Red Queen: Book 1

Book review by
Sandie Angulo Chen, Common Sense Media
Red Queen: Book 1 Book Poster Image
Popular with kidsParents recommend
Action-packed fantasy will grip fans of powerful heroines.

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 11 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 87 reviews

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Educational Value

Readers will learn about the way monarchies work and why caste systems are so limiting for those at the bottom.

Positive Messages

Readers will ponder the idea that being different is valuable and important. Mare's abilities make her special and unlike others in her society.

Positive Role Models & Representations

Mare's court tutor Julian encourages and helps her to fit into the society while being honest about the way Silver society has failed. Cal is a rule-follower who believes in the monarchy and the idea that he can make things better for everyone. Mare is bright, quick, and selfless, even when it might not necessarily keep her safe.

Violence

The Silver court hosts gladiator-like fights wherein two Silvers use their special powers to defeat each other. Certain Silvers can see inside your mind and turn you insane/unable to think. A bomb kills innocent civilians. Revolutionaries fight silvers with weapons; Silvers kill with their powers or their weapons. Characters are tortured.

Sex

Some brief kisses, many lingering looks, and a couple of slow dances.

Language

Insults: "weak," "coward," "liar," "nothing."

Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Adults (including teens who are of age) drink at social functions.

What parents need to know

Parents need to know Red Queen is the highly anticipated debut by Victoria Aveyard. A blend of fantasy and dystopia, Red Queen will appeal to fans of The Selection, Divergent, and Shadow and Bone. The story of Mare, a young woman in a world divided by blood -- the Silvers are the rulers and the Reds the commoners -- is full of court intrigue, sociopolitical commentary, and social unrest. There are several violent gladiator-type fights, confrontations, torture scenes, and revolutionary/terrorist strikes that kill characters. With its courageous protagonist, action-packed plot, and romantic possibilities, Red Queen is a winning series start for fantasy and dystopia lovers.

Wondering if Red Queen: Book 1 is OK for your kids?

Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Continue reading Show less

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Adult Written byRhonda W. March 7, 2018

My heart melted. (I don't get affected by books that much)

Well for starters I cried like a big baby. I loved it soo much I did't want to let go of it. Maven is everything I expected although I didn't think it... Continue reading
Adult Written bySaffron B. June 2, 2017

No way is this for twelve-year olds.

Few uses of b****. Other than that, I guess there was no swearing. But I would still keep this away from kids that aren't at least fourteen. Some of the vi... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byecbunz February 9, 2016

Wonderful book, a must read!

I loved this book very much. I recommend it for anyone who is looking for a great, quick, read. This book showed many positive messages and displayed the import... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byrose_10 June 20, 2015

Red Queen was such an AWESOME book!

Red Queen was a really well written book, in my opinion! I would highly recommend this teens looking for a good and appropriate book to read. So many books for... Continue reading

What's the story?

In Victoria Aveyard's debut fantasy novel RED QUEEN, Mare is a 17-year-old pickpocket in a world where caste is determined by blood color; she and other commoners are Reds, and the ruling class are Silvers (who literally bleed silver). She faces a grim future without an apprenticeship or a career. When she turns 18, her only option as a Red will be to join an army at war. When her best friend Kilorn loses his apprenticeship and faces conscription, Mare attempts a plan that fails spectacularly. The night her plan goes awry, she meets a handsome young man who catches her stealing and questions her about her life. The next day, Mare is mysteriously hired as a royal servant to the Silvers, who've gathered at a palace festival to determine which aristocratic girl will be betrothed to the two eligible princes -- one of whom is the mysterious stranger Mare met the previous night. During the competitive display of rich girls' powers, Mare discovers that she possesses supernatural powers unheard of in a Red. To cover up the existence of Red with "Silver" skills, the King forces her to pretend she's a long-lost Silver brought up by Reds. She's also betrothed to a prince, but not the older one she knows and likes. As Mare learns how to appear as a Silver when she's actually a Red, she's drawn to the underground rebellion that seeks to overthrow Silver rule.

Is it any good?

Aveyard packs a lot into a first novel: world building, court intrigue, caste divisions, superpowers, and a main character with multiple possible love interests. Like Tris or Alina, Mare is unique: She has amazing powers in a world where Silvers boast powers but Reds do not; like Katniss in The Hunger Games, she bears the burden of playing a part for society's rulers but secretly feeling a kinship with subversive revolutionaries. She's beautiful but doesn't see it; she's desired but can't maturely navigate her feelings for the Princes: Maven, the sensitive second son she's been tied to, or Cal, the fiery firstborn who's engaged to a nasty, but politically advantageous, match. And like most 17-year-olds, she can occasionally grate on readers' nerves with her indecision and insecurity.

While Aveyard's world-building starts off slow, it grows more complicated as the book continues. Even by the end of the book, readers may not master all the Silver powers, but by then the story is so page-turning those details don't matter so much as figuring out who's lying and who's going to survive to see Book 2. Aveyard's pacing starts off reflective, as young Mare discovers everything about the Silver court for the first time. By the last third of the book, the story is so compelling you can't stop reading. Don't bother trying to figure out the end game; Aveyard is a crafty writer who sneaks in twists and makes readers care, despite a few niggling plot holes and the occasionally exasperating shifts in Mare's romantic feelings.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about the popularity of fantasy-dystopian books that take place in totalitarian or caste-based societies. Why are these stories so compelling to readers?

  • The romance in Red Queen is understated even though the main character has three potential love interests. Did you like the way the romance was handled? Do you expect more romance in the upcoming installments?

  • There's quite a gap between the lives of the Reds and the Silvers. Do you think there are still class disparities and discrimination today?

Book details

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

For kids who love fantasy

Our editors recommend

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality.

Learn how we rate