Find the best for your family

See what's streaming, limit strong violence or language, and find picks your kids will love with Common Sense Media Plus.

Join now

The True Meaning of Smekday

Book review by
Matt Berman, Common Sense Media
The True Meaning of Smekday Book Poster Image
Alien invasion is comical and fun, but too long.
Parents recommend

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 7 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 5 reviews

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Positive Messages

Some racial tension.

Violence

Much cartoonish violence: a man is hit on the head and knocked out, weapons cause explosions and fire, references to alien body parts after an explosion.

Sex

A reference to how babies are made, human and Boovish.

Language

Assorted mild swearing: "Hell," "Jesus," "ass," "boob," etc.

Consumerism

Car brand mentioned. Most of the other products named are imaginary spoofs on real products and places, especially DisneyWorld.

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Several types of alcohol mentioned.

What parents need to know

Parents need to know that there's some cartoonish violence in this book that inspired the movie Home, with science-fictiony weapons that vaporize things, and lots of explosions. Once character is knocked out, and otherwise only non-character aliens are hurt. There's also some mild swearing. The main character, Gratuity, talks about her mom stuffing Gratuity's Christmas stocking, which could burst any Santa bubbles kids are holding on to.

Wondering if The True Meaning of Smekday is OK for your kid?

Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Continue reading Show less

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Adult Written byPerryGF November 3, 2019

Excellent! A ton of fun

A great read. The story flows nicely, great characters, and all around fun. Some very mild language, but clean overall.
Parent Written byJack D. April 3, 2018

Awesome

I recommend this book to people who like science fiction because it to do with aliens and unrealistic technology. The true meaning of Smekday has many puzzles t... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byEllie Van Neste May 4, 2018

Hilarious!!

This book is SO good! I just recently found out that the movie Home was based off of this book, and, because I loved Home so much, I thought "Why not to tr... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byAri_Ravenclaw March 28, 2018

Way Better Than The Movie

This book was based on home, but the book is completely different. It isd a little lengthy but it has a fair amount of depth. There are family anecdotes and man... Continue reading

What's the story?

In essays for school and a time-capsule contest, Gratuity Tucci describes her cross-country road trip with a Boov alien she calls J.Lo. The Earth has been invaded, her mother kidnapped, and all Americans are herded into a reservation in Arizona. From there she and J.Lo work to stop yet another invasion by even worse aliens, the Nimrogs, who were inadvertently drawn to Earth by J.Lo.

Is it any good?

This is good, silly fun. It's the kind of story in which the main characters bicker over a walkie-talkie about what to call their plan (Operation: Catastrophe vs. Operation: Piggyback, both puns) even while running and being shot at by marauding alien monsters. And the evil alien monsters love fighting and musical theater, and "fought one another in a three-hundred-year-old civil war that is believed to have started over a parking space." You know, the kind of goofy, off-the-wall humor that many kids think is just hilarious.

Illustrated with a few comic strips (could have used more of those) and other drawings, the book bogs down in places, and would have benefitted from a firmer editorial hand: lopping off about 150 pages would have done the story no harm and done more to hold the interests of the kind of kids who will be drawn to something like this. Still, this will be a popular choice for fans of Terry Pratchett and Larry Gonick, and, with its abundance of strange creatures, whacky scenes, and silly accents and voices, it should make a great read-aloud.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about some of the issues the author raises. What are the parallels between what the Boovs do to humans and what Europeans did to Native Americans?

  • Are the Boovs ultimately good or bad? What do you think of the way Americans organized themselves in Arizona? What do you think would really happen if all Americans were shipped to Arizona?

Book details

Our editors recommend

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality and learning potential.

Learn how we rate