All parent member reviews for YouTube

Parents say

(out of 205 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written bymr.travis February 11, 2010
 

WAY too many wildcards on youtube

There is a smuttiness prevalent on youtube that ultimately has made it off-limits to my kids. Example: a friend forwarded a funny Christmas video showing costumed monks presenting the "Hallelujah Chorus," silently using signs. As soon as it was finished, up come the suggested videos, one of which is entitled "the 12 gays of Christmas." I didn't watch that one - maybe it was funny too - but I surely didn't care to explain to by children age 8, 6 and 3 what the title might mean. So even when I'm in territory on youtube that seems kid safe, it seems somewhere on the page there something about (actual examples again) "how to shoot up heroin" or something about oral sex techniques. I have posted several videos to youtube and been disappointed and often shocked at the abusive, sexual language left as comments, even though the videos were of my small children and were posted simply for their grandparents to see. (We're not posting any family videos to youtube any longer.) There seems to be a poisonous misanthropy among youtube users - or at least among commenters - that to me is starting to feel like the lingua franca of the web in general. Based on experience in the last year I'm starting to find the web an unsafe place for kids overall. Maybe these problems will be addressed by the new safety feature. It will be hard to convince me, though. With the exception of text content, it seems to me that safety features will rely on user-provided tags and flags. As I have said, I don't have a lot of faith in youtube users as advocates for children. As for quality, it's a phenomenal challenge to find content of genuine merit. Flippant fun is what we find primarily. All this was a lot more fun before we had children. Now comes responsibility... sigh.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written byunixworm April 3, 2010
 
Parent of a 9 year old Written bylabtop909 February 6, 2010
 

I don't know

I can't say I love this website or that I hate it. The good thing is that it inspires children to be creative. Creativity is something all children need but CAN get better sources of it in other places. Alot of bad languge, sexual behavoir and other inoproproit things have popped up on youtube. One time, my four year old got on youtube all by herself. She clicked a random vidio becouse she saw Rudolph the red nosed deer becouse she likes him. It turned out to be a gory horor.She was scared out of her mind and ran to me. She showed me this clip.I banned her from the internet for a while. Although in this case youtube has been unsafe, my sister bought a sofywear that block inopproproit content. Youtube can either be terrible or great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bylindsey12345 April 5, 2009
 

youtube poop

some videos are youtube poop
Parent Written byCooldee May 4, 2010
 
LEARNING

Have fun, but be careful!

I love Youtube, but there is alot of swearing, violence, and bullying. For example, YouTube Poops are very popular, but contain alot of foul language, bad behavior, and sexual references. Youtube Poops are not meant to be watched by children under 13.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bysmd2 April 26, 2010
 

Great for older kids, but no for tweens unless you use Safe Mode

I had personally only used YouTube to view videos and show/movie clips, but I caught my son viewing porn and about died. Since I had never searched for it, I wasnt aware it was available. But now I know. I did some researching today and will be turning on the Safe Mode
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydrmwelsh February 11, 2010
 
When using the new filter make sure you turn the filter on for every web browser on your computer (Explorer, firefox). Turning it on using explorer does not turn it on for firefox. Also, make sure to log on and save and lock your setting. Finally, you also have to log back out to finalize the deal. This filter should be a opt-out system in order to keep more kids safe!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bytdidjdood April 10, 2009
 

oh come on

This site isn't that bad.
Written byAnonymous August 25, 2015
 
LEARNING

Safety mode does NOT WORK CORRECTLY

I turned on Safety Mode for a laugh one day and saw that the YouTube channel Vanossgaming(Alot of profanity and sexual references) was blocked and Yogscast(Even more profanity then Vanoss) was not. It's the same for Pewdiepie. They need to correct the mode.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byfaithrebekah18 July 6, 2015
 
LEARNING

YouTube

This website is very easy to navigate and it is very fun. Kids can watch lots of viral videos and many Youtuber's videos. You can find videos on nearly everything from science to hair. It is a great way to spend your time but you may need to monitor some access.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byPennDisneyCEO May 7, 2015
 
LEARNING

My Youtube Review

I think the website, itself, since, is fine, and has went thought the good and the bad for 10 years now, but is all okay to go to, full of things for all ages! Is really to my option that is that of a useful videos site for all things! From logos end of TV shows, to game plays, from POW of rides, to movie trailers, from educational lessons, to funny fails, from tas runs, to the best music in the world. Is for all people of different things, even schools trust it thanks to fact you no longer need DVDs of educational things to put into laptops, they are all there! Honestly is just that full of everything, but there's the bad side of things often on youtube you need to worry, which may include the following in some, like bad words being said out in videos and comments (You won't notice them coming) which was a problem to the website a lot! Other issues is included sexual content, violent videos, and some of the heated hate. If you have a child, i say you keep watch on them and only give them the appropriate videos for any of those baddie things, and if you do find one immediately move to the next one that's better, and also very careful with the comments section. If you have a teen, give him/her some freedom to search around youtube, but still make sure they don't come up with bad videos in their result pages! I say is good for all, and that it does not need to be rated for it's age, but is with your child(ren) or teen(s) ideals.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bywhip April 23, 2015
 
LEARNING

Great site for teens!

YouTube has amazing videos! However, some bad videos are posted sometimes. But you can block them with Safe mode. One of my favorite types of videos are Youtube Poops. Because they have bad words, I prefer that teenagers choose to watch DaThings1's YTP videos. There are tons of things on YouTube and I think this is a great site!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byParentalControls April 14, 2015
 

Not for kids AT ALL.

It is not educational, and there are way too many sexual and violent things. Never let your children on YouTube, it will corrupt them for life!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byreecel March 30, 2015
 

a littel bit off everything

restricted for kids and for aduts just to wach without limits
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bygoogle1321 March 1, 2015
 
LEARNING

Common sense media dumb

Youtube has very appropriate videos for any age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygracevirginiac December 20, 2014
 
LEARNING

The Learning Faculties R Gr8

This website is my nephews whole existence. Everyone should subscribe to danisnotonfire and AmazingPhil they r gr8. There is nothing bad about it and all kids should use it in everyday life. It is my current favourite website for learning and education. Try out teacher tube if you are worried about anything
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byKaguas November 7, 2014
 
LEARNING

Great Site

Great site, explore entertainment videos. Watch studying material, help, tutoring, games, etc..too much swearing in the comments though.
Parent Written byerinw2 November 2, 2014
 
LEARNING
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymarc laboy October 10, 2014
 
LEARNING

let your kids on youtube

you can just put up age barriers
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byconnorm1 October 7, 2014
 
It is a great, resourceful site, however, some videos may be inappropriate for younger viewers.

Pages