Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for The Hills Have Eyes (2006)

Common Sense says

Grim remake of '70s slasher film. Not for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 14 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 44 reviews
Adult Written bySzymon J. January 17, 2018

Great!!

Me And My 9 And 12 Year old sons watched it and its great horror movie NOT For Kids. This Title Has Sex (Raping) Extreme Violence And Language!! 18+ 1977 Remake. This Title Is For Adults Only!!!! A Bit Like Wrong Turn But More Violent!! 18+

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byegan April 9, 2008
Adult Written bycallofduty5 January 6, 2012

Gross

This is the remake of Wes Craven's original horror movie The Hills Have Eyes (1977), and this version is very gory and brutal. Mutants and humans fight against each other causing blood and sometimes guts to spill out, a girl is raped by a mutant (very disturbing), parrots head is bitten off and dogs are slaughtered by mutants. The movie is also quiet sinister and suspensive. Some fool language is present aswell. This movie has it's R-rating for a reason since it was allmost rated NC-17 for it's violence. Consider talking to youre kids before you let this film roll on the TV.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bymichael666 February 16, 2010

THIS MOVIE HAS UNDERAGE RAPE AND SHOULD NOT BE VIEWED BY ANYONE

This movie is sick. It takes a lot and i mean A LOT to offend me. I can handle violence. It doesnt bother me. If you see a horror movie you expect violence. If you dont you're a moron. However seeing a 14 year old girl get raped is not in any way ok. I personally cant believe the actress was ok with doing those scenes. Violence is definately 17+ and all the other r rated stuff but the rape is enough to make this movie unwatchable.
Adult Written byETHAN G. July 25, 2018

Good Remake Of The Old Hills Have Eyes (1979)

This Movie was good it wasent great or anything it could have been better this movie is a remake of the old hills have eyes (1979) but you have to know this movie is extremely Violent In All Ways ! There's Raping Tons of swearing and the movie itself is disturbing the intro is very disturbing the movie is Basically bout people that want to go to Las Vegas and end up stopping in the middle of the desert and mutants come to kill them to eat them a bit like wrong turn but way worst the violence is 10 /10 Langueage : 9/10 scarinness 9/10 no one under 18 should see this

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written by@@@ December 16, 2011

Could have been much better

The story was average, although acceptable, but the directorial style and (huge) lack of suspense made for a poor and dull remake. Also, the script was full of comedy that ruined everything.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byS0CKM0NKEY September 30, 2011

GREAT

This movie was really well made! One of my all time horror films!!!! Yes there was some bad content, but i watched on the tv so it was censored. Very goreyy! but you cant be afriad of blood to watch this and if your an animal lover (like me) so i had to cover my eyes remiding myself its just a movie. The plot was great .

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byDogcrazed June 22, 2011

Over the top unexceptable

The sexualized violence and rape is totally uncalled for, if I were to have basically any girlfriend of mine see it they would be miserable and scarred for life and would have to work through a lot of emotional problems to work through after this. The violence is over the top in general. But the sexual violence is totally uncalled for. It feeds to viewers that it's exciting to be scared by this and honestly I feel that it would encourage those who are unstable to try it. I don't think it's acceptable for anyone to view, let alone children, sexual violence victims, or those who are faint of heart.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byPlague December 7, 2009

The Hills Have Eyes

WARNING SPOILER: No one in this movie truley triumphs, everyone dies (as said in the 2nd movie). Great movie, im a sucker for gorey cannibalistic violence.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byscoobz April 9, 2008
Adult Written byTrulyCapricious April 9, 2008

Rape is not a movie topic kids should be exposed to

There are two rape scenes in this movie, both involving mutants and the same underaged teenage girl. While it is not pornographic, it is gross and disturbing. Unless you want to explain to your child why that bad monster is hurting that girl down there, steer clear.
Adult Written bymustangman214429 April 9, 2008

i was horrified and disgusted

i would only recommend this movie to pure psychopaths. wounds were depicted with, at the least, grotesque accuracy, and, at the worst, disturbing embellishment. just to make it clear where i'm coming from i honestly play very many violent video games, and have seen probably more than my fair share of blood and gore. that said, i was horrified and disgusted by this movie. i had flash-backs to scenes in this movie for several weeks afterwards, triggered by innocuous things such as sounds similar to a sound effect used in the movie and seeing a suburban, a car used in the movie. the three most prominent scenes in my mind are these, in the order they are presented in the movie; 1. a man puts a ten-guage shotgun to his head and pulls the trigger. i grew up in a bad part of my hometown and i have seen close-range shotgun wounds up close and personal. the effects depicted in the movie are very accurate. 2. a mid-teens girl is raped, not only once, but twice, and while genetalia isn't depicted it's very clear what's happening to her. 3. a man is burned alive. you hear his screaming, you see his flesh curl, you see him writhe, you see the end product. this movie is traumatic and distressing to the extreme. i'm feeling physically sick just thinking back on it to write this review. do not under any circumstances allow anyone you care for to see this movie.
Adult Written byhappy77801 April 9, 2008

.

What child (or maybe even adult) would watch this and enjoy it?
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

Parent should stand up!

Take it from someone who knows . . . the ratings system is simply a vehicle of the major studios . . . no child should be exposed to this violence, and until these films receive the adults only rating of NC-17 they deserve, your kids CAN sneak into these films in multiplexes where every auditorium can't be policed. If the MPAA is really supposed to be FOR parents, then stand up and let them know that films with lenient ratings like this, demonstrate they aren't.