Kid reviews for Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Common Sense says

Incredible game -- but incredibly inappropriate for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 19 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written bySalsander January 29, 2014

Borderline

If all of GTA San Andreas were put into one word, it would be this. It's borderline offensive with it's extreme stereotypes. It's borderline perfect with one of the largest maps in video game history filled with content and well voiced characters. It was on the borderline to receiving an AO (Adults Only) rating by ESRB because of it's absurd amount of mature content. San Andreas is spectacular on technological levels and to this day is still marveled, but it pushed the envelope too; so much the game can feel uncomfortable. There is no way I can fit all of the mature content in San Andreas into one review, but I can give you a sense of what to expect in the game. Role Models (1/10): Out of all the sex, violence, and drugs used in the game; I sometimes feel the protagonists are the most troubling part about the game. Despite being a part of the hood-life, they actually seem like ok people. CJ is concerned about his sister and tries to eradicate drugs from his community. Yet he kills his problems rather than dealing with them. Also, for the first time in a GTA game, the cops are the main antagonist. It's troubling because the characters are so well acted, you begin to hate the cops. Violence (6/10): You will kill people in almost every mission. Violence generally isn't gory, but dead bodies will pool with blood. You can use a Combine Harvester to chop NPCs into pieces. Pedestrians and cops can be killed. Sex (9/10): There is so much sex in the game, I can only condense it into a list. The content includes: Prostitutes, Pimping, Orgies, Strippers, Human Trafficking, Porn Shops, Sex with Girlfriend, Adult Toys, Gimp Suits, etc. The only thing keeping it from a 10 is the lack of full nudity, but with or without it sex is extremely prominent. Women are treated like objects and sex is very casual. Drugs (7/10): Any drug imaginable is in this game, and it is used by players. Fortunately CJ is against drugs, but it's casual use can make the drugs seem OK to use. Some characters are drug addicts. Language (10/10): The worst amount of language I've seen in a game to date. Every (and I mean EVERY) cutscene contains language ranging from the f bomb to racial slurs. The N word is used regularly when the CJ and his gang members talk to each other. Other: Another thing to mention is San Andreas is extremely addictive. There is so much incentive to unlock new areas of San Andreas, so the player is bound to spend hours going through the missions. Because of the lack of a checkpoint system, missions can take up to 20-30 minutes to complete if they are difficult. To unlock all the areas and items, you'll have to play around 18 hours. You'll need to put in a few more hours to earn the cash for these items. Overall: San Andreas really is an impressive game, but it's a dangerous one too. Make sure to research this game and really understand how impressionable your child is before even considering buying this. It's probably better to skip this one. Don't even think about buying it for a someone who isn't at least in High School.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byEsrbFreak June 21, 2014

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bygamreviewer November 17, 2015

Extremely explicit game is very violent.

I love this game, but I have to be honest and say that this is not for kids. There is constant uses of f--k, the n word, and all sorts of words. Violence range from just a little blood to people heads literally being shot of with a shotgun. There is even a sex mission. Some characters smoke weed. This game is fun but honestly not for kids.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 12, 2015

Not as bad as u may think

I own this game and enjoy it very much for every game it will depend on your child if your kid has had previous anger issues or acts of extreme violence, drugs and alchohal are good, etc. this is not for them i think any normal good 12 year old could play this no problem it does include a sex mini game which is im not gonna lie pretty bad but as far as hookers go if you have sex with one its the same as sex in the sims u dont see anything. If hooker and strip clubs are a problem with u tell em not to go to the club and not to hire a hooker. The sex mini game is a part of the story and just about all of the most inappropriate things of the gta series are in the story and gta sa story is pretty good i do play some story mode but really i bet your kid wont even want the story mode he/she will run ppl over with cars and shoot ppl but with the pixelated graphics of gta sa its not that bad i would let any good 12 year old play any old gta (sa, vice city, 3) but if i havent convinced you already its 7 bucks on the appstore and you can find it dirt cheap for ps3, xbox360, ps2, and psp just find it for cheap tell them you are gonna watch them for 15 minutes and if you dont like it get rid of it it was only like a $5 game. And i forgot swearing often occurs but if your even reading this you are kind of concidering getting just wondering what its like so im guessing your kid is 12 13 14 i dont know but if they are that age and u dont let him/her get he/she will just watch it on youtube and play it at a friends house also they will have already heard every bad word i know i have and if not they will see ot on the internet or at school at my school and almost every school you will hear fa**ot da*m fu** all that so hears my review and good luck to your kid or if u are a kid i hope u get gta its boss
Teen, 13 years old Written bytheCOD February 10, 2016

Dear Parents

You have to know how mature your kids are before giving this (as well as other gtas ) to your kids.Don't take me as a immature kid cuz I'm only thirteen.I'm mature than many other guys out there. So plz forget that I'm thirteen when reeding this review... Gat Sa is a awsome game..however some kids still play it and it's okay with them. The violence is just animated.I think the main problem is the LANGUAGE. Make sure that he/she doesn't reapeat the same words he/she heard in the game.You have to make sure that he/she is just mature enough.Plz don't be overconcerned.After all he/she is growing up.I always see that parents are not letting kids play games just because its M rated.I think the ESRB is just a TRASH.If u watch some gameplay or play it urself, you will realize that it's not as bad as u think.Trust me.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byShyian05 May 2, 2015

Life lessons

It shows how you can learn from mistakes

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old January 17, 2015

Masterpiece, not for young children but okay for 12 and up

This game gets a lot of flak it really doesn't deserve. It's intended for adults, but I think it's really okay for very mature 12 year olds. The violence is nothing gross or shocking, just a little bit of blood, might upset young children (10 and under). The sex is moderate. Forget hot coffee, it's been removed. All sex is off screen, except for one instance of a character getting oral sex in the background of a mission (hard to notice). Mostly PG-13 level references here and there, maybe a bit or R level stuff. Drugs are moderate as well. You see (corrupt) cops smoking weed, which could send a bad message, however the game does not glorify drugs, and Carl (the player character) never uses them. The language is pretty terrible. Around 400 scripted f bombs, not including random ones during gameplay. All around, not as bad as it looks, but still not suitable for most under 10's, 12 + should be fine as long as they are properly educated on the subject matter.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byLedinFX October 15, 2014

Not for kids

GTA San Andreas has tons of sexual references,sexual content,violence,drugs,and drug reference.Also there is something called the Hot Coffee mod.And that mod has so much sexual content in it that they had to change the rating of the game to A Adults only.So I really don't think you should let your kids play something like that.They also swear alot.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLel March 13, 2016
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2014

Excellent Game, No way is it for kids, depends how mature your child is.

The game is very, very, very, very violent, with weapons just from simple guns to chainsaw of which you can cut people open with, this is not too graphic but blood sprays slightly and there, as there is wall all GTA a pool of blood which trails off in footprints as you walk away. The drugs arent the main concern, however you can sometimes briefly see people with the affect of heroin and drugs being taken. There is also one scene with a boiling pot of drug being cooked. The sex is mostly girls in bikinis, girlfriends, VERY HARD TO FIND, and hookers who you pay (prostitute references) to ***** with. This is brief. There is constant bad language when you talk, cut scenes are rude, when you hit cars. If your child can handle ok it should be fine, other than that UNSUITABLE Rated 18/R very strong language, strong sex, drug references, violence and gore. Adult theme

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byDatGuy22 March 11, 2017

Amazing, fun, addicting.

This game grand theft auto (San Andreas) has always been one of my favorite games ever. There is a bad side to this game that might be a little intense for kids younger then 13. Reason one is Creepy areas, objects in the game. Just like any other rockstar game there will be a creepy object or area every now and then but some of these things even scare me. First, the trench coat man, this is a stalker in the game that's always making me feel paranoid. I know the difference between the gaming world and reality but some of these are just deep down sick and twisted. Next, the abandoned town, in this town there is if my memory is correct 6 buildings and a grave yard but if you come to the town you'll notice no one is there, and in a window you can see someone peaking at you. I should move on to my other reasons of rating but I do look for these things and have found ghost cars, unmarked graves, ghosts, body bags, much more. Next, you got the violence. There's a large range of weapons you can kill just about anyone with in game, like rocket launchers, mini guns, pistols, assault rifles, etc. I find this disturbing because you can kill innocent civilians. Other then the negatives of this game there's a positive side. If I remember there is about no sexual content (but other gta games do have this) because the newer games like gta IV (has a strip club) gta V (Has a strip club) But there are a ton of more waster eggs and not all are creepy, one of my favorites is big foot or the angel of mount chiliad or maybe the lockness monster. Finally, let's not forget those games Call of duty, battle field, mortal combat have tons of violence too

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 6, 2017

Just didn't like it

I played this game for about three hours. It was a bit boring, and I don't like this gangsta subculture. This game's rating depends on how you play. You can't drive carefully here, but you can kill people only if game says to. I got bored. I think this game is for age 14+

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 23, 2016

Pretty Fun

This game is pretty cool, you can eat a ton of fast food and get really fat and have a heart attack, or go cycling/biking/running/gym and get really buff. It is pretty fun, but what some may not enjoy is that you play as a gangster, and there is a rival gang, and there are territories. But it's very fun and not as bad as it looks.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymuffinman2k14 September 20, 2016

Grove Street is Back!

One of the best GTA games I have ever played, this game combines awesome play style with gangster language, making the San Andreas neighbourhood more realistic than ever. With only a few sexual scenes and constant swearing, this game is recommended for 13+ for violence and dark comedy. Characters commonly use words such as n*gger and f*ck, making it the 2nd most explicit GTA game ever. Though it is slightly more rude, it has a larger map and amazing storyline that kept me going until the end (until I accidentally deleted it:P) -Muffinman2k14

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byCrispandCrunch December 8, 2016

Not for kids - Not at all.

This game got rated AO (Adults only 18+ for one of the sex mods. I Played this game with the mode, so here you get my review, and look for the symbols below.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byfazeclazzla April 4, 2019

cool

peng game

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old March 16, 2019

you can stick your head in... some things

way too inappropriate

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byanonymoususer1 January 29, 2018

Do not let a child OR teen play this

I would never recommend this for a child because it has all types of 18+ things such as killing, swearing, gangs, fights, guns, knives, almost naked women, and much more. Good for mature adults and it’s not as easy as Bully: Scholarship Edition which is a good thing because only adults should be playing this. Bad graphics and storyline though. 3/5 stars.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byclemy204 December 23, 2016

open world

it is a great game location-wise but there is gratuitous sex,drugs, and violence this game is a world of gangsters and there is very inappropriate profanity other than that it is fine

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking