Parent reviews for Pinterest

Common Sense says

Semi-social site helps users collect images for inspiration.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 16 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 26 reviews
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bymmpj August 10, 2012

Mixed Bag

My daughter wanted to join. (ToS say 13, though they didn't ask for a birthday). I created my own account to check it out, and did so with an email address (the review says only Twitter/Facebook; that no longer applies). Then the site asked me to go through and select 5 pictures that interested me. There were lots of pics that would be fine for kids, but also references to gay porn and sex, lots of cursing, references to alcohol being a savior of sorts/being drunk, scantily clad women/men, and negative messages. I have no problem with adults seeing this stuff, but it made me think that my daughter shouldn't have access. She wants it for crafts and fashion, and I could just select the beginning interests for her when she registers, but if the stuff she's shown when she opens the site is inappropriate (as I saw when I opened the home page, and I chose nature pics and science content), I worry about her seeing it. My original concern was the social aspect, but I think the site has too much adult-oriented material for most young adolescents. I'm going to play with the site more, but so far I'm not ready to give it a green light.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKristaWells June 17, 2014

Be careful of pinterest

I enjoy Pinterest sometimes to get ideas for birthday parties or decorating. I sat down at the computer with one of my kids and typed in "his and hers kids bathrooms" and a ton of photos of a woman murdered on the bathroom floor popped up, very disappointing.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent Written byAlicia B September 7, 2016

Not safe for kids, Porn Site in Disguise

I recently ended up with Porn in my news feed due to a follower liking it. I could not remove it and it stayed there even after reporting it! Also I followed this Pin and discovered Pinterest has a horrible Porn problem. I reported multiple profiles and photos of stuff I cant even repeat here. And was told none of it violates there policy and that due to the variety of people they cater too, their policy is bendable. And that they also rarely ban or remove said items. They told me I could Unfollow and block the board but there wasn't anything else they would do. This option does not keep kids safe at all and shows Pinterest would rather cater to its Mature Users. Very disappointed as my older kids used this site. However I have since removed my accounts and banned Pinterest in my home. It is not safe for kids or those who do not want to see garbage like this.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byBarbLents November 12, 2014

Not for kids

No filters at all. Unfortunately, they must not monitor their site well. I would suggest you create your own account (only an email needed), and then once you're on the site, type something in the search box. You will be shocked. Drinking games, sexual pictures, very suggestive pictures, swearing, ...
Adult Written byRicky_B February 27, 2013

Not for youngsters. Bad help facilities.

Be careful. The site is an open forum for anyone to post pretty much anything. They say that nudity and language content etc is not permitted but clearly, bad language, language not suitable for children, sex references and nudity etc are easily found. The help desk and functions are appallingly!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written bypat6494 February 9, 2013

Pinterest is a malware infection site

I got the worst virus/malware on their site looking at home decor. I did not click on anything except someone's site. I immediately shut down the computer when the screen didn't show what was supposed to be there. When I turned the computer back on I had the FBI virus and lost the use of the computer for 2 days to have the computer people take the virus off. I contacted Pinterest and told them to check my usage history and they would know where the infection came from. They didn't even bother to respond other than an auto mailer. Beware of this site. One click and you will be paying money to get your computer back!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy November 23, 2012

LOL.

Wonderful website for a laugh or 2.Everytime I go on this website,I LAUGH MY BUTT OFF.Man,i'm addicted to Pinterest.
Adult Written bytrace p. October 24, 2017

Pinterest not for anyone under 21

I have seen multitudes of nude photos of women all over Pinterest. I report them as I see them, and go back to see if they have been removed. Not once has any of these nudes been taken down. Art is one thing and porn another!! I am very disappointed in Pinterest for not doing a better job at protecting our children..

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJEDI micah November 23, 2012

Funny things are on here!

I like Pinterest because you get to see some hilarious pictures! If you stay away from pictures revolved around sex or over-drinking, then Pinterest is still a fun website to visit!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 17 year old Written byButt head doofus November 21, 2018

The butt review

This site has many of funny pins but a lot of them are for adults. On Pinterest you can choose stuff your interested in get ideas but there is also a lot of bad things on pins like cussing and drinking,drugs,violence,blood,and porn gay sex. You should probably not let a young child have there own private account because horrible things pop up.
Adult Written bySMB1 June 28, 2018

It’s downright dangerous

Try searching self esteem, next thing you knew you’re getting posts about anxiety depression, self harm, and suicide. Search for diet or exercise and you’re only a click away from pins on anorexia. Try looking up pins about sexual harassment. You will be horrified.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 9 year old Written byAriel C. June 4, 2018
Having recently joined Pinterest, I have been using it for plenty of movie-related pictures and mostly I've seen good-quality images in my stream. Very useful, in that regard. But more and more, I am seeing crude images that are sometimes unrelated to my interest areas. At best, it may be suggestively clothed women; at the worst, actual nudity. This makes Pinterest a big worry for young people, especially - don't be led into the trap of thinking it's all that much safer than Google. Consider the maturity of your child before you allow him/her to make an account on Pinterest.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 3 year old Written bySinem_tunc August 23, 2016

Good for adult but not for kids

I think pinterest is a great app and a website. I frequently use both of them. Especially I use to get idea for designing tech. lab. board. I collect ideas from pinterest and make boards. But be careful because there may be innapropriate things on this website.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMasterCrafter9001 December 13, 2015

Good for when your bord.

There are A LOT of bad stuff in Pinterest but i depends what you are looking up so i would just keep this simple and rate it 9+.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAbdibaasid S. May 24, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJulian W. February 15, 2018