Alien vs. Predator

  • Review Date: January 24, 2005
  • Rated: PG-13
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Release Year: 2004
  • Running Time: 90 minutes

Common Sense Media says

Horrid horror. Not for kids. (Or anyone else...)
  • Review Date: January 24, 2005
  • Rated: PG-13
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Release Year: 2004
  • Running Time: 90 minutes

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Positive messages

Girl power, after a fashion...

Violence

Acid-spitting aliens, gunfire, monsters bursting through stomach, decapitations.

Sex
Not applicable
Language

Minor cursing.

Consumerism
Not applicable
Drinking, drugs, & smoking
Not applicable

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that this is a horrid movie (not horror movie). It will scare the pants off kids and make those older howl with laughter at how ridiculous it is. Still, the images are so gruesome and frightening that it's almost guaranteed to induce nightmares.

Parents say

Kids say

What's the story?

While daring, the premise of AVP: ALIEN VS. PREDATOR is more suitable for a comic book or video game, both of which were fairly successful with the Alien/Predator match. But, for a film, the idea that the Predator (known as the technically advanced hunter) bred the Aliens as prey thousands of years ago for no other purpose than for hunting, is simply unbelievable. The plot brings back the Weyland Corporation from the Alien trilogy, and begins with a Weyland satellite detecting heat from a pyramid/temple-like structure hid deep within the Antarctic. Charles Weyland (an old, rich techy-explorer type guy) hires a team of drillers, scientists, and archeologists to find the pyramid-like structure that was built by humans to honor the Predators as gods years ago. It's this assembled team led by Lex (Sanaa Lathan) that reveals the story of these undiscovered structures and consequently lands the team in the middle of a war.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

AVP is another failed attempt to create the ultimate horror flick. Even with advanced graphics and special effects on its side, it only manages to completely gross out adult audiences and make teen audiences chuckle with laughter as Lex runs alongside the dreadlocked Predator near the end of movie. While the battle between Alien and Predator has been in the works since the Alien skull appeared among the displayed trophies in the Predator space ship in Predator 2, no director has dared to initiate such an outrageous cockfight between the two creatures until Paul W.S. Anderson came along. Nevertheless, with the inability to gather the original cast or filmmakers of either flick, Anderson's brave attempt flopped.

 

Besides the creatures, the only aspects of this film that slightly resemble the original flicks are the Weyland Corporation and the fact that Lex is much like Sigourney Weaver's character in the Alien trilogy. Lex is not only the voice of reason and pure "common sense", but is also the one who figures out the core idea behind the Predator/Alien duel and, more importantly, how to survive it. While this movie displays incredible "girl power" by having a heroine, it simply falls short of a horror and/or thriller movie.

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about the difference between made-up creatures and reality. If your teens watch, you can talk about what makes a movie scary. Why do some succeed and some fail?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:August 13, 2004
DVD release date:January 25, 2005
Cast:Lance Henriksen, Raoul Bova, Sanaa Lathan
Director:Paul W.S. Anderson
Studio:Twentieth Century Fox
Genre:Science Fiction
Run time:90 minutes
MPAA rating:PG-13
MPAA explanation:violence, language, horror images, slime and gore.

This review of Alien vs. Predator was written by

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are conducted by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Written byAnonymous April 19, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Terrible enough to be okay for most teenagers

I watched this with my 16-year-old son, and the movie in general was so ridiculous that we both laughed the whole way through, and very little disturbed us. I actually agree with the PG-13 rating on this one. Despite this, it contains some gory sci-fi violence, including aliens bursting out of chests and people getting stabbed by predators, language dotted around the film including two F-bombs (why does every film these days have them?) and surprisingly nothing sexual, except some low-cut clothing and a brief condom reference, which I missed until I read the script. All in all, if you're looking for a good movie, skip this. And if you're 18 and under, do not watch the sequel. Violence: 8/10 - Sex: 0/10 - Language: 5/10 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Iffy for 10+, but good for tweens and up.

Come on, people. I watched it and it's really good. Yeah, so it's violent, and? It's not as gruesome as some of the other movies and there's an impossible friendship inside between a human and a predator.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 30, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Don't bother seeing this. The first two "Alien"s were good (didn't see the other two), and I never saw any of the three "Predator" movies (but I hear they're good). This mashup is just awful.

My rating: R for pervasive alien violence, blood and gore, and for some strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old September 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
only a couple scenes with blood f word once not that scary AWESOME MOVIE
What other families should know
Too much violence

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Digital Compass