Parent reviews for YouTube Kids

Common Sense says

Kid-targeted videos best with parental guidance.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 25 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 18 reviews
Parent of an infant year old Written byMZabel April 12, 2015

Common Sense Media needs to revisit this review

I'm a pediatrician and was excited about this app when it launched since so many patient's parents ask me about sites and apps their kids can use safely. But after doing some homework on YouTube Kids I really feel that Common Sense Media needs to revisit this positive review. For starters, the App includes WAY too much advertising. Both direct advertising and more deceptive ads that are masked as "content." A coalition of child advocacy groups have gone so far as to ask the Federal Trade Commission to investigate Google for violating federal law forbidding with some of their practices with YouTube Kids. http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/04/07/consumer-groups-to-ask-f-t-c-to.... If that were not enough like one of the other reviewers posted, the "automated analysis" that Google is using to filter these videos is totally inadequate. Many videos are getting through that are filled with cursing, profanity, sex and other inappropriate material. Read some of the one star reviews on the Google Play store to see that this is not a minor problem. And Google's answer for what parents should do to stop their kids from seeing the inappropriate videos that slip by their filters is to shut off the search feature. But the password to do that is spelled out on the screen. So kids old enough to read can just turn this feature on and off at will. I think this is a good idea but VERY poorly executed and I would not recommend any parent, especially those with young children, to use this app until these MAJOR flaws are fixed.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & safety
Educator and Parent of a 4, 7, and 8 year old Written byoffshoreowl March 28, 2015

Use of Bad Language in searchable content

As much as this has been a wonderful app, as soon as my children were able to search for videos there was a problem. Some of the videos contained the use of bad language. I informed my children that they had to be responsible by reporting the video, but I am still wary of each video they watch now. It needs a bit more screening. It has the potential to be a great learning tool but as said before, needs better screening. I don't want to have to limit everything my child does, is profanity absolutely necessary?

This title contains:

Ease of play
Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 2 year old Written byBSC249 October 10, 2015

This is a terrible app for parents who monitor what their kids watch.

Do not think you are getting an app that you can just let your kids play with. There is no way to block videos or even rate videos. And unless you are going to clear the history every day, your kids will ultimately end up watching the "recommended" video's and the absolute garbage that youtube kids recommends. This is a terrible app for parents who care about what their kids do with their allotted time on an electronic device. If you want an educational distraction for your kid(s) while using a tablet/phone, Do Not Use This App!

This title contains:

Consumerism
Educator Written byarearick July 29, 2015

Some Channels inappropriate

I was listening to this while my son was playing on it. He absolutely loves it. There is a lot of commercialism as kids and adults. There are a lot of videos involving kids and their families doing different challenges - some are okay, others are disgusting. The last straw for me came from "TheDiamondMinecart" who uses some minor cuss words in his narration. He has a lot of great ideas, but my 7 year old cannot watch his videos anymore because of the cussing. I did not give it the lowest rating because there are some channels on there that are okay and it is much safer than youtube.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byPianoCD T. August 16, 2017

The worst thing you can do to your kids

It is as bad as giving drugs to kids. It completely changes their personality, they become agressive, spoiled, irritated, with short attention span, in short, not themselves. The effect is very severe, but also quickly stops, when you take it away. Watching Minecraft videos on it is probably a half of the problem. In my opinion, there should be a class-action lawsuit on behalf of parents, as this channel defiles and corrupts our kids big time. It should be closed immediately.
Educator and Parent Written byLBT05 July 17, 2016

Highly inappropriate content

The content of some of these shows is terrifying for children. The Baby Alive show had one about going to the doctor where the baby had to get a shot. The focus was on a needle that was about 4 inches long. The camera showed the baby being prepped with iodine, then focused solely on the needle being prepared for a long time. Then, there was a montage of babies screaming and crying, while the camera was still focused on the needle. Why would this be something we want our little ones to see?! Yes, please make my child deathly afraid of getting a shot! Umm...No. No thanks, Kids YouTube! Other content includes adult women dressed in princess costumes doing "challenges" which seem innocent enough at this point, but really set children up in the mindset for potentially dangerous "challenge" scenarios when they are older. No, mixing an onion into a smoothie of peanuts and bologna and other weird ingredients is not harmful now, but what it says to my 5 year old daughter is that "challenges" to do strange things that are unpleasant in nature are fun and exciting. In a world where our kids are challenged enough with bullying and drugs and sex and whatever else comes their way, I think this is along the lines of teaching them to "power through" the unpleasant things just because it is a "challenge." Later on, that can translate into attitudes like "beer is gross, but you can get through it because it's what everyone else says is cool- or because it's a challenge." Kids YouTube is highly inappropriate and I would not recommend it to anyone with young children.

This title contains:

Privacy & safety
Adult Written bynadina k. September 2, 2016

YOUTUBE KIDS WORST APP FOR CHILDREN !

One of the WORST apps I have come across! For any parents BEWARE! Youtube doesn't supervise any of the content in this app. Half the app programmes are vulgar DIY nonsense, video footage of some idiots at their home reviewing toys or asking kids to swear or dislike food , bathing and other negative things your children will learn by watching this garbage. Stick to real children programmes that try to educate your children and keep them away from Youtube!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & safety
Adult Written byMrS 1 December 8, 2017

FNAF WAS ALLOWED

Jumpscares and scary stuff
Parent of a 4 year old Written byT W. August 31, 2016

Evil pony threatens killing. Not acceptable

Search for "evil pony." A user video in which pinkie pie turns evil and threatens to KILL another pony. Repeatedly threatens to kill! Even JUMPS that pony to kill! This video is allowed in the PRESCHOOL level. My 4 year daughter recognized it. So she has seen it already. Horrible horrible horrible. Google should be ashamed, so careless. The rest is ok, but I removed YTKids forever more. Netflix kids is safer. User created junk is too risky. The "easy to use" below refers to it being too easy to ABUSE.

This title contains:

Ease of play
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Privacy & safety
Adult Written byluvtroublemaker May 27, 2016

Needs some more functions

I don't know why the four functions on the top disappeared for "shows, music, learning, " Could we add something that allows us to FAVORITE some videos? Thanks , and also to block some?
Parent of a 3 year old Written byattentive_mama February 20, 2017

Very Disappointed

I downloaded this app for the obvious reason that I wanted my child to be able to safely view age appropriate content without stumbling across anything inappropriate, as can easily happen in the adult version of YouTube. After customizing settings, and selecting the "preschool" age selection for the home page, I opened the home page. Mind you, I had the search option turned off and there were no previously viewed videos to pull suggestions, because I had just downloaded the app. There were Cartoon Network shows on the homepage: "Adventure Time" and "Regular Show", which are definitely not preschool age shows and in my personal opinion are for older children, maybe 10ish and up... I attempted to resolve the issue by contacting YouTube, but was unsuccessful. After this initial experience, I read similar complaints online and just deleted the app altogether.
Parent of a 3 year old Written byFringe September 23, 2016

Creepy

My 3 year old is obsessed with this app. It is constantly marketing different types of candy and toys that he asks for all the time. On top of that, some of the videos are just creepy of older men playing with Barbie toys. Lastly, the appropriate videos are families doing random things, making videos while driving their kids in the car, and I have no idea why people would expose their kids like that. Just weird content

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent of a 5 year old Written byPOB October 15, 2017

Watch out for 4 letter words!

My 5 year old learned the word porn is thanks to this app and would have seen it acted out in an improv video if my husband didn't stop the video. BEWARE! There is no filter for content.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byChris M. November 18, 2016

Youtube Kids with Youtube Red linked is crap because you can't save videos offline for your kids to watch when not on WiFi.

Youtube Kids with Youtube Red linked is crap because you can't save videos offline for your kids to watch when not on WiFi.
Parent Written byniccolox January 5, 2016

Best of a Bad Lot, But What About Kindle

YouTube itself should not be allowed, period, for children , forget the ads, which is obnoxious and inappropriate and very largely irrelevant, like bad TV but, the violent content that slips through as video game reviews, well, its disgusting for my 5 year old, and it has an effect, he acts very badly after watching this the YouTube Kids app, should be the default, and improved massively, it should not have any ads, period, it should be a public service god knows, Google has enough money my wife just bought a Kindle Fire, and it doesnt have YouTube Kids is it Google or Amazon stopping Kindle Fire Kids from getting YouTube Kids? so, are Amazon Kindle Fire parents exposing their kids to violent - gun crime - type game videos, because Amazon or Google want more market share? aren't there laws about this? I would suggest Common Sense Media really look into this issue, its a huge issue, kids watching insanely depraved video content - in the form of game videos - on YouTube on their parents devices the FCC should be doing something
Adult Written bykellyn1 April 2, 2016

Wish there was a block video option

My son has a huge vocabulary and interest for all things from outer space to construction vehicles from this app. One of the things I don't like is all the monster and zombie videos on the app. There is an option to report it, but nothing is ever done. I wish there was a way to block videos for my account specifically and it would be much better.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent Written byAmber F. August 17, 2017

Love it!!!

It's wonderful!! We love Our Candid Kids channel on youtube! Always clean fun for our kids!!

This title contains:

Ease of play
Adult Written bybobr2 January 3, 2018

Not filtering age appropriate content

YouTube Kids is showing content that is not age appropriate and does not allow blocking of entire channels. Example is "Cartoon Network"that does not show Preschool Age appropriate content. "Teen Titans"... hello!! "TEEN" is in the name, why allow Teen Titans on a "Preschool" age content setting! Furthermore, not allowing parents that are actually paying for YouTube Red subscription to block entire channels is a complete mess!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & safety
Parent of a 5, 7, and 14 year old Written byMichael R. February 4, 2017

Too full of ads and some are inappropriate for kids

Just a short review but three ads popped up for my review with my daughter, and one of them was for a Playboy(yes the magazine) game. Two women dressed in the trademark Playboy Bunny outfit that made Hef Famous. Other ads were targeted at an age demographic in the High School level. Every click is met with an Ad, yes every click. To say that this is an alternative for kids is a misnomer and really should not be based on the ads alone. I urge Common Sense media to remove this app from it's safe for kids list. It just ISN'T>>>>
Adult Written byShernathia M. March 21, 2017

Not what I expected

I thought this would be a good app for my children, its' not. This is a children's app with adult content in it. On one particular video an adult male was dressed in a Spiderman costume and there were two young ladies dress in their panties and bra and they were fighting with Spiderman. Another video had a grown pregnant woman dressed in a Disney princes dress, rubbing her stomach, her breast about to pop out of the dress, and putting her lips in the camera. I think she may have been trying to live out a missed opportunity at being an actor, not sure. Some of the content is not suitable for children, it's not per say sexual but it's on it's way. In some cases I think the videos are fine because some children know right from wrong and know what they should and should not do even if they see it done on TV. Some of the videos are filled with so much violence and ignorance that it's unbelievable. On another note if you have children with disabilities you have to keep a constant watch on the app. My 4 year old is autistic, they are literal little people and they do what they see. They think if someone else does it it's ok to do. I've had to block those Rabbids but they keep coming back. One video had a character drinking urine through a straw from the toilet, how is this good for any child. We are trying to potty train, but when videos have alligators and vampire faces coming from the toilet, it doesn't work well. A recent video that I saw was of a father and his children. The father was dressed as Dracula and the children super heroes. It was called the Butt Vampire or some crap. The children were running around pretending to be scared and the father would find them and bite them on the butt. This was wrong on so many levels to me. Youtube needs to do better about what they allow on people to put on these apps and say it's kids friendly. Just because it has a superhero or its in the form of a cartoon does not make it ok for children to watch. It is easy to block videos but, if you watch one video a recommended video may be something you don't want you child to look.

This title contains:

Ease of play
Violence & scariness
Privacy & safety

Pages