Books Like the Hunger Games

You've read the Hunger Games trilogy and seen the movies. Now what? We've gathered our favorite picks of other dystopian novels -- books that imagine a not-so-rosy future under a menacing and oppressive regime, where teens and other folks must rely on their wits, courage, and strong friendships to survive. Here are 10 books we think could be the next Hunger Games. You also can check out our science fiction, fantasy, and thriller recommendation lists to find even more choices for kids, tweens, and teens.

Browse Books Like the Hunger Games

The City of Ember Book Poster Image
Part fantasy, part mystery, part treasure hunt.
By Jeanne DuPrau
(2004)
(2004)
Continue reading
Among the Hidden: Shadow Children, Book 1 Book Poster Image
A forbidden child hides from Population Police.
By Margaret Peterson Haddix
(2005)
(2005)
Continue reading
Darkbeast Book Poster Image
Richly imagined dystopian fantasy fine for preteens.
By Morgan Keyes
(2012)
(2012)
Continue reading
The Fog Diver Book Poster Image
Futuristic dystopian novel has clever characters, suspense.
By Joel Ross
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
The Last Wild Book Poster Image
Brave kids, animals team up in funny, scary, sweet sci-fi.
By Piers Torday
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
The Scavengers Book Poster Image
Tough tween girl fights to save family in bleak future.
By Michael Perry
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
The Search for WondLa Book Poster Image
Artwork, great heroine elevate futuristic fantasy.
By Tony DiTerlizzi
(2011)
(2010)
Continue reading
The Supernaturalist Book Poster Image
Matinee action/violence in a slick, fun package.
By Eoin Colfer
(2004)
(2004)
Continue reading
The Unwanteds, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Magical fantasy has peril, battles, positive messages.
By Lisa McMann
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Uglies: Uglies Quartet, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Thoughtful sci-fi about the price of beauty.
By Scott Westerfeld
(2006)
(2006)
Continue reading
Under the Empyrean Sky: The Heartland Trilogy, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Thought-provoking, dystopian eco-adventure great for boys.
By Chuck Wendig
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
The Always War Book Poster Image
Fast-paced dystopian quest for truth.
By Margaret Peterson Haddix
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Ender's Game Book Poster Image
Boy genius trains to crush alien invasion in sci-fi classic.
By Orson Scott Card
(2005)
(2005)
Continue reading
Impostors Book Poster Image
All action and cool tech in Uglies Quartet spin-off.
By Scott Westerfeld
(2018)
(2018)
Continue reading
Legend, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Stylish dystopian thriller in a not-so-future Los Angeles.
By Marie Lu
(2012)
(2011)
Continue reading
Rook Book Poster Image
Dynamite heroine in romantic dystopian-future swashbuckler.
By Sharon Cameron
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
Seafire, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Swashbuckling all-girl crew fuels thrilling dystopian tale.
By Natalie C. Parker
(2018)
(2018)
Continue reading
The Testing, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Thoughtful dystopian tale questions winning at all costs.
By Joelle Charbonneau
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Time Zero Book Poster Image
Girls struggle against extremism in taut sci-fi thriller.
By Carolyn Cohagan
(2016)
(2016)
Continue reading
Unison Spark Book Poster Image
Sci-fi thriller puts a futuristic spin on social networking.
By Andy Marino
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Across a Star-Swept Sea Book Poster Image
Exciting, complex dystopian spy romance based on a classic.
By Diana Peterfreund
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
All Our Yesterdays: Cassandra Chronicles, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Captivating sci-fi tackles time travel, politics, romance.
By Cristin Terrill
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Divergent, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Exciting, violent dystopian thriller is original, addictive.
By Veronica Roth
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Fahrenheit 451 Book Poster Image
Classic, still-powerful story of futuristic censorship.
By Ray Bradbury
(2011)
(1953)
Continue reading
For Darkness Shows the Stars Book Poster Image
Riveting dystopian take on Jane Austen's Persuasion.
By Diana Peterfreund
(2012)
(2012)
Continue reading
Matched Book Poster Image
Fun, provoking start to dystopian series for teens.
By Ally Condie
(2011)
(2010)
Continue reading
The Maze Runner: Maze Runner Trilogy, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Teens are the pawns of evil adults in violent dystopia.
By James Dashner
(2009)
(2009)
Continue reading
Red Queen: Book 1 Book Poster Image
Action-packed fantasy will grip fans of powerful heroines.
By Victoria Aveyard
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
Trash Book Poster Image
Powerful adventure about dumpsite kids a true treasure.
By Andy Mulligan
(2010)
(2010)
Continue reading
Undertow: Undertow Trilogy, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Invasion of sea dwellers fuels gripping sci-fi thriller.
By Michael Buckley
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
Brave New World Book Poster Image
Satire of ultimate consumerist society still packs punch.
By Aldous Huxley
(2011)
(1932)
Continue reading
The Darkest Minds, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Psychic teens escape concentration camps in taut thriller.
By Alexandra Bracken
(2018)
(2012)
Continue reading
Delirium Book Poster Image
Mix of forbidden romance, drama, and danger; OK for teens.
By Lauren Oliver
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
A Girl Called Fearless Book Poster Image
Compelling heroine drives gripping dystopian thriller.
By Catherine Linka
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Incarceron Book Poster Image
Dystopian bestseller is full of plot twists, complex themes.
By Catherine Fisher
(2010)
(2010)
Continue reading
More Than This Book Poster Image
Gripping story of a teen who confronts his own private hell.
By Patrick Ness
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Only Ever Yours Book Poster Image
Disturbing, riveting dystopian novel skewers beauty values.
By Louise O'Neill
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
Partials: The Partials Sequence, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Tense action, sharp plot twists distinguish dystopian tale.
By Dan Wells
(2012)
(2012)
Continue reading
Reboot, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Resurrected super-soldiers find love in exciting adventure.
By Amy Tintera
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Scored Book Poster Image
Teens will relate to dystopian world where scores = status.
By Lauren McLaughlin
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Strange Fire:  The Anchor and Sophia, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Intriguing series opener explores faith, knowledge, truth.
By Tommy Wallach
(2017)
(2017)
Continue reading
Under the Never Sky Book Poster Image
Hard-edged romantic adventure set in a dystopian future.
By Veronica Rossi
(2012)
(2012)
Continue reading
Little Brother Book Poster Image
Exciting, provocative dystopian novel will make teens think.
By Cory Doctorow
(2008)
(2008)
Continue reading
1984 Book Poster Image
Classic dystopian novel about life under constant scrutiny.
By George Orwell
(2010)
(1949)
Continue reading
The Handmaid's Tale Book Poster Image
Gripping dystopian novel of religious state against women.
By Margaret Atwood
(2011)
(1985)
Continue reading

Other great lists from our editors