes, young teens are exposed to more sex, and I believe that young people need to be informed, but the Feb 2017 issue went a bit far for my taste. There is an article about masturbation “it’s a form of self-care, and you deserve to treat yourself.” An article entitled “How do I say no?” which tells girls to “be up-front about what you want.” A 16yo or 17-18yo may know what she wants, but I pray to God my 14yo doesn’t. Then the big one.. a 5pg article “Let’s talk about sex”.. that’s right.. pregnancy, STIs, fluid sexuality, online porn, etc.. Again, important discussions if your teen is mature enough, and perhaps mine is, but my wife and I will really need to make sure we’re ALL ready before I put this in my daughter’s hands.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bymomofatj July 12, 2017

Not appropriate for under age teens!

This magazine and related website unfortunately does not stick to fashion and has some pretty obscene articles encouraging underage sexual activity and in a pretty demeaning way that is also objectifying of women. As a therapist and a mother I would not let this in the house with any underage children as it is a potentially damaging publication.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written byFred P. July 11, 2017

How A Child should Give/Receive Anal Sex

Garbage. I am wondering if the uneducated, unqualified "author" of this garbage is a closet pedophile. Yes...I think she is.
Parent Written byEd L. April 18, 2017

teen mess

too sum it up this magazine lets teens think its ok. sex witchcraft etc where are the moral values lets just give a message of do what you want be free and liberal what a mess

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMichelle E July 11, 2017

Disgusted by article directed to teen girls Anal sex

Sexualization of teens normalizing anal sex is akin to grooming and vile! There is nothing natural "must use lots of lube"'really!?! teaching girls to be sexual depositories for boys pleasure! I am thoroughly disgusted! I've shared with 100's of parents and they in turn are doing the same. You are Vile pigs!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byVelma L. July 20, 2017

Teen Vogue is Trash

Teen vogue targets 11-17 year old. The June issue printed a how to have anal sex. This is preposterous!! We need to protect our kids and this magazine is introducing them to something they don't need to know at this age.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bymo m. July 11, 2017

Trash - Anal Sex article

I am writing about the anal sex article --- ISSUED FOR TEENS TO READ ! Common sense media? FARRRRRR from any kind of common sense !! What is wrong with you ? This is by no means any form of educating teens -- there are SEVERE dangers and you place it in a manner that as if it is some form of beauty product ! I see the adult magazine --- I refuse to buy it -- it is similar in content ! This is a family decision and discussion --- this or anything remotely close is not at all acceptable for teens! I am disgusted beyond belief !! I plan on sharing my thoughts with vendors that take ads out on this trash magazine ! No wonder kids today are having the severe problems they suffer --- magazines like this ARE NOT HELPING! Its all about the money for you ------ BIG MISTAKE ! TRASH THAT IS WHAT THIS RAG IS, PURE TRASH !
Parent Written byJ S July 11, 2017

Is this a How-To Guide for Age-Inappropriate Exploration or is Teen Vogue Grooming Teens for Predators?

Gigi Engle's article on anal sex is highly inappropriate for a magazine that claims to be for teens interested in "fashion and style." This article is semi-clinical and very graphic. It reads like a how-to guide and encourages teens to explore having anal sex - including how to ask a partner for it. There's a huge difference between acknowledging that teens have drives and curiosity and explicitly encouraging acts that are highly inappropriate for this age group - and illegal below an age of consent. Shame on Teen Vogue - you - Conde Nast (publisher) and Elaine Welteroth (Editor in Chief) either have a very warped concept of what is appropriate, or you're profiting from bringing this to impressionable teens. Disgusting!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAllen M. July 20, 2017

Anal Sex Guide for Teens?!?!

Absolutely not approving. I don't care what age they are. It's horrible. No way am I approving this message that glamorizes youthful sex tips. I urge you to put your thumbs down and send your prayers up for this organization, please reconsider your approval of this magazine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byBri O. July 20, 2017

Teen Vogue Published Guide to Anal Sex

This magazine & online magazine is not safe for an under 18 year old audience. Teen Vogue just published a guide for anal sex, something I would never let anyone 13+ read. Please monitor the publications you allow in your home.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written byMeg K. July 20, 2017

Adult content

It is appalling that Teen Vogue is writing articles about anal sex! Why did publishers even think it was okay to encourage and pressure young underage girls into thinking they should be even thinking about this!?!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDee S. July 12, 2017

Too much information for teens!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byA G September 7, 2017

Some very inappropriate content

My 12 year old daughter has started taking a great interest in fashion so I thought getting her Teen Vogue would be a good idea. I just got the link for the website and was very surprised at the subjects presented in the email. For example, "I have a condition that won't let me use tampons, masturbate or have sex". WHAT?! I am definitely not a prude, but this is not for the young teen or tween. This is also such a rare syndrome that it really doesn't need to be highlighted to scare young girls. All I got on the site were inappropriate "vag" articles I kept being offered to click through, an overwhelming amount of ads and loud commercials. I will not be sending my daughter the links for the site and when the print mag arrives, I will have to check it all out before letting her have it. I was hoping for a magazine I could trust but this is ridiculous.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written bySean J. September 5, 2017

Promoting anal sex?!

Considering the recent article which explained and encouraged anal sex, graphically, the current rating for this magazine needs to change. Parents shouldn't have to worry that their young daughter will experience even more pressure to engage in painful and potentially harmful sexual acts.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff

Pages