Parent reviews for Wattpad

Common Sense says

Teen writers hone craft, get feedback; watch privacy.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 83 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 214 reviews
Parent Written bykathrynlh12 June 23, 2016

What's the problem?

Before I start this review, I do want to say that I was a part of the Wattpad community years before I let my daughter start using it, so I know the website inside and out. I feel that the parents giving this website a bad review just came across a few stories that were inappropriate. Yes, there are stories with mature content, but most stories that have this 'straight up porn' are rated as such.

The community is so friendly and the environment is so healthy for my little girl. She can write a cute story about a prince and a princess or about pirates, and be met with so much support and positive feedback that it's astounding. It gives her endless amounts of self-confidence, and I think that's what they need at this age before they start middle school.

Sure, she'll come across an inappropriate story every once in a while that isn't marked as mature, but it's nothing worse than what she'll hear in school over the next year, so I'd rather her get a bit of literature in there too instead of gossip and immaturity. There are strict guidelines for any storing promoting self harm or rape, and they take those things very seriously.

As for predators, I have never been approached, nor has my daughter, by anyone that treated us wrongly. Also, Wattpad doesn't share your email with anyone, so there's no way that someone could start emailing your child out of nowhere.

If anyone's strongly for monitoring, just share an account with your child. That way, you'll have access and see everything that they see, but I think it's a bit much.

I love this website, and so does my 11 year old daughter. She is always telling me about a good book that she just read or an idea that she got for a story. My favorite thing about this website/app is that it's brought us a lot closer. I know what my daughter's into, what she loves to write or read about. We spend time reading stories together, or even writing them.

I definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in reading/writing for both them and their children.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byEric Rodgers March 9, 2015

Let kids use it

My 10 year old daughter asked me to install wattpad for her and I looked at this website to help me make my decision. This website makes it seem a lot worse than it really is. My daughter had became a very strong reader. We discovered that she can write to. She post stories and people can tell her what they like and what they think about it. I think that this site makes it sound bad when it really isn't. There are very little to no rated R andPG-13 books. Highly recommend. I also am an educator and I allow this site on the school computers and the kids use it to read non fiction books when they can not go to the library.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bytjhq March 14, 2016

Don't touch it!

Thinking this was a reading and writing app and not looking into it carefully I found stories that my daughter had written that were being 'led' into highly dubious directions sexually.

Do not allow your children to participate in this app unless the are fully aware that anyone could comment on your writing or add to your stories to take them on a journey that you do not want. I think this is highly predatory and would never replace this on the iPad.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byKnox April 30, 2016

Parents beware, it's full of hard core porn

I allowed my 14 year old daughter on this site most of her friends are on it writing teen fan fiction...and then I see graphic hard core pornographic stories suitable for an adult bookstore only. Where are the moderator?? This is not for teens, or kids. It's horrible. This app is marketed towards kids and especially young ladies. And there is private messaging.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byColorless Glaceon November 2, 2015

Definitely Not For Kids!

I created an account for this site to give an explanation of why this site is unsuitable for children. I don't think anyone under age 13 should be allowed to access it without stringently moderating what your children are reading.


The biggest problem with Wattpad is its general quality. Most of the site's literature is of far lower standards than your typical published book. Many authors don't give their work the barest form of proofreading or editing before posting it. Of course, not ALL of the site is like this, but the overwhelming majority is. Your children will benefit far more from (mostly, at least) reading books and stories published by professional authors.


Another huge problem with the site is the sheer ease of which your children can access not just explicit, but downright tasteless material. I’m not talking about curse words and the occasional gunshot, I mean depictions of rape, physical abuse, abusive relationships and explicit sex scenes (despite the site not technically allowing such content). You don’t have to look far to find this either. Do an experiment- click the "What's Hot" list in any genre, click the first book that comes up and see how long it takes for you to find something that makes you gasp.


In short, no, this site is not appropriate for your children, not without close supervision at least. Wattpad can do decently well for the writer (if they're lucky enough to get noticed), but for the reader, you will have to look hard to find wholesome, quality content. A trip to the library is much better for your child than a few hours on this site.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byanyas March 8, 2015

Helps readers

It is an amazing story app and it helps kids want to read. I let my 12 year old on it and she loves it. She reads and she writes. I have seen her reading and writing level go up because of this app. Highly recommend it and I love it. My kids love it as well. It is an app that helps my kids and I know their reading!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written byElizabeth V. November 21, 2016

Great for bringing out inspiration and creativity

I see many people commenting on the mature content of this site. I have actually used Wattpad for many years. There is an option to mark a story as mature, and even if the author does not, the people reading it can. There are many different genres. There are some very inspirational books, although I will agree there are very mature books.
Regarding the people that say that "Most" have sexual themes, I would disagree. Many books like that are marked as such and it is pretty obvious from the descriptions. Most of the books I have seen, are very well-written, 13+ (age) appropriate.
People do cuss in books, in everyday life, and online; you can't change that but books that are too inappropriate are often taken down.
Wattpad allows you to talk to other people and add the information that you WANT. In your bio you can have nothing. You don't have to put where you live or a picture of you, or your Facebook page. As for the creepy people on there, there are people like that everywhere. Wattpad allows you to block and report people.
You can't control what other people write, and there are many books like the mature ones. There are books that are written about realistic things. Books that talk about a disorder or mental illness, because people are tired of reading such books that make them sound like something that they are not.
I say Wattpad is very safe, as long as you use common sense and know what you can do to keep it safe for you. If anything, this site is really good, because it can show your children and inspire them to write, like mine. (Sorry for the possible rant :D)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byBlueberry_456789 November 13, 2018

Perfect for young writers

It's perfect for children! The whole 'sexual predator' is a lie. Wattpad has a really safe system. Yes, Wattpad is full of 'smut', but I think that you should really let your children explore. They'll find out about 'smut' eventually, and you can't stop that. It's a perfect place for young writers to read and write.

As long as your child really knows the dangers and is aware of 'haters', and 'smut', then your child is perfectly safe on Wattpad!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byEssbeeme October 6, 2020

Deliberately disgusting app

I'm an adult who's young at heart and loves to read. I'm closing my account. Its a very narrow minded app with a monoculture and girls are in particular susceptible with the need to belong. I would be mortified if my daughters ever used this app. I can't believe these 5 star reviews. It's definitely trash...even in 'innocent' stories the comments and profile pictures etc are unbelievable. The ads the reccomendations in fact the entire app is designed so that our daughters lose their innocence and worse make no mistake about it. There are alternatives I think sometimes you have to be the uncool parent and make difficult decisions to deny children things even popular things. Because once you lose your child that's it. The child will relate to the app and be sucked in by the culture until as parents you are the one disconnected and unable to fix the toxicity that takes over their impressionable minds and hearts. Love your child enough to say NO.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byXil3d March 27, 2019

Great 99% of the time!

this site has very explicit content in about 1 out of every 4000 books (that's coming from someone who writes that kind of story) and a lot of the books on the site are made for children 11+ so they can be entertaining and educational. 9/10 would recommend!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Parent Written byKamylle S. April 7, 2018

Honestly, just don't pick this up. Not for any age.

As other reviews have said, there is quite a lot of inappropriate content, easily found using the search engine in the app.

Beside the fact that any person child could easily read about smut in a wide range of kinky exploits (learned the hard way), without parental control or even a sort of limit on what the kids can read, the content is just... not good.

This may come off as pretentious, but would you really want your kid reading sub par literature (if you could even call it that)? Most of the content is written by teens and young adults, many lacking plot or overarching structure. Stories here rarely stimulate any sort of brain activity. Oh, lord, don't let your kid learn to write using this app. They could express themselves in much better places, where they could learn how to properly write good content!

Now, a good use for this app is to teach your kids what or how NOT to write.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byGab I. May 27, 2017

Just be careful

I believe that Wattpad is okay for teenagers! Yes there can be some inappropriate things on there sometimes, but you have to realize that your child will see that stuff one day. If you don't want your child to see that stuff, just share an account with them and watch what they are reading. I trust my daughter and she never reads anything I wouldn't want her to. Also the "Sexual Predator" thing is nonsense, I have used wattpad since it started and I've never had a problem with people. I have even made some friends. I highly recommend this for your teenager, just watch out for them!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 13 and 18+-year-old Written byhmorgan13 September 1, 2016

Let my DD13 use this app, until I saw the content that was there...

This app is a great place for people to be creative and share stories and get criticism on their works (which are not copy written, so it can be stollen). Down side, anyone can access any content, no matter what the rating, if there even is one. I found TONS of pornography writings. This app should not be allowed for children to use. Sadly, I will have to delete my DD's app and not allow her to use it anymore. All her writings will be lost, as you can't move them to other platforms. There should be an 17+ rating on this. I don't want my young children reading pornography.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 13-year-old Written bymom2015 April 22, 2015

Loads of inappropriate content

Went on to see what my son was reading...sure kids are on reading because they can easily find inappropriate content plus they can message each other including likely predators

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMaria Aleen March 17, 2019

Extremely Shocked

I am astounded from what I’ve read in the review section. Wattpad is an amazing opportunity to express creativity and share your passion of writing to the world. I’m aware there is some content not meant for small children but I’ve been using this since middle school and there is nothing there that I didn’t already know or hear kids talk about. I enjoy this app, it contains great stories to pass time or if you’re like me and you love to read. I felt the need to write this review so you know that it IS in fact a good app and I recommend it to ages 12+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bylol stop February 23, 2019

Mmmm depends

people can write stories that are under the option mature. If you confirm your age as 13-17,you cannot view these stories.Sadly,some people do not turn that on and kids can read away. There is a chatting option open to predators. People can make stories for kids on there if they want. But its mostly fanfiction.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAutumn_Colours_ February 7, 2019

Awesome

So i love this! I am 12 myself and with Wattpad i have been introduced to a whole other wold of dragons and werewolves and magic! i see the whole world differently! Its like a portal that can transport you to somewhere new everyday.
Although sometimes you can come across stuff that you shouldn't maybe 1/100 authors dont tell you about mature content and to be honest with the two years of me using wattpad i have never come across content that i shouldnt see and not been warned about it.
I really reccomend it since it has sparked my creativity and nothing bad has ever come of it!
Awesome
(My Wattpad is @Autumn_Colours_ if you wanted to check it out!)
Adult Written byA Teen Person February 4, 2019

So Supportive!

I started writing on this, and I love it so far! Everyone that I have met has been so supportive, and not all of them are from the US. I have to admit, there is adult topics, but most authors will put a disclaimer to make sure that people that aren't comfortable with the thing that will be happening in the disclaimed area. Overall, I love Wattpad, and I would recommend anyone for it, if they are only a reader or want to write stories!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byJulian W. February 17, 2018
Adult Written byEunicorn January 21, 2018

Fun App where readers and writers can connect

Depending on what stories you read, or the content you choose to publish, Wattpad has different stories for everyone.

Pages