Parent reviews for Twitch

Common Sense says

Popular gaming site hosts many videos, some iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 21 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 17 reviews
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byAdamJen12 September 9, 2018

Twitch is good... Usually...

Twitch offers a very open service to gaming streamers allowing them to borderline run their own little community and do the thing they love to do at the same time. This can be a mix of good and bad at times.

Twitch is Live, this means what you're seeing is happening almost at the same time, and people are watching it with you at the same time, which may ring the security bell for many parents. Twitch also has the option to donate money to your favorite streamers which there's usually a minimum but no maximum; this could be a minor issue if your kid has their own debit/credit card or just so happens to know your credentials by heart. Twitch is for the most part, a teen to adult website. There are an abundant amount of mature streamers playing the usual violent video games which is nothing new nor is it necessarily bad. What worries me is the growing number of Women streamers using their bodies and over-sexualizing their stream to gain more viewers and in turn, donators. This should obviously raise a red flag for parents. So long as your kid is 13-16, the violence and swearing of twitch is likely nothing new to him. Maybe just occasionally check in to make sure he's not looking at the wrong things.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bysarahmom1983 December 22, 2019

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!

So my son, 10 told me if he could sign up to Twitch, I didn't know what he was talking about until he showed me what it actually is. I agreed because I thought it was some fun video website, but it really isn't. It's sexual, has violence and A LOT of swearing, He always watched this man called Ninja who plays Fort night, but I think he quit Twitch and I understand why. My 10 year old has been shouting at Minecraft because he keeps dying in games and I think that's all Twitch's fault. If you want a good video website I recommend YouTube as It's more child friendly.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 18+-year-old Written byFatherofgirls February 8, 2019

And Ad pushing engine...

Twitch is a game viewing platform that highlights most games that are popular and attracts viewers. Twitch exploits this by pushing ads over and over. More ads than during a normal television show. Many times the ads pop up during a game session that is right in the heart of the action. If it's a Live streamer, then there is just parts that you are forced to miss. If you switch from one streamer to another to view, then your viewing choices are hijacked, kidnapped, and forced to watch whatever ads Twitch tries to shove down your throat. Repeatedly. Over and over. They had a previous option to join as a Twitch Prime member and pay to not have to view all the ads, but that was taken away, though you still have to pay for the Prime account, and they are back to forcing ad junk at viewers. My girls, I have 2 daughters late teens, don't watch anymore, and I am fed up with the commercialism and greedy money grab tactics.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byHeatherMowbs August 30, 2020

Watch for $$ drain

My bank account (one I don't use but for apps & car insurance) was drained of $226 over the course of 3 weeks through 34 hits. I was devastated to find out that much was gone from my account. TWITCH WILL NOT REFUND THE MONEY. They protect their clients/contributors/streamers so that they don't lose the money gained from their audience.

How do they take the money?
Apparently when a watcher purchases bits and awards them to Streamers ($1.99 -$ 5.99) or Subscribe's to the streamer ($19.99)the money is gone. I'm still trying to figure out how my son was able to buy the bits without my password. Make sure you check settings and explain to your child how it works. I'm ultimately to blame for not digging deeper but hopefully this will save others a bundle and a whole lot of tears.
Adult Written byNot disclosing April 6, 2020

Twitch is the worst

Twitch wouldn’t even let me make a account it said I was to young I’m 29!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byclemPrime January 19, 2020

Twitch contradicts their own ToS

Twitch selectively enforces punishments. Harsher punishments towards men and softer or no punishment at all against female streamers that really behave like cam girls (softcore porn). Do not leave your kids unattended on Twitch. Make sure they are just watching content that you allow them to watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJroths September 19, 2019

Run by Corporate creeps who push adult content, racism and sexism.

The site promotes X-rated content creators, violent and racist behavior and questionable behaviors.
Adult Written byJINXTHINXTWITCH... April 14, 2019

Twitch Is SPAM/HARASSMENT CENTRAL

I've used twitch for about 4 years now and it seems to grow consistantly towards the warped side!. A lot of users i'm finding dox people,spam and troll/harass folks on a day to day basis. I've made numerous reports to twitch and still awaiting on something to be done. Twitch is now growing up to be like youtube! the difference? youtube you can find useful stuff unlike twitch you just watch people or stream. Twitch needs to be taken down just like youtube

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byFinleyAnderson01 January 17, 2019

Its Awesome

I think this app is a great app
Adult Written bymel u September 13, 2021

not for adults - DON'T LET THEM NEAR IT

while not all creators on twitch are bad and sold their soul for money around 99.9 percent did. The games are so violent, the language horrible, the chat vapid, and if you think female content is better think again.. its softcore porn and almost all women use sexuality to get ahead (because it does). not even categories like creative or game development are free of women exploiting themselves..in fact there you can see most clearly that nothing is more important than how one looks, pouts, licks their fingers and talks about feet. your child will become deranged, sexually traumatized, and daughters sluts. please block this site not only for them but for yourself too... its a +130 kinda site tbh.. over my dead body

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDECOY August 28, 2021

ITS FUCKING PATHETIC!

i have a twitch account but now all of a sudden when trying to go online it just says error loading your preferences... (nothing on the page loads) can CS:GO please get a better streaming platform than this trash twitch please! i want to watch ESL but twitch is too trash to work!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byFrankthewalrus August 4, 2021

Teaches your 13 year old kids how to pay money for hookers

There are many sexually provocative women who stream on Twitch. It's not a crime to have boobs, however, it is super weird to stream to a website they know kids are watching, and then proceed to wear a skimpy swimsuit; floating around in a pool showing your ass to the audience.

I wouldn't have an issue with this if it was an adult website meant for adult content. Twitch is meant for "gamers" or at least it used to be. The sign up age for Twitch is 13!

Do you know how many kids like videogames? A lot! Do you know how many kids lie about their age on Twitch so they don't get banned? A LOT.

Do you know how many kids donate to streamers to do sexually provocative things? A LOT.

Do you know how many of these kids are going to grow up thinking it's normal to pay money to get sexual favors? A LOT.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byRanger21 May 12, 2021

What I've witnessed on Twitch

Streamers are streaming for $. If you give money you're valued. If you do not give money you will be invisible to the streamer and the mods may block your messages for no TOS violations but just to get you to not return because you don't give money. I've seen this happen and nothing any viewer can do about it. So, if you like to be falsely liked by streamers because you give them money.. this is the place for you.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGrayone0101 April 26, 2021

Not good

Constantly crashes until you say your gonna write a bad review
Adult Written bysumerishere94 April 23, 2021

Twitch is softcore porn advertised as gaming. Pathetic website

Do not let your kids on this website, it is a joke. Twitch is softcore porn advertised as gaming. Yes there is gaming but one of the largest viewing and recommended section on twitch is now porn. The moderating on the website is absolutely pathetic and the people responsible are greedy losers who imo should be ashamed of themselves for displaying porn to 10 year old kids based on false advertisement. Pathetic website from a pathetic company. Did I say this company is pathetic?
Adult Written byyangnan March 9, 2021

001

mom

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bymangie September 29, 2020

Poor decisions

They consistently make the platform less enjoyable by ramping up ads and are very inconsiderate to their partners. Would not recommend trying to start as a streamer here nor pay money to them.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Written byAnonymous July 9, 2020

Used To Be Great. Now It's Getting Worse.

Parents watch out! I really enjoyed Twitch and still do occasionally. It is or at least was a great place to watch games, e sports or speed-runs, However it has degraded into a cam girl soft core porn platform. The "E-Girls" who most of the time do nothing but sit there and do things like rate people based on appearance, play with their chest/behind or pole dance for subs and donations. There are even people using cannabis and getting drunk daily. I thought this was against the TOS but as long as it makes them money i guess its fine right? The Just Chatting section has substantially more viewers than any other game/section easily making up at least half of twitch at most times. There is almost never a mature rating on any of these streams, and even if there is(there almost always isn't) your kids are just a nice little click away saying their 18 and vua la! It really is sad to see so many streamers put a ton of work in, only to get no viewers or attention because kids would rather watch "E-Girls".. Honestly wish they would make a new site for all the sexual content, it really takes away from the real content/gamers that are actually passionate about games! A great shame.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byProBird76 May 12, 2020

Its good

my child was watching a stream and I looked over and the streamer was very family freindly
Adult Written byKaty13636 November 3, 2019

Pages