Parent reviews for Twitter

Common Sense says

Limited characters, lots of info, lasting online legacy.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 290 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 492 reviews
Adult Written byWritingLife9 November 7, 2018

Toxic Environment

Guys, trust me. I have been a member since 2012. Please do not bother. It was great in the beginning but it has become so toxic. Everytime I went on there, I saw something worse. Just people calling each other names and being extremely disrespectful. For instance, in one case, this girl just recently lost her boyfriend and posted a picture of them together in remembrance. The comments ranged from,”He is dead now, so does that mean we can date?” and “He’s a corpse. What do you mean you aren’t ready to move on?” Just absolutely the most vile expamples of human on the internet. Not friendly for younger kids either. The very last time I went on there, I was reduced to tears by what I saw, so I deleted my account and will not go back. Twitter usually sides with trolls online and neo nazis. Just overall disappointing and would avoid.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byFutt747 February 11, 2016

Horrendous

Asks for mobile numbers to login before you can use it.
No respect for privacy, lots of inappropriate content.
It's no wonder their stock is plummeting.
FB and Twitter are ridiculous now, information about you stored and sold.
Shameful.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bySunbeam7x3 April 9, 2014

Inappropriate Material On Seemingly Innocent Accounts

I have my own personal twitter account. I subscribe to innocent accounts like "Wikipedia Facts" and "Love Notebook". They might be getting hacked but they are posting things that are porn. Every single day from these accounts, I get posts about Miley Cyrus sex tapes or links that will take me to naked women. I report these tweets everyday and nothing has changed. Even seemingly innocent accounts can post material I would NOT want my child seeing. I will not be allowing my son to have a twitter account. Even if a child only "follows" their friends, friends can retweet this material or they can easily search twitter for pages that upload full frontal porn pictures (mainly of women). But I was able to search "boobs" and multiple pages came up of twitter accounts dedicated to posting women's breast. I was able to view the page and all of their pictures without any need to follow them. So it would be without a parents knowledge if their child did this as well. Extremely disappointed in twitter for their lack of standards or morals.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMatt B. October 29, 2015

Be more coutious with twitter.

Twitter is not as privacy guaranteed as FB. Kids also need to be mature enough to watch what users they follow. Some users post adult content and kids need to know not to follow certain stuff.
Adult Written byBellaire411 January 22, 2019

Worst social media platform

It seems like everyone's just attacking everyone and when you respond your account gets suspended...but nothing is ever done to those who hurl threats and insults. Its just not good at all. And tons of adult content.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byVickywatford March 3, 2013

Stay clear from twitter

Twitter needs a MAJOR revamp. They take no responsibility over cyber bullying, by allowing people to say what they want but yet they can be completely anonymous. Their attitude is that its "free will" to write whatever the hell people want and to just ignore bullies. You can't ignore bullies! - people kill themselves over bullying, so it effects lives!
Don't get me wrong people should be able to express their opinion and their beliefs but some people on twitter are vile! there is a fine line between your "opinion" and Bullying on that site.
There should be tighter regulations, people shouldn't be aloud to be anonymous and twitter need to have a team monitoring anti-social activity!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bytruthseeker1969 November 7, 2018

This site is very abusive and twitter somehow seems to be involved in the abuse the people that work there

Twitter has no good intentions in mind. I would steer clear

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byK.M. B. April 2, 2018

Unenforced rules.

As with every other aspect of the internet, there is trouble just beneath the surface and it often breaks through. Adult content on twitter is supposed to be behind a sensitive media clickwall. It often isn't. Depictions of child abuse are against twitter's TOS and yet drawings of abuse are not taken down and the accounts are not banned. If you are going to allow your child access to twitter, you will need to be vigilant. Beneath its shiny exterior, beneath the layers of grown adults shouting hyperbole (each one trying hard to be heard over the cacophony of everyone screaming to be heard), beneath the quagmire of willful political misunderstanding, there is abuse and exploitation.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAaron J. March 27, 2018

good website but good god

I like twitter. I think it is an easy social website. I also think you can do a lot with twitter as a creator. the problem with Twitter is not like facebooks(privacy) problem. it is worse. good god, the amount of idiots that come from twitter is humongous. now it is a website were people roast each other and don't shut up about politics and celebrities. the main source of this is a name I will not speak of.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bytrb1 December 6, 2017

Hypocritical Site

Hypocritical site:
-Allows President to verbally insult and assault while inciting acts of violence.

-Allows site users to also use harsh words and language while only a fraction of users are given bans/light warnings.

--Not a site for young children to be using as a result of racist groups/ hate groups.

--Heavy Profanity Use

--Heavy Sexual Tones and Topics

--Heavy Politics Opinions and Topics

--Heavy Religious/ Spiritual Negativity

—Twitter is not an enjoyable site.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byWildcherry32 January 11, 2021

Twitter is not supportive of free speech. It encourages hate speech as long as its for president Trump

This platform should be removed

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMeemeemee December 15, 2020

Great App

I think this app is amazing, it is so helpful for me and my kid. He loves chatting with his friends about the new video games and updates!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bychocolatecake123 December 13, 2020

Lots of problems

I think that Twitter is the most toxic social network right now—even Instagram, Facebook and others don’t compare. Unlike Facebook and some other social networks, Twitter can be used completely anonymously (i.e. you don’t have to use your real name or post photos of yourself). Make no mistake, this is a good thing (people often tend to underestimate Facebook’s privacy issues), but it encourages some people to act in ways they never would if their real name were attached. And, as Twitter is home to the world’s most well-known politicians, a large number of trending hashtags are often related to politics, which inevitably leads to toxicity and arguments. Don’t even get me started with “stan” culture and the manner in which some “stans” treat those who are indifferent towards or dislike their favorite celebrity. Twitter also has issues when it comes to the way the site is run—accounts are regularly suspended by mistake when the user has done nothing that violates site rules, and, speaking for myself, my account is regularly “limited” out of nowhere. When Twitter “limits” an account, you’ll likely have to enter your phone number to “verify” the account so you can access it again. This can be a major privacy concern (not everyone wants something so personal connected to their account).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byVennieThompson December 1, 2020

Twitter Loves The Trump Thing

If you dont mind Donald Trump source robots flagging legit material as harassing, it's OK. If you care about America, they have become tools of the Trump campaign to destroy democracy. I will not remove tweets "harrassing" to Der Fuhrer.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBuffytransue October 16, 2020

Unfair

I’ve been with Twitter since September of 2017. They are one sided! I have been twitter jailed for saying eww, I’ve been suspended for saying a person deserves the death penalty, and now my Twitter has been suspended for 4 days no info back no return on anything for a post that I didn’t even post(hacked)... I’ve emailed and posted to them over 12 times and still no return of any response or when my account will be open. It’s ridiculous. If you support cops they go at you, if you don’t like the political group the owner likes you have issues! However they allow girls to show naked pictures and haven’t even stopped trafficking on this site, porn and so forth. I have a hater who reports me and sadly I am not breaking the rules! Lucky enough I have family who can handle this. Point to be made! I would like to know when my Twitter will be open!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDonalda Trumpet October 14, 2020

Twitter is leftist propaganda

If you voice your conservative view they lock your account. Last I checked we live in the USA.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byYurpYurp September 23, 2020

It's good for advertising your business and looking at adult content.

Don't get me wrong I have a Twitter and I like Twitter and I think it's a good way to keep updated from your favorite content creators or celebrities, however I got concerned when I noticed my nine-year-old sister on this app. That's a big no for me they let you post drugs and naked ladies of course behind a censored wall and you have to click it to see it but that's it you just have to click it to see it so if the kids wants to see it they can. I don't have a problem with them allowing that stuff in fact I like that a lot but that just means it's not for kids at all.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTheRocky August 25, 2020

Absolutely the Worst

Twitter doesn’t care about what anybody post this includes porn and shooting Animals it’s absolutely the crappiest Social Media in the World definitely 5 stars for Sucks

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJoannekeneddy August 24, 2020

Great App for teens and tweens!

Twitter is a great app if you have a mature tween or teen. Similar to Facebook or Instagram. This is a very good starter app if your kid or teen is new to social media.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byBolt244 July 24, 2020

AWSOME

honestly, twitter is pretty good. you know, it's easy to use you can customize your account/profile and you can stay updated on current events such as COVID-19 (2020) or other things like Terraria and it's 1.4 update

This title contains:

Positive Messages

Pages