Red Queen: Book 1

Book review by
Sandie Angulo Chen, Common Sense Media
Red Queen: Book 1 Book Poster Image
Action-packed fantasy will grip fans of powerful heroines.
Popular with kids

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 54 reviews

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Educational Value

Readers will learn about the way monarchies work and why caste systems are so limiting for those at the bottom.

Positive Messages

Readers will ponder the idea that being different is valuable and important. Mare's abilities make her special and unlike others in her society.

Positive Role Models & Representations

Mare's court tutor Julian encourages and helps her to fit into the society while being honest about the way Silver society has failed. Cal is a rule-follower who believes in the monarchy and the idea that he can make things better for everyone. Mare is bright, quick, and selfless, even when it might not necessarily keep her safe.

Violence

The Silver court hosts gladiator-like fights wherein two Silvers use their special powers to defeat each other. Certain Silvers can see inside your mind and turn you insane/unable to think. A bomb kills innocent civilians. Revolutionaries fight silvers with weapons; Silvers kill with their powers or their weapons. Characters are tortured.

Sex

Some brief kisses, many lingering looks, and a couple of slow dances.

Language

Insults: "weak," "coward," "liar," "nothing."

Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Adults (including teens who are of age) drink at social functions.

What parents need to know

Parents need to know Red Queen is the highly anticipated debut by Victoria Aveyard. A blend of fantasy and dystopia, Red Queen will appeal to fans of The Selection, Divergent, and Shadow and Bone. The story of Mare, a young woman in a world divided by blood -- the Silvers are the rulers and the Reds the commoners -- is full of court intrigue, sociopolitical commentary, and social unrest. There are several violent gladiator-type fights, confrontations, torture scenes, and revolutionary/terrorist strikes that kill characters. With its courageous protagonist, action-packed plot, and romantic possibilities, Red Queen is a winning series start for fantasy and dystopia lovers.

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Adult Written byinfinity101love March 27, 2015

Very Good

this book is amazing i had to read it though for my children though. Your child must be really mature to read a book like this
Parent Written byahuttoLMS February 1, 2016

For fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games

The world is divided between Reds and Silvers. The Silvers live in and around the palace and seem to have it all, but not for long. A rebellion forms and Mar... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byBooklover1231 February 15, 2015

Appropriate, But Disappointing.

I am a thirteen year old and I don't see anything that bad. There is mild kissing, but its not described at all. The Romance is not done that well. The cha... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byrose_10 June 20, 2015

Red Queen was such an AWESOME book!

Red Queen was a really well written book, in my opinion! I would highly recommend this teens looking for a good and appropriate book to read. So many books for... Continue reading

What's the story?

In Victoria Aveyard's debut fantasy novel RED QUEEN, Mare is a 17-year-old pickpocket in a world where caste is determined by blood color; she and other commoners are Reds, and the ruling class are Silvers (who literally bleed silver). She faces a grim future without an apprenticeship or a career. When she turns 18, her only option as a Red will be to join an army at war. When her best friend Kilorn loses his apprenticeship and faces conscription, Mare attempts a plan that fails spectacularly. The night her plan goes awry, she meets a handsome young man who catches her stealing and questions her about her life. The next day, Mare is mysteriously hired as a royal servant to the Silvers, who've gathered at a palace festival to determine which aristocratic girl will be betrothed to the two eligible princes -- one of whom is the mysterious stranger Mare met the previous night. During the competitive display of rich girls' powers, Mare discovers that she possesses supernatural powers unheard of in a Red. To cover up the existence of Red with "Silver" skills, the King forces her to pretend she's a long-lost Silver brought up by Reds. She's also betrothed to a prince, but not the older one she knows and likes. As Mare learns how to appear as a Silver when she's actually a Red, she's drawn to the underground rebellion that seeks to overthrow Silver rule.

Is it any good?

Aveyard packs a lot into a first novel: world building, court intrigue, caste divisions, superpowers, and a main character with multiple possible love interests. Like Tris or Alina, Mare is unique: She has amazing powers in a world where Silvers boast powers but Reds do not; like Katniss in The Hunger Games, she bears the burden of playing a part for society's rulers but secretly feeling a kinship with subversive revolutionaries. She's beautiful but doesn't see it; she's desired but can't maturely navigate her feelings for the Princes: Maven, the sensitive second son she's been tied to, or Cal, the fiery firstborn who's engaged to a nasty, but politically advantageous, match. And like most 17-year-olds, she can occasionally grate on readers' nerves with her indecision and insecurity.

While Aveyard's world-building starts off slow, it grows more complicated as the book continues. Even by the end of the book, readers may not master all the Silver powers, but by then the story is so page-turning those details don't matter so much as figuring out who's lying and who's going to survive to see Book 2. Aveyard's pacing starts off reflective, as young Mare discovers everything about the Silver court for the first time. By the last third of the book, the story is so compelling you can't stop reading. Don't bother trying to figure out the end game; Aveyard is a crafty writer who sneaks in twists and makes readers care, despite a few niggling plot holes and the occasionally exasperating shifts in Mare's romantic feelings.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about the popularity of fantasy-dystopian books that take place in totalitarian or caste-based societies. Why are these stories so compelling to readers?

  • The romance in Red Queen is understated even though the main character has three potential love interests. Did you like the way the romance was handled? Do you expect more romance in the upcoming installments?

  • There's quite a gap between the lives of the Reds and the Silvers. Do you think there are still class disparities and discrimination today?

Book details

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

For kids who love fantasy

Our editors recommend

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality and learning potential.

Learn how we rate