Books Like The Hunger Games

You've read the Hunger Games trilogy ... now what? We've gathered our picks of other dystopian novels -- books that imagine a not-so-rosy future under a menacing and oppressive regime, where teens and other folks must rely on their wits, courage, and strong friendships to survive. You can also check out our science-fiction, fantasy, and thiller recommendation lists to find even more choices for kids, tweens, and teens.

Browse Books Like The Hunger Games

 
Part fantasy, part mystery, part treasure hunt.
By Jeanne DuPrau
(2004)
 
A forbidden child hides from Population Police.
By Margaret Peterson Haddix
(2005)
csm_book
 
Richly imagined dystopian fantasy fine for preteens.
By Morgan Keyes
(2012)
csm_book
 
Brave kids, animals team up in funny, scary, sweet sci-fi.
By Piers Torday
(2014)
csm_book
 
Tough tween girl fights to save family in bleak future.
By Michael Perry
(2014)
 
Artwork, great heroine elevate futuristic fantasy.
By Tony DiTerlizzi
(2011)
 
Matinee action/violence in a slick, fun package.
By Eoin Colfer
(2004)
csm_book
 
Magical fantasy has peril, battles, positive messages.
By Lisa McMann
(2011)
 
Thoughtful sci-fi about the price of beauty.
By Scott Westerfeld
(2006)
 
Thought-provoking, dystopian eco-adventure great for boys.
By Chuck Wendig
(2013)
csm_book
 
Fast-paced dystopian quest for truth.
By Margaret Peterson Haddix
(2011)
csm_book
 
Boy genius trains to crush alien invasion in sci-fi classic.
By Orson Scott Card
(2005)
csm_book
 
Stylish dystopian thriller in a not-so-future Los Angeles.
By Marie Lu
(2012)
csm_book
 
Dynamite heroine in romantic dystopian-future swashbuckler.
By Sharon Cameron
(2015)
 
Thoughtful dystopian tale questions winning at all costs.
By Joelle Charbonneau
(2013)
csm_book
 
Sci-fi thriller puts a futuristic spin on social networking.
By Andy Marino
(2011)
 
Exciting, complex dystopian spy romance based on a classic.
By Diana Peterfreund
(2013)
 
Captivating sci-fi tackles time travel, politics, romance.
By Cristin Terrill
(2013)
 
Exciting, violent dystopian thriller is original, addictive.
By Veronica Roth
(2011)
csm_book
 
Classic, still-powerful story of futuristic censorship.
By Ray Bradbury
(2011)
 
Riveting dystopian take on Jane Austen's Persuasion.
By Diana Peterfreund
(2012)
csm_book
 
Fun, provoking start to dystopian series for teens.
By Ally Condie
(2011)
 
Teens are the pawns of evil adults in violent dystopia.
By James Dashner
(2009)
csm_book
 
Action-packed fantasy will grip fans of powerful heroines.
By Victoria Aveyard
(2015)
csm_book
 
Powerful adventure about dumpsite kids a true treasure.
By Andy Mulligan
(2010)
csm_book
 
Invasion of sea dwellers fuels gripping sci-fi thriller.
By Michael Buckley
(2015)
csm_book
 
Satire of ultimate consumerist society still packs punch.
By Aldous Huxley
(2011)
csm_book
 
Mix of forbidden romance, drama, and danger; OK for teens.
By Lauren Oliver
(2011)
 
Compelling heroine drives gripping dystopian thriller.
By Catherine Linka
(2014)
csm_book
 
Dystopian bestseller is full of plot twists, complex themes.
By Catherine Fisher
(2010)
csm_book
 
Gripping story of a teen who confronts his own private hell.
By Patrick Ness
(2013)
 
Tense action, sharp plot twists distinguish dystopian tale.
By Dan Wells
(2012)
csm_book
 
Resurrected super-soldiers find love in exciting adventure.
By Amy Tintera
(2013)
csm_book
 
Teens will relate to dystopian world where scores = status.
By Lauren McLaughlin
(2011)
 
Hard-edged romantic adventure set in a dystopian future.
By Veronica Rossi
(2012)
csm_book
 
Exciting, provocative dystopian novel will make teens think.
By Cory Doctorow
(2008)
csm_book
 
Classic dystopian novel of life under constant scrutiny.
By George Orwell
(2010)
 
Gripping dystopian novel of religious state against women.
By Margaret Atwood
(2011)

Other great lists from our editors