Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for BitLife - Life Simulator

Common Sense says

Make text-based choices from cradle to grave; not for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 10 reviews
Adult Written bysimplyjane83 December 31, 2018

Not what you think

My daughter(she is 14 years old) asked me about this app. I was very hesitant because of the 17+ rating, so I downloaded the app to see what it was about. I was fairly surprised! It mentions various actions that are adult, but you don’t have to participate. I think the 17+ rating is harsh since it is a word based game with no visuals of such actions. If your child is mature and knows about these things already, I suggest letting them get the app. The app itself is very fun to play, and I have had a lot of fun myself playing it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byArthur collins December 21, 2018

Harmless

My son came to me looking to get this game, at first I thought wow this must be a really explicit game. But I downloaded it on my own device and it turned out to be perfectly harmless. Although it does mention drugs a little bit, and sexual themes, but none of this are actually ually shown in picture. I thought and my son did to that this was a really fun game for most kids who are mature.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byLucy Simpson January 22, 2019

Not a game for kids

My 7 year old son asked me to get this game it look innocent so I said yes than a few hours later he ask me questions like what's an abortion what's sex is being gay good and how are baby's made he said he found out about it because of bitlife

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLance_Taco January 22, 2019

Not as mature as age rating suggests

While there are mature themes and suggestions, it is up to the player's choice to engage in said activity. It is not required for progression, it is simply one of the options available. Ads are a problem though.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byelizab3th January 24, 2019

Suggestive content, not for young ones

This is a fun, 'choose your own adventure'-type game, but includes more 'mature' decisions. If your tween is interested in playing it, I would say to play it yourself first to see if that's the type of content that you would allow your child to see (not literally see, there is nothing graphic, it is only written). It really depends on each individual's opinion on the game . Overall, fun game to pass time, but definitely not for younger kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJackieroy1 January 27, 2019

Super fun and safe!

I have a 17 year old son and a 12 year old daughter. My daughter wanted this app about a week ago, I at first said no looking at the age requirement but she kept bugging me to give it a chance. So I looked into this website and it gave me what I wanted to hear but I wanted to double check so I downloaded the app myself. I read this website and it said there was a moaning sound. I did find it but that is only if you choose to have a “one night stand” which if your child is mature enough, won’t use. My daughter told me that it’s what everyone is playing and I see why! It’s super fun. There is murder which I frown upon but you can easily avoid it and you never run into it unless you choose to. Most of the things that come up randomly are age appropriate. This app is definitely safe for your teen to play and sometimes fun for adults. I highly recommend downloading this app!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byHermioneCan’tDraw February 9, 2019

Listen...

Yes, porn, abortion, homicide, drugs, and sex are mentioned. But honestly? It’s a darn good game! A lot of things such as “creating children” and being gay? Your kid should already know about. I saw a review where a woman had her seven year old child ask if homosexuality is good. Uhhh ok. Ads are scarce. And unlike the official reviewer acted as if you were being waterboarded while have to watch a, what, 30 second ad? Stop complaining! If you are such an impatient child, pay the $1.99 for the removal of ads! Yes you fight people. If you have even a sliver of knowledge about video/mobile games, you would understand that the “violence” is on the innocent side. The drugs? You can say a simple no to! If you say yes, there are consequences! And hey, if you are the conservative “abstinence only” sort (also please stop that) you guess what??? GASP! You can say NO. How scandalous. How SAUCY.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byJosephJoJo February 8, 2019

Bitlife Review

It has a some inappropriate stuff but is very fun and people would enjoy it if they gave it a chance

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byAmygellet123 January 27, 2019

Surprising

By the 17+ label, I was very hesitant to get my 12 year old son this app but I decided to download it before I made my decision. I was very surprised how clean it was compared to what I thought. There is one rating that says their 7 yr old son wanted it. I disagreed with that review strongly. If your child is mature enough and knows these things, they can 100% have the app. All the other sources are not as reliable as this one. It’s definitely 12+

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 13 year old Written bybobby m. February 13, 2019

Good Game

I honestly don't see the problem with this game. If your kid says "no" to the bad options, it's totally fine. The only thing i have a problem with is the word "moron". People shouldn't encourage the use of name calling.

This title contains:

Ease of Play