All parent member reviews for Wikipedia.org

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byjared.mara April 11, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Definately for teens and older.

This is an easy one. On the bright side, Wikipedia is a site where you can see articles of information written be users who like the topics they wright about. Also, areas like Wiki Project: Spam; AfD discussions, and discussion pages, the articles are ensured to be kept in the highest condition. However, you must realize that Wikipedia can accept any article. Another child reporter said that there was explicit articles on Wikipedia. However, the articles fell under Wikipedia's policies and were accepted. Wikipedia is not obligated to take something down just because of it's topic, which is why young children should be cautioned about certain articles. So it is right to use this sight once you are old enough, which in my opinion is 13+.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byMr. Boxbox April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
giving wikipedia a parental review is like giving a dictionary or an encyclopedia a review. there are some articles that are about sex, violence or swearing but there are also in any other encyclopedia.
Parent Written by915071 November 5, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

OK

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 19, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I don't see why people think this website is wrong all the time.

I mean,COME ON! Also CSM,who says kids can't visit Wikipedia? Looks like your taste gets worse and worse! It's like a 2 year old wrote that review! Wikipedia is SO SMART!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 22, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

wikipediaorg

Families can talk about the nature of a collaborative encyclopedia. Why is it important to use Wikipedia simply as a launching pad for more extensive research? Families can also talk about the ways to double-check a Wikipedia entry against more formal references. How do you navigate through such large amounts of information and find what's important?
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byJEDI micah May 30, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

BEST RESEARCH WEBSITE EVER!!!

I LOVE WIKIPEDIA! You can look up even the most silliest noun, and it will define it for you! It is the best way to research things!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bymr.TR June 22, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not For Kids Under 16. Kids Under 16 need a parent or guardian reading the site with the kids.

I was researching the subject of people's gender roles, by looking at some of the articles on wikipedia.org. I found an article, that I feel, is too disturbing for kids under 16. It is an article that I don't want any young kid to read without a caring adult to get them off of the article, or to explain to the kid(s) why this article is bad for them to see . I think that if a kid under 16 ,reads this article, without a responsible adult, that the article could make the kids feel very emotionally disturbed. I've censored the name of the article in this review. The name of the article is ________ Removal. I think that if you're 17-years-old, or 21 or 21 plus, [and you know basic science], that you can figure out what my censored title is. My title is about certain surgical practices. While there may be some scientific professionals, or history professionals, who might need the data in the article, I believe that this wikipedia article is not something that 99.9% of the people in The U.S., will ever need. That might be true for people in other nations, as well. Most people will never need this information. I feel that the subject matter of this article, subject matter that deals with the subjects of: emotional fantasies, crime and punishment, or similar scholastic subjects, is subject matter or data, that most people will not need in their lifetime. There is a photo of certain human physiology, on this article, that I think kids under 16 should not see. The photo is graphic and unneeded. Average internet viewers are allowed to remove parts of articles, and maybe photos, from wikipedia articles, but the article gives you no method of removing this photo. Also, there are ways that you can edit the words and pictures out of a wikipedia article, but if the unknown administrators of the site don't agree with the reasons for your edits, the administrators may put your edited material back in the article, without any way for you to edit the article again. I believe that there is also no way to protest the cancellation of your edits. So, unknown administrators of the site, in cancelling your edits, are deciding for you, what data and pictures are appropriate for all kids under 21-years-old. The article also has links to sites outside of wikipedia .org. I find two of these links to be, links that are 1) sites run by people who may be emotionally sick, and inappropriate for people of ANY age to discover or 2) sites that , while are very remotely connected to the subject of the wikipedia article, are sites: about absurd sexual practices/or are sites that contain disgusting, or sick, pornography. One of the linked sites seems to be to a fake site. Another of the linked sites is an article, on a site, about disgusting paraphilia stories. In conclusion, I do feel that wikipedia.org does have a small amount of educational data available. But, In my view, the site [does not censor enough violent content, in order for kids to see the site], and the site [does not censor enough needless violent or repulsive content] for kids under 16 to see the site. If you know that your 16-year-old child or children know what sites are inappropriate for them to see, and they know to leave those sites, and your kids are 16 or over, then I recommend that these kids can see the site. Since wikipedia.org does not remove data from its site, data that nearly every adult thinks is data that is too violent for children or too sexual for children, please do not let kids under 16 see this site without a proper parent or guardian, a parent to view the site with those kids, kids who are under 16.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 8 year old Written bycone March 11, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Parent of a 17 year old Written byzainu March 5, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

oerwqq

This is my favorite site. It may contain in some articles sex topics, violent images, nudity, and language. It sometimes lies too, It's a wonderful life, sleeping beauty, and Star wars episode 5 did not get mixed reviews on it's original release. I hate box office bombs and negative reviews because gives you the what if feeling and it's unfair to a film that i like, what the heck!!!! despite this I highly recommeded it!!!! health administration
Adult Written byUnionofssr February 3, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not good

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Parent of a 14 and 16 year old Written byguysandadoll January 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A Great Reference Tool

Though kids can create profiles, close monitoring fixes this. There is an ongoing myth that you may learn bad knowledge or see inappropriate words in the middle of nowhere because of trolls, but this is just not true.
What other families should know
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written bybrown_eyed_girl September 25, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I'm really surprised this would be considered a "homework helper". What parents really need to know is that all the items on Wikipedia are user-generated. While some of the material on the site may be factual, other items are not. Still more items are heavily slanted due to the biases of the individuals who wrote the wiki entries. Students, especially college-bound students, need to be told that Wikipedia should only be used as a jumping off point. It's one thing to use it as a starting place to generate ideas and find initial sources, but in most cases, it should not be used as the primary source for a paper. Students need to be taught how to evaluate online sources and in most cases high schools are not doing a good enough job so those early college papers come as a rude awakening.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjfbrown42 August 26, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The world's encyclopedia, very educational

Wikipedia is just jam-packed with (mostly correct) information. It's a great jumping off spot for formal research and for informal research, there is nothing better (other than more topic-specific wikis). Sure, your kids might run accross something innapropriate, but the vast majority of content (and wikipedia is nothing but vast) is excelent. Also, wikipedia is participatory. So if your kid is an expert at Star Wars for example, he/she can go in and add to the Star Wars page or correct an error, make a comment, etc.
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written bylindsey12345 April 8, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

inopropiate launguige

i tiped in the f word and the article ezxits
Parent of a 2 year old Written byDesiredLoginName January 8, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Parent of an infant, infant, 3, and 5 year old Written byMississippiQueen January 7, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 6 and 12 year old Written byback2schoolboo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Know how to search properly

+HUGE varity of searches +can be helpful for reports -lots of content is false -some searches will make a mom pass out
Adult Written bychristschild2481 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byaecdoglover April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Site, Very Informative

I think this site is great for projects, information, and to just learn about anything. Wikipedia is quick and easy to use, informative, and has great links. Good pictures and in-depth. I recommend this site to people of ALL ages and I do not understand why it was suggested 15+. You can find an article on just about anything, from TV shows to countries to hurricanes. Although it can be edited by anyone, it is constantly being checked for accuracy and is up-to-date. I HIGHLY reccomend this website!!
Adult Written byMacintyre April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages