DreamBox Learning Math

Website review by
Erin Brereton, Common Sense Media
DreamBox Learning Math Website Poster Image
Online math games adjust in difficulty as you play.

Parents say

age 7+
Based on 14 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 11 reviews

We're committed to diversity in media.

We're updating our reviews to better highlight authentic stories and accurate, diverse representations. See something that needs to be addressed? Suggest an update to this review

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this website.

Educational Value

Kids can learn about arithmetic, number patterns, and other mathematical concepts. A wide variety of themed games teach kids how to count, add, subtract, multiply, divide, measure, do fractions, and more. The concepts and games presented are categorized between kindergarten and grade 8; and the program automatically and dynamically adjusts the difficulty of challenges based on your child's performance. Items can focus more on practice than actual instruction, so kids may want or need more explanation about how some concepts work. But overall, it’s a great resource for teaching math in a personal and sequential manner.

Violence & Scariness
Sexy Stuff
Language
Consumerism

Individual subscriptions are $12.95 a month, $59.95 for six months, or $99.95 a year; family plans for up to four children cost $19.95 a month, $99.95 for six months, or $149.95 a year. The site is offering a free 90-day trial to support families who may have home learning needs due to shelter-in-place guidelines if they sign up by April 30, 2020.

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

What parents need to know

Parents need to know that DreamBox Learning Math is a subscription-based educational math program for kids in grades K-8. The system adjusts to a student's math competency as they play. The program's accessed online without requiring a download from a computer. Parents can get regular updates on kids' progress, and the site is offering a free 90-day trial to support families who have home learning needs due to shelter-in-place guidelines. Parents just need to sign up by April 30, 2020. There's no inappropriate content to be found on the site.

Wondering if DreamBox Learning Math is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Continue reading Show less

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Adult Written bychicken boy February 19, 2020

Crap

I think that Dreambox is a dumb game that doesn't help and is on weed.
Adult Written byJohnCabot November 27, 2018

Woah there!

There is multiple ads when ever your device is connected to the internet, very scary! Also the "fun" mini games are not that fun. Please avoid buying... Continue reading
Kid, 10 years old June 2, 2020

Not cool

In dream box there is 2 levels one genuinely fun one you have till 3rd grade, and one SUPER TERRIBLE one. I have always been genuinely good at school, so in se... Continue reading
Teen, 14 years old Written byMonty Fonty June 1, 2020

Only Choose 1 star becouse theres no lower. It is torcher!

My school makes me use this 24 7 and it's horible. I don't learn anything becouse it's too distracting becouse they try to make it "fun... Continue reading

What's it about?

DREAMBOX LEARNING MATH is a subscription-based educational software game site that plays directly from the internet with no download. It has a powerful recommendation engine which tracks how kids play through the educational content and adjusts on the fly to present kids with a math curriculum that it most appropriate for them. Featuring over 1200 individual math activities for grades K-5, there are millions of different paths a child can take. After parents create an account at www.DreamBox.com, their kids play by choosing an avatar and the theme of their adventure (animals, pixies, pirates, or dinosaurs). Then it's off to explore a cartoon world that resembles a board game where each math activity represents a space on the board. Depending on how a child does while playing a math activity, the game will offer new math activities based on past performance, so the game dynamically adjusts to the child's need.

Is it any good?

This math learning-based site makes practicing concepts pretty easy. Kids log on, see a list of items that have been assigned to them that week, click on each one, and play the associated exercise. They may, for instance, determine how far frogs need to move to advance in a race, then see them jump. The system supposedly tailors content to their abilities, adjusting what they're given based on how they fare in activities. Instead of simply clicking on right answers, games draw kids into the process of making the right answer by utilizing virtual math manipulatives, and they're given some information about why moves they make are wrong.

While the site's cartoony world is charming, this program provides beneficial learning opportunities. If kids are good at math, they'll revel in the challenges they're given, and if they are struggling, the games can offer additional help and new ways to look at difficult math concepts. That alone makes the site worthwhile. Although there's a fee involved to subscribe, parents may also appreciate being able to monitor how long kids are using the site and what concepts they're learning through the family dashboard.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about which games kids liked playing better. What made them fun -- and what did they learn?

  • How does playing math games makes learning math fun? Would you rather learn math this way, or is the classroom setting more useful?

Website details

  • Subjects: Math: arithmetic, estimation, fractions, graphing, measurement, patterns
  • Skills: Thinking & Reasoning: analyzing evidence, deduction, part-whole relationships, problem solving
    Self-Direction: academic development, personal growth, work to achieve goals
  • Genre: Educational
  • Topics: STEM
  • Pricing structure: Free to try, Paid (The site is offering a free 90-day trial to support families who may have home learning needs due to shelter-in-place guidelines if they sign up by April 30, 2020.)
  • Last updated: November 30, 2020

Our editors recommend

For kids who love learning games

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality and learning potential.

Learn how we rate