All parent member reviews for Kidzworld

Parents say

(out of 12 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bystarboard September 16, 2013

Definitely NOT for Kids

This site is not good for socializing with other kids. It claims heavy moderation in the chat, etc...but there is a heavy lack of moderation. First, you do not need to verify your email address to participate in socializing. Kids begin their catfish style social life (pretending they are someone else) with a heavy access on the emo meter. Who knows what kind of creepy predators could be hanging out there. When my daughter was on there chatting with several other so called friends, who gave each other passwords, names, real ID's and pics. They then began skyping each other, using other non-moderated chat rooms, etc. There were a bunch of them on there, threatening to commit suicide or cut themselves if they didn't have her as a friend. It is apparently a hangout for very lonely kids with emotional problems. I can't even tell you how many comments I read where people were talking about cutting. I got into her account thanks to parental control software and changed her email (was using a bogus one) and her password. I reported several of the cutting, suicidal style comments and messages and requested her account be closed. Nothing happened, there was no reply to my emails. Her account was not closed and I found no way to close it. I send an email to their CEO - what a joke. I told him I was a parent and concerned about the lack of moderation, how the kids were talking to each other, etc... He emailed me back and all it said was "shame on you". Very very bad site for kids. What kind of response is that from a CEO. Stay away from Kidzworld!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10, 10, 13, and 15 year old Written bySuper_Mom101 December 28, 2009
Love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 9 year old Written bygr9995 February 13, 2014

Nope, never ever again

I let my 9 year old cousin try out this site 6 months ago. I set the privacy settings and everything. I let her chat, make friends, and told her if you see someone mean or inappropriate, report them or tell me. She agreed. A week or two later, I decided to be a bad cousin and look at her account. (I let her post 1 picture of herself which was a HUGE mistake.....) I saw all these comments on her profile saying "hey cutie" "wanna be my gf?" "lets have sex, meet at McDonalds?" I deleted all of these people, except for those she knew. Then I went on chat. Oh the chat! Language, sex talk, dating (these kids had "online" partners!), suicidal talk, and even more! I was starting to think these people LIED about their ages. A social network for kids 9-18? That's not safe at all. I wouldn't let my sisters, cousins, or future kids ever talk with someone online who's 17! Especially someone they do not know. If you are thinking of choosing Kidzworld, I highly recommend you do NOT.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bystellarbeing June 28, 2013

PARENTS BEWARE!

Within 3 hours of being on that website for the first time, my daughter was contacted by at least 3 adults who asked for photos of her legs in stockings, a miniskirt, etc. The website is a haven for predators and should be shut down.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 year old Written byLovingMother1230 May 19, 2013

UNSAFE!!!!!!!!!!

It's obviously a dating site. I let my son play on there, and two girls asked him if he wanted to have sex. And MANY kids on there called him BAD names and try to convience him to go on drugs, smoke, and drinking >:(. I am HIGHLY disapointed! Kidzworld should be on the top ten UNSAFEST sites ever! >:c. Now my 7 year old is watching porn and became a pervert!!!!!!!!! THE MANAGER SHOULD BE ARRESTED!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byJachilles September 17, 2010

Great for Tweens and Kids

Kidzworld includes the following safety precautions: • Fully moderated chat room. • Content fully moderated by a skilled team of moderators. • All areas of the site where users can potentially interact with each other are subject to moderation. Personal Information: Kidzworld does not disclose users’ personal information to anyone for any reason. Parents or guardians can review their kids’ personal information once we receive verifiable identification.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 11 year old Written byUnique1998 May 25, 2010
Anything positive i have no problem allowing my daughter to do it positive and safety are my concerns.THx
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bykhd94 July 10, 2015

Sexting 101

My child insists it's "role playing" but the conversations had with others of both sexes are very sexual in nature. There is no moderation that I can tell. I am disappointed that Common Sense Media would give this site such a good rating.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 2, 8, and 11 year old Written byDa Nerd June 27, 2010
Great! Perfect for 10,11,12,13
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written bymartycallott April 9, 2008

My kid sister loves this site

she has been using Kidzworld for three years. The best part of the site is the safety because they monitor everything the kids do. So there is no swearing, no personal information is given out, no bullying. The Brain Candy section has been the source for her last two Science projects. I don't worry about the odd light swear word that may sneak past the moderator. You ever been in a school yard? Dont' be naive, your kid knows them all and probably uses them when you are not around. At the very least this is a really safe place to have fun. How could they do it without ads. Again, don't be naive! It is part of life
Parent of a 10 and 18+ year old Written bySuper_Mom_987 December 23, 2015
LEARNING

Inappropriate, definitely NOT for kids

A few months back, I let my 10 year old girl sign up for this website. I made sure all the appropriate privacy and parental monitoring settings were turned on. I let her chat and share pictures. I saw all these messages on her profile asking "Hey, can you send me some pics of you in a miniskirt?" "Hey, wanna be my gf?" "Let's have s3x, meet at McDonalds". Very inappropriate. I deleted all the messages on her profile except the ones from people she knew. I made sure she stayed away from this site, completely off of it. DO NOT LET YOUR KIDS CHAT ON THIS SITE.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent of a 9 year old Written bySue2015 July 13, 2016

Would rather pick another for my little one

Not suitable for kids without a monitoring control. So inappropriate for my little one, under-10. I found better one though, meneighbour.com. Safe and secure, under all my (parent) control. She can browse, communicate and befriend with only the ones known from local area and neighbourhood. I have a greater control over her child account :) As a parent I can see my kid's whole activity in my account's screen itself, which is really a great feature to my relief. I can see whom she is connected and chatting/sharing what, while I am browsing around on the same website in my (adult) account :) May be you like too. Check it out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns