All member reviews for Kidzworld

Common Sense Media says

Well-monitored site where kids uphold community standards.

Learning

Users say

(out of 72 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bystarboard September 16, 2013

Definitely NOT for Kids

This site is not good for socializing with other kids. It claims heavy moderation in the chat, etc...but there is a heavy lack of moderation. First, you do not need to verify your email address to participate in socializing. Kids begin their catfish style social life (pretending they are someone else) with a heavy access on the emo meter. Who knows what kind of creepy predators could be hanging out there. When my daughter was on there chatting with several other so called friends, who gave each other passwords, names, real ID's and pics. They then began skyping each other, using other non-moderated chat rooms, etc. There were a bunch of them on there, threatening to commit suicide or cut themselves if they didn't have her as a friend. It is apparently a hangout for very lonely kids with emotional problems. I can't even tell you how many comments I read where people were talking about cutting. I got into her account thanks to parental control software and changed her email (was using a bogus one) and her password. I reported several of the cutting, suicidal style comments and messages and requested her account be closed. Nothing happened, there was no reply to my emails. Her account was not closed and I found no way to close it. I send an email to their CEO - what a joke. I told him I was a parent and concerned about the lack of moderation, how the kids were talking to each other, etc... He emailed me back and all it said was "shame on you". Very very bad site for kids. What kind of response is that from a CEO. Stay away from Kidzworld!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10, 10, 13, and 15 year old Written bySuper_Mom101 December 28, 2009
Love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old April 23, 2010

bad but ok?

people ask for bf/gf but they don't even know the person! people say bad things on here but i don't care!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written bygr9995 February 13, 2014

Nope, never ever again

I let my 9 year old cousin try out this site 6 months ago. I set the privacy settings and everything. I let her chat, make friends, and told her if you see someone mean or inappropriate, report them or tell me. She agreed. A week or two later, I decided to be a bad cousin and look at her account. (I let her post 1 picture of herself which was a HUGE mistake.....) I saw all these comments on her profile saying "hey cutie" "wanna be my gf?" "lets have sex, meet at McDonalds?" I deleted all of these people, except for those she knew. Then I went on chat. Oh the chat! Language, sex talk, dating (these kids had "online" partners!), suicidal talk, and even more! I was starting to think these people LIED about their ages. A social network for kids 9-18? That's not safe at all. I wouldn't let my sisters, cousins, or future kids ever talk with someone online who's 17! Especially someone they do not know. If you are thinking of choosing Kidzworld, I highly recommend you do NOT.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bystellarbeing June 28, 2013

PARENTS BEWARE!

Within 3 hours of being on that website for the first time, my daughter was contacted by at least 3 adults who asked for photos of her legs in stockings, a miniskirt, etc. The website is a haven for predators and should be shut down.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 year old Written byLovingMother1230 May 19, 2013

UNSAFE!!!!!!!!!!

It's obviously a dating site. I let my son play on there, and two girls asked him if he wanted to have sex. And MANY kids on there called him BAD names and try to convience him to go on drugs, smoke, and drinking >:(. I am HIGHLY disapointed! Kidzworld should be on the top ten UNSAFEST sites ever! >:c. Now my 7 year old is watching porn and became a pervert!!!!!!!!! THE MANAGER SHOULD BE ARRESTED!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byJachilles September 17, 2010

Great for Tweens and Kids

Kidzworld includes the following safety precautions: • Fully moderated chat room. • Content fully moderated by a skilled team of moderators. • All areas of the site where users can potentially interact with each other are subject to moderation. Personal Information: Kidzworld does not disclose users’ personal information to anyone for any reason. Parents or guardians can review their kids’ personal information once we receive verifiable identification.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySmoothie971 August 13, 2010

With restrictions, is fun.

I am thirteen years old, and I think this is a good website for 10+. There is a moderated chat room only up for certain hours, and most of the moderators and friendly and will block somebody for misbehaving. The boards are USUALLY okay, with the exception of some misbehaving kids, but moderators will probably eventually fix them. You can learn a lot from the Brain Candy section and take both personality and general knowledge quizzes, so it's not ALL bad. Overall I would say as long as you don't add strangers and are careful with your information, this site can be fun.
What other families should know
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byZonkers! October 12, 2011

Inside Kidzworld

UPDATED REVIEW : Kidzworld is a good site for teens. I gave it a pause for younger kids & parents should watch younger kids online anyways. If you are surfing with your kids, Kidzworld can be place to learn about the internet & social networking if used with caution. Safety and Kidzworld Hi, I'm Zonkers!, yes that's my Kidzworld username, and I'm one of the Junior Moderators (Jr Mods) there. Some reviews have mentioned safety on KW so my review is going to be mostly about that. SAFETY: To keep KW working and keep you safe while you are there we have four groups of members. ADMINISTRATORS: These are the people that run KW. They do not have a regular schedule, they are online whenever they have work to do or when we ask for help. They come online to watch the site & just because they love the site. They are a great group of people who have built an amazing site for us. They are working harder than ever before & KW is only going to be even more amazing in the future. The longer I work with them, the more I respect them. MODERATORS: This group works on a schedule and each one has their own job to do; approvals or moderating the Chat Room. I won't comment on the Mods because I don't go on Chat so I don't really know the Mods. The only Mod I have really spoken to is Lone Pine, an awesome person worth saying "Hi" too if you can find her. Oh yeah, I do know that the Mods work very hard at KW. I have gotten to meet Honour a few times, a nice guy who almost all the girls on KW have a crush on. JUNIOR MODERATORS: Regular members who are asked to help the Admins on the site. They watch almost every part of the site for problems and report them to the Mods and Admins. REGULAR MEMBERS: There are between 1.6 and 2 million members on Kidzworld and they are almost everywhere all the time so they will almost always find problems before anyone else. All members have the ability to report problems on the site. Many features have a Report button, if you see something that doesn't belong on KW, click the Report button. Most importantly, protect yourself! If someone tries to bully you or do something inappropriate, report them! Don't give out personal info or your password, no website can keep you safe if you do not keep yourself safe. Who or what are Junior Moderators? We are not full Moderators, we have limited authority and abilities, we are the helper elves on Kidzworld. We are all regular members that do our best to watch the site and keep it safe for you. Our reports get priority so if you see something wrong, even if you click the report button, you should let us know. Also if things get out of hand on the boards, we can lock topics to solve the problem. If you have any questions about KW, ask us, we try to help in every way we can. The Jr Mods are an awesome group of people that I am very lucky to be working with. Just comment any Jr Mod that is online, they will all be happy to help you. ONLINE DATING: Someone mentioned this being a problem in a review. Online dating is dangerous and against the rules on KW but some kids do try to do it. If we find anyone trying to e-Date we remove the post and report it to the Admins. KW is very active in warning kids about the dangers of e-dating and preventing it on the site. TEENZWORLD, IS IT? Kidzworld has changed it's policy on age as members grew older and more teens joined but they try to keep it fun and safe for kids. More changes are planned. Sexual content on the boards was becoming a problem so most of those topics were locked to keep the boards kid friendly. Puberty is one of the biggest things for kids and teens to deal with so these subjects are allowed but they are now on boards that younger kids don't usually go on and some of the boards are now age restricted for even more safety. It is important for kids to learn about what is happening to them an be able to discuss it but KW does try to keep it appropriate for it's members. It also has a feature called Dear Dish-It where kids can ask questions and get advice on any problems they are having. ADS: Ad placement is good. Aside from the automatic popup type ads, the ads are usually out of the way and not a problem. FUN: KW has live Chat, Message Boards, Articles, Educational Features, Games, a Role Play section and millions of fantastic members! It's not just fun, it's addictive. With a little common sense and supervision, Kidzworld is safe and a great place for kids. Articles include Special Occasions, Celebrities, Education, Hygiene and much more written in a kid friendly style. With the changes they have made and the changes they have planned it gets more awesome every week. I can really recommend joining this site, I wish I joined sooner. My biggest caution is language. Changes to the rules means you can use language on the site that I'm not allowed to use at home or school & I don't use myself. To be honest, I find the language upsetting. If you have a problem with the language on the site, please complain to the Admins. One member complaining alone doesn't get very far.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2011

iffy for tweens

I don't really like this site. Its fun to socialize with people on here, but the people have to much freedom without proper moderation. They can cuss and not get in trouble for it, and they talk about puberty and stuff on there, sometimes evens sex. Its gross.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old April 11, 2011

Ten and Up!

A lot of sex and puberty advice.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 year old Written byUnique1998 May 25, 2010
Anything positive i have no problem allowing my daughter to do it positive and safety are my concerns.THx
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bykhd94 July 10, 2015

Sexting 101

My child insists it's "role playing" but the conversations had with others of both sexes are very sexual in nature. There is no moderation that I can tell. I am disappointed that Common Sense Media would give this site such a good rating.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old October 20, 2014
LEARNING

Watch an Monoator

There are so many problems with this site.They can ask you if you want to cyber date, and talk innapropiatly, take it from me sometimes they dont catch the swearing in chat!!!!!Dont let kids 14 and under use this if you're not OK with them having something JUST LIKE FACEBOOK!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008

it is soooooooooooooo Fun!

it is a really cool web stite I am 9 but it is a really good web stite go and see for your self!
Kid, 9 years old September 25, 2015
LEARNING

Parents should monitor this website

Parents should know that sex and swearing is a issue like instead of issue 1 language: kids are crazy instead of "sex" they will do "$ex" kids can take action in most issues like if some one says "hey fu€ker" you can press the report button. Issue 2 sexual behaviour: if sexual references are happening KW will instantly ban you or the person who does it that they can still flirt which is still a problem. Finally parents start monitoring!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2, 8, and 11 year old Written byDa Nerd June 27, 2010
Great! Perfect for 10,11,12,13
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoolant June 5, 2014
LEARNING

kidzworld review

kidzworld is claimed to be a "safe online kids chat", but in reality it is a very very strict website. the people on the web are nice, but can get very inappropriate. the worst thing i have to say is the people who actually work on that site. they are really bossy and they cant even get in trouble or reported. so over all. avoid this website.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byKi-RBT May 4, 2014
LEARNING

Within Reasonable Expectations

This website tries. It really does. However, no system that allows any real expression is perfect, and that is to be expected. The experience varies, I'm sure, and I, personally, have not come across any significant problem in the sense of people swearing, handing out personal information, or talking about certain inappropriate subjects, although I know that it happens. Give it a chance. It at least tries.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written bySuzu October 13, 2011

As a 15 year old KW user, I think...

Kidzworld is a fun, safe place for kids to talk and make friends with other kids. The few restrictions and rules are clear and designed to keep the kids safe. Responsible adults moderate the boards and chat room. Chat is only open during certain hours and a moderator is watching the whole time. Pictures must also be approved before other users can see them. No e-dating is allowed ever. For extra help, Kidzworld also gives helpful, mature users the status Jr. Mod. They can lock boards inappropriate board topics, and help out a lot around the site. Any user can report inappropriate content to the mods or admins. On the fun side of the spectrum, it's a great way for kids and teens to make friends and learn about social networking. There are a lot of nice people to be found, and the boards offer interesting or just fun random discussions. The occasional quiz is interesting and the customizable profiles (also moderated) are fun to tweak. I'm not saying it's all kittens and rainbows. Yes, there is some information and discussion on puberty, but the boards where this usally takes place (Boy's Only/Girls Only) can't be accessed until users reach a certain age. Still, as we all know everyone has different standards, and content that some people may find offensive can sometimes be found. For users, say, about 10 or older, it's mostly all okay. For users under that age, it really depends on the child and what parents personally find offensive. With proper supervision from an adult, this really shouldn't be an issue. Kidzworld is very safe, but they can't censor everything. I repeat, as long as kids are supervised, all should still be well. I would highly recommend this site. It's a lot of fun, and there are awesome people to meet. I've never had problems, and the mods and admins work hard (and succeed) to keep things safe.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages