Kids say

(out of 158 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunterJumper13 December 21, 2010

Great for mature tweens-teens

I'm 13,and I thought this movie was terrific. I mean, I'm a horrer movie connesuer, I've been raised on Chucky, Jason X, etc etc. I found this movie to have an interesting plot though, and the acting was actualy pretty good. I'd say definantly go for it for 13:)
Teen, 15 years old Written byThehatter32 June 7, 2010

Desensitization

Yes, the movie-makers of today are pushing it, and yes, it is grisly. This is surely not a scary movie. Of course you wouldn't let your 12 year old watch it, but older teens mature at a variety of ages, some much quicker than others. Why must we lump every teen into the same category, and deny them their maturity? I love horror movies, and that is to no fault of my parents, for I snuck them for quite some time. It's not like I didn't get punished for it. There is violence that is obviously fake and overdramatized, and there is drug-abuse, and self-mutilation. Who is to say that these things don't already happen? Who is to say that having a teen see these things isn't going to benefit them, when they see the consequences of what the drugs, etc. lead to? You call it desensitization, I call it an awareness of the world around us and how screwed up it has gotten. People in our history books have done much worse than this man, and I don't see you complaining about them. Besides, he tells you to appreciate your life. Minus the deaths, it is a good message to live by.
Kid, 10 years old November 2, 2010

A stupid slasher movie

Another pointless slasher movie not worth even looking at the front cover it has no story its just blood gushing annd people being tortured with constant bad language this movie is not a horror movie its not scary it has no real surspence at all but of course this is my opinion you dont have to take any notice to what i say.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byDKRUMBLE725 October 8, 2009

BEST MOVIE EVER !!!!!!!

This movie and its sequels are the best! The violence was partially disturbing but these movies are still my favorite. The only thing i would warn parents about is the over excessive use of strong language (too many f***s) but this is still a must see horror film even though they get blodier each movie. I cant wait for SAW 6.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byfamilydude134 April 14, 2015
I saw this recently. It didn't bother me that much. The others are more gory, grotesque, and send a chill up your spine disturbing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. April 24, 2013

More stupid than scary

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecretAgentPalin July 16, 2011

Saw isn't as bad as you think.

Saw has a reputation across the country as being very,very gory. That statement fits the later sequels. But the first Saw is very low-budget, so you see quite a bit of blood (and some guts), but there are few shots of direct violence. And those shots are not very gruesome. But nevertheless, this movie will most likely be disturbing to anyone who watches it. THIS IS DEFINITELY NIGHTMARE MATERIAL. This movie will be fine for any teen that plays M rated video games, or has seen R rated violent movies before. The positive element to Saw 1 is that it will make you think. It's not a believable great movie, but it does show what humans are capable of. And it will encourage you to reflect on your sins. Even though Jigsaw's misdeeds are malign and aberrant, and these actions should never be promoted. Young viewers should also understand this is an extreme fable, and not to be mistaken for reality. 14+ for bloody violence, grisly images, and strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJordanFireStar October 17, 2016

Gory, Intense, but interesting

If you look past all of the gore and blood it has a very good message about not taking things for granted, sacrafice, and has a "what would you do" scenario. Very interesting, has plenty of twists but I do not recommend this for squemish people. However to be honest the parts with the little puppet like thing makes me laugh as it looks funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byElot July 1, 2016

Extremely creative film!

The whole thing about saw being a "torture porn" gore fest is a complete lie. It's actually a deeply clever and elaborate thriller film that uses graphic violence to shock viewers. It's not just a montage of torture scenes, it's a perfect blend of both.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2011

Need to be 18+ :/

VERY GRISLY, ND VIOLENT! but there is a lesson! criminals desirve to suffer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedigitalmastermind January 27, 2011

An amazingly greusome horror film, but great characters and plot

This movie is a truly gruesome, grisly movie. It has gore galore! But it does have an interesting and complex plot that intrigues the viewers to keep watching till the end. You even sympathize with the main characters, but it's hard to sympathize with Jigsaw, even with his dying from cancer. It's a great horror-thriller, and has some great scares and kills, but is graphic and disturbing even to the most hardened gore fan.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHorrorlovr November 21, 2016

Great story, awesome very well executed

This film is one of the best movies I have ever watched. Now, it definitely isn't a family movie, but it has an interesting story and one of the most awesome twist ending I have ever seen. Contains suspense and mystery, and yes, it is pretty gory, but it really is actually meaningful and interesting , not just "gore-porn"
Teen, 17 years old Written byTomiscool October 30, 2016

Great Movie, but VERY gory.

Violence: 5/5: There's so much that I can't even explain it. Sex: 1/5: Not much at all, accept this one flashback… Language: 5/5: Fuck, Shit, Ass, Bitch, Bastard, ect. Drugs/Smoking: 0/5: I don't remember any… Overall: 11/20. I think this mature torture porn film would be good for 17+. My Rating: NC-17
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymuffinman2k14 September 20, 2016

Gory Thriller is more violent than Scary

That moment when you hear the horrific whispering of jigsaw telling you your fate, you know you are diving into a whole lot of gore, violence and suspense only James Wan can offer. This film has some violence and brief swearing but nothing a 13+ old child can't handle. The gore is fun and how people react in certain situations just make the scenes better. If you enjoy movies such as The Circle and The Conjuring, this is a must buy. Just pay attention to the rating of the film saga, it gets more violent per sequel.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byOzhowlett August 7, 2016

Not to be watched by people under 15 but not for the reasons you think

When you hear the film franchise Saw, what do you think of? You probably think of elaborate traps designed to kill people in very very violent ways for no apparent reason. That is not what the first Saw film is about though. Instead of being about the gore like its later films it is a psychological film about what people will do to live. Now as I said Saw has a reputation of violence but this film has not nearly as much as you might expect. Most violence which is in the story is either off screen, has already happened or is speeded up so you don't really see it. It should also be noted that no true innocents die in the film, only people who have done bad in their own way die. There is some strong language but for good reason. I would strongly recommend watching it first because as I said it is very psychological so only you know what your kids are going to be able to deal with. Certainly do not show it to them too young though because it needs an older audience to appreciate it. You probably don't need to be 18, but 15 is probably the minimum.
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2016

Violent

This film has an amazing story line and great actors although..... This film is by no means for kids.... A scene where a man visibly cuts off his foot... Plus references to things like adultery... 14+ at least!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2016

Not for everyone... very thrilling

I'd say saw is a great movie, but it's definitely not a good choice for younger kids. If your child is into gore, violence, and brutality then I'm sure your child will get a good scare out of Saw. Very good story behind it all, and it'll for sure give you a chill down your spine. Gives you a whole different perspective of being thankful and grateful for what you have... which may seem surprising. If you are wondering about inopropriate scenes, saw isn't as bad as you may have expected. Includes very minor drinking, and drugs. This thriller contains absolute zero nudity, or anything of the sort. Contains frequent swearing, but nothing absolutely terrible. Lots of gore and blood if your into that kind of thing... one scene a man saws his leg off, another a family tied with ropes (including children) some gunshots, one brutal scene of gunshots, but nothing too alarming; another gun scene handled by a mother. Anyways, a modern AND classic scary movie, with a mix up of horror, thriller, action, mystery, and sifi. This will for sure give you a good rush at the end when you see how it all happened. Great movie, enjoy!
Kid, 10 years old June 13, 2016

GORY!

This movie is not okay for kids under 15 there is just way to gory I girl almost had her jaw peremently and had to pull a key from the inside of a mans heart this scene is graphic and it's bloody for goodness sake a oman cuts of his own foot but not graphic and no good for 14 and younger kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bysimlake May 22, 2016

misunderstood

This film is often hated on. I mean, yes it's not oscar worthy, but it's still a thoughtprovoking film, and it serves it's purpose, to disturb yet conflict the audience. When people hate on Saw, it's because the sequels destroy the reputation of the first one. No, it's not a family film. Obviously not.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byIlovehorrormovies March 13, 2016

Who even makes this sh*t??

Just one word: EWWW. Don't bother watching this movie. Unless you want your kids to have nightmares or you too puke all over the screen. DON'T WATCH IT. It's not even scary. It's just disgusting. I've wasted almost 2 hours of my life watching this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages