Kid reviews for deviantART

Common Sense says

Online art gallery is creative space for older teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 67 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 102 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheRebel February 24, 2015

DeviantART Sucks

This is a horrible, horrible website. I am a learning artist and I joined this site when my old friend made me an account. It was ok, for a while. Then everything went south very fast, especially when I learned it wasn't just art, it is very much a social website, just like Facebook.

I started getting harassed by sexual predators, and men who were more than twice my age. The site contains way too much porn and nudity that is not even appropriate for an 18 year old to see.

And it's not just that. Their are tons of art thieves and the site refuses to do anything about it.

If you contact the site's management about any problem, they are very unhelpful and basically tell you they can't help you, to "deal with it" and get lost.

The WORST part about the whole site is the CYBERBULLYING. Me and my friends were viciously attacked by other users, and some were even adults! They told us to "go die", cussed us, accused us of everything under the sun, and made us feel bad about ourselves. We didn't feel like an artist at all, and we lost our self esteem for a while. Again, the website did not care that we were being harassed like this.

(They didn't care probably because the people who harassed us were extremely popular artists who had done this many times before. The site just turns their head, and let's them bully others; many of the victims are not in the wrong.)

It was a horrible experience and waste of my time and life. I immediately shut down my account and will NEVER go back.

I encourage you not to waste your life there. It is a terrible website.

Parents, you should really be careful if your kids are on here, and try to get them to leave. They are in danger.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byGod'sLittleAngel November 5, 2014

DeviantArt is not a good website- don't be fooled!

For about the first 6 months I was a part of that website, everything was great. People left nice comments on my art, I got along with other users, it was a fun community. Then everything changed. Certain users started stalking me. People started flaming others, cussing out other users, and WW3 started. But that's not all. There are sexual predators lurking on that website, plenty of trolls, and downright disrespectful people who have no life. It was a very negative experience, and you have no privacy on there.

Please don't waste your time on DeviantArt. Encourage kids/teens to spend their time elsewhere, in a more positive environment.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byperimia May 28, 2013
You won't come across porn unless you look for it. There's a lovely thing called a mature filter! :)
So unless you have immature kids looking for pictures of naked women, it's really great. I sell my doodles on there and make small money to buy sweets ;)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byNoxiousXRain May 4, 2021

This is just awful smh

I went on here to see if they had some cool dragon ball super paintings for my gamer pics and everything.This website is so bad that when you type in dragon ball super it has a lot of nasty stuff on there.I don’t even recommend anybody looking at it.
Teen, 14 years old Written bytrophyboy August 2, 2015

It's a great community !!

It's a rather friendly and very diverse place! I've been on for a year and haven't personally run into any problems! But only problems I've seen have to do with the staff and their handle on art theft. It's very hard to spread the word about them let alone address them. But other than that, it's a very nice place to make new friends with the same interests as you!
Kid, 12 years old February 4, 2012

inaproppriate

Too much language, sex, and violent pictures. Unsafe too

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byISpeakTheTruth January 2, 2011

Don't even waste you're time.

I have been a memeber of Deviantart for a month and I can tell you that the site is okay in some regards. However, I have many pet peeves with this site in particular because it seems to me that everywhere theirs a noticible over abundance of fanart from over 85% of the "artwork" contributions. This would include many characters that are from popular games, cartoon series and the most widely used one Anime. Because of this, many users on the site, if they were to draw fanart alone and be really good at it, this might cause a lot of popularity for that artist. Now if you're not accostomed to drawing fanart, like myself, but are really good at your work despite that then Deviantart is NOT the place for you. Sure, there would be some people that would like your work, but you wouldn't be have as successful as any of the other users. You either have to be really good at doing fanart or really good at doing art period. Otherwise, you will have a hard time trying to get 'watchers' (people who subscribe to you in order to view your most recent work) on Deviantart.
Another issue that I would like to bring up is the fact that their is a significant amount of swearing in the "Complaints" forum, all of which seems to go against the sites ettiquette policy. If that's not stressful enough, the admins on the site when you go to report a legititmate problem then when go to the help desk they seem rather reluctant to listen to your issue and hardly ever do anything about it. There was this one time a couple years back that some users were unfairly banned because they kept pestering them with certain users that were harrassing them.
Also, their seems to be a rumor that seems to be most likely true concerning the sites management when it comes to punishments.
For starters, it's been noted that users that usually have premium memberships, or have advanced accounts are usually given lighter punishments versus users that have just a standard membership; which in turn are given harsher punishments for some of the most minor offenses.

And you know it really seems to get really sad, when some of the news articles on the site even says that "Deviantart sucks" or "Deviantart admins are unfair" and so on.

And as for the pornagraphic pictures on the site, their are some labels that artists can put some of the pictures under, like "mature art" or "mature restricted to 18 plus" which for the most part is one of the good aspects of the site. Unfortunately, their seems to be a lot of pictures on the site that aren't put under any of these labels that include young women wearing mature outfits or are either shown completely topless. I've even seen pictures that have a lot of disturbing messages and show a lot of disturbing images that may offend some users. And believe me, their is nothing "artistic" about some of the pictures that include that at all. It's sick really. It's like a form of soft porn fetishes under the fake classification of "artwork".

Which is sad, considering that it violates some of the sites policies and yet the administrators on the site do absolutely nothing.

I wouldn't dare recommend this site to anyone who wants to show their artistic expression outside of fanart or anybody who wants to have a certain amount of feedback on their work, or to anybody who's 13.

Infact don't even waste your time. There are better sites out their than this one. Believe me.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byPuzbie August 22, 2019

It’s honestly okay, but not a great place to sell your art.

Honestly, deviantart isn’t this overly pornographic or nsfw site as some people claim, it is extremely easy to stay away from any of that.
I started there when I was 11 but I put the age as 13 as you may accidentally come across provocative pictures but nothing extreme if you keep the mature filter on and don’t go searching for it.

The community you see seems to depend on how you yourself act. If you try your best to stay away from any drama and just do your thing it’s unlikely you will encounter bulling or anything you don’t want too much. There will always be some, that’s the same for pretty much anywhere on the internet.

One thing it can do is make you feel disappointed at the amount of watchers you gain, after a year I gained 650 which actually isn’t too bad on deviant art but others have it a lot worse. This honestly falls down on what people want to see however, you should never force yourself to be someone you are not.

I also would say it isn’t that great of a site to sell art, as a lot of people don’t want to pay more than 100 points / $1.00. I’ve managed to slowly increase my pricing and it’s working but for professionals I’d definitely recommend not selling commissions on this site unless you have at least 1000 watchers or more.

It’s nit the best thing ever but, it can be enjoyable and I’ve met a lot of lovely people there.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byCrafty K. April 17, 2018

CYBERBULLIES, PREDATORS, CHILD PRON, AND FETISH ART

WARNING THIS IS NOT A SAFE SITE. I ended up having to leave deviantart a few weeks ago due to bullies and predators. I joined a little over a year ago, and I loved posting my art, and getting advice, and admiring the work of other artists. I wasn't noticed until I started making friends and joining groups, but I didn't mind. Deviantart was a very happy place for the first few months, but then I ran into some REALLY bad cyber bullies. I'm a minor and I was bullied very very badly on this website. I was called a wh0re multiple times for taking a selfie in jean shorts, people said Im a ped0phile for liking cute art (not l0licon, not p0rn, just like regular fully clothed anime) and for liking my little pony . People told me to ki1l myself and tried to bully me into doing so, people harassed me, threatened me, older men tried to get me to send nudes and role play with them, several older men tried to make me make them fet1sh art , even after knowing I was a minor. I got a lot of creepy messages like "hey pretty girl, I'd love to be your master" . And the deviantart staff is horrible. The deviantart staff basically sided with the bullies and the pedophiles even though my age is clearly on my profile, and they ignored my reports. There have been many accounts of the deviantart staff letting people get away with horrible behavior towards young people on that site just because the predator is paying for membership. Someone was making multiple accounts to send me notes threatening me because they had ended up finding personal information about me (my full name and age and location) and the deviantart staff did nothing. Even though doxxing is against their rules, and so is block evading. People have spread crazy lies about me saying my boyfriend is way older than me and a ped0phile, when he's actually a year younger than me and we have known eachother in real life for years! And our parents know eachother! People I had never met before claimed I had a diaper fetish even though I think the diaper fetish is gross. (No hate that just isn't for me) people have also stolen and traced my art using deviantart. I joined a group against sexual assault and made art for it, and I was then harassed and made fun of me for being a survivor of child [email protected] I've had several people bullying me and lying about me with literally no proof. They were making things up for no reason! They said I'm a wh0re because a few drawings in my gallery are nude sketches (of adults , that my mom knows about and is perfectly fine with), and said I'm a lesbian because I think two characters (Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy) would make a cute couple . (I like male and female couples too so I don't see the problem, I just like romance and love, I like happy things. ) There is WAY too much fetish art, gore, body shaming, bullies, and predators on that site. A few of my friends have also been harassed for being autistic or having mental disorders (depression, anxiety, PTSD). You should also know the staff seems to be fine with nude/sexualized pictures of children. Because people get away with nude drawings of children all the time. Me and lots of my friends have had to leave due to bullying. I begged the people bullying me to stop but they didn't. I had a suicide attempt and left deviantart , abandoning my account without a single word. I haven't drawn since because I was attacked so much. Over all I experienced bullying, doxxing, people tracing my art and claiming it as their own, older men trying to prey on me, and lots of inappropriate content and contact from strangers even though my account has a mature filter. Do not join this site unless you can handle bullying, fetish art, art thieves, ped0philes, and having your information stolen. Definitely don't recommend to anyone under 16. It could be a great site if the people weren't so dangerous, and the staff actually cared about its members. I know several people now who've been preyed on due to this site. And almost all my friends have experienced some kind of extreme harassment. The staff doesn't care at all about its members, and will not help you. People have gotten their credit card information stolen, and been billed extra for membership .

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bymaddyporter4639 November 28, 2011

DA is spot on!

I love this website and I am a member. Unless you are searching for "dirty pictures" and have the mature filter off, your child should be safe on this creative and fun website. It is very fun to use and send a positive message to its users.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byHainesama123 September 11, 2014

Just be warned

I think this website is best for 15 or older with out parent supervision. but if you re 14 or under, you may wanna have a parent watch what you are searching on there.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2014

Experiences

As a child artist, I like to browse dA sometimes. It's a great site, you can find tutorials, and users will usually support you somehow. It supports all forms of art, including writing. However, take note that there are content that's NSFW, including nudity, (not safe for work) colorful language, gore, and if you're in the right fandom, possible underage drinking/drugs/smoking. Some people will flame you, but ignore them. If your child really wants to browse dA, teach them the basics of the lingo. On the bright side, they do have a filter which filters out mature content.(Tip: If your kid is an avid shipper like me, keep in mind that if there is a 'future lemon' in the summary, that means there will be a scene in which the characters do 'it'.) Otherwise, I think dA is good if you have the right maturity level and self-censorship.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 6, 2014

Whyyyyyy Devenart,can you make a kids virson of this!?

I wish DevenaART had a kids virson....Or they can only show us the good stuff not the bad stuff!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bymatryoshka September 2, 2013

Great Website; just keep an eye out.

deviantART is definitely a website to watch look at, with the exception of younger children - it features many different types of art, which can include profanity, nudity, etc. However, there is an option to block mature content, and the website is decent enough with keeping anything 18+ under control. Yet, it is a great way to view art from any fandom, no matter what you like, post your own art, and have it viewed and critiqued by others. Some of today's most popular artists can be found there - and many of the users are very friendly.

Just watch out a bit if the viewer is under 14 or 15; any age where they haven't had health class.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2012

Definitely not for young kids...

Great website for the sharing of artwork and can be used to gain popularity and constructive criticism. But be warned; art comes in many forms. Even though the mature content feature may be on, the viewer still has the ability to see the artwork after clicking the "show anyway" button. Also, artists can decide whether or not kids under the age of 18 can see the artwork. Being an artist on dA since August 8, 2011, I've learned this the hard way...

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byromneysgirlfriend October 29, 2012

Ages 13+

I've had a profile for awhile, and it's allright. There's alot of innappropriate content, even if you don't look it up. However the really bad pictures aren't shown. The language isn't blocked though which is kind of disappointing. Like other members said, there is LOTS of anime on this site, which is why I like it, but it all depends on if you monitor your kid while they're on it. And if a picture is blocked, don't click on it because sometimes they'll show it anyway.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 17, 2012

There's a filter

Other people have complained that the site has inappropriate stuff. The thing is, there is a mature content filter that you can set for "strict, normal, or off" Mine is always on "strict", so nothing I see is inappropriate, and I'm 12. But it is up the the parents, really.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byholt_and_operetta April 28, 2012

NOT for kids. Even older teens should be wary.

As I am a hobbyist artist, I had a deviantART account for two years, and became quite acquainted with its many aspects.

Firstly, for a young artist, say 15, 16 or older, it is a wonderful place to share their art with the world, and have their egos boosted. It’s also I great place to meet other people with common interests, and I myself found great friends there.

However, with the praises there are also the critics, so it depends on whether one can handle the constructive criticism or not. One should be aware that it’s not all rainbows in the art world.
Then of course, apart from the constructive critics, are the “trolls”, meaning people that post EXTREEMLY vulgar, rude, and hurtful comments for no reason. While trolls are generally rare, they do pop up now and then, and in the two years I was on dA I encountered about three. Users can be blocked from another’s page, and if reported for a bad enough cause, can even be ‘banned’ from deviantART. However, as one of dA’s great flaws, even if you block a user, those users can easily create new accounts and still contact you.

While there is a great deal of innocent, kid-safe art on deviantART, there is a great deal more of violence, nudity, proactive and sexual content, vulgar language, drugs and drinking, etc. depicted in the art alone. (Quite apart from the fact that all of these can also be encountered by the people on dA.) While art pieces – or “deviations” – with such content can have “Content Warnings”, users (meaning your curious children), once reaching a warned deviation still have the option of hitting the “Show Anyway” button, thus proving the content warning pointless to begin with. Also, it is the *uploader’s* choice whether or not to include the content warning, so even if your children are mature enough not to “show anyway”, they will undoubtedly run across such art, regardless.

As much as I enjoyed my dA account, I recently gave it up because of the pressure, and stress from negativity it caused me.

Overall, deviantART is a very good place for older teens, and adults to share or appreciate art. But do NOT let your children go on there.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjpeanut1999 March 6, 2012
Teen, 13 years old Written byTangiRose January 18, 2012

Site itself is good...Some users are very rude.

I wish it were monitered...I'm very clean-mouthed, and the cussing is just...unbearable!! I still have an account and am active in it, but I almost NEVER browse the public art...I wish it were monitered, or at least had a filter you could turn on-and-off for curses. I mean, some of the emotions you can choose--FROM the admins themselves--curse. Not horribly, but I would rather that one say, 'Peeved'...if you get my drift. Ugh. The main reason I do enjoy it however is because I can keep up with some virtual friends that I'm too skittish to give my Facebook. Another pro is getting advice on my artwork. I think that's it for this review...just keep this in mind; don't join if you can't stomach curses and a little blood. :)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language

Pages