All teen and kid member reviews for Urban Dictionary

Kids say

(out of 33 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byserradella June 29, 2010
Once again, Common Sense Media has horribly misrated something. This website contains VERY mature sexual terms and slang. There is CONSTANT profanity everywhere on the site! There are TONS of references to marijuana, alchohol, and many other drugs. Another problem is it's all user generated, so anyone can add any definition at any time, it IS checked by people, but that's only so that they make sur that the definitions are REAL. Yes, the definitions are real, so in a disturbing way it can help teens figure out what their friends may be talking about, or something else like that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 May 27, 2010

Very crude and obscene site; NOT for young teens. Iffy for ages 16-18.

Well, I guess the common sense media reviewers haven't seen the worst of the content on that site. There are extremely crude sexual references to acts such as b****iality. There are a ton of F words and other uses of inappropriate language. Iffy for ages 16-18.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 26, 2010

iffy

it is a good site if u dont know a word
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRosebud95 July 2, 2012

Well...

Sometimes it could be used for 'slang definitions', but now it's mostly used for 'haters'. Seriously, I rarely see anything they LIKE on there... o_O
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2010

Boon's rating

What is up with these reviews? the whole website is just about curse and sex words. its a cursing dictionary! plus people can upload whatever they want on the site, so you can see the F-word probably.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheDalekDiva September 7, 2016

CSM, what are you thinking???!!!

This is insane. Urban Dictionary is, by far, one of the most un-family-friendly websites on the internet! Trust me, if your child goes on this site, they will lose their innocence within two minutes. I wouldn't recommend staying on the site for more than thirty minutes, because you will feel awful and traumatised. I can bet my bottom dollar that even most adults would at least be slightly traumatised after visiting this site. Most definitions are sex-related or include sexual references, and almost every definition contains very strong coarse language and profanity. There's quite a lot of violent definitions, too. Most of the definitions are written by people to amuse themselves or insult others. Definitions for simple, mundane objects such as an apple or a banana will contain swearing, with people making up things about it that are often sexual and profane. Maybe Urban Dictionary was moderated when CSM reviewed it, but it certainly isn't now! Most of the definitions are racist, ableist, sexist.... basically everything-ist. Descriptions are usually hideously, traumatisingly graphic. People write their nasty opinions against religions, races, people with disabilities.... they basically discriminate against and swear about every kind of person who can be discriminated against. A huge amount of definitions reference to pornography. There are also a huge amount of drug references - it seems as if most of the users are drug users. If the internet were a house, Urban dictionary would be the filthy, faeces-smeared, syringe-littered toilet.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byyobro November 16, 2012

not for kids

omg. i say newground is fine for 11+ dragon age is fie for 10+ and this. this is so bad!!! dont look at it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byhopexendures May 6, 2011

Skip this site.

While some of the entries are entertaining and clever, this is truly just another way to assist kids in losing their innocence. There are TONS of innuendoes on the site, and users are not shy when it comes to their definitions. There is also profanity galore.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by-smile.kid- February 5, 2011

Funny but Inappropriate

I first started using this website when my friends used a slang word I had no clue what it meant. I easily got hooked on the website. Some of the definitions on there will leave you laughing for a while, others will revolt you, and some are just plain jaw-dropping. About half of the definitions are sexual, but so are a lot of slang words, and all teens know about sex, whether or not you thing they do. Some of the posts are violent, but nothing extremely graphic. If you use the website for what it's for, then it's a lot of fun.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bybfmbridge September 3, 2010

NOT FOR KIDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this site is good if you just want to look up what something means but other than that it is completely useless and WAY too inapropriate
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 May 28, 2010

meant for words that are not commonly appropriate

it's really inapropriate, but can be helpful for teens who need to find out on their own what their friends are talking about. LOTS of inappropriate words and swears. That's what the site is for mostly.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old September 8, 2014

Don't bother!!

Urban dictionary is very inappropriate with graphic descriptions, violence and swearing. Don't bother! Ask your parents if you want slang definitions - don't even bother using urban dictionary unless you're allowed to read strong swearing, sex and slang.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byappleie March 14, 2014

disgusting

there is now a section called the "picture" section and this website is explicitly disgusting
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLaLa567 January 2, 2012

Dont use it!

This is probably the worst website I've ever visited. Each definition is Sex related. You can even type the definition of your name and it will be really innapropriate. I typed in my name and apparently im a couple bad words and lazy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 8, 2011

Bad Site!

Common Sense Media did a terrible job, trust me the site has nothing but inapproprate slang words that no one should know until they're and adult.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 21, 2011

10+

I go on the site and I'm 10. It may be a bit innapropriot, but, by 10, everyone knows what sex, drugs, alchohal and curses are.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2011

Useful, but be very careful.

I've only used this site twice. I found things no 12 year old should see, and also some surprisingly informative definition. It's like a community dictionary, with some very vulgar members. Just note: If a word sounds too strange, it's probably sexual or drug related. I never bothered to use the chat system, but I doubt I'd come out mentally stable (lol)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebma97 April 3, 2011

An inappropriate site that needs moderation

This is a not a dictionary website. The publishers do give you some legit definitions, but many (if not most) of them are biased, inappropriate, and extremely offensive. You will often come across racist/sexist/anti-religious "definitions", not to mention inappropriate sexual references and constant swearing ("F-k appears frequently). Admittedly SOME things are funny, but a lot of it is just plain rude. I wouldn't recommend this site for anyone under 13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLuna234 January 18, 2011
This website is fine until you start to really get into it. There is a lot of bad language and negative messages (racism, sexism).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThreeDaysGracesGirl October 30, 2010

Pages