All parent member reviews for Tumblr

Parents say

(out of 22 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent Written byblyle21 January 14, 2013
LEARNING

Just Calm down. Tumblr might be good for your kid. And the review of Tumblr... LOL "naughty fun" HA!

Alright. Tumblr is not intended for young kids. It's meant for teens and older. To create an account I think you have to be 13. Now, you might be thinking "But what if porn or something comes up my my child's dashboard?" Please calm down. When you make a post, there is a box that you can use to tag what kind of post your making. And with the plugin 'MissingE' you can choose to block certain tags( i.e. nsfw, porn, sex, etc.)I personally don't use the plugin and I rarely see porn on my dash but when I do it's always when someone is walking by or someone is looking at my screen, don't know why it happens that way but it does so keep that in mind. The only way you child would constantly see porn or sexual content was if they are intently searching for it or they follow blogs the focus on porn and sexual content. There are all types of blogs that you can follow. Fashion, Photography, Fandoms (The followings of popular TV shows), blogs about a certain SHIP (the relationship of two characters in a book/movie/band/tv show/etc.) And yes. Tumblr is made up of teens and YA from around the world so that means there are strangers on this site (shocking! I know!) so there will be language (again, shocking!) but your kid probably hears most of that at school anyways, they've probably cussed themselves! Ultimately wether you let your kids join this site is going to be up to you. But you just have to think about it and it might be that you create a profile of your own on Tumblr and you follow your child and you monitor what they do and if there is something you don't agree with talk about it. Yes, you are the parent but you need to give your kid privacy and respect just like you expect that they respect you. And, just a note, if you ask you kid for their pw's and they refuse... they probably aren't hiding anything. They expect you to respect their privacy and trust them the way the respect you. You were all kids! You know that as a teen you wanted you're parents to trust you and respect you AND your privacy! Now, keep in mind, your kid (depending on your kid) might be hiding something but you just have to figure out if you trust you child and if you don't just ask them to let you look at their blog.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written bybrian0125 April 10, 2011

Great site!

i think tumblr is a great site! my daughter calls it her "Diary". She tells me you wont see any sexual behavior unless you follow a blog that posts that stuff. Same for drugs. I only worry that she will come across it but i know she is mature enough to unfollow whoever posted it so she wont come accross it anymore. I've seen her blog and its mostly photography and comics and humor. I think that this is a great site to allow your child to have if you can trust them! I also have parental controlls on my computer which will blur out the innapropriate content which im glad about! I think a good age would be 13 and up. Or 12 and up if you have a more mature child.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent Written bySerenityFish September 25, 2014
LEARNING

Fandoms and Feminism

I actually joined tumblr about a year ago a little after I turned 13 (I registered as a parent for the respect I get- nobody pays attention to the Teens and Kids reviews) to follow a certain Doctor Who blog. Since then, I've followed several hundred blogs. Tumblr actually helped me realize that I was bisexual, and how feminism is about equality, not oppression of men. Tumblr everyday gives me random tidbits of information concerning facts about science, math, tips on how to draw, college tips, masterposts on how to deal with homework, among others. Yes, you can run into porn, but that's the same with everything else. If you follow porn blogs, you get porn on your dash. You can set a filter so you block out porn and inappropriate content. I've been on tumblr for nearly a year and I've followed 600 people and I've never seen any porn, the most being artistic nudes, which I'm fine with, as I respect and enjoy art. It's also great because you can meet friends online. I've had depression for several months now, and my online friends on tumblr have helped me through it and I'm much better now. Most of the people are incredibly friendly and very open to ideas and new people. There are many good fandom blogs that are fun to look at and also humor blogs that reblog text posts- oh, and tumblr has a multimedia blogging system so you can blog GIF files, pictures, videos, audio and text! You can reblog anything and like anything. So you don't stay on too long, tumblr also has a set daily post limit which includes reblogs and a daily like limit. People on tumblr are also very relatable, because they like similar things and sometimes are going through the same things as you are. For me, joining tumblr was one of the best decisions I've ever made. Yes, there is swearing, but we've all heard it all before. Yes, there is consumerism- but only if you look for it. If you like a certain brand, you're going to follow that brand, same as with any other social media. If you follow a violent blog, you will get violent images. However, if a website like 4chan hacks, you will get a notice on your dash (if someone you're following reblogs it) saying which tags have triggering images and which tags to avoid, to keep everyone safe. Tumblr is a wonderful community filled with wonderful people, if you know where to look. (www.thetruebadwolf.tumblr.com)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byChristineE 1 October 1, 2014

Toxic Environment

This website almost ruined my life. It changed me as a person, made me depressed. I wouldn't bother with it at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byGuetteur May 19, 2013

Keep you children and teens off this site.

Habit forming for sure. A bad place for kids to discuss their personal issues. Doing it in public with like thinking imature partners in crime. Very little thoughtful communications going on. Re- inforces bad thoughts - pulls teen deeper into self justification and beyond the realm of responsible behavior. Rants against authroity and those responsible for the care of underage children and teens.
Adult Written byeallison July 1, 2013

Don't let pre-teens and earlier teens on Tumblr.

There are some positive messages and humor, but a lot of this website is soft porn (or actual pornography in the form of pictures, gifs, and videos), drugs & alcohol, swearing, and encourages self-destructive behaviors (such as suicide, cutting, and eating disorder/thinsperation). I am 17 and have had a blog since I was 15, but earlier than 14 or 15 is ridiculous. There are some things on Tumblr I still feel I am too young to see. It does have a creative aspect and is great for compiling images and quotes, but is too mature for children. If they are truly hung up on getting a Tumblr, start them off with a Pinterest account instead, which has stricter guidelines and is more closely monitored. They will still be able to compile cool photos, art, and inspiration without as much of the adult content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byElcmax April 10, 2012

porn

porn video clips posted by some individuals may find their way to being viewed by your children
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Educator Written bysedrguzjiokop May 26, 2013

It's what you want it to be and please don't call it social network

Yeah this website contains some things that aren't appropriate for teens under 14 but if your kid sees porn on it's dashboard it might as well followed that porn blog itself and is able to unfollow it in about 5 seconds. Same with self harm, eating disorders etc. If you find your kid's blog you should probably talk to it instead of saying that a website is the reason why it feels bad and asking it to delete it's blog. What shocked me about this, is that there's only 1 point (out of five) for learning. Tumblr taught me more about important things like rape culture, sexism, racism, homophobia, mental illnesses (and how to help people suffering from them), and a whole lot more than school ever did. Also it made me more tolerant and thoughtful. It's a great place for art(ists) too and it's really funny. Also, there are not as many capitalistic arrogant little shits as on facebook, twitter, etc.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bystaceyc February 28, 2012

Great artistic content but also promotes self-harm, eating disorders, etc.

There is a lot of beautiful, artistic content on Tumblr. There's also a lot of images and posts that encourage and support self-harm (cutting), eating disorders like anorexia, serious drug use, and sex. Teenagers are easily exposed to graphic (sometimes violent) sexual imagery. It is very easy to find blogs where you can get sucked into a depressed, very disturbed mind. If you have kids who are prone to this sort of thing, be very careful. Lots and lots of pro-Anorexia, thinspo imagery, too.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4 and 12 year old Written bytrhood January 26, 2012

Worried about Tumblr as a parent and teacher...

I was shocked at how much "filth" was on Tumblr. Tumblr may say they prohibit obscene and pornographic material, but I witnessed multiple pages with terribly offensive material and "soft porn". Sexually explicit language and pictures are prevalent. Teen girls are "obsessed" with this site and spend hours a day on it. I was terribly disappointed in the way young people are using this site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 16 year old Written bymummys love February 7, 2011

Im not happy it should just be a blogging site. No meet ups.

My 16yr old daughter goes on tumblr. I only noticed the tumblr meetings recently. I think that is wrong. You dont really know who these people are. I think there are a lot of sick people out there using these sites to pry on young unsecure children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byShadesOfRemorse June 15, 2012

Me and my kids use it

I use it on a daily basis after my friends forced me on to it by claiming that it was "necessary" and "I would become a tumblr addict in no time." Turns out they were right. There is vulgar language and sexual references on some posts, but you can choose whose posts appear on your Dashboard.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent Written byMom19852 August 25, 2014
LEARNING

easy access to worrisome topics

Easy access to naked women. Anorexic girls who do not look healthy in their underwear. Beautiful photography. Sex violence language and drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 16 year old Written byjulie_freeman August 15, 2013

Know Your Child!!

If you know your child, you'll know whether or not they'll be able to handle the site. My daughter, I think, is old enough and mature enough to follow the right blogs and unfollow someone who posts immature content. Really, though, anyone can post what they want. Let me be the first to say, though, that despite a lot of the malicious people that I've read about on Common Sense about, all I ever hear from my daughter is how nice it is that others are able to relate to her. They're struggling with the same issues she is, and as long as she doesn't give out any personal information, it's all right with me. It's hard to give this a rating, because it honestly depends on your child and what they intend to use it for. It can be a whole lot of fun, and it's a fantastic way for teens to build long distance friendships, because a lot of people have the same interests and hobbies. I think it's a great website.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byteesa76 November 5, 2013

Not for kids

My kid wanted ideas on creative ways to do bedrooms ... probably worst possible place to review creativity ... it was playboy/playgirl/hustler on steroids. I don't know who these kids (some look 12) parents are.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byoh-deir August 30, 2012
LEARNING

A Great Creative Outlet, but Be Cautious

Tumblr is a great site, especially if your kid is creative and likes to express themselves. Because it's easier to be anonymous, racy things can come up when you don't expect them, and it's highly likely they will talk to people they don't know in real life if they're on Tumblr. If that bothers you, or you think your kid isn't Internet-savvy enough to keep certain things private, you might want to wait until they're older. I didn't create a Tumblr blog until I was 16, and I'm glad I waited. I might've been a bit uncomfortable if I was on the site at a younger age.
Adult Written byVivienne_G January 23, 2015
LEARNING

I love it. Not for anyone under 12.

First off, most of these people posting things about this site know nothing about it. It doesn't glorify obesity, self-harm, suicide, or mental illness. What they probably saw were posts that were promoting SELF LOVE! ALSO this is a site where people post their PERSONAL OPINIONS! It is not reflective of the sight in anyway shape or form. Tumblr says very explicitly that it does not allow anyone under the age of 13 on the site. I think that it is a very useful site. At the age of 13 is when your kids become curious and if all you are going to do is ignore them and shelter them they are going to look elsewhere for information. You must trust them to be smart and guide them to make the right decisions while online. Tumblr is great and if you parent your kids right they can use it well.
Adult Written byIronicMelody February 12, 2012

tumblr is for adults and older teens not children

to me tumblr is a site for older teens and up to express what they like,tumblr does not get kid's into stuff like sex,drugs,violence.it's a blog people.parents, if you don't want your child on this site just use parental controls.
Adult Written byMg92672 June 30, 2016
LEARNING

If you are into Porn

Unfortunately. , Tumblr has changed the overall concept of social media, many bloggers were tired of other sights, and needed to rid themselves of all gossipy whining garb, There for awhile Tumblr was respected and enjoyed. About a year ago , especially last 6 mos it's turned into a seedy porn circus with creepy spammers trolling your blogs, after 10:00pm beware because that's when all HDR blogs come out, fill up timelines! Hugh private body parts take over. Once they follow you, good luck trying to block or rid of these creepers, they just send u spam to all your Followers, I am NOT joking, There is No way to reach Tumblr about this, I do not care what they say there is no way to reach them you're on your own with this bug. Fed up Not for Kiddos
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bypunkmonk13 June 10, 2016
LEARNING

Grooms young children for god knows what

This site is where anything goes: people trade pics from fuffy furies to fetishes that would blow your mind. I still can't get the image of callina69 out of my mind. God only knows how she remined there on that site. My 13 year daughter was shocked, maybe dazed, I didn't know what she was talking about and dismissed it. She sat there looking at it and said is that all I'm worth. Then alarm bells when off. Later I cried trying to think what on earth am I going to say to her, that boys arent like that. She saw GIFs of a women so violated she was vomiting while being brutally penetrated down the throat. Yeah filthy hairy hipsters might have a giggle!!! Thanks tumblr It's a hip site for pervs and freaks, your are grooming them young! Its a dumping ground for filth. Calina69 will never leave my daughter's head and as a father I'll never forgive myself for being so neglectful. Tumblrs response was it is my choice to google what i want? The violation an mistreatment of women on Tumblr is a disgrace. What is Tumblrs responsibility
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages