Kid reviews for Urban Dictionary

Common Sense says

Words you won't find in Webster's are mostly mature.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 37 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheDalekDiva September 7, 2016

CSM, what are you thinking???!!!

This is insane. Urban Dictionary is, by far, one of the most un-family-friendly websites on the internet! Trust me, if your child goes on this site, they will lose their innocence within two minutes. I wouldn't recommend staying on the site for more than thirty minutes, because you will feel awful and traumatised. I can bet my bottom dollar that even most adults would at least be slightly traumatised after visiting this site. Most definitions are sex-related or include sexual references, and almost every definition contains very strong coarse language and profanity. There's quite a lot of violent definitions, too. Most of the definitions are written by people to amuse themselves or insult others. Definitions for simple, mundane objects such as an apple or a banana will contain swearing, with people making up things about it that are often sexual and profane. Maybe Urban Dictionary was moderated when CSM reviewed it, but it certainly isn't now! Most of the definitions are racist, ableist, sexist.... basically everything-ist. Descriptions are usually hideously, traumatisingly graphic. People write their nasty opinions against religions, races, people with disabilities.... they basically discriminate against and swear about every kind of person who can be discriminated against. A huge amount of definitions reference to pornography. There are also a huge amount of drug references - it seems as if most of the users are drug users. If the internet were a house, Urban dictionary would be the filthy, faeces-smeared, syringe-littered toilet.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 30, 2020

Inappropriate and guilt-bringing

This is the kind of site which draws kids in and makes them feel really grown up and secretive. They should have some sort of age verification as well. I tried it as a dictionary because my normal one shut down. The stuff I saw on that website is just weird. It is not helpful either. The most popular word of the day was 'penis'. And that is one of the milder things.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old December 24, 2018

Too much adult concept. NOT FOR KIDS

This website has sexual and crude humor..i do not recommend this

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old July 16, 2018

You know, for kids!

You might think that it's an innocent little website to use if you don't know a word or two. Well, most terms are sexualized to the point that it's harder to find one without drugs or sex. Don't use this unless you want to be disgusted.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2018

Very gross and inapropriate "definitions" of made up stuff

It shows gross descriptive "definitions" of things a human being would never do. Maybe a dog would enjoy it but dogs don't look on this site do they? For a kid who might think these are real stuff people would do it can be scarring. I am scarred to from it. Please, not because it is inappropriate kids, even though it still is, stay off of it for not scarring yourself and some sick stomachs. I made the mistake of getting sent there by a totally non inappropriate word but then I clicked on another it was BAD.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old September 8, 2014

Don't bother!!

Urban dictionary is very inappropriate with graphic descriptions, violence and swearing. Don't bother! Ask your parents if you want slang definitions - don't even bother using urban dictionary unless you're allowed to read strong swearing, sex and slang.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byappleie March 14, 2014

disgusting

there is now a section called the "picture" section and this website is explicitly disgusting

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byyobro November 16, 2012

not for kids

omg. i say newground is fine for 11+ dragon age is fie for 10+ and this. this is so bad!!! dont look at it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byRosebud95 July 2, 2012

Well...

Sometimes it could be used for 'slang definitions', but now it's mostly used for 'haters'. Seriously, I rarely see anything they LIKE on there... o_O

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byLaLa567 January 2, 2012

Dont use it!

This is probably the worst website I've ever visited. Each definition is Sex related. You can even type the definition of your name and it will be really innapropriate. I typed in my name and apparently im a couple bad words and lazy.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 8, 2011

Bad Site!

Common Sense Media did a terrible job, trust me the site has nothing but inapproprate slang words that no one should know until they're and adult.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byhopexendures May 6, 2011

Skip this site.

While some of the entries are entertaining and clever, this is truly just another way to assist kids in losing their innocence.
There are TONS of innuendoes on the site, and users are not shy when it comes to their definitions. There is also profanity galore.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 21, 2011

10+

I go on the site and I'm 10. It may be a bit innapropriot, but, by 10, everyone knows what sex, drugs, alchohal and curses are.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2011

Useful, but be very careful.

I've only used this site twice. I found things no 12 year old should see, and also some surprisingly informative definition. It's like a community dictionary, with some very vulgar members. Just note: If a word sounds too strange, it's probably sexual or drug related. I never bothered to use the chat system, but I doubt I'd come out mentally stable (lol)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebma97 April 3, 2011

An inappropriate site that needs moderation

This is a not a dictionary website. The publishers do give you some legit definitions, but many (if not most) of them are biased, inappropriate, and extremely offensive. You will often come across racist/sexist/anti-religious "definitions", not to mention inappropriate sexual references and constant swearing ("F-k appears frequently). Admittedly SOME things are funny, but a lot of it is just plain rude. I wouldn't recommend this site for anyone under 13.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by-smile.kid- February 5, 2011

Funny but Inappropriate

I first started using this website when my friends used a slang word I had no clue what it meant. I easily got hooked on the website. Some of the definitions on there will leave you laughing for a while, others will revolt you, and some are just plain jaw-dropping. About half of the definitions are sexual, but so are a lot of slang words, and all teens know about sex, whether or not you thing they do. Some of the posts are violent, but nothing extremely graphic. If you use the website for what it's for, then it's a lot of fun.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Educational Value
Teen, 13 years old Written byLuna234 January 18, 2011
This website is fine until you start to really get into it. There is a lot of bad language and negative messages (racism, sexism).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byThreeDaysGracesGirl October 30, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written bybfmbridge September 3, 2010

NOT FOR KIDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this site is good if you just want to look up what something means but other than that it is completely useless and WAY too inapropriate

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Teen, 14 years old Written bylilmiss_96 August 26, 2010

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety

Pages