All teen and kid member reviews for Saw

Kids say

(out of 148 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunterJumper13 December 21, 2010

Great for mature tweens-teens

I'm 13,and I thought this movie was terrific. I mean, I'm a horrer movie connesuer, I've been raised on Chucky, Jason X, etc etc. I found this movie to have an interesting plot though, and the acting was actualy pretty good. I'd say definantly go for it for 13:)
Teen, 15 years old Written byThehatter32 June 7, 2010

Desensitization

Yes, the movie-makers of today are pushing it, and yes, it is grisly. This is surely not a scary movie. Of course you wouldn't let your 12 year old watch it, but older teens mature at a variety of ages, some much quicker than others. Why must we lump every teen into the same category, and deny them their maturity? I love horror movies, and that is to no fault of my parents, for I snuck them for quite some time. It's not like I didn't get punished for it. There is violence that is obviously fake and overdramatized, and there is drug-abuse, and self-mutilation. Who is to say that these things don't already happen? Who is to say that having a teen see these things isn't going to benefit them, when they see the consequences of what the drugs, etc. lead to? You call it desensitization, I call it an awareness of the world around us and how screwed up it has gotten. People in our history books have done much worse than this man, and I don't see you complaining about them. Besides, he tells you to appreciate your life. Minus the deaths, it is a good message to live by.
Kid, 10 years old November 2, 2010

A stupid slasher movie

Another pointless slasher movie not worth even looking at the front cover it has no story its just blood gushing annd people being tortured with constant bad language this movie is not a horror movie its not scary it has no real surspence at all but of course this is my opinion you dont have to take any notice to what i say.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byDKRUMBLE725 October 8, 2009

BEST MOVIE EVER !!!!!!!

This movie and its sequels are the best! The violence was partially disturbing but these movies are still my favorite. The only thing i would warn parents about is the over excessive use of strong language (too many f***s) but this is still a must see horror film even though they get blodier each movie. I cant wait for SAW 6.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byfamilydude134 April 14, 2015
I saw this recently. It didn't bother me that much. The others are more gory, grotesque, and send a chill up your spine disturbing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. April 24, 2013

More stupid than scary

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecretAgentPalin July 16, 2011

Saw isn't as bad as you think.

Saw has a reputation across the country as being very,very gory. That statement fits the later sequels. But the first Saw is very low-budget, so you see quite a bit of blood (and some guts), but there are few shots of direct violence. And those shots are not very gruesome. But nevertheless, this movie will most likely be disturbing to anyone who watches it. THIS IS DEFINITELY NIGHTMARE MATERIAL. This movie will be fine for any teen that plays M rated video games, or has seen R rated violent movies before. The positive element to Saw 1 is that it will make you think. It's not a believable great movie, but it does show what humans are capable of. And it will encourage you to reflect on your sins. Even though Jigsaw's misdeeds are malign and aberrant, and these actions should never be promoted. Young viewers should also understand this is an extreme fable, and not to be mistaken for reality. 14+ for bloody violence, grisly images, and strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2011

Need to be 18+ :/

VERY GRISLY, ND VIOLENT! but there is a lesson! criminals desirve to suffer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedigitalmastermind January 27, 2011

An amazingly greusome horror film, but great characters and plot

This movie is a truly gruesome, grisly movie. It has gore galore! But it does have an interesting and complex plot that intrigues the viewers to keep watching till the end. You even sympathize with the main characters, but it's hard to sympathize with Jigsaw, even with his dying from cancer. It's a great horror-thriller, and has some great scares and kills, but is graphic and disturbing even to the most hardened gore fan.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheTeenCritic February 9, 2016

Underated Film With a Bad Stigma

If you want violence and gore, watch the sequels. If you want a well crafted story that is suspenseful, watch this film. The only gore in the film is a 4-5 second shot of fake looking intestines. This film is hardly "torture porn" as uninformed parents who most likely haven't even scene the film put it. I watched this film with my mom and we had a great time watching and discussing the film. This movie, believe it or not, has a few subjects that families could discuss. A couple things that come to mind are the morals of the "jigsaw killer", whether or not this film lives up to the "torture porn" stigma it has, and asking your kids what they would do if they were the main characters. Besides the previously mentioned intestine shot and 20-30 f bombs, this movie is safe for tough as nails teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrickylittlelynch January 23, 2016

scary, dark, grisly, and gory.

My rating R for strong grisly violence and gore, terror and frightening sequences ,and for language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 28, 2015

Really good movie 4 / 5

This movie is really good . It does have some moments where the gore is quite high but the 1st saw is the mildest saw . If you are thinking about letting your child watch a movie from the saw series , I would suggest this one because it is not bad as some other movies and if your child has watched films like this before, they should be fine with it . I think only 12 - 13 years upwards can view this movie because some younger children might get frightened at the gore in the movie but it does get worse in the series. Rated 18 : strong bloody violence.
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabemtz14 December 22, 2015

Not for kids

Common sense media is right the movie is not for kids and its scary
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPoppyTop November 26, 2015

WTF was the reviewer thinking!?

Did the writer of this article even watch the movie? This movie is now where near as gruesome as a lot of people say it is. I would the say the term "gruesome" or "Gory" only applies to the layer sequels. Definitely not the first one though. The first one had only like what? 2 or 3 gory scenes that weren't that intense,mostly off screen. The only issue that parents may worry about is the language. There is quite a bit of swearing,like 20-30 F bombs,and just about every swear word is mentioned at least a few times. As with sex there is ONLY ONE sex reference. Just ONE. In fact if a little kid heared the one sex joke,he wouldn't get it. I would rate this movie a 13 years olds and up.I think by the time someone is 13 if not younger they have heard every swear word in the book,so it's not like it's gonna make a big impact. The reason why I put a 9+ in the thingy above my review is to make up for the exaggerated rewiews. If your tween or teen can handle lots of swearing,they can handle the movie. I think this movie would've gotten a pg-13 rating if there weren't any F bombs in it.What is the move about though? It's a about man who was once suicidal,then later in his life becomes diagnosed with terminal cancer then realizes how valuable life is,so he finds people who he thinks don't appreciate life or don't live it like they should and puts them in "traps" or "games" as he calls them where they have to make radical descions to escape or they will die. I think that this movie does teach a valuable lesson,to not take life for granted. I am suprised that the maker of this article didn't put any points for great messages. I don't know why this movie falls under the genre of horror. I wish people would stop calling movies "horror movies" just because they have some gore in it. And once again this movie is no where near as gross as a lot people say it is. I think most of the people including the maker of this article that say this movie "horrible" "plotless torture porn" "insanely gory" "messed up" and things like that haven't even seen the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byFrozenPyre November 24, 2015

Not nearly as violent as people would lead you to believe.

Saw is usually considered torture porn. Even though it isn't very violent (there are only 2 scenes of on-screen violence, and they are pretty brief), people mostly say this because the sequels are SIGNIFICANTLY more violent than this one. The movie has quite a bit of swearing and a couple sexual references. I saw (see what i did there?) it when I was 11 and it did nothing to me. Jigsaw actually teaches people to not take life for granted, and helps people with their problems (if they don't die). He doesn't kill people for the crap of it, he gives them a choice. Stay away from the sequels if you are under 13
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byfoxlover14 October 6, 2015

Mediocre, poor acting

Saw is about two men chained to pipes in a bathroom, and one man has the task of killing the other. This movie is actually kind of boring. There's a lot of talking, some gore. The acting in the movie is terrible, which only makes the unlikeable characters worse. The one shining light of this movie was Shawnee Smith who gave a good performance, and made the best scene of the movie. F words, gore abound, but the film is still amazingly dull.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bygranth July 26, 2015

NOT FOR THOSE WHO ARE SQUEAMISH

If you like to watch horror films you'll probably like this but there is a lot of blood with a surprising twist at the end. There is language but more R for the darkness. But a good story overall
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old July 15, 2015

MY FAVORITE MOVIE,

I LIKE IT A LOT!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymikethespike451 July 14, 2015

STUPID PORN/TORTURE

This disturbing movie is not even scary! Not scary at all! Very violent and gory! Very disturbing! This movie is bad! Bad acting and bad story! Dont bother with this movie! Only people with a sick mind will enjoy this movie and call it entertaining and enjoyable! This is just STUPID TORTURE PORN SHIT!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2015

SAW

The best of all SAW
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages