Kid reviews for The Hills Have Eyes (2006)

Common Sense says

Grim remake of '70s slasher film. Not for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 14 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 44 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 16, 2011

i rate ths title OFF for ages 16+

What to watch out for * Messages: Mutants are mad; bumbling humans are dumb; only the enraged, vengeful young father triumphs. * Violence: Bloody, grotesque assaults on traveling family by human mutants; infant in danger (carried off by mutants); dogs yelp off screen and their bloody bodies are discovered by horrified humans; mutants eat human and dog corpses; bird's head bitten off; graphic injuries and body parts (including a bloody head and some deformed heads).Repulsive rape of a young mother, plus repeated sexualized violence. * Sex: Sexualized violence. * Language: Frequent profanity, including repeated use of f-words, s-word, "-of-a-bi-ch." * Consumerism: Not an issue. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Characters smoke, drink, and show effects of radiation (deformities and cannibalism).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written bybig-daddy April 4, 2019

Very intense !

I recently just watched this movie and i'm obsessed! I love all things horror so this is absolutely perfect to me. I was personally unbothered by most of the content in this movie, but it does have a lot of upsetting scenes and imagery. I think that if your teen is mature and has seen other movies like this; they should be fine. I do think that there is a lot of content here that could potentially scar your child, so if your child is younger than 15/14 absolutely DO NOT let them see this!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheDarkSun619 May 26, 2018

Not for kids

This movie has a lot of blood and gore and should only be viewed by mature audiences

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byemily_hayes13 October 28, 2016

The Hills Have Eyes

Reasonably suspensful, but if your looking for some thrills i would go for something a little scarier. not the best family horror movie, but not a bad one for a scary movie night. unless you dont like cliffhangers.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittle k man May 13, 2016

Great film but definitely an R rating

This in my opinion is way better than the original Hills Have Eyes of 1977 but this remake has a lot more blood gore and violence A guy getes him finger cut off with an axe a guy is in a freezer like full of blood abd human body parts an a lot more. Also it has way more swearing than the original about 8 f bombs.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2016

Very gory and disgusting

This is a slasher film and crazy! NEVER let your child watch this film. So let me first start with the violence. There is too much blood. A man was drenched in blood. I couldn't even see his face! Then an American flag stuck to a man's head, some mutant slashed a man with I think was an ax. You can actually see the blood and how he kills the dude. Now the sex part. A mutant rapes the 14 year old daughter. This is extremly uncalled for and so creepy. Very disgusting and unnecessary. They also swear at scuh times. Never let your child watch this. This was my own mistake to watch such a movie. And if you did, i'm sure you regreted it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byabigailh317 June 14, 2015

Revolting

Do not let your kid watch this. I did an I highly regret it. I love horror/scary movies and all the gore was fine for me, I just look away if it's too much. At one point I changed the channel because of the rape scene. Who ever directed this is a sick person. This movie would be acceptable excluding the rape scene. I have honestly been scarred.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoltenskull April 3, 2015

Over-the-top violence that is way too cartoonish to take seriously.

Please note that this movie's gimmick is seeing people getting brutally murdered by a pack of incestuous, mutant, cannibals. The violence is so over-the-top that it should not effect your average teen. However, the movie has pretty graphic sexual violence, 2 women are raped, while it is (Mostly) off screen, you can hear their screams while the mutants make sexual jokes. A man is burned on a tree (On-screen might I add) A dog is gutted, *Spoiler alert* A baby is almost cleaved *Spoiler over* The movie goes from a repulsive torture-porn, to a full-on revenge flick. It is basically NC-17 Taken with mutants instead of drug dealers, and it is awesome. The man gets beat up pretty badly by the mutants (He gets 2 of his fingers chopped off, his head gets bashed in the ground, he gets thrown through windows and walls.) However, the most graphic deaths belong to the mutants, 1 mutant gets a machete thru his abdomen, a screwdriver thru his foot, a flag through his neck, and gets an ax in his head. Another mutant gets his achilles tendon severed by an ax, and gets the end of the ax in his eye socket. The final mutant gets his head bashed in with a shotgun, then gets shot repeatedly by the shotgun, then gets thrown off a cliff. Language is pretty heavy: F**k is used 39 times, and the rest are mostly scatological swears. I saw this movie with my uncle when I was 11 and it did scare me.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy October 23, 2014

Jeez...

Not For kids. Has tons of grisley and disturbing violence, a rape scene, another sexual scene, a lot of language, and animal abuse. One of the most violent films I have seen

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old December 17, 2013

Cool movie like wrong turn

This was pretty good sort of like wrong turn except in wrong turn they eat the people eye balls and stuff,wrong turn is probably more gory this one Was a bit different
Teen, 13 years old Written byCharlCoetzee13 April 8, 2013

Hills Have Eyes

Some sense are very intense and some arent . But it is more for older children . And advise dont watch at night!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheHillsAreBlind July 2, 2012

Great movie, but not such a great plot

Great, adredilane pumping movie, lots of action and intensity, but this movie has a very lame plot, one which is very boring

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 February 13, 2012

Please,get away from your computer this minute if you're weak hearted.

If you're squeamish, get the hell out of your computer this minute.You've been warned.Read at your own risk! And for those of you who are wondering,I have only seen the Unrated version of this movie on DVD since it was NC17 in the movies,so the content below might not be seen in the normal.These are the bloodiest/most disturbing scenes: One of the characters gets burned alive and this is from close range,his face melts and he flails about,someone tries to spray water on him but he gets burned to death and dies. Mutants are hacked many times with screwdrivers,knives and a flag throughout the film with lots of blood. Doug bashes a mutant four times in the head with a shotgun and shoots him three times,in the head,chest and body with copious blood spurting at every shot. Loads more. Lizard(the mutant guy) brutally rapes Brenda and we hear her screams its not done very graphically but good enough that it's enough to make a light hearted person pale faced The gas station attendant suicides,blowing his brains out with a shotgun,it explodes in a shower of blood and body matter. There is one scene where We see one of the mutants eating a dog's guts.It might not mean anything as it is very short and in the background but will disturb animal lovers. In the beginning,a few men are slaughtered violently with blood splatter and aggressive sound effects. You think this is over?Wrong,there's loads more,go watch it for yourself but seek your parents consent if you're under 16.I may have seen this when I was 9 but at least I didnt get desensitized by it.Know I shouldn't have though,but it's quite a cool film.
Teen, 16 years old Written byrudy1212 December 22, 2011

the hills have eyes review

this film contains strong grusome brutal violence,terror, gore, disturbing images of mutants, rape, and some strong language. this movie is great. its violent, it has great make up and special effects and the second half where they fight back is great. a must watch for horror fans

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byTaylor.1995 June 19, 2011

Just no.

No. I'm not normally a squeamish person. This movie was terrible. If you are the type of person to want to expose your kid(s) to gory, grotesque, graphic, bloody violence (plus rape), be my guest. I really have nothing to say except exercise extreme caution (and preview it) before letting your children watch it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old February 23, 2011

Good movie, good message,... I liked it!

The whole rape and muder was diturbing and unneccicary but if you think about the message you'll realize the movie's not half bad! The strong-willed father encounters many hardships and enemies along the way, shortly after a majority of his family dies, including his wife, while looking for his kidnapped daughter... Also, the mutant-girl in the red hoody turns out to be good,... she saves the baby, has to kill her brother and herself to save this man and -what's left of- his family. Good ending.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydb1250 January 25, 2011
great remake way better than the original
Teen, 15 years old Written byCyonnara October 25, 2010

Blood, Rape and Family do not mix

Very, very grim. Do not let children anywhere near this movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2010

Brutal movie

Overall a great movie. Throughout the movie the are non stopping scenes of brutal vilolence. The is also one other scene where a mutant attents to rape a yound girl but is interupted by his partner. Good for a kid about 14.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byjake7642 March 28, 2010

its actually really scary

i am not going to lie, this movie is really cool. the plot is very suspenseful and exciting. that aside, it is probably one of (if not THE most) the bloodiest/goriest, unhappy and dark movies i have ever seen. a man is burned alive in front of his weeping family. a teenage girl is raped by a disgusting mutant cannibal. there is a lot of times when a little baby's life is at risk. for the whole entire second half of the movie the characters are completely 100% DRENCHED with blood. aside from the shock value from all the blood and rape, the enemy is flat out really scary looking, just a picture of them is able to cause nightmares. the movie tries to get to your fears= claustrophobia (he wakes up in a tiny box with mutilated body parts surrounding him, he tries to break the box open while crying and in a pool of guts. helpless= although you are rooting for the family, it is obvious that they probably are not going to make it out of this one, they are in the middle of the desert, running out of food, getting shot raped and burned, and dont have any phone service. all of you who say that saw is the scariest and bloodiest movie out there, i dare you to watch this.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Positive role models

Pages