Parents' Guide to

Sinner

By Sandie Angulo Chen, Common Sense Media Reviewer

age 14+

Captivating L.A. romance about a werewolf and a fashionista.

Sinner Poster Image

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this book.

Community Reviews

age 15+

Based on 1 parent review

age 15+

Better than I was expecting!

This book came out about a year after I finished the Shiver trilogy (which I really enjoyed). It was a little hard to pick up and read Sinner because the series was only supposed to be three books, so I had made my peace with the end of Forever (book 3). I think Maggie S. is a fantastic writer, but I just wasn't expecting much from this book. However, it exceeded my expectations. It was a good choice for Maggie to follow two of the side characters from the previous books. I found them to be both very interesting and complex. Unique, too. The first three Shiver books have a very poetic, haunting, and wintery feel to them, and Sinner did a good job of deviating from that to have it's own style while still feeling like it fit with the series. While the other books have some mature elements, this book had even more. A decent amount of sex, drugs, and rock and roll. The relationship between Cole and Isabel was one of my favorite aspects. Cole's journey in this book was fantastic as well! While I still think I prefer the original trilogy, it was good all the same.

Is It Any Good?

Our review:
Parents say (1 ):
Kids say (2 ):

Readers familiar with Stiefvater's style will revel in her luscious prose, her lyrical sense of place, and her swoon-worthy descriptions of falling in love and sharing a mind-blowing kiss. Stiefvater has said that Sinner is the "truest novel" she's ever written, and that's because, except for the little fact that Cole is secretly a werewolf, Sinner reads more like a nuanced contemporary romance than a fantasy love story like her other books. Renowned for her passion for cars (which are lovingly described in each of her books) and driving metaphors, Stiefvater quite perfectly sets Sinner in Los Angeles, where everyone spends a good portion of his or her life behind the wheel. Cole's desire for his beloved old Mustang, Isabel's anger at her blinged-out SUV, and Cole's new good friend Leon, a limo driver, are only a few examples of the significant connection between characters and cars in the revved-up love story.

Fans of Sam and Grace should take heart: They are both mentioned in this novel, although their cameos aren't nearly as substantial as Etienne and Anna's in Stephanie Perkins' Lola and the Boy Next Door. Stiefvater clearly wants the spotlight to stay on Cole and Isabel's turbulent romance, not dwell on another couple's happily-ever-after. Cole and Isabel are far edgier than earnest Sam and Grace, so it's fitting that this story is an unputdownable ride you'll be sad to finish.

Book Details

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate