Parent reviews for Reddit

Common Sense says

Share, rank, and discuss news -- and adult topics.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 20 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 79 reviews
Adult Written byCoolMom72 February 4, 2019

Amazing! Don’t listen to other parents

When my kids got this app on their phones, I was skeptical at first. After reading the reviews, I was horrified at what my kids may have been looking at. But, I did some exploring of my own, and I found that this app is wonderful! In today’s age where parents are constantly looking over their kid’s shoulders, kids need to have a bit of independence. My daughter was only using this app for memes, and my son for video games. This app should be just fine for kids if parents already talk to them about internet safety. Don’t be a helicopter parent.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bySaul P. January 22, 2018

Anything goes on Reddit

Reddit is a bit like a microcosm of the Internet. There's both outstanding and very questionable content on there.

Reddit is made up by "subreddits", or subs, which are sub-forums akin to chat rooms with a specific topic. Some of the topics you can wander in include:

* A sub with short videos that show people dying
* Subs dedicated to white nationalism
* Subs dedicated to frank and admiring discussion of drugs
* Porn. Lots of it. A sub for every fetish out there.

But also, there's:

* A sub where you can ask historians anything, and is highly moderated to ensure quality
* A similar sub for science topics, with high quality contributions
* Subs for pretty much every academic topic, many of them also well-moderated - math, music, etc.
* A sub for every country, state, and city, many of them with lively discussion on local topics
* A lovely sub dedicated to uplifting messages and positivity
* Subs dedicated to beautiful pictures of kitties, or puppies, or landscapes
* Subs for asking and getting advice, and subs for supporting people in risk of self-harm
* A sub to get legal advice from lawyers, which has its own share of feel-good stories where people have gotten great help

And many more. Pretty much any topic you can think of will already have its own subreddit and subscribers. Anybody can create and moderate a sub (as long as they're the first one to "grab" it), which means that pretty much any topic is up for discussion.

It's a great site - but not one that young children should be dropped into. I am concerned about its use even by my own 15-year-old, as the frank discussions on drugs and crime (not to mention all the pornography) might be too much for his still-maturing brain to process healthily.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bylisaf92 June 18, 2021

Don't use it! A nest of creepy people that hunt young kids.

Is it for kids? Nope, unless you want them to get hooked up with creepy guys wanting specific pictures of them. My kids was on Reddit, nothing special. Talking about some animation she follows. Since she is young I follow her on the internet. I saw she posted something about this show, how she loves it and her favorite character. I also saw 26 PMs, that gave me reason enough to eventually involve the police. Creepy guys, asking sexual things to my daughter. Also asking... No, demanding she sends them 'nice' pictures.
I did send messages to Reddit, but I did not get a reply back. Which gives me reason to think these people behind Reddit accept it and maybe even join in these crazy actions.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bywhispering flowers February 13, 2021

Very Including

Reddit's subreddits include almost everything so nobody is left without a community of their own!
Adult Written byYouKnowWho September 19, 2020

This is just terrible!

I was using Reddit for many years. Mostly to get in contact to people all over the world. Topics from politics to photography and everything in between. Because of my big activity on Reddit I have earned a lot of karma.

One day I got a message from Reddit: My account is permantly suspended. No reason, no hint... nothing. All my contacts, messages and posts... GONE! I tried to contact Reddit but there was no response. So I created a new account and tried to find some of my old contacts. I used a VPN, just in case. Because most subreddits need you to have karma I started to post every day. Nothing was upvoted and I didn't get any replies. Strange... This gave me an idea; create a new account with an other VPN and check it. And what seemed to be the case? All my posts (100+) from the first new account aren't posted! Nobody can see them!

What is happening here? When did Reddit became crap?

Besides this awfull way of working I also want to point out the minors on Reddit, trying to post and trade other minor stuff. I have seen awful things, even reported them, showing me illegal stuff. These accounts are still active, but mine is removed?

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySparrow173 November 27, 2021

It's not fit for kids

Kids shouldn't use this app since there's a lot of NSF W stuff on there. I do think they need to dosble check people age on Reddit since some kids be lying about their age. I enjoy the app but don't it's suitable for minors.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLeroylachman October 30, 2021

Terrible website

Google is full of directions to Reddit. But if you think you found wonderfull info. The website drives you crazy with automaten scripts asking you to use the app and if you are 18 and after IT brings you back somewhere Else. So i Just want This website to be gone from the internet. I hate it. IT wastes my time.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byUnknownshit October 14, 2021

Reddit review

Reddit is a online site where people can join different subreddits on hobbies, interests, etc. Reddit is a difficult site to rate as Reddit subreddits vary from being great to being horrible, some subreddits have people can give you information on topics for things like research projects and there are also one that are uplifting and supportive but some subreddits have gore/porn on them.

Reddit is for 16+ in my opinion.
Adult Written byJessrond October 11, 2021

Loves to shadowban people

I get a phony "wrong password" error any time I try to log into an account, even if I just made it.

It can be good if you're a typical internet drone and know what they want to hear, but if you think for yourself expect to get ostracized.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byKingSmokey69th September 13, 2021

Reddit review

TERRIBLE! If they dont like your opinion it is removed within 60 seconds. Usually comments go way off topic, include vulgar unnecessary language and seems to always follow popular opinion not fact or open discussion.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bydarkness456 August 25, 2021

i like reddit

reddit is good because there are so meny peoples and to read all of the diffrent lives that those peoples have are so intresting i like to message random peoples on reddit to find out if those peoples know some peoples who are relly heavy i like to call them sumo guys and meybe have some fun whit them there are so meny peoples and storys to read and find out i hope to find some heavy peoples to have some fun whit and meybe have a change to see some hot wrestling between two heavy guys so yummy reddit is a nice side to waste on time on and to talk to peoples

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byStarzz3 June 13, 2021

Just bad

Constantly spams “suggestion” pop ups for its mobile app if you access the site as mobile. Some are unclosable and won’t let you continue until you download the app. They have been blocking use of the site while forcefully directing me to an app that only works on iOS 13, which doesn’t work on anything older than iphone7, it’s honestly very crappy and stupid. To make it worse the structure of their site allows moderator abuse to run rampant, it’s essentially a worse version of Quora or Fandom discussions. Reddit itself seems to encourage herd mentality. Which is a very bad thing. I can’t wait for Reddit to die and be replaced by something better. Back in the day everything was yahoo answers so it’s just a matter of time really.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySuzanne333 May 27, 2021

Reddit is a useless platform

Reddit is an utterly disgusting and biased platform. They are not at all transparent people and their moderators are another useless lot. It does not want facts to reach people and good contents and comments are removed while the fake ones are allowed to continue. Overall not a good feeling to express on this platform. If there was a 0 rating, I would give the website 0.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBancensorship April 20, 2021

Censorship practiced liberally

I was on Reddit Wall Street Bets and a few other sub stacks…thought it was a place for interesting discussions and debate…NOPE…if you disagree or give an opposing opinion to the liberal millennials who overwhelm Reddit you are banned from commenting for time periods…they operate Reddit like the Chinese and Russians operate their own news feeds…if it doesn't conform to the narrative they are pushing…then you are censored or banned…THIS is the NEW AMERICA…don't disagree with what the New Democratic Party is pushing or their brown shirts will get you
Adult Written byuser_vetting April 11, 2021

privacy regulation evading data collection

Reddit is a site with a lot of potential that is being used to accomplish goals which on the surface are not easily perceived. I do suggest that any family seeking to add reddit as part of their lives do the following before deciding to engage on the site.

Create a new email account to create your reddit account.

google shares your real name to reddit


select 2 subreddits to interact with. they must be as unrelated as possible.

3 day test
most subreddits have a 24 hour posting rule

make posts one of the following categories in the subreddits you have chosen to participate over the course of 3 days and 24 hours apart

positive post
neutral post
negative post

take note of the interactions you receive and ask yourself if that matches the type of interaction you would receive in real world interactions.

karma farma is a technique used by redditors to boost the credibility of their profiles. gamers are familiar with “farming” as a way to cheat a system and boost a desired stat or in-game item, we adults would call that market manipulation or price fixing.

Check the post/comment history of every user make notes of the posts that helped them achieve the karma or if those posts are missing. ask yourself if this profile is exhibiting the random nature of human behavior or if a human has intentionally designed its random appearance.

I suggest you question everything and only use reddit under extremely controlled situations.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byConordmcp March 27, 2021

Admins are morons

Got banned completely arbitrarily. When I asked for explanation, all I was given was a link to a message I sent to a subreddit mod team in which I was being incredibly polite (overly so, considering how rude they were to me). Dont use Reddit.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAmericanNothing November 1, 2020

Great source for information, especially for College

Reddit is a great source of information, entertainment and expression but it’s definitely not a place for young minds. Sure there is SFW subreddits available but overall it’s just not a place meant for children or young teens. Today’s youth is so wrapped up with the internet, that honestly most social media should be monitored or flat out not available. They have the rest of their lives to search the web and keep up with social trends, waiting a few years shouldn’t be an issue.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byZaynkr August 29, 2020

Good but kids can get in a lot of trouble

It is a very good social media app, unlike tiktok or instagram it has subreddits so your kid can stay looking at posts on that subreddit, like a video game subreddit. But to post I wouldn’t let my child post under the age of 13 , there are cyber bullies in the comments. And if your kid does maybe get into the mature stuff you can put on a setting where when your kid doesn’t get NSFW posts and doesn’t get to chat with people who post NSFW things. I didn’t let my kid use reddit when he was 9, and 10, but I would say the age rating would be 11+

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byvobrandon November 20, 2018

good for teens

Good for my teen.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byRajan D. August 23, 2016

Content Differs

Sometimes it'll show mindless content sometimes someone will post content for learning or maybe someone will post NSFW content.

The content differs but overall the website is pretty good.