Parents' Guide to

Little House Series

By Carrie Kingsley, Common Sense Media Reviewer

age 8+

Engrossing frontier tales but they include racist attitudes.

Little House Series Poster Image

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this book.

Community Reviews

There aren't any parent reviews yet. Be the first to review this title.

Is It Any Good?

Our review:
Parents say Not yet rated
Kids say (4 ):

These books are are classics for good reason. The Little House series takes readers on a journey back in time, when living in a house meant first finding wood and building it, when horse and buggy were the only way to travel, and when candy was a rare treat from town. These stories are engrossing, filled with charming conversations and plotlines that, for the most part, end happily. But it's worth spending time discussing the unhappy and uncomfortable parts. Young readers might not know how to parse the moments that are racist against Native Americans and African Americans, or sexist regarding gender roles, and might not understand that this writing is a product of its time. It also reveals the roots of attitudes that persist today, providing an opportunity for meaty discussions with an adult. That said, the series tells a wonderful, long story about family, perseverance, and the value of an adventurous heart.

Book Details

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate