All teen and kid member reviews for deviantART

Kids say

(out of 79 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byISpeakTheTruth January 2, 2011

Don't even waste you're time.

I have been a memeber of Deviantart for a month and I can tell you that the site is okay in some regards. However, I have many pet peeves with this site in particular because it seems to me that everywhere theirs a noticible over abundance of fanart from over 85% of the "artwork" contributions. This would include many characters that are from popular games, cartoon series and the most widely used one Anime. Because of this, many users on the site, if they were to draw fanart alone and be really good at it, this might cause a lot of popularity for that artist. Now if you're not accostomed to drawing fanart, like myself, but are really good at your work despite that then Deviantart is NOT the place for you. Sure, there would be some people that would like your work, but you wouldn't be have as successful as any of the other users. You either have to be really good at doing fanart or really good at doing art period. Otherwise, you will have a hard time trying to get 'watchers' (people who subscribe to you in order to view your most recent work) on Deviantart. Another issue that I would like to bring up is the fact that their is a significant amount of swearing in the "Complaints" forum, all of which seems to go against the sites ettiquette policy. If that's not stressful enough, the admins on the site when you go to report a legititmate problem then when go to the help desk they seem rather reluctant to listen to your issue and hardly ever do anything about it. There was this one time a couple years back that some users were unfairly banned because they kept pestering them with certain users that were harrassing them. Also, their seems to be a rumor that seems to be most likely true concerning the sites management when it comes to punishments. For starters, it's been noted that users that usually have premium memberships, or have advanced accounts are usually given lighter punishments versus users that have just a standard membership; which in turn are given harsher punishments for some of the most minor offenses. And you know it really seems to get really sad, when some of the news articles on the site even says that "Deviantart sucks" or "Deviantart admins are unfair" and so on. And as for the pornagraphic pictures on the site, their are some labels that artists can put some of the pictures under, like "mature art" or "mature restricted to 18 plus" which for the most part is one of the good aspects of the site. Unfortunately, their seems to be a lot of pictures on the site that aren't put under any of these labels that include young women wearing mature outfits or are either shown completely topless. I've even seen pictures that have a lot of disturbing messages and show a lot of disturbing images that may offend some users. And believe me, their is nothing "artistic" about some of the pictures that include that at all. It's sick really. It's like a form of soft porn fetishes under the fake classification of "artwork". Which is sad, considering that it violates some of the sites policies and yet the administrators on the site do absolutely nothing. I wouldn't dare recommend this site to anyone who wants to show their artistic expression outside of fanart or anybody who wants to have a certain amount of feedback on their work, or to anybody who's 13. Infact don't even waste your time. There are better sites out their than this one. Believe me.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheRebel February 24, 2015

DeviantART Sucks

This is a horrible, horrible website. I am a learning artist and I joined this site when my old friend made me an account. It was ok, for a while. Then everything went south very fast, especially when I learned it wasn't just art, it is very much a social website, just like Facebook. I started getting harassed by sexual predators, and men who were more than twice my age. The site contains way too much porn and nudity that is not even appropriate for an 18 year old to see. And it's not just that. Their are tons of art thieves and the site refuses to do anything about it. If you contact the site's management about any problem, they are very unhelpful and basically tell you they can't help you, to "deal with it" and get lost. The WORST part about the whole site is the CYBERBULLYING. Me and my friends were viciously attacked by other users, and some were even adults! They told us to "go die", cussed us, accused us of everything under the sun, and made us feel bad about ourselves. We didn't feel like an artist at all, and we lost our self esteem for a while. Again, the website did not care that we were being harassed like this. (They didn't care probably because the people who harassed us were extremely popular artists who had done this many times before. The site just turns their head, and let's them bully others; many of the victims are not in the wrong.) It was a horrible experience and waste of my time and life. I immediately shut down my account and will NEVER go back. I encourage you not to waste your life there. It is a terrible website. Parents, you should really be careful if your kids are on here, and try to get them to leave. They are in danger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byAstardomwen May 11, 2011

Good For Older Kids, but not 12 and under.

I have used DA for about 4 months and so far the problems I have encountered on it are language and pornography. We fellow Deviants work hard to keep DA a safe and clean place, but there still are some people who will try to get by us. Some Deviants like to use words like sh-t and f-k, but most often they are rebuked for it. People who are caught posting porn are deleted off the site
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byquonginongnong March 3, 2011

Great site, buuuuuut...

Having been a very frequent user of the site for almost two years now, I think deviantART is a great site, and a valuable resource. The site features a vast range of artwork from all skill levels- amateur to professional. I even know of a few animators for Disney/Pixar who post their sketches and personal work on the site. DeviantART has value to just about everyone in one way or another. Kids can look at fanart for their favorite cartoons, or get inspiration from brilliant illustrators specializing in cute fluffy animals. Students can use deviantART to upload work they've done for school projects, or on their own time, and get valuable feedback and critique on it, as well as learning from many tutorials and guides for improving their art or writing, and for accessing a wide variety of stock images to use as references for their own work. The overall atmosphere is constructive, supportive and fun, and the community is quirky and eclectic, promoting diversity and personal growth. This said, deviantART is still not a site for everyone, especially young kids. Though users are generally responsible with what they post, and are careful to place 'mature content' tags on art banning younger users from viewing/reading it, there's no denying that deviantART shows the darker underbelly of art at times. Some art is highly sexual or violent, featuring nude figures (usually women), excessive gore and alcoholism/drug abuse. Heated debates have occurred in the forums discussing whether the admins allow porn on the site, masquerading as art, and admins are sometimes accused of playing favorites among artists & genres. And, as with every unmonitored forum site, there are some badmouthed jerks posting hateful and inappropriate comments, founding crude, tasteless groups and being generally unpleasant. All in all, deviantART is a fun, constructive, helpful site with a few very rotten seeds mixed in the bunch. I highly recommend it, but only for older kids or people who can overlook shock-factor artwork.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byGod'sLittleAngel November 5, 2014

DeviantArt is not a good website- don't be fooled!

For about the first 6 months I was a part of that website, everything was great. People left nice comments on my art, I got along with other users, it was a fun community. Then everything changed. Certain users started stalking me. People started flaming others, cussing out other users, and WW3 started. But that's not all. There are sexual predators lurking on that website, plenty of trolls, and downright disrespectful people who have no life. It was a very negative experience, and you have no privacy on there. Please don't waste your time on DeviantArt. Encourage kids/teens to spend their time elsewhere, in a more positive environment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny January 29, 2011

Nice website...

DeviantArt is great! You can share art and stories to the community and it's all pretty simple. It can be iffy at times, so children beware. There's plenty of violence, sex, and gore, so be sure to apply the parental block if you're really young or hate to see inappropriate content. Like ISpeakTheTruth said, there's much popularity surrounded by anime, which can be a problem at times. However, that's not always the case. Just make something really good and stunning and you're sure to pull in a few fans. Don't forget to ask your parents before signing up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byperimia May 28, 2013
You won't come across porn unless you look for it. There's a lovely thing called a mature filter! :) So unless you have immature kids looking for pictures of naked women, it's really great. I sell my doodles on there and make small money to buy sweets ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old February 4, 2012

inaproppriate

Too much language, sex, and violent pictures. Unsafe too
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old June 15, 2011

Give me a break people!!

I say Ages 12 and up should be fine.I am 12 and I got banned from there because one person thought I just wanted to look up 'pornography' But I didn't!!! I just wanted to post my artwork to show other people.I am a lot more mature than most 12 year olds.Everyone I know thinks so.I didn't look at 'nudy' pictures or anything like that,the most I did was read couple stories that had curse words in them. -.- really people. I think this is a great site for kids who are mature enough to handle it.But that's up to the parents to decide.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bytrophyboy August 2, 2015

It's a great community !!

It's a rather friendly and very diverse place! I've been on for a year and haven't personally run into any problems! But only problems I've seen have to do with the staff and their handle on art theft. It's very hard to spread the word about them let alone address them. But other than that, it's a very nice place to make new friends with the same interests as you!
Teen, 13 years old Written byceh143 April 8, 2012

Okay for 13 and up, some bad stuff

In my opinion, I think this site is fine for 13 and up, but it really depends on your maturity and what your parents are alright with you seeing. Deviantart is great for young artists to view others work and learn art techniques. Under the topic of cursing and foul language, there is only a small amount. Most bad language is abbreviated. Most of the sexual content is only used in artistic nudity. After all, if you go to an art museum, there will be nude statues and portraits. You will only find very sexual material if you really search for it on purpose. Violence is an issue, with some pictures including lots of blood. Literature ranges anywhere from clean to m rated. However, lots of pieces will give an explicit warning as to what is included. And as for the users, most are gracious, kind, and willing to give feedback, help, and constructive criticism. This doesn't mean everyone will be this way, though. Comments are really what you would expect on any site with comments enabled- there's going to be some profanity thrown about. If you are not mature or uncomfortable with seeing some questionable content, then I wouldnt go to this website.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byjpeanut1999 March 6, 2012

Great if your artistic

Teen, 16 years old Written byhappyginger January 19, 2013

Wonderful for Aspiring Artists

I've learned a lot about art and technique from Deviant Art. It's great for aspiring artists to follow, watch, and interact with their favorite artists. Parents should know there can be some sexual content, but can be blocked by mature filters.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2012

Definitely not for young kids...

Great website for the sharing of artwork and can be used to gain popularity and constructive criticism. But be warned; art comes in many forms. Even though the mature content feature may be on, the viewer still has the ability to see the artwork after clicking the "show anyway" button. Also, artists can decide whether or not kids under the age of 18 can see the artwork. Being an artist on dA since August 8, 2011, I've learned this the hard way...
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old July 27, 2012

I dunno. I haven't signed up.

I like it! I just see what's there. Pictures of cats ect. Of course it depends what you're looking at, but some storie have curse words. But to me, its just like a tipical day in school.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymaddyporter4639 November 28, 2011

DA is spot on!

I love this website and I am a member. Unless you are searching for "dirty pictures" and have the mature filter off, your child should be safe on this creative and fun website. It is very fun to use and send a positive message to its users.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old April 28, 2011

Sexual stuff

great site-only problem is that there are pics of naked women ect....also comments can be mean
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byAChoosyTeenager July 11, 2016

Stay Away From the site

This site is horrible there are children 7-12 on it. There is porn on the site and pedophile. Do not let your children on here. I've experienced this first hand. The staff won't do anything about it at all.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byTangiRose January 18, 2012

Site itself is good...Some users are very rude.

I wish it were monitered...I'm very clean-mouthed, and the cussing is just...unbearable!! I still have an account and am active in it, but I almost NEVER browse the public art...I wish it were monitered, or at least had a filter you could turn on-and-off for curses. I mean, some of the emotions you can choose--FROM the admins themselves--curse. Not horribly, but I would rather that one say, 'Peeved'...if you get my drift. Ugh. The main reason I do enjoy it however is because I can keep up with some virtual friends that I'm too skittish to give my Facebook. Another pro is getting advice on my artwork. I think that's it for this review...just keep this in mind; don't join if you can't stomach curses and a little blood. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byA-Girl-In-A-Sweater December 17, 2011

If you don't LOOK for inappropriate things, you won't FIND any!

If you're a mature 13-year-old or so, this site is just FINE. The reason I say 'mature' is that younger kids could reveal too much on the site if they don't quite understand what privacy means. About the website having sexual things- first of all, there's a 'mature artwork' label for things that aren't for younger eyes. And second- sure, there's probably porn and naked women somewhere on it- but know what? If you don't LOOK for it, you won't find any, just like the REST of the internet! The one thing that is bad is the language. Since it's the internet, people disregard all politeness when it comes to bad words- but if the child knows that cursing is wrong, it won't affect them. Any responsible 13-year-old should do just fine on the site- it's very useful for getting better at art and sharing it with others! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing

Pages