Parent reviews for The Other Guys

Common Sense says

Quirky buddy comedy mixes action, some raunchy stuff.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 35 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 84 reviews
Parent of a 9 and 12-year-old Written byMMStJohn August 9, 2014

Great cast, thin plot, disgusting sexual banter, misogynistic.

I so wanted to like this movie. I was watching it with a 13 year old boy and we both like Will Farrell and Marc Wahlberg. There is a bit of a story and some laugh out loud funny parts, but the perverse sexual innuendo ruined it for both of us. He even asked me to turn the movie off after the THIRD reference to old homeless men having group sex in Farrell's Prius. I am fine with romantic scenes, I'm not a prude - the sexual innuendo in this movie is almost all perverse and strange. Not at all my sense of humor and not at all appropriate (in my opinion) for a child of any age. Women are treated very disrespectfully, and there is CONSTANT swearing throughout. Just really disappointed that my Common Sense Media review didn't prepare me for how awful this movie was, so I'm laying it out for you - SKIP IT.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byTrying Hard September 6, 2010

I really regret I brought my 13 yr old son

I thought the movie was OK for an adult that doesn't mind very sexual humor. I took my thirteen year old son and regretted it. I think the very clear crude and aggressive sexual messages should make it more of an 16+ or even R rating. The folks that rate these movies either don't have kids or shouldn't have kids.
It shouldn't be OK to rate this PG 13 and not be rebuked for it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10, 11, and 13-year-old Written byReviewerDad August 14, 2010

Should have been rated R!! Parents beware.

I usaully agree with the reviews on this site, but had to join just to review this movie. I absolutely agree with the previous parents comments. This is an R-rated movie from beginning to end. Between the extremely bad language throughout, raunchy sex jokes, I couldn't see much that was anywhere near PG-13. I would only recommend this for 16 and older. Don't waste your money...wait until it comes out on cable and don't invite your kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJthompson222 February 10, 2019

Funny movie for parents NOT FOR KIDS

Adult Written bydavidrox January 12, 2013

LOL

Very Good. I thought it was hilarious, but not for little kids, just like all of Will Ferrel's movies. Too much swearing, at least 3 dozen S words, one muffled F word, and tons of A words, B words,ect. and sexual content, including one specific scene that goes a bit far. lots of innuendo, sex graphics referenced, ect. Language: 8/10, Sex: 8/10, Violence: 7/10

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 3, 9, and 12-year-old Written bywrite2char January 15, 2011

waste of time

What a waste of time. Pimping? not funny. Shooting your gun in the office? not funny. Accepting bribes? not funny.

This movie? NOT FUNNY.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bytylerc537 May 22, 2020

one of the best movies have ever seen.

this movie is very funny if your child is under 13 do no let them watch but if you they are mature enough then let not to bad of language no nudity thought there is some sexual talk and sex scene including dirty mike and the boys overall great movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byRichard T. August 23, 2016

The Other Guys is great, but be prepared

The other guys is an excellent film but was very innapropiate!Many references to a group,of homeless men having an orgy in a red Prius , Having "a three day sex marathon " where they will " lick the sweat off each other " a man says to his wife he wants to do her old man style , a man says riding in a Prius is like driving in a vagina , a cop says he has to have loads of sex for his job and much more.There is also loads of language !!! No f words though but like 60 s words .Violence isn't that bad though. Overall , I'm very lax usually about movies but this should have been R rated .14+

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byBekalyn34 May 7, 2021

Hilarious!!!!

Its appropriate for teens. super funny! little violent nothing to bad.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byLSF15 April 17, 2021

Super sexist and misogynistic

My 12 year old daughter walked out of this film on movie night. Every insult uses “feminine characteristics “ to debase / the Prius and tampons. A male character is accused of pissing like a woman. Will Ferrel’s character verbally abuses Eva Mendez over the meal she has cooked and she answers by trying to settle him down and offering to have sexual with him. Shocking messages for women. I can’t believe this movie is from 2010.
Adult Written byevasmith March 25, 2021

SO FUNNY

This is by far the funniest movie I have ever seen. While it comes with risky and inappropriate scenes/talk, it is well worth the time to watch. I have seen it 5 times.
Adult Written byUnder12345 October 22, 2020

Amazing

Perfectly fine for my 10 and 12 year old there was some stuff they didn’t get but they laughed
Adult Written byMomProf101 August 22, 2020

Mega-Misogyny

I was hoping for a funny, action movie to watch with my son. I had to stop 30 min in because the level of misogyny and homophobia are toxic. I wish they had poked fun at masculinity rather than just using old jokes objectifying and belittling women. So severely disappointed by Will Ferrell.
Adult Written byDewdle June 20, 2020

Seriously offensive with me redeeming qualities

I often read these bad reviews and dismiss them as over reacting, but I cringed through this entire movie. We had to have a serious conversation with the kids afterwards about toxic masculinity, homophobia, and chauvinism. Which would be fine if somehow the main characters had any sort of epiphany and redeemed themselves in the end. Instead it’s as though the creators just thought this sort of behaviour was totally acceptable. Not ok for children of any age, nor adults. Shocked CSM have this 3 stars - maybe rewatch it now with fresh eyes... although I can’t imagine it was ok 10 years ago either.
Adult Written byMatthewM 2 April 21, 2020

Yikes! Childish movie made to disgusting for children.

What..107 minutes couldn't get you 20 or 30 'fart' jokes. With that cast, I expected much. Got little. Disappointed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byMarkheap April 18, 2020

Sexist and bigoted

Really disappointingly full of bigoted scenes and promotion of lazy toxic masculinity in the push for laughs.
I watched it with my 12 year old son and it actually became reasonably useful to be an example of what's not appropriate in the name of laughs.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byDelelaw April 4, 2020

Not for children!

I personally enjoyed the start of this movie but there were a few moments where I cringed with my 10 and 12 year old boys watching. Then I thought going by the commonsense media reviews that I was past the worst of it and then there was a guy in his office watching porn and you can hear a young girl repeatedly saying something about taking her panties off. That was the last straw. I was so disappointed that my kids were exposed to this. I shouldn’t have let them watch ANY of it!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 12 and 14-year-old Written byDylan1226 March 27, 2020

Absolutely hilarious. A little racy, but not too bad. Fine for teenagers

My sons, 14 and 12, absolutely love Will Ferrell... Most of the time, that's OK, with classics like Elf, Anchorman, Talladega Nights, etc... but has gotten me into trouble before (Step Brothers), a movie that is hilarious, but nothing any kid should ever be watching. The Other Guys is one of Ferrell's funniest movies. It will have your kids laughing pretty much from start to finish... It's PG-13 and is probably as close to an R as you can get. There are a lot of sex references, but it's not shown, just talked about an implied, sometimes very graphically. As crude as it is, it's very funny. Language isn't too bad. Sometimes you have to figure that your kids are going to hear it all at school, and with movies like this that are worth watching, but borderline about how appropriate they are, I'd rather watch it with them then have them watch it on their own with their friends.
Parent of a 10, 12, and 16-year-old Written byHendo H. U January 11, 2018

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 11-year-old Written byChristy M. July 3, 2017

Not too bad

My 11 year old son asked me if he could watch this movie and at first I was very skeptical. But after some research I saw that this movie was not as bad as CSM said it was. There is a bit of language but it was not enough to be an important factor. There is some violence but it is not to graphic so it was okay. The sexual content is minimum. I ended up watching this movie with my son and we both really enjoyed it. I didn't let my son watch some of the other movies like this (anchorman, talledega knights), but this one was not nearly as bad as either. This is a great movie to watch with your11+ child. (Tween as my son likes to call it).

Pages