Kid reviews for Yahoo! Answers

Common Sense says

Unfiltered, unfettered answers require a huge grain of salt.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 43 reviews
Kid, 10 years old July 24, 2012

Fine... if you look at the right questions.

I go on this site sometimes because when I search a question in Google, this is what usually shows up at one point. In the "Adolescent" section, you'll find a lot of questions like "I think I'm pregnant, and I'm only 16" and "Should 14year olds be allowed to have sex?" Of course, some questions like that may be useful if that's what you are looking for.
I also once remember reading a troll question where the person said they bought cigarettes for their 5 year old son. Of course, if you skip all the troll questions or questions about stuff you don't need to know, you may learn something or maybe have fun.
As for language, I don't see that much, but if you look up "Most Profane Songs" on there, you might find a few words, like "motherf*cker" uncensored. Also, when I looked at that question, a lot of songs were about sex or referenced sex, but that's what you'd expect, right?
Drinking, Drugs, & Smoking: Some questions might have people saying that they got drunk or maybe say that they are addicted to drugs, but I hardly ever see that.
Yahoo! Answers is good for learning the right things, and some wrong things. If you go on the right questions, you'll do just fine, but if you go on questions that talk about things inappropriate for your age, it's your fault, unless it was unexpected or had a very vague title (I've accidentally looked at questions about sex before because they didn't even mention what the question was about in the title!).

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byNurseDucky January 8, 2010

Simple social network can bring out the good sides of people

Yes, every now and then there is some inappropriate content but not much more. Some stars hang around Y!A such as Lady Gaga (she quit) and Kelly Clarkson (one of my good friends on Y!A) but people will put nice comments and help people!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byJonathan King F... December 26, 2019

Stay away,very far away!

Biased to Democrats and steals your data! Do not join here!
Teen, 17 years old Written byJoe J. January 2, 2017

It's so awful, yet can be funny at times

This site has continual glitches which attract many trolls. Another problem with it is how mean and vulgar everyone can get. There are good people, for sure, but the amount of pornography, hate speech (including racism), impoliteness, and just plain meanness makes it a site to be used with caution. Me, I've got so used to it a lot of the meanness doesn't bother me, but it might for many people.
YA is poorly moderated. For instance there are tons of spammers disguising themselves as Yahoo employees, giving you a number to call for help, and when you report them, they pop up again and again, whether by appealing the report or by making new accounts. Another thing that is frustrating is how when someone asks something and an answer-er doesn't reply with an answer but rather with a mean comment. Now sometimes I support non answering the question since the questions are mean or trolling, though.
However the trolls there can make it enjoyable, questions such as "How are babby formed?" have made my time there worthwhile.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byGooby D. November 17, 2016

Yahoo is awful.

Yahoo is a joke. And not a funny one. Its like Kate Smirthwaite had a bad day and had a gig to do bad. The first thing you will notice about Yahoo is its new, "user friendly" monochromatic everything. This is meant to hide the pure crap Yahoo hides. First off, their customer support is very ethnic and probably illiterate. Email is unstable, servers always go down, can no longer "like or dislike" things you can just have a little heart (wouldn't want to hurt anyone's feeling now would we?) Next is the most frustrating thing about Yahoo. Because there services are easily comparable to human fecal matter, they turn to other companies who make software. They pay to sneak in there products, and suddenly a user's computer is bombarded with Yahoo. When I tried to install Water fox, I accidentally left the "default search engine to yahoo" box checked. Not only did it change my default search, it also installed a variety of files on my computer to keep it that way. Now Yahoo is literally so bad, it is a computer virus. Nice one Yahoo. A good looking interface isn't going to change your awful service.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byKiwiKeelz July 30, 2016

Completely Inconsiderate!

I would not recommend this site for anyone, let alone kids. When looking for homework help, I use Google and it usually leads me to Yahoo Answers where the answers are mostly helpful. From this, I set up an account and was thoroughly disgusted from day 1. I asked an innocent question about my dog, not expecting a comment quoting "idiot" and using capital letters. I decided to investigate this cruel person, finding several occasions where they had been judgmental and nasty considering they didn't know the whole story of people's questions. Not only that, this person was receiving points when hiding behind their computer screen, criticizing and hurting other people.

Yahoo may suspend people who are inappropriate, but people have found a way to swear, be cruel, and comment with willing intentions to hurt people. I WOULD NOT recommend this useless site.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bySalsander February 17, 2015

Can be a useful tool, but contains A LOT of mature topics

Yahoo Answers is a very iffy website for most kids. If googling a question and perchance come across a Yahoo Answers link for it, I'd say it's ok to access the website from this. For school questions (math, science for example. Try to avoid opinionated subjects like politics) and for non-opinionated help in areas like technology, cooking, repair, and the like; Yahoo Answers can have great solutions from people who know what they are talking about. However avoid the Yahoo Answers home page at all costs. There are questions about sex (and they are usually not mature. There are a lot of questions about underage sex). There are questions (or sometimes simply statements) that aim to degrade other religions, races, cultures, and sexes. There's even a surpassingly large number of questions asking how to commit suicide. And all of these questions are not rare occurrences. They happen daily. Unless you are accessing Yahoo Answers to view a specific question, the rest of the site is very iffy for teens in High School. Nobody younger should access the main site.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written byKrystalKlearJello June 1, 2013

Chock full of kids and trolls!

AVOID

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn May 11, 2013

Be careful when asking your questions

Yahoo Answers may be a useful tool for finding answers to questions, but be careful when posting your questions, you won't always get serious answers. In fact, you can get a lot of trolls. If you get a spam answer or troll answers, you should report it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old November 30, 2012

Funny

I love this! o_o This is not for kids under 6. It's funny because of trolls... xD

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byUSCTrojan June 30, 2012

17+

NO KIDS !!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old June 13, 2012

Good site, but a little inappropriate

Good site, but it can be inappropriate for everyone...( I mean everyone) There are questions about sex and a occasionally language is used. Lots of stupid questions on there. Safety and privacy is an issue. You can give out your name and address ( though it's not required.) Also you can't trust everything you read on there. It might just be someone making up a good looking lie just to get picked so they can get ' points.' Lots of people try to sell you stuff on Amazon and introduce you to new sites ( where some of them cost real money to join) There are some positive messages on there, like I like your avatar photo or you ask good questions. Overall, it's a good site, but a bit inappropriate. It's a bit addicting.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byRosebud95 March 20, 2012

Mostly helpful answer site can be iffy

I usually go to this site for questions. it can be inappropriate at times, like YouTube. Overall it's a good site

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebma97 February 5, 2012

Sometimes good, sometimes bad

Like Wikipedia, Yahoo Answers is a place where people can randomly write information on. Most of the answers I've found are accurate, but, since this is the internet, some aren't.
Even if you don't search for anything innapropriate, you can come across related questions. Also, sometimes people can cheat on here because they ask questions about their homework and people answer them.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byLaLa567 January 9, 2012

Great!

I love, love, love this website! Not for anyone under age 12 hands down. But hey....Its fun and addictive!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Language
Consumerism
Kid, 10 years old November 30, 2011

Sometimes its ok...

Its quite good... but some people ask the most ridiculous questions like: My isn't eating, I think he crying, how do I wipe his tears? ' See what I mean? Ridiculous sometimes but if you find the answer you need its fine.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 11 years old August 19, 2011

Many factors change the age range

Even though yahoo requires you to be at least 13, it is good for tweens too. Will your child make a big deal out of the inappropriate stuff or contribute to the pile of adult content? Don't give them an account. If they are mature enough to handle one, it's ok. Some of the avatars are cute, while others are suggestive.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 12, 2011

Good For The Info You Need

I use Y! Answers and understand the pros and the cons. It has helped me a lot to get answers to my questions, and I've also been able to answer some appropriate questions. Certain categories have more inappropriate questions than others. But it helps to get answers to your questions instead of just Googling it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMiloub April 24, 2011

Not really for the kids.

It seems alright, although i have no reasen to reject the site (i'm always browsing on it) It seems such as violent acts and illegal questions, and trolling is popular on the site. Meh, too much of the silly, but very A+!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byAli J March 23, 2011

Useful

Why are people saying only teens can use this? Kids shouldn't make an account on it, but still they can look up questions quickly on it. This website is useful, and there are many different answers for each question, which helps.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages

Pages