Best Superhero Books for Kids

Looking for a good book for fans of Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and the like? We've got you covered! From picture books for preschoolers to young-adult novels for teens, the books on this list are packed with action, adventure, fantasy, and world-saving heroes. The stories focus on superheroes, kids with superpowers, and even some kids whose parents are superheroes or supervillains. For more exciting reads, check out our lists of Science Fiction Books and Fantasy Books for Kids.

Browse Best Superhero Books for Kids

The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man Book Poster Image
Exciting look at the fun (and fatigue) of being a superhero.
By Michael Chabon
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Dylan the Villain Book Poster Image
Clever, smart, diabolically fun story of kid supervillain.
By K.G. Campbell
(2016)
(2016)
Continue reading
Superhero Joe and the Creature Next Door Book Poster Image
Superhero tale offers sweet lessons about everyday fears.
By Jacqueline Preiss Weitzman
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
The Princess in Black Book Poster Image
Fun tale of monster-fighting princess who leads double life.
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Super Fly: The World's Smallest Superhero!: Super Fly, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Underdog takes on bully in light, fun chapter book.
By Todd H. Doodler
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
The Adventures of Super Diaper Baby Book Poster Image
Superhero comic novel full of slapstick and bathroom humor.
By Dav Pilkey
(2011)
(2002)
Continue reading
Almost Super Book Poster Image
Superheroes vs. supervillains in super-funny tale.
By Marion Jensen
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Ferals Book Poster Image
Dark fantasy has chills, thrills, fresh take on superhero.
By Jacob Grey
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
Minion Book Poster Image
Terrific page-turner has it all: action, humor, and heart.
By John David Anderson
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Return to the Isle of the Lost: Descendants, Book 2 Book Poster Image
Fun villain-kids romp packed with positive messages.
By Melissa de la Cruz
(2016)
(2016)
Continue reading
The Ultra Violets Book Poster Image
Fast-paced girl-power confection made for superhero fans.
By Sophie Bell
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Going Wild Book Poster Image
Superpowered series start has thrills, appealing characters.
By Lisa McMann
(2016)
(2016)
Continue reading
Joshua Dread Book Poster Image
Hilarious saga of middle-schooler with supervillain parents.
By Lee Bacon
(2013)
(2012)
Continue reading
Legend of the Mantamaji: Book 1 Book Poster Image
Superhero graphic novel has African mojo, lacks clarity.
By Eric Dean Seaton
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Greek myths meet fast-paced adventure in boy-demigod tale.
By Rick Riordan
(2005)
(2005)
Continue reading
Sidekicked Book Poster Image
Smart coming-of-age tale costumed as superhero adventure.
By John David Anderson
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
The Mighty Odds Book Poster Image
Fun, thoughtful mystery deals with superpowers, bullying.
By Amy Ignatow
(2016)
(2016)
Continue reading
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 1, Nos. 1-4 Book Poster Image
Quirky supergirl brings fun back to comic books.
By Ryan North
(2016)
(2015)
Continue reading
Miles Morales: Spider-Man Book Poster Image
Exciting, smart, cool version of comic book superhero teen.
By Jason Reynolds
(2017)
(2017)
Continue reading
The Prisoner of Cell 25: Michael Vey, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Suspenseful tale of superpowered teens has a spark of wit.
By Richard Paul Evans
(2016)
(2011)
Continue reading
Rebel Belle Book Poster Image
Witty repartee boosts Southern belle-turned-superhero tale.
By Rachel Hawkins
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Renegades Book Poster Image
Slow start, but much intrigue in supervillain/hero tale.
By Marissa Meyer
(2017)
(2017)
Continue reading
Scorpion Shards: The Star Shards Chronicles, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Kids use psychic powers in exciting, X-Men-like thriller.
By Neal Shusterman
(2016)
(2013)
Continue reading
Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises Book Poster Image
Super-teens clash with ancient history in OK series start.
By Peter Lerangis
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
The Shadow Hero Book Poster Image
Exciting take on a forgotten Asian-American superhero.
By Gene Luen Yang
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Sidekicks Book Poster Image
Fun superhero saga with coming-of-age themes.
By Jack D. Ferraiolo
(2011)
(2011)
Continue reading
Virals: Book 1 Book Poster Image
Exciting story of murder-solving heroine with superpowers.
By Kathy Reichs
(2011)
(2010)
Continue reading
Steelheart: The Reckoners, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Teens stand up to supervillains in action-packed sci-fi.
By Brandon Sanderson
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Wonder Woman: Warbringer: DC Icons Series Book Poster Image
Modern, diverse characters + super action = huge win.
By Leigh Bardugo
(2017)
(2017)
Continue reading
The Young Elites, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Taut tale mixes medieval fantasy, mutant powers, great cast.
By Marie Lu
(2014)
(2014)
Continue reading
Batman: Nightwalker: DC Icons Series Book Poster Image
Suspenseful teen Batman tale leaps from comic to novel form.
By Marie Lu
(2018)
(2018)
Continue reading
Zeroes, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Clever but overlong tale of superpowered misfit teens.
By Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, Deborah Biancotti
(2015)
(2015)
Continue reading
The Twelve-Fingered Boy Book Poster Image
Exciting, creepy horror adventure tweaks superheroics.
By John Hornor Jacobs
(2013)
(2013)
Continue reading
Watchmen Book Poster Image
Retired heroes fight to save themselves in gritty classic.
By Alan Moore
(2009)
(1995)
Continue reading