All teen and kid member reviews for GoAnimate

Kids say

(out of 31 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byMegaAdam May 28, 2011

Don't Go!Animate

As an aspiring animator, I can tell you that animation needs to be a time-consuming process that requires concentration and the best effort you can possibly give. This website is actually insulting. I mean, can't we just DRAW characters? I thought the point of animation was meant to be your own drawing coming to life, not some badly-made little sprite that moves for you. Go!Animate claims that they're "teaching" kids how to make animations themselves, but they could at least, AT THE VERY LEAST, let us draw and use actual dialogue, not some awful Microsoft-Sam-style speech recognition thing. I could go on and on and on about the many flaws this site has, but it's easier to simply advise you to stay away from the site, don't bother using it, and if you DO decide to give it a go, DO NOT actually give money. There is a Premium option, but all it seems to offer is extra options for making your characters.
Kid, 10 years old February 24, 2014
LEARNING

Extremely innapropraite stuff!

Most people post videos following the story of Eric getting grounded. However, most of these, and even the original videos, are extremely innapropriate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byyeahbuddydotcom November 7, 2011

NOT FOR KIDS!!!

This website is EXTREMLY INNAPROPRIATE. In one movie making option, you can make a bunny suggestively point at their NUDE butt. No one under 20 should be able to see this extremly naughty bunny. Also, some president characters have the option to dance with TWO MIDDLE FINGERS HIGH IN THE AIR!!! :( This website is not for kids! You can also use a beer prop, swear in their sentences, use knives and other weapons, and even KILL each other. You can use characters and props from everyday life and use stores as backgrounds,such as McDonalds. Saftey is an issue because you can like other peoples videos, and watch them, even if they contain adult humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2014

Meh.

Positive Messages:I didn't see any. Violence:Characters can use weapons, and people can create violent scenes. Sex:People can include cleavage, and also nudity. Language:You can put swears in videos. Consumerism:You just pay for a membership to export videos to YouTube and other websites. Alcohol:Alcohol objects exist. Privacy:It is a website, so people may give out personal info. My review:It's pretty good for people who don't prefer drawing or is inspired by Family Guy. A lot of people make grounded videos, which, in my opinion, get annoying. Overall, if you don't want to draw characters, this is the animating website for you. You can also put images in there from your computer files. If you prefer drawing characters, making your own frames, or adding your own sounds (though GoAnimate allows that as well.), get Flash instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byMohacas October 24, 2015
LEARNING

Young kids won't like this

Parents, you need to know that people often make grounded videos out of various characters (Dora, Barney, Caillou, and other baby show characters) which could be very upsetting to little children. Not recommended for younger children due to the extreme behavior of the grounding videos.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old November 16, 2011

Not that good

Goanimate is a website that claims that you can make your own animations, but all they do is give you a handful of characters and you can select what you want them to do. Lots of videos have cursing(characters can say whatever you want them to say) videos can also have violence in them with dead bodies and blood. You are almost forced to buy goplus, the only way to make your own characters and movies longer than two minutes. Overall, don't bother with this site. Fourms are also about some suggestive themes. It is also very easy to hack into peoples account.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 16, 2016
LEARNING

GoAnimate Review

GoAnimate is actually really fun for lots of kids, especially younger kids or kids on the autism spectrum that can figure out how to use it. However it is extremely expensive. The price goes up every year. Currently it is 40 dollars per month to use, and that's on it's cheaper plan. However it has a for-schools website that is $100 a year. Still expensive but cheaper in the long run (that is if they decide to keep it that way) Even in the school environment where the bad props are censored out, kids can still do whatever. On the bright side, nowadays this website is completely isolated so you have to go through the long process of sharing your video for others to see it.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byMrMoviesGuy February 2, 2016
LEARNING

Best Animation Studio Website, But Not For Kids.

This is the best cartoon maker website that ever existed , what parents need to know that GoAnimate is famous for it's grounded videos. People can make inappropriate videos. This website contains cartoon and fantasy violence(it can be mild to strong, some people can put blood and gore in it) sexual references, bad language , cartoon drug use, crude humor, mature themes and other unsuitable things you can think of(except pornography and graphic nudity ) Some people can make suitable videos. Some grounded videos can have child abuse scenes(depending on what video , some of them can be graphic and some videos are not graphic) There is guns in this website. The whole website will be likley to be rated M. Because of inappropriate content , this is recommended for ages 15 years and over.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabemtz14 November 7, 2015
LEARNING

it's not safe

the web site is not or kids it's too dangerous on the goanimate for schools website because of the good user and bad user on youtube
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bythefamilyorg October 24, 2015
LEARNING

Mature Audiences Only

The website GoAnimate has some mature content that may be inappropriate for kids under 16. It contains foul language, suggestive dialogue, dirty situations, mature and extreme violence, alcohol, drugs, blood, and senseless humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobowilm September 16, 2015
LEARNING

TERRIBLE!

I used to like this site. Now I HATE it. The site has been ruined due to the changes on it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bycolinsy September 9, 2015
LEARNING

Don't waste your time and money

I can remember since 2007 to like 2009 you used to make like a 3 minute animation and send it to your family and friends like for the holidays and birthdays but now it has come to an end. Since Comedy World came out as a theme on Go!Animate there has been hidden fees and videos weren't that as exciting as it used to be. If you joined later than September of 2013, you had to make 30 second animations unless you were a go+ or a business. Go+ and Business costs too much money. $18 for a month for go+ and $200 for 2 years of go+. The grounded videos are a big problem. They contain Sexual content, child abuse and too much swearing. And after 2014 has passed we have Go!Animate accounts advertise there one character to make them have like 50 views. Since July of 2015 Go!Animate deleted how many videos people had, swiped away all of the users followers and the amount of users the user was following. If I were you i'd stay away from that site
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 8 years old February 20, 2015
LEARNING

Yeah. I am making Joey's grounded series on this site.

I am making videos of "Joey gets grounded" now.
Kid, 11 years old November 1, 2014
LEARNING

Nice gimmick with some downsides

I rewrote this review because of GoAnimate's sudden "we-need-money" agenda, almost like that of ROBLOX. There used to be another website powered by GoAnimate that now redirects to GoAnimate for Schools. And what's this? Free plans are being eradicated? If you're going to be involved with GoAnimate at all, you should have at least $75 handy. However, they luckily left GoPlus up. (goanimate.com/plussignup)
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old October 31, 2014
LEARNING

Language.

Most animations use swearing, sex, drinking/drugs/smoking and more, plus you have to create a profile picture.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byJames V. Taylor June 22, 2014
LEARNING

A fine animating website to make teenagers and older kids creative.

I am a professional animator since I logged into that website, and I make animations that compile to animating bets. I occasionally use PowerPoint to make animations. I am stuck in the Free Plan, and I should buy either GoPublish or GoPremium (check the Consumerism symbol), and I used to have a souvenir account but I can't log into it (Check Privacy and Safety), but the GoBucks thing is removed since the website's renovation last year, and existing GoUsers can make characters for free. Good learning approach, teaches kids creativity, and is really good for wannabe animators.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarky'sReviews June 19, 2014

This Is Insulting To All Animators Out There

Whenever I hear or see somebody watching animations that were created from this program, I cover my ears and run as fast as possible away from it. This program is so dodgy, it's unbearably irritating; limited to only stuff like obnoxious talking robot voices and the membership doesn't do anything more resourceful. Heck, you don't even get an opportunity to animate your own characters, instead you're stuck with ones that look like they came straight out of Family Guy. From what I've seen from other users, there isn't anything that is too scandalous but it's just way too unbelievably stupid for you to let your child be stuck with. I refuse to recommend this to not only young kids but to anyone.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byTearBear October 9, 2013

Ummm.... No

It is very hard to use. I DON'T LIKE IT AT ALL!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 11, 2013

Good website!

GoAnimate is a useful website for creating cartoons. You don't need to draw the characters out, they're already there. I think my favorite section is "Comedy World" because its fun to make grounded vidros. However, it does suck how you have to pay to get a goplus account to get all the cool characters and voices. Pretty good website.
Kid, 11 years old June 14, 2013

cool

cool animation site, i use it. althrough, there are two things that concern me about it 1. the voices sometimes when i make them say something it turns out wrong, when i show it to my friends and they ask me to make it when they put haha it turns out like a man saying haha that dont care about the joke at all and has this face -_- 2. alot of the things you need to pay for (goplus) reminds me of clubpenguin. but thats it overall i really like this program.

Pages