Parent reviews for YouTube

Common Sense says

Vast video site entertains, educates; iffy stuff abounds.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 249 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 1099 reviews
Adult Written bytdidjdood April 10, 2009

oh come on

This site isn't that bad.
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written bymr.travis February 11, 2010

WAY too many wildcards on youtube

There is a smuttiness prevalent on youtube that ultimately has made it off-limits to my kids. Example: a friend forwarded a funny Christmas video showing costumed monks presenting the "Hallelujah Chorus," silently using signs. As soon as it was finished, up come the suggested videos, one of which is entitled "the 12 gays of Christmas." I didn't watch that one - maybe it was funny too - but I surely didn't care to explain to by children age 8, 6 and 3 what the title might mean. So even when I'm in territory on youtube that seems kid safe, it seems somewhere on the page there something about (actual examples again) "how to shoot up heroin" or something about oral sex techniques. I have posted several videos to youtube and been disappointed and often shocked at the abusive, sexual language left as comments, even though the videos were of my small children and were posted simply for their grandparents to see. (We're not posting any family videos to youtube any longer.) There seems to be a poisonous misanthropy among youtube users - or at least among commenters - that to me is starting to feel like the lingua franca of the web in general. Based on experience in the last year I'm starting to find the web an unsafe place for kids overall. Maybe these problems will be addressed by the new safety feature. It will be hard to convince me, though. With the exception of text content, it seems to me that safety features will rely on user-provided tags and flags. As I have said, I don't have a lot of faith in youtube users as advocates for children. As for quality, it's a phenomenal challenge to find content of genuine merit. Flippant fun is what we find primarily. All this was a lot more fun before we had children. Now comes responsibility... sigh.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 9 year old Written bylabtop909 February 6, 2010

I don't know

I can't say I love this website or that I hate it. The good thing is that it inspires children to be creative. Creativity is something all children need but CAN get better sources of it in other places. Alot of bad languge, sexual behavoir and other inoproproit things have popped up on youtube. One time, my four year old got on youtube all by herself. She clicked a random vidio becouse she saw Rudolph the red nosed deer becouse she likes him. It turned out to be a gory horor.She was scared out of her mind and ran to me. She showed me this clip.I banned her from the internet for a while. Although in this case youtube has been unsafe, my sister bought a sofywear that block inopproproit content. Youtube can either be terrible or great.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJSB1985 August 24, 2014

No protection for anyone

Youtube will allow anything online. It doesn't matter if the video has violence, language, hate speech, nudity, or anything else. The only stuff it removes is Copyrighted Videos & Music. It claims to have "Community Guidelines" but they are never enforced. Want to advocate the death of innocent people? Go ahead. Want to stalk someone on Youtube? Be free. Want to copy someone's account & slander their name? Have fun. Just don't put anything copyrighted on there. That's the only thing that they actually care about.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byParentalControls April 14, 2015

Not for kids AT ALL.

It is not educational, and there are way too many sexual and violent things. Never let your children on YouTube, it will corrupt them for life!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bydeana1 December 12, 2015

Getting repetitive and generic now

Well the King of YouTube swears all the Time and shouts at the screen and yet it's full of under age children who will copy this behavior, but now its all about The Money and not the Hobby it was not meant for monetization Money copy rights, but everyone want's to be a YouTube star these days and earn Money but yet they forgot it's not about the Money its about the laughs and perfect video and not the views and subs it's changed so much over the years every youtuber wants to be the same and act like a 5 year old kid

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMatt B. October 29, 2015

OK for kids if safety filter is enabled.

Kids 8 and up should be allowed to use it, but be warned that if they are under 13 the filters need to be set.
Parent of a 3 year old Written bySharon M February 12, 2010
Youtube isn't a monolith, it's a medium--rating it as a single site is more like attempting to rate "cable television" than any particular show, or even channel. You wouldn't let your kid watch random TV without supervision, or surf the 'Net randomly on their own, so don't do the same with YouTube. Simple. With appropriate supervision and screening (we usually check videos out in advance and put them on our "favorites" list before letting our son pick, unless they're from a reputable kid-friendly account--working from a personal account interface minimizes exposure to inappropriate comments and "related" videos), YouTube can open up a world of art, music, and performance experiences that most people, kids or otherwise, wouldn't have had access to even ten years ago. Drum-crazy preschooler want to know about Javanese gamelan music? There's video. Daughter nuts for polar bears? There's National Geographic footage. Reading "Just So" stories in school? Check out the gorgeous Russian animated versions from the 80s--you won't find those on Netflix! Can't remember all the lyrics to that song your son learned in Kindermusic? It's probably been posted by a cheerful teacher with a happy kid chorus and a bouncing ball highlighting the words across the bottom of the window. Haven't gotten to visit Grandma for a while? Mail her an inexpensive webcam, a copy of your kid's favorite bedtime story, and instructions for uploading the footage (and disabling comments from strangers) in time for the young'n's birthday. The possibilities are endless. I'd take our carefully-selected YouTube experience over 90 percent of the commercialized junk on Nickelodeon or the Disney Channel any day.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Parent of a 3, 11, and 13 year old Written byB H. November 24, 2016

Not for children!!!!!!!

At first I thought this would be an okay place for my 13-year-old to watch makeup or art tutorials, educational videos, etc. However, after only a few weeks, we faced conflict. There was an inappropriate amount of swearing in pretty much all of the videos, including the 'f word', along with lots of sexual innuendo. Characters reviewed sex toys and talked about their effectiveness. Some videos covered scary or sexual concepts such as abuse, rape, kidnapping, burglary, etc. However, then my daughter came across the orgasm contests. Girls who didn't even speak English stripped down to bras and underwear and sat with their legs open, and then proceeded to rub and play with sex toys on camera and having loud, vocal orgasms. My daughter was traumatized. She also came across videos of masturbating and mating animals. WTF! I thought YouTube would filter the content by age, but there was very little management in this regard at all! Terrible!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bydemetria June 24, 2011

I still can't believe the garbage that is posted!

I recently saw some videos that made me sick. I had no idea these issues even existed--nonetheless that young teenagers would proudly post videos in which they discuss perversions. It is difficult to get a sense of just how disgusting some of the info. out there is! Keep your kids away or make sure they have very limited access!
Parent Written byCooldee May 4, 2010

Have fun, but be careful!

I love Youtube, but there is alot of swearing, violence, and bullying. For example, YouTube Poops are very popular, but contain alot of foul language, bad behavior, and sexual references. Youtube Poops are not meant to be watched by children under 13.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 17 year old Written byunixworm April 3, 2010
Parent Written bydrmwelsh February 11, 2010
When using the new filter make sure you turn the filter on for every web browser on your computer (Explorer, firefox). Turning it on using explorer does not turn it on for firefox. Also, make sure to log on and save and lock your setting. Finally, you also have to log back out to finalize the deal. This filter should be a opt-out system in order to keep more kids safe!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySarahV 1 May 9, 2016

A few problems

When I had my Youtube since 2010, everything was awesome, after they updated the site for years things gotten out of hand like some of the music videos I've seen are too gross (like you know what I meant) and some of the community on there is always causing drama **arguing in comments** **people bullying others on opinions** and stuff like violence and sometimes its about drugs videos but I rather watch better videos than this.
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bysmd2 April 26, 2010

Great for older kids, but no for tweens unless you use Safe Mode

I had personally only used YouTube to view videos and show/movie clips, but I caught my son viewing porn and about died. Since I had never searched for it, I wasnt aware it was available. But now I know. I did some researching today and will be turning on the Safe Mode

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byreecel March 30, 2015

a littel bit off everything

restricted for kids and for aduts just to wach without limits

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byTheWildcat May 9, 2013

Minor Conern

It can be either your best friend or your worst enemy It is can be a good educational site but be CAREFUL if your kids watch gaming videos

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 7 and 16 year old Written bySimon S. January 2, 2017

It all depends on what you watch

First off the bat, I'd like to mention one thing that CSM lies about: YOU CAN'T WATCH PORN ON YOUTUBE. YouTube doesn't allow things with nudity/excessive sexual content on the site. If there is a video like that, it gets reported and they take it down. Obviously, there can be videos with sexual jokes or mildly sexual content. It all depends on what you watch. Some channels/videos are completely clean, non-violent, and non-sexual. Other channels have more of that kind of content. It varies from channel to channel, video to video. My recommendation is that if your kid wants to watch a certain channel, then just check the channel out, watch some videos, and determine whether or not you think it's appropriate for your child or not. YouTube channels usually are pretty consistent in terms of appropriateness.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byJEDI micah May 30, 2012

THE BEST WAY TO SHARE AND LOOK AT VIDEOS!!!

Without a doubt, YouTube is the most amazing website ever made! You can watch practically anything you want on it! Some videos, though, can be inappropriate for little kids. That's why parents should look at what's on YouTube before their kids do. But this is a fun website to visit and I love it!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 14, 2012

Perfect for all ages!

Yes,some videos have cussing and crude humor but there ARE some edecational videos.So watch some of the videos at your own risk!

Pages