All teen and kid member reviews for Evil Dead

Kids say

(out of 41 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byThatGamingCat July 31, 2013

Don't even think about watching!

Gore-fest that is not worth watching! Violence is over the top and pushes the R-rating with the gore and language. Language plays a good bit of the movie, with sh-t,h-ll,f-k filling up the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byRaptor89 October 20, 2013

Not for kids

Extremely inappropriate for children. This film is extremely gory and scary.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byFrozenPyre November 24, 2015

Extremely violent remake, but is absolutely AMAZING

This movie is one of the most violent movies I've seen (and I saw The Serbian Film and Salo), and somehow it got an R rating. Some of the scenes are plain nasty. I will rank the 3 most graphic scenes 3. A woman splits her tongue in half with a box cutter 2. A woman carves her cheek with a glass shard, and stabs a man in the eye with a needle multiple times 1. A man is shot multiple times with a nail gun, and is graphically beaten with a crowbar (I rank it the highest because I had to turn around during it) The effects are incredible, and this makes it much harder to watch than movies like Saw and Hostel There is a bit of swearing, too. They go to a cabin so they can contain a woman from her drug withdrawal symptoms. it's very nasty and will make anybody squirm.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjamesfranco July 26, 2013

possibly the best special effects ive ever seen

evil dead was amazing...maybe im not the best person to talk about how good it was because i havent seen the original but this movie is awesome! like the gore and makeup was amazing i cant even begin to explain how cool i thought it was. i saw it with my dad in the theater (were both horror fans) but i dont think i could recommend it to anyone above 16 unless youre like me. the acting was awesome lou taylor pucci was the best!!! see this with caution. plot isnt great but everything else makes up for that...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byTornadosplash44 December 4, 2016

Really well made horror remake!!!!!

This film was amazing for a horror remake! It was scary, intense, and full of gore. The film contains coarse language throughout such as f**k, s**t, c**t, c**k, and more. The film does contain some drug references plus drugs are thrown down a well to stop a girl's addiction. The film does contain a rape scene where a tree wraps around a girl and a branch goes inside her genital area. The violence in this movie says it all. The violence isn't for the faint of heart and is over-the-top disturbing, bloody, and gory. The violence and disturbing content include possession throughout, raining blood, an graphic bloody gory deaths. Overall okay for teens 17 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byjuli0321 October 24, 2016

Its Ok I guess!

Not for children at all!!! Its very bloody and gory, the cursing is prominant and a girl is raped by a tree!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byennameekell September 29, 2016

FANTASTIC MOVIE!!... Only for some people.

Honestly, the new Evil Dead remake was definitely over the top but i was on the edge of my seat the whole time. i am a horror movie fanatic and this is exactly the kind of movie that gets me sqwerming, it is non stop gore from start to finish. i am also a massive fan of Jane Levy, who plays the main character mia, who is trying to overcome her drug addiction. This movie deserves its R rating but i would say it's definitely a movie i could watch with a parent, easily, whereas movies with high sexual references that are also R Rated, would be very uncomfortable. My point is, they should make movies that deserve to be R, R Rated, but make categories so we know what we are about to experience. The first time i watched Evil Dead which was in 2013, i felt quite sick in my stomach but i managed to get through it and i couldn't stop thinking about the good parts after, i could tell it was a long process to make as this movie literally does not use any special affects, it is all real life blood and makeup that looks extremely terrifying on and off camera, i saw a photo on Jane Levys instagram and it was off her during the process and it terrified me, what she would of gone through and how long it would of took!! If you are a horror fan like me, watch this movie!! It's a good plot, it's not like one of those movies that had an original, it was recreated and the ruined it, the new version is pretty amazing, similar story, just very very very gruesome!! i do personally think that someone that is 16 can handle this, easily, i know i did and i don't regret it one bit. Parents should chill a lil bit, yes this movie is pretty bad, but i think it should be up to the parents to decide and also the people watching, we don't always have to listen to the rating because we all have different limits and boundaries about what we watch in movies and it's content :))))
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byNeelJ10 August 26, 2016

Horror remake too gory

This 2013 remake of the original 1981 classic is scary suspenseful but very violent and gory. A character cuts her arm off very graphically. Blood literally spills out. Lots of cutting shooting and SLICING. The tree rape scene is there but without nudity. Not at all for kids below 18
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byMirandaxxxx August 23, 2016

Stupid movie filled with guts and gore

I watched this movie a couple years ago, probably around 10, 11ish and found "The Evil Dead" laughable. You can tell it's all fake and is a slasher more than a horror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byYaseenP07 July 10, 2016

It was one of the few ENJOYABLE REMAKES

If the MPAA rated there movie solely on violence, Evil Dead would be an easy NC-17 but they don't and this movie had really no sexual content so it received an R. The film is Produced by Sam Raimi the creator of the original and you can tell he made sure the didn't fuck this up. It is a great horror movie tale that most audiences will enjoy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byHussein132 March 28, 2016
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMalik1Saad2 July 6, 2015

GREAT!!!!

This movie has intense violence and strong language as well the infamous "tree rape".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 7, 2015

18

Contains very strong gory horror and violence, and very strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byi just like movies October 17, 2014

Not as horrific as some may think

Ok so I recently saw this with a few of my friends and wow. Quite the movie that was. This movie is extremely gorey and disgusting and if you have a soft stomache I would really reconsider watching this. Language is strong but not extremely constant. Sex isn't an issues (besides a brief naked demon scene at the end) this movie is just gore gore from about 20 minutes into the movie. A girl throws up blood and goo into another's mouth. She burns herself in the shower. Another girl cuts off a part of her face. A dude gets stabbed in the eye with a needle then pulls it out. Another girl saws her arm off (blood flying everywhere) ew. What else, oh boy it's just really never ending to be honest. A girl gets burned alive, she rips her arm off from under a car, shooting with nail guns, slicing with knives, shootings with shotguns, splicing open a tongue, more throwing up blood, crawling and jump scares. Blood raining from the sky, it's just a never ending gore fest. On the bright side is most of it you can tell is not real (I'm 15 and was fine besides the occasional scream from grossness) but it's just really gross but the plot was ok I guess.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old January 22, 2014

The best horror movie of the year!

Horrifieing! The Evil dead nearly the same with drugs,strong language,sex and violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter January 21, 2014

Better than the original!

One inappropriate scene (not as explicit as the original). Language is pretty bad (most of the inappropriate references are said by the dead people). Violence is the worst thing about it. Although most of the violence is more toward the dead people, in a scene, a girl cuts her arm off to avoid become one of the dead people. This movie is much scarier than the original.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byKyle1414 December 21, 2013

Pretty Bloody With Many Disturbing Images

I didn't really like this movie the first time I saw it, but then I watched it again and then i thought it was okay. Lol yeah actually I guess this movie is pretty cool, but it's...it's brutal haha!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byDog Bone November 2, 2013

Awesome!

Great movies, tops the original. Gory, graphic, and disturbing. A fair amount of strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2013

Guts And Ready To Go

This Film Contains Very Strong Language And Brutal Gore. I Think It Is Okay But Could Of Been Better.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 August 31, 2013

Disappointing to me.

I watched this hoping that it could at least meet up to the original, but it was nowhere near as good as the first. It is extremely gory and realistic, and the blood not CGI so it is a lot more realistic looking. Most of the violence is on-screen, and it is very disturbing and so on. I read that this movie was originally slapped with an NC-17 rating, and some people believed it should of stayed with that rating. Unlike the old one this had a lot more language, but it isn't as bad as most movie, but it still consists of more than the original version. There is no nudity in this one, but the scene of rape still happens, but all you see is a vine going into a woman's skirt, and you see it cut up her leg as it goes up. One of the character has some serious drug withdraws and you see her dump some into a well meaning she is trying to give it up. Nowhere near as good as the original, and it just wasn't good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages