All parent member reviews for Pain & Gain

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 year old Written byMadMamaK April 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Bad Review

I just wanted to say how ridiculous and asinine Mr. Anderson's review of this movie is. Sir, this should have been an informational article not an editorial. You act as if the movie was made for children using adult material. The movie was not in any way intended for a youth audience. Get off your high horse. This movie was not made for children, don't review it as if it were.
Parent of an infant, 5, 7, 10, 14, and 18 year old Written byJoejoejoejoe April 27, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good movie

As long as they know t word c word v word w word and sl word
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byIrene007 August 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A Suggestion To Common Sense Media

Pain and Gain is obviously not for kids; it's R-rated. However, this doesn't mean the movie is terrible. It can be funny for those who don't take everything seriously and can understand satire. I appreciate Common Sense Media's review on this, but it would be better if the website or any of its posters would be unbiased and just give us the facts (like what IMDB does) and let us decide whether we should check out a movie. A one-liner "Violent, stupid, offensive, unfunny "true crime" story." is so unbiased.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 13 year old Written bytks7799 May 23, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Terrible Movie!

This movie is a waste of time and money. I was only able to tolerate it for about 20 minutes. It is a crude, disgusting, and poorly acted movie. Definitely not for children--rated R for a very good reason.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bypfcs May 11, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

wasted money

anyone with any sense of values should not see this movie. i walked out after about 15 minutes. i like the "rock' and mark walberg, but they should be ashamed for making this movie. it was not funny or a murder story, the director should never make another movie. another director probably could have made a movie out of this story. j. hibbert
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byjball72 April 27, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Please don't waste your time!!!

This movie isn't fit for adults to watch. It shows sex and strip clubs It shows drug use (cocaine, steroids) It shows a lot of sexually toys, dolls, and etc They constantly talk about religion and Jesus but not in the right light. It's not worth your time, they added a lot of sexual content into this movie where it didnt fit at all. This movie is crude and crass and wasnt worth the time spent driving to the theater. I'm still confused at how any of these critics gave this movie anything positive. Its just not a worth while movie to watch. It's a horrible story followed up by a Worse Movie!! It was just a bad plot where they thought adding sex toys and drugs would fix the lack of talent. This movie is not fit for any children, please dont take your children here, its not fit for most adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 March 6, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Insanely violent action comedy is actually Bay's best film!

Mark Wahlberg, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson and some other dude star in this one-of-a-kind action comedy! This is actually a very good movie, it has good acting, a clever script, and a very well chosen cast. plus we can't forget the direction! I highly recommend this movie, but if you don't like bloody violence and very crude humor, you won't like this movie.
Parent Written byCamisita May 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Disgusting waste of a movie and talent of Mark W. and Dwayne J.

DOn't even bother renting or buying as a family, or as a adult for yourself. We recorded it on our DVR as we are a big fan of Dwayne Johnson. We couldn't believe that he did a movie like this. We couldn't stand anymore after 15-20 mins and had to fast forward through 2 sex scenes in the beginning. Bad language, too much sex, not much plot. Women are treated as sex objects or objectified as women, seemingly having no brains, goals, etc. and that they are only there for the benefit of men. Disgusting!!! DOn't remember much else, was disappointed and didn't continue. Shame on you producers, crew, actors, and writers for working on such a film.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydarthsitkur May 15, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

hilarious crime comedy

saw this the other day on Netflix and it was so freakin funny, I was laughing A LOT, as soon as the rock showed up and the sun gym trio got assembled, that's when the movie really becomes laugh out loud hysterical, and my only complaint with the movie is that I would've liked more action since it is a Michael bay flick, but what action was there was fun to watch
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 7, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids.

parents this is one of those movies that you should stay away from and your kids as well pain and gain is one of the most stupidest action/adventure movies I've ever seen and a complete waste of my time but it's based on a true story about 3 real criminals that are stupid at getting away with murder and end up getting caught this movie is definelty not for kids the movie stars with Mark Wahlberg, Tony Shalhoub, Dwayne Johnson as the rock and Anthony Mackie and parents pain and gain has a lot of intense violence such as A character is blown up in a car and then run over (he survives). Other characters are tortured (pliers to the nose, burning, more), killed (either by accident or on purpose), and have their bodies dismembered. Their hands are cut off and barbecued (!) to remove the fingerprints. There are several fight scenes with punching and blood. One character is slammed with a barbell weight, and another is squashed under a weight (lots of blood is shown. There's a chase and a shootout, and a character loses a toe there is a lot of crude sexual content and nudity such as Several topless women are shown in a club scene. The main character has comical sex with a woman against the back of a car no nudity shown. A character's stripper girlfriend is portrayed as kinky. A warehouse filled with sex toys/objects is shown. A character tries to masturbate under his clothes to a porn tape (nothing graphic shown. Women are generally treated as dumb sex objects, shown in tight exercise outfits. Lots of skimpy outfits both male and female in gym scenes. A character struggles with impotence as a result of the steroids he takes. A T-shirt with the Penthouse magazine logo is shown charcaters used constant strong langauge and there are lots of drugs and drinks used such as wine, cigars and cocaine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bylevel-headed mom June 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very disturbing movie

The most disturbing thing about this movie is that many of the gruesome details actually happened in real life. A man was tortured for a month before his three captors tried to kill him, but they only thought they had succeeded. This victim's story was so far-fetched that the police did not believe him. The movie shows the three main characters killing a man and his wife by accident, but online articles state that in reality these murders were planned. A comedy depicting real crimes is in very poor taste. The characters are shown to be stupid, but are not exactly portrayed as bad men. Their goal was to live the good life by stealing money from wealthy people. I wouldn't want my teenage boys watching this. The message is quite confusing. Actually, there is no message; the movie simply laughs at the stupidity of three Miami men at the expense of their three very real victims, whose families must be appalled.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 20 year old Written byfunfunfun May 4, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Bad movie Period.

Horrible. Do.not.take.your.kids.to.see.this.movie. If you do, you should be deemed with "worst parent of the year" award. I wouldn't even allow my teen to see this one. Filled with sex, violence, drugs & alcohol..did I mention sex & violence? It couldn't possibly squeeze any more of the 2 in there. Bad movie. Waste of time (and speaking of time, it was WAY too long!).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byFormyfamily May 2, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Worst "Rock" movie ever!

Awful movie that offered nothing! Cant believe that Dwayne Johnson did a movie like this.....most every movie that we have seen him in has been entertaining. We watched almost 1/2 of movie and walked out.... nothing tied together, horrible acting and was too gross to watch!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking