Poseidon

  • Review Date: August 21, 2006
  • Rated: PG-13
  • Genre: Action/Adventure
  • Release Year: 2006
  • Running Time: 99 minutes

Common Sense Media says

Graphic disaster flick. Not for younger kids.
  • Review Date: August 21, 2006
  • Rated: PG-13
  • Genre: Action/Adventure
  • Release Year: 2006
  • Running Time: 99 minutes

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Positive messages

Some characters are courageous and generous, saving others at great risk to themselves; others are plainly selfish and afraid; Dylan transitions from being selfish to selfless.

Violence

Many dead bodies, in various states (bloody, burned, broken, sometimes in foregrounds of shots); several explosions on the ship; character pinned under scaffolding; several characters fall from frightening heights; blood indicates injuries (mouth, eye, face, limbs); characters are caught in an airshaft; characters drown repeatedly; man tries to throw oxygen tank out a vacuum-ish hole, resulting in much tension and loud slamming of his body against columns and walls.

Sex

Some kissing and discussion of romance between primary couple; one character is gay (we hear about a boyfriend who left him).

Language

Very mild language ("damn," You gotta couple a big ones").

Consumerism

Vending machine with brands visible.

Drinking, drugs, & smoking

Characters smoke cigarettes at party, drink alcohol; nasty character drinks from flask and gets drunk during the escape.

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that this movie begins with some family tension -- a single father and his teenage daughter clash over her boyfriend -- but as soon as the wave hits (some 10 minutes in), the brutal, often fatal, action is non-stop. So are the bodies: Broken, bloodied, and burned corpses appear every time the core group of survivors turns a corner. This group is beleaguered by fires, explosions, flooding/rushing water, and crashing architecture as they make their way to the surface. They teeter across hand-made bridges over dizzying heights, get locked in flooding rooms, fight with each other, and risk their lives for each other.

Parents say

Kids say

What's the story?

In this remake, a New Year's celebration aboard a luxury liner turns disastrous when a 150-foot rogue wave slams the ship and flips it upside down. Rejecting the captain's (Andre Braugher) advice to wait, passengers try to find a way to the top of the ship, led by ex-firefighter Robert Ramsey (Kurt Russell). He's occasionally preoccupied by his daughter Jennifer (Emmy Rossum), who is in turn preoccupied by her fiancé Christian (Mike Vogel). Before the wave hits, gambler playboy Dylan (Josh Lucas) is hitting on single mother Maggie (Jacinda Barrett). After, he's saving her young son Conor (Jimmy Bennett). As the group makes its way to the surface, the individual characters take a back seat to the pyrotechnics, the water, and the weird upside-down spaces the group must negotiate. While a recently brokenhearted gay architect Nelson (Richard Dreyfuss) takes an interest in the underclass pair -- busboy Marco (Freddy Rodríguez) and his just-met stowaway friend Elena (Mía Maestro) -- the others pretty much stick with their (white and moneyed) kind.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

Why cast Andre Braugher if you don't use him? In his role as captain, he's relegated to making a couple of feeble speeches and then leaves everyone on board to their dire fates. When he advises passengers to wait to be rescued, you know he's wrong, and also that he's not long for the film. That's too bad, because the survivors are a dull lot. It's mentioned that Kurt Russell's character used to be "mayor of New York," which is never explained, but plainly draws on post-9/11 desires for heroes). None of the characters or their relationships are presented for more than a minute to two, and so none solicits much emotional investment.

That's not to say the folks in gowns and tuxedos don't learn some lessons in loss and courage. But they do so incidentally. The point in a disaster film is fear and relief and some more fear: It's a ride. Here, you watch characters work to get out of small spaces, endure water and fire, and make their way to more small spaces.

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about the formula of disaster films: How are relationships between characters forged through dire hardships? How does the movie use conventional gender roles: the women are fearful, loving, or maternal, and the boys are sneaky, assertive, or courageous?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:May 12, 2006
DVD release date:August 22, 2006
Cast:Jacinda Barrett, Josh Lucas, Kurt Russell
Director:Wolfgang Petersen
Studio:Warner Bros.
Genre:Action/Adventure
Run time:99 minutes
MPAA rating:PG-13
MPAA explanation:intense prolonged sequences of disaster and peril.

This review of Poseidon was written by

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are conducted by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Written byAnonymous October 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Poseidon review

======================================================== Sex/Nudity: Robert says he's not comfortable with Jennifer and Chris alone together in a room (when he walks in on them, although nothing is occurring beyond some close, seated contact -- both are fully dressed). Jennifer then says not to worry, adding that with so many places on the ship they could find a better place to do that thing he thinks they want to do (meaning sex). Elena states she's on the ship to see her sick brother and it's the only means of transportation for her. She then says that she made a deal with a cook on the ship exchanging passage for bunking with him, but we don't ever know if that implied sex. A lounge singer wears a tight, cleavage-revealing dress and does a slightly sultry performance. Lucky Larry grabs or pats a waitress' clothed butt as she walks away from his table. Jennifer shows varying amount of cleavage (depending on the camera angle and the positioning of her body) in her cocktail dress (and Robert comments on that -- before the disaster -- causing her to button the top button). Jennifer and Chris do some close dancing in a disco on the ship. Jennifer and Chris passionately kiss at midnight on New Year's Eve. We see some miscellaneous cleavage. Seeing that Jennifer and others are trying to rescue Chris whose leg is trapped under some scaffolding, Lucky Larry grabs a large pole for leverage and drops some innuendo when he says that what they needed was some good pushing with that pole. Maggie shows some cleavage. As the survivors are washed from one chamber into the next, we briefly see one of the women's black panties as her dress rides up. 4/10. ========================================================= Violence: A lookout spots the enormous rogue wave approaching the ship. They then try to turn it to hit the water at a perpendicular angle, but the wave is upon them before they can. It crashes into and over the ship, blasting away various people inside and outside the ship before turning the ocean liner upside down in the water (with plenty of implied injuries and deaths). During this, we see some people on the bridge being shocked from electrical shorts, and views of people (from a distance) falling a great distance and smacking into structures inside the vast ship. We also see a flash fire blast through a room and presumably kill everyone there, while water sweeps through another area with implied similar results. When an electrical cable hits the wet area inside the ship, many people are suddenly electrocuted, one woman's arm is on fire and we see a charred face of a dead victim. To save himself from pending doom, a man kicks away another man who's hanging on his feet in an elevator shaft. That other man falls down the shaft, followed by the elevator car that rips by and lands with a mighty crash where the third man did. An explosion then occurs and the resultant fireball races up the shaft, with the survivors closing the doors just in time. As the group traverses an immense lobby on some wreckage that straddles both sides, a large engine or something similar suddenly crashes down from above, smashing one person on that bridge. Massive explosions cause the ship to shift and then various cracks to form in the windows of a large area where many survivors are huddled. They then panic as the cracks spread, followed by spraying of water. The windows then simultaneously implode, sending massive amounts of water sweeping through the large room, presumably killing everyone there. Survivors hear the screams from a distance. Elena becomes entangled in some wreckage and panics underwater, eventually hitting her head and accidentally knocking herself out. A character drowns. Many explosions go off inside the ship, eventually causing one end to rise up out of the water. A massive flood of water washes away Maggie, but Dylan rescues her. Richard is injured when he opens a hatch (and his face is bloody). A major character ends up drowning (seen in graphic detail). A large gas canister hits a huge propeller and explodes. 6.5/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: After the disaster, we see various dead bodies floating in the water. Various people (alive and dead) have varying degrees and amounts of bloody cuts on their heads, arms, etc. following the disaster. We see a dead woman whose body is bloody and seemingly twisted in an awkward position. We see the charred face of a dead victim. We see additional bloody people. The survivors must walk through a room of dead and bloody bodies, some of which still have their eyes open. We briefly see a view of a gash in Chris' leg. We see more dead people. We see even more dead people in another scene. We see piles of dead and somewhat charred people from an unseen flash fire. Richard is injured when he opens a hatch (and his face is bloody). 6/10. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 1 "s" word, 5 hells, 4 damns, 1 ass (used with "hole"), 1 S.O.B., and 8 uses of "Oh my God," 4 of "G-damn" and 1 use each of "God" and "Jesus" as exclamations. 4.5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: Robert fixes himself a drink. Miscellaneous people drink at a reception. Robert and others drink while playing poker. A waiter brings Dylan two glasses of champagne and he hands one to Maggie. Richard and others drink, with a comment made about him ordering a $5,000 bottle of wine. As he walks off to make a call, he says they'll have wine, "lots and lots of wine." People have champagne to celebrate New Year's Eve. Larry drinks from a flask, but later accidentally drops and loses it, causing him to be quite upset and annoyed. 5/10. ========================================================= Smoking: Dylan smokes once. 0.5/10. ========================================================= Poseidon is a decent disaster film and is worth watching. I give it 6/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byskater_gurl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies I saw this year!

I absolutely loved this movie, and I think it is a must-see for everyone ages 12 and up. I liked it because it had an amazing display of courageous characters and The sequence of events just kept me in suspense! I even had my eyes covered for a little!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Interesting and intense, but basically the exact same movie as the original with worse acting. Good for kids 12+
Teen, 14 years old Written bydavstern1500 October 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great disaster flick

Intense prolonged sequences of disaster and peril. Dead bodies, bloody. Two disturbing scenes: a man falling down a shaft, getting pierced by spikes. A woman hits her head underwater, drawing blood. For more information, contact me on YouTube - davstern1500

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Essential School Tools