Parent reviews for Twitch

Common Sense says

Popular gaming site hosts many videos, some iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 7 reviews
Adult Written bycdanielh128 May 9, 2019

The official Twitch description on this site is deceiving.

If you are ok with your kids watching softcore porn or going to softcore cam girl sites then its fine. I caught my nephew watching a stream the other night that had a "Gamer" lady on it stroking a long balloon like it was a mans private. She was wearing an outfit that belonged next to a swimming pool. I looked into it further and this girl traps young people on this site to send them to her patreon to get her, as she called them, "Lewds". Basically she is selling porn. Her game was logged in but I am not sure she ever games. Although later I saw her dancing in a dance game. It was a jiggle fest. This is not rare and she is one of the largest streamers on this site so the administration knows exactly what is going on. Within 10 minutes I found almost a hundred more of this type of streaming. When I showed this to his mother she started crying. She thought it was just for gaming and she only saw what he originally watched which was a Minecraft streamer. BEWARE of this site. They are money hungry and care not for your children. If this 12 year old can get around their security to watch soft core porn any kid can.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byAdamJen12 September 9, 2018

Twitch is good... Usually...

Twitch offers a very open service to gaming streamers allowing them to borderline run their own little community and do the thing they love to do at the same time. This can be a mix of good and bad at times.

Twitch is Live, this means what you're seeing is happening almost at the same time, and people are watching it with you at the same time, which may ring the security bell for many parents. Twitch also has the option to donate money to your favorite streamers which there's usually a minimum but no maximum; this could be a minor issue if your kid has their own debit/credit card or just so happens to know your credentials by heart. Twitch is for the most part, a teen to adult website. There are an abundant amount of mature streamers playing the usual violent video games which is nothing new nor is it necessarily bad. What worries me is the growing number of Women streamers using their bodies and over-sexualizing their stream to gain more viewers and in turn, donators. This should obviously raise a red flag for parents. So long as your kid is 13-16, the violence and swearing of twitch is likely nothing new to him. Maybe just occasionally check in to make sure he's not looking at the wrong things.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byFinleyAnderson01 January 17, 2019

Its Awesome

I think this app is a great app
Adult Written byProBird76 May 12, 2020

Its good

my child was watching a stream and I looked over and the streamer was very family freindly
Adult Written byShannonblank April 11, 2020

Make sence

It is a grate app for kids
Adult Written byNot disclosing April 6, 2020

Twitch is the worst

Twitch wouldn’t even let me make a account it said I was to young I’m 29!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bychets185 March 12, 2020

its so cool becuase you on live

its so epic

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byclemPrime January 19, 2020

Twitch contradicts their own ToS

Twitch selectively enforces punishments. Harsher punishments towards men and softer or no punishment at all against female streamers that really behave like cam girls (softcore porn). Do not leave your kids unattended on Twitch. Make sure they are just watching content that you allow them to watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bysarahmom1983 December 22, 2019

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!

So my son, 10 told me if he could sign up to Twitch, I didn't know what he was talking about until he showed me what it actually is. I agreed because I thought it was some fun video website, but it really isn't. It's sexual, has violence and A LOT of swearing, He always watched this man called Ninja who plays Fort night, but I think he quit Twitch and I understand why. My 10 year old has been shouting at Minecraft because he keeps dying in games and I think that's all Twitch's fault. If you want a good video website I recommend YouTube as It's more child friendly.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byKaty13636 November 3, 2019
Adult Written byJroths September 19, 2019

Run by Corporate creeps who push adult content, racism and sexism.

The site promotes X-rated content creators, violent and racist behavior and questionable behaviors.
Adult Written byBeverly9pvssj August 29, 2019

Twitch

Because I'm A Fan

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAnonymos June 27, 2019
Adult Written byJINXTHINXTWITCH... April 14, 2019

Twitch Is SPAM/HARASSMENT CENTRAL

I've used twitch for about 4 years now and it seems to grow consistantly towards the warped side!. A lot of users i'm finding dox people,spam and troll/harass folks on a day to day basis. I've made numerous reports to twitch and still awaiting on something to be done. Twitch is now growing up to be like youtube! the difference? youtube you can find useful stuff unlike twitch you just watch people or stream. Twitch needs to be taken down just like youtube

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 18+-year-old Written byFatherofgirls February 8, 2019

And Ad pushing engine...

Twitch is a game viewing platform that highlights most games that are popular and attracts viewers. Twitch exploits this by pushing ads over and over. More ads than during a normal television show. Many times the ads pop up during a game session that is right in the heart of the action. If it's a Live streamer, then there is just parts that you are forced to miss. If you switch from one streamer to another to view, then your viewing choices are hijacked, kidnapped, and forced to watch whatever ads Twitch tries to shove down your throat. Repeatedly. Over and over. They had a previous option to join as a Twitch Prime member and pay to not have to view all the ads, but that was taken away, though you still have to pay for the Prime account, and they are back to forcing ad junk at viewers. My girls, I have 2 daughters late teens, don't watch anymore, and I am fed up with the commercialism and greedy money grab tactics.

This title contains:

Consumerism