All parent member reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 49 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written by1Grammy1 December 31, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I hated this movie

I am 67 and ashamed that I saw this movie. Would NEVER recommend it to anyone of any age. A piece of filth that should have been X-rated. Words fail me as to how disgusting this was. Shameful, no redeeming value, no excuse for this trash to not be rated X. See something else.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bycebs December 25, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

gr8, but not even for mature teens

Great comedy movie ,great acting,barely skirts x rating Tons of sex ,nudity,drug use,profanity nonstop.Definitly not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byGood Sense One January 1, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Porn Flick

This movie was nothing sort of a porn flick. Disgusting relentless vulgar language. Non stop graphic sexual behavior. Very misleading trailer. Film should be rated X!!!! Not suitable for kids or adults. Way too much of everything. Totally offended, Got up and left. Requested a refund.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMovieBuff2014 January 6, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

"Worst movie to begin 2014 with".......

This is a horrible embarrassing movie and shouldn't be watched by a (70) year old much less a (17) year old. I'm ashamed of DiCaprio, McConaughey, and Reiner and all of the other actors who lowered themselves to be a part of this "NASTY' movie. When you go to a regular movie you do not expect to be in an "X" rated movie. I went with my mother to see this movie because the advertisements on TV of this movie sounded really interesting and we love Leonardo. But after making ourselves sit through 30 minutes of this filth, we got up and left. I actually felt dirty from hearing and seeing what I saw. I'm ashamed that Hollywood has lowered themselves to these kinds of movies for entertainment. Families please do not let your child see this movie and I'm begging you as parents to not let yourself see such a bunch of nothing except drugs, sex, filthy language and so many other "bad" things you can think of. SHAME on you Leonardo, Matthew and Rob who were role models to me in the past.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byethankat January 1, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

What NEXT?

Just saw this . Its just this side of porn . Contstant rotten language, drug use, sex. Went with a group had not prepared for it. It seems we are desensitize to every thing today. If the story is good anything is OK! I do not think so!
Adult Written bywatchfuleyemom January 1, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disgusted and Disappointed

ABSOLUTELY NOT FOR KIDS OR TEENS!! This movie should have an "X" rating and I cannot understand why it does not! My 17 year old son wanted to see this movie and was unable to join me...I was relieved he could not go and had he been with me I would have walked out of the theatre like several adult couples did. This movie had the potential of being a great film but the excessive, explicit, and unnecessary debauchery left nothing to the imagination making it a waste of time and money. Shame on Scorsese, di Capprio, Hollywood, and SHAME on the movie rating systed. Scary too think any 17 year old can go and see this without parental approval!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byItsAMeAgain January 19, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Absolutely... NOT!

Porn porn porn porn Porn porn porn porn cheat cheat sex sex sex drugs drugs drugs Porn porn porn porn. NOT FOR KIDS!!!!
Adult Written bychristian2011 December 25, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Incredibly clever and brilliant biopic about Wall Street broker Jordan Belfort.

All I can say is "wow". The Wolf of Wall Street was an outrageously entertaining and hilarious biography romp about the charismatic yet manipulative stock broker Jordan Belfort - with a flamboyant and comical edge. Martin Scorsese definitely thought outside of the box with this one; the plot, cinematography and acting was brilliantly executed, and the character's witty sense of strategy and humor resonates with you after each scene. Despite the humor and artsy flamboyance, the movie still successfully manages to retain the sequence of the success and downfall of Belfort's financial stock broking business collaboration. However, the film becomes more darker and dramatic later on. This is a movie intended only for adults (18+), because the previous rating was NC-17 but several scenes have been cut down slightly to approve the hard R rating. DiCaprio's character is shown committing consistent acts of debauchery (remarriage, cheating with prostitutes, scene of incest) and proclaimed drug addict. There's a great multitude of explicit sex scenes and different types of sexual acts (including homosexual) shown throughout the film, combined with graphic nudity (breasts, buttocks, pubic region, vagina) shown clearly, including brief graphic shots of male genitalia. There's heavy drug usage and abuse shown throughout, such as characters abusing a countless array of drugs (cocaine, lewds, crack, heroin, marijuana) etc.; including the graphic high phase afterwards. The language is very strong and pervasive, nearly 500 uses of f**k, motherf**ker, sh*t, crude anatomical terms, and religious blasphemy. There's a few scenes of violence but not overly graphic or disturbing, mostly domestic. Sex (5/5) Drug Use (5/5) Language (5/5) Violence (2/5) Intensity (3/5)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bypvmommy January 5, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Beware -- this is not just another R-rated film (we made HUGE mistake)

I have never used Common Sense Media before -- never suffered much for it until last night. We took our 13.5-year-old son to this movie. He has seen a number of "R" rated movies before but this film was entirely different. Note that I took the time to watch the trailer ahead of time -- thought it would be more like "Animal House" with sophomoric, slightly vulgar humor which we tolerate. I am embarrassed and remorseful at the fact that my son saw this. It wasn't a little sexual innuendo -- it was just full on sex, orgies, etc. Lots of talk about shaved private parts...one scene the wife has her legs spread apart with the husband down on the floor looking up her skirt...rooms full of naked people...countless frontal shots of fully naked women (these are not quick shots)...a candle in someone's rear end...talk about how one needs to masturbate several times a day (this is "normal"). Need I go on? I am not even the slightest big prudish but this was way over the top. Some of the acting was good, though not good enough to carry a three hour performance (I didn't realize how long it would be and several times thought "Will this depravity ever end?"). I had hoped that it might show my son that a career on Wall Street might not be the best choice (my husband and I both have MBAs) and I suppose it fulfilled that end, though at a huge cost. Bottom line: totally inappropriate for young adults and I don't know much about movie ratings these days (we just don't go that often) but this should have received the equivalent of "X" (which may be NC-17).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byLEAD FOOT January 6, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

THE DEVILS ALIVE IN THIS MOVIE! FRIGHTENING!!!

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY. IT'S A SHOCKER. AS THEY SAY "YOU DON'T COME OUT THE WAY YOU WENT IN".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bySriduttN January 3, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

An Honest, Unbiased Assessment

I rarely, if ever, say that a movie should not be seen by children at all. I'm 18, and while I was never truly disturbed by the movie, I would not let anyone under the age of 16 watch this film. Honestly, though, I do not know how it escaped the NC-17 rating. The sex is basically softcore pornography. At the same time, the acting is brilliant and the story is great, like all other Scorsese films. I think the reviews on this website are too quick to judge the film by its extreme content without looking at the story and the messages. It's an amazing film that is well worth the watch and perhaps one of the most important indictments of Wall Street in media to date - but it should not be seen by anyone under the age of 16, probably 17. That being said, my 15 year old friend watched it with me and he was fine. Of course, it depends on the maturity of the person. But this movie is not for the faint of heart. An honest assessment of the film's extreme content: -Sex: Pervasive and borderline pornographic. Very extreme, if you're into it. -Language: Lots and lots of language, but you get desensitized to it over time. -Violence: Nothing really that disturbing other than the main character abusing his wife by slapping her and punching her in the stomach and then getting cocaine and driving off with a baby. -Drugs: A LOT. This is one of the most explicit drug films I've ever seen. But I don't find drug use disturbing at all. I think this movie's funniest scene is about drug use. This movie feels a lot like Goodfellas.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byAnthony Scott December 28, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The Guys From (wolf) Wall Street Rips You Off Again - Do not Invest

The absolute worst 3 hrs and 20 bucks I've ever spent on this predictable overindulgent movie that starts nowhere and goes nowhere. How can you give this "comdedy??" movie even 1 star is beyond me,maybe because it's a "Marty" movie? oooh aaaah
Adult Written bytina06will January 7, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Should be rated XXX

I went to see this film with my prospective in-laws and felt the need to apologize several times afterwards! The previews do not lead you to think that this film would have so much vulgarity included in it. I was ashamed for wanting to see it. This film changed my opinions towards Leonardo de Caprio. I will no longer think of him as that wholesome actor from Titanic. Please do not view this movie with children or teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byI_TellTheTruth January 12, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A Masterpiece That is Not For Children

Wow, this was quite a good movie. Honestly. I could go on about how great it was, but that's not really what this website is for. --------------------------------------- LANGUAGE: Apparently it set a record for the most number of "f**k"s spoken in film. I don't doubt it, but I wasn't really paying attention to the number. There was also great usage of the words "c**ks**ker," "c**t," and "Godd**n." ----------------- DRUGS: This movie had some really graphic scenes of drug use. So graphic in fact that I felt a bit squirmy at times. The main character snorts cocaine out of a prostitute's an*s and becomes partially paralyzed in an extended scene that involves him crawling back to his home after overdosing on expired Quaaludes. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- SEX: This film also stirred up a ton of controversy for its sex scenes, of which there are many. Characters are seen thrusting, moaning, and talking dirty in various states of undress. Some sex scenes are orgies; others are one-on-one. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- NUDITY: I had also heard before going into this film that it was going to have a lot of "graphic" nudity. I'm not sure if "graphic" was the right word. When I think "graphic," I think on-screen depictions of male or female genitalia. There WAS some graphic nudity, in this sense, but what the film had a lot more of was nudity of the non-graphic nature. Let me explain: One very brief scene did show a man's e*ect p*nis as he was m*sturbating in public, and this was graphic, but very quick. There was technically a lot of full-frontal female nudity, but in every scene featuring a naked woman's crotch, it was mostly obscured by her pubic hair, shadow, or her legs. In other words, you didn't actually see any v*ginas, even when considering the very limited portion of the female genitalia that is visible on some women when they stand straight up. That being said, one scene did involve a woman spreading her legs open to her husband, but the shot right before she covers herself with her hand is so exceedingly brief that nothing at all can really be seen, and it would be hard to say whether or not there actually is even an image of genitalia that could be seen in some kind of frame-by-frame playback. In addition, there is a countless number of on-screen breasts and buttocks, both male and female. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- VIOLENCE: There is one scene in which a man punches another man and causes him to bleed and another character to vomit from seeing the blood. The main character gags himself over a toilet bowl (we don't see anything) to purge his body before taking some intense drugs. ---------------------------------------------------------- Again, this movie was excellently written and directed. It's laugh-out-loud funny at times, and hard to watch at others because of the graphic drug use and the overall pitifulness of the anti-role models' lives. Its combination of numerous sex scenes, coarse language, nudity, and graphic substance abuse make it a film that's best for adults only.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydani1222 January 9, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Soul-less

The best part of this movie is the federal agent played by Kyle Chandler. I found myself wanting him back in the movie more, but perhaps that is because i wanted to see the Wolf pay for his sins. The film is based on the autobiography of Mr. Belfort who very clearly but unwittingly expresses himself as a self-indulgent, con artist using his talents for evil. Although we can see the Wolf's life turns into a mess, he doesn't. He never seems to learn anything and his life is about nothing other than greed. While this may be his true to his life, it made me think of all the recent wall street deception and plummet of the American economy. The bigger story seems to be in why guys like this seem to always be able to make some deal while leaving destruction and devastation in their paths.There is nothing glamorous or funny about it, yet that is the tone of the movie. He ultimately sells out the people closest to him to only help himself which is also true to who he is(or isn't). The mayhem that he creates in his life are his real drug that he is not interested in getting help for. I would only want my kids to ever see this movie to learn how exactly not to be in life, but would never want them to see it because, even though it is superbly acted, it is soul-less.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3 year old Written byregassert6 January 17, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disappointing.

I always appreciated Roger Ebert's ability to view a film for its intended purpose and audience and then review it accordingly. So here we go: this film is sublimely acted, directed and shot. It's a quick feeling 3 hours of jokes, sex, drugs and near slapstick antics. It was entertaining and I laughed a lot. However, the story is empty. It's Scarface meets Wall Street, however, the bad guy wins in the end and you never see any consequences of the deeds. While Scorcese has defended the film's lack of ANY acknowledgement of the victims of the stock frauds, I think it's an awful omission. This film was all glamour and gloss with no substance. I can't believe that Ben Younger did more with this idea in Boiler Room than an all time great did with it in "Wolf." Stratton Oakmont ruined people's lives. Making it into a comedy, even a dark comedy, is just wrong. You wouldn't have made "Flight 93" into a musical; some subjects tone is not up for debate. I was disappointed in Martin Scorcese.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byjosh fernandez January 16, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

best film out for 2013 a must see

the wolf of wall street is a very funny black comedy.Its not for kids it has extensive amounts of graphic nudity including multiple orgies strong graphic sex scenes graphic nudity nonstop swearing .the film is defintely not for kdis but its a scorsese film depicting what happened to jordon belfort and i think its a msut see film its great i personally gave it a 10 but its for the adults
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written bynixter933 January 2, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great movie, but DO NOT take the kids!

This is a great movie, but should be NC-35! Full of nudity, sex and drugs. It is extremely entertaining, though, and great performances by the entire cast. Best movie I saw in 2013!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byJGP6 January 9, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Wolf on Wall Street will leave you Stunned

How this movie got a R rating I do t know. Very accurate description of this film here.
Adult Written bythe wise one March 20, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Another great film by Scorsese

Scorsese has made yet another wildly entertaining film that is relentless with its strong content. The Wolf of Wall Street shows us the true story of stock broker Jordan Belfort and his rise to extreme wealth by manipulating and taking advantage of others. The acting is superb, DiCaprio absolutely deserved the Oscar for this, it's a shame he was robbed yet again by the Academy. The directing is great and it's narrated by the main character Jordan Belfort, just like Goodfellas and Casino. This movie is a relentless ride filled to the brim with strong sexual content, extreme amounts of profanity, and a heavy amount of drug use. The characters are shown living extreme lives of excess, which includes lots and lots of sex, nudity, orgies, and graphic sexual talk. Drug use shown throughout, with a heavy emphasis on cocaine and quaaludes. There is an extended scene of man who is so inebriated from quaaludes that he struggles to even stand and walk to his car. Shocking things in The Wolf of Wall Street include: many sexual scenes including graphic nudity and a gay orgy, non stop strong language with over 500 F words, and constant use of cocaine and quaaludes. One thing that film isn't heavy on is violence. Unlike Scorsese's other films, violence is not shown very often. The violence in this film includes a scene of a man punching another man with blood spurting from his nose, a scene of two men hanging another man over a balcony, and an intense scene of ship capsizing due to bad weather. There are no positive role models in this film, and after Jordan Belfort is released from prison, he doesn't seem to have changed at all. Recommended for adults only.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages