All member reviews for Saw

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

"Torture porn" gore-fest is more grisly than scary.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 184 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bydudeman123 November 3, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

One of the greatest horror flicks of all time

How can common sense actually give Saw 1 out of 5 stars.. terrible review. Common sense just tries to get people to think saw is a terrible movie because it is bloody. In reality, Saw is an excellent and well executed film. The entire movie is a thrill ride from the beginning to the very unexpected and shocking ending. Saw will leave you stunned, guessing, and ready for a sequel
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bytvgirl July 1, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

An Excellent Psychological Thriller!

This film is exactly what the posters and DVD covers convey: A violent horror movie not suitable for kids and pre-teens to see. What they don't convey is how the psychological thriller aspect of the movie is more prominat than the graphic and very realistic violence which can become disturbing to some squeemish viewers. Things to look out for are: The implication that a man is having an affair, two sex jokes, and a man runs through a room completely naked and is on screen for no more than 5 seconds. Violence is throughout. The aftermath of horrific torturous murders are seen several times. One realistic gunshot wound, several realistic hand-to-hand battles, and lastly a man cuts off his own foot (the action is off screen, we see him after the exploit is over with). Language is very frequent, mostly the "F" word is used but other cuss words are said was well. It is implied that a victim bought and sold illegal drugs and a main character is revealed to be a smoker. The entire film is unsettling and hard to rewatch, but the inital reaction to seeing the film for the first time will leave the viewer breathless. Bottom line: The film was originally NC-17 and cut down to an R-rating. Ages 16+. 5/5 stars. Enjoy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunterJumper13 December 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for mature tweens-teens

I'm 13,and I thought this movie was terrific. I mean, I'm a horrer movie connesuer, I've been raised on Chucky, Jason X, etc etc. I found this movie to have an interesting plot though, and the acting was actualy pretty good. I'd say definantly go for it for 13:)
Teen, 15 years old Written byThehatter32 June 7, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Desensitization

Yes, the movie-makers of today are pushing it, and yes, it is grisly. This is surely not a scary movie. Of course you wouldn't let your 12 year old watch it, but older teens mature at a variety of ages, some much quicker than others. Why must we lump every teen into the same category, and deny them their maturity? I love horror movies, and that is to no fault of my parents, for I snuck them for quite some time. It's not like I didn't get punished for it. There is violence that is obviously fake and overdramatized, and there is drug-abuse, and self-mutilation. Who is to say that these things don't already happen? Who is to say that having a teen see these things isn't going to benefit them, when they see the consequences of what the drugs, etc. lead to? You call it desensitization, I call it an awareness of the world around us and how screwed up it has gotten. People in our history books have done much worse than this man, and I don't see you complaining about them. Besides, he tells you to appreciate your life. Minus the deaths, it is a good message to live by.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDKRUMBLE725 October 8, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER !!!!!!!

This movie and its sequels are the best! The violence was partially disturbing but these movies are still my favorite. The only thing i would warn parents about is the over excessive use of strong language (too many f***s) but this is still a must see horror film even though they get blodier each movie. I cant wait for SAW 6.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 2, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A stupid slasher movie

Another pointless slasher movie not worth even looking at the front cover it has no story its just blood gushing annd people being tortured with constant bad language this movie is not a horror movie its not scary it has no real surspence at all but of course this is my opinion you dont have to take any notice to what i say.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byfamilydude134 April 14, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I saw this recently. It didn't bother me that much. The others are more gory, grotesque, and send a chill up your spine disturbing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byvicky92 September 14, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I'm a horror freak, but this movie is more of a psychological movie than just another bloody movie to me. Don't get me wrong, it IS bloody & the movies get worse as you see the sequels. Great movie, great plot, great everything. If your kids are mature enough not to go out & start killing people then I see this movie as ok in my opinion haha
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bySeriouslytholikebrah November 17, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The best romcom ever! (Plus the black guy didn't die first)

What can I say about SAW that hasn't already been said, its romantic, sweet and is really funny although it has no actual jokes in it. I think I'll start with the relationship between Jigsaw and his many lovers and the way he sets up fun and interesting ways to keep the relationship alive. He sets up these elaborate games for them to enjoy and play for his sexual amusement... Bang Bang O-block, skudda!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygabrieltnc April 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Really?

A dumb, excuse for film-making. Its not scary, its just an ultra-gory montage of torture clips, with little plot
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. April 24, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

More stupid than scary

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bywkuk1 August 16, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Honest Review of My Favorite Movie of all time

Yes, this movie does focus on torture and the brutality of society but in reality compared to horror movies made now a days this movie is very dubbed down in gore. The majority of all the gore is off-screen and isn't technically shown in it's extent which compared to the Saw sequels would've been uncut. The infamous "Leg scene" where the main character saws off his foot to escape an ancient bathroom to save his family is in reality brutal and hard to watch but is not shown fully on screen. That scene only shows him starting to cut his leg and then is continued by showing the mans face as he saws the entire foot off. The concept of the movie is overlooked all the time. Saw does have a point and is not a pointless "slasher" film. The "jigsaw killer" puts his victims in traps to help them see the wrong they've done in their past. Honestly, the torture to the extent can be looked at as "too much" for their initial punishment but it's all opinion. If you are looking to start with your first horror movie of all time and you're around the age of 15 or 16 start with this or Halloween,Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street. People overreact to how violent this film actually is because half the gore isn't even shown. If you can handle a little gore and you're looking for a great horror classic of the 2000's with a great twist ending this movie is the best choice. The sequels aren't for everyone but give the first one a shot. P.S. the saws movies ARE NOT all the same it's the continuation of a story so don't believe the crowd if they say it's another pointless killer/torture porn movie because this started it all and we wouldn't have had Insidious if it weren't for Saw. My favorite movie of all time, you won't be dissapointed unless you can't handle some gore!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecretAgentPalin July 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Saw isn't as bad as you think.

Saw has a reputation across the country as being very,very gory. That statement fits the later sequels. But the first Saw is very low-budget, so you see quite a bit of blood (and some guts), but there are few shots of direct violence. And those shots are not very gruesome. But nevertheless, this movie will most likely be disturbing to anyone who watches it. THIS IS DEFINITELY NIGHTMARE MATERIAL. This movie will be fine for any teen that plays M rated video games, or has seen R rated violent movies before. The positive element to Saw 1 is that it will make you think. It's not a believable great movie, but it does show what humans are capable of. And it will encourage you to reflect on your sins. Even though Jigsaw's misdeeds are malign and aberrant, and these actions should never be promoted. Young viewers should also understand this is an extreme fable, and not to be mistaken for reality. 14+ for bloody violence, grisly images, and strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Need to be 18+ :/

VERY GRISLY, ND VIOLENT! but there is a lesson! criminals desirve to suffer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedigitalmastermind January 27, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An amazingly greusome horror film, but great characters and plot

This movie is a truly gruesome, grisly movie. It has gore galore! But it does have an interesting and complex plot that intrigues the viewers to keep watching till the end. You even sympathize with the main characters, but it's hard to sympathize with Jigsaw, even with his dying from cancer. It's a great horror-thriller, and has some great scares and kills, but is graphic and disturbing even to the most hardened gore fan.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A whole bunch of crud!

I spit on this poop!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byHonestreviewer October 22, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great 17+ movie

Seriously good movie,17+. One of the best "horror" flicks i've seen. Every good movie has a reason behind it. Best one in this series by a long shot. (reason for the sexual concern is that, they show the doctor in the hotel room with one of the girls from the hospital, and it's clear that they've been having an affair, nothing actually happens.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written bySgtPrinny January 3, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Saw

Saw is an awesome movie. But it's extremely gory and has a lot of language. As well as some sexual references and smoking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjfforever April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It really depends

I saw this movie and personally love it. Before you are confused with my statement, please understand what I mean. I am a psychology buff and movies that throw me for loops and get me thinking I like. This is however not a movie for Kids. It is very violent and can leave images in the back of the mind. Only a person who can truly tell the difference between reality and fantasy should see this. The movie was very brilliant and shines in the aspect of cinematography and suspense/descions, but is not a family film to watch.
Adult Written byFarva April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Excellent

Finally, a return to "R" rated Horror movies, I am SO SICK of all these PG-13 so called "horror movies" that have flooded our movieplexes over the past 5-10 years. And then when they come out on DVD they are R or Unrated, these cheap studios are only making PG-13 versions to release in theaters to get the young kids money and butcher an otherwise smart flick for adults. Saw is very, very GOOD!!

Pages