Find the best for your family

See what's streaming, limit strong violence or language, and find picks your kids will love with Common Sense Media Plus.

Join now

Parent reviews for Twitter

Common Sense says

Fun social tool, but use the privacy controls.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 276 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 478 reviews
Adult Written byFutt747 February 11, 2016

Horrendous

Asks for mobile numbers to login before you can use it.
No respect for privacy, lots of inappropriate content.
It's no wonder their stock is plummeting.
FB and Twitter are ridiculous now, information about you stored and sold.
Shameful.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bySunbeam7x3 April 9, 2014

Inappropriate Material On Seemingly Innocent Accounts

I have my own personal twitter account. I subscribe to innocent accounts like "Wikipedia Facts" and "Love Notebook". They might be getting hacked but they are posting things that are porn. Every single day from these accounts, I get posts about Miley Cyrus sex tapes or links that will take me to naked women. I report these tweets everyday and nothing has changed. Even seemingly innocent accounts can post material I would NOT want my child seeing. I will not be allowing my son to have a twitter account. Even if a child only "follows" their friends, friends can retweet this material or they can easily search twitter for pages that upload full frontal porn pictures (mainly of women). But I was able to search "boobs" and multiple pages came up of twitter accounts dedicated to posting women's breast. I was able to view the page and all of their pictures without any need to follow them. So it would be without a parents knowledge if their child did this as well. Extremely disappointed in twitter for their lack of standards or morals.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byVickywatford March 3, 2013

Stay clear from twitter

Twitter needs a MAJOR revamp. They take no responsibility over cyber bullying, by allowing people to say what they want but yet they can be completely anonymous. Their attitude is that its "free will" to write whatever the hell people want and to just ignore bullies. You can't ignore bullies! - people kill themselves over bullying, so it effects lives!
Don't get me wrong people should be able to express their opinion and their beliefs but some people on twitter are vile! there is a fine line between your "opinion" and Bullying on that site.
There should be tighter regulations, people shouldn't be aloud to be anonymous and twitter need to have a team monitoring anti-social activity!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byMatt B. October 29, 2015

Be more coutious with twitter.

Twitter is not as privacy guaranteed as FB. Kids also need to be mature enough to watch what users they follow. Some users post adult content and kids need to know not to follow certain stuff.
Adult Written byjtessema September 11, 2019

Very Angry

My account was suspended permanently with no reason why except I abused their policies. They won't show me what I tweeted. In my defense I broke my atm and was on strong medications and in excruciating pain, actually I don't remember many tweets since August 29th. I feel I was not treated fairly. My first amendment right was violated I think. Due to my circumstances Twitter should reconsider and reinstate my account. There I have plead my case
Adult Written byJoe Farrer August 21, 2019

Twitter is not worth it

Don't bother . If you see a tweet that offended you and you report it nothing is done but someone reports you , wrongfully I might add , they will deactivate your account permanently . Not worth it
Parent of a 2 year old Written byAnounymous June 19, 2019
Adult Written byI Am Woman May 5, 2019

Twitter Is A Fraud

The folks who run Twitter are Hypocrites. Twitter states their mission as: "The mission we serve as Twitter, Inc. is to give everyone the power to create and share ideas and information instantly without barriers. Our business and revenue will always follow that mission in ways that improve – and do not detract from – a free and global conversation."

However this is not even close to how they operate. They are Biased, Prejudiced and they Suspend Accounts for no Valid Reason with ZERO opportunity to respond or to know who the "accuser" is & contrary to what the say, they do NOT allow appeals therefre the they FORCE you to entter a Fake Guilt Pleas in order to be reinstated.
Adult Written byjdowney283 April 30, 2019

Exploring the World

Twitter is an amazing tool for teachers and parents. There are many tools and resources out that that can be found through the use of Twitter. Twitter is also a great tool to share all of the positive things happening within the school district.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBellaire411 January 22, 2019

Worst social media platform

It seems like everyone's just attacking everyone and when you respond your account gets suspended...but nothing is ever done to those who hurl threats and insults. Its just not good at all. And tons of adult content.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 13 and 14 year old Written bymaddox121 January 19, 2019

Block people, and you're fine.

I own a conservative based twitter and a roller coaster based one... the coaster one gets praise while the conservative one gets mostly hate except for a few people... If you run a small twitter with leftists hating you, simple, block them, they can no longer comment on posts... also, Twitter automatically blocks offensive content. I recommend the same for parents, whoever swears at there children should be blocked, i recommend it for 14+ as kids will probably handle swearing & blocking by then.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Adult Written bycihekac January 5, 2019

Data collection and phishing for your information.

Beware, they will lock your account until you surrender enough information to satisfy their appetite. They will not allow you to deactivate your account until you give them what they want. Bait and switch. You can open an account simply with your email, the bait, then they have your balls!
Adult Written bymrspotts19 November 26, 2018

Fascism in America

If I could give zero as a score, I would. It is beyond despicable that this tech giant acts as a fascist organization in our country. We have a first amendment right to free speech. Twitter has proven time and time again that it is fascist because they censor people who have different opinions and viewpoints. I will never use Twitter again. I'm happy to have closed my account.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Written byAnonymous November 22, 2018

The butt review

Twitter is a good website but like Facebook and YouTube, there is a lot of bad stuff. Some rude and maybe racist posts and a lot of bad language. And if you are the parent that wants to know what your kids doing then twitter might not be the best if a little kid had an account or they will see some bad rude things.
Adult Written byr2d258801 November 20, 2018

This site is very Evil and working with a Foreign country it seems like

They do not care for the military and I have a feeling they are involved in sex trafficking I would keep my children away it is a very evil site

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byJeanRev November 9, 2018

Twitter is Tooooo Controlling!

Dear Twitter!

You guys are way too controlling! Social Media Platforms like Twitter is very unhealthy and way too controlling! When a person writes accurate and honest tweets, Twitter shuts you down and a person can no longer participate.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byWritingLife9 November 7, 2018

Toxic Environment

Guys, trust me. I have been a member since 2012. Please do not bother. It was great in the beginning but it has become so toxic. Everytime I went on there, I saw something worse. Just people calling each other names and being extremely disrespectful. For instance, in one case, this girl just recently lost her boyfriend and posted a picture of them together in remembrance. The comments ranged from,”He is dead now, so does that mean we can date?” and “He’s a corpse. What do you mean you aren’t ready to move on?” Just absolutely the most vile expamples of human on the internet. Not friendly for younger kids either. The very last time I went on there, I was reduced to tears by what I saw, so I deleted my account and will not go back. Twitter usually sides with trolls online and neo nazis. Just overall disappointing and would avoid.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bytruthseeker1969 November 7, 2018

This site is very abusive and twitter somehow seems to be involved in the abuse the people that work there

Twitter has no good intentions in mind. I would steer clear

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySpirit859 October 18, 2018

Liberal greatness

If your a liberal then Twitter is for you. However if your a free thinker and prefer to voice your own opinions vs some liberal talking points then it’s not for you and you will be banned for life like I was. If you disagree with some liberal talking head then you will be banned for life like I was. Twitter is the devil in disguise.
Parent of a 10, 13, and 16 year old Written byDaisy.nate243 June 30, 2018

Boring

Boring app/site but it is not inappropriate.

Pages