Books for Fans of John Green

John Green is one of the most popular young adult authors. His unflinching, mature coming-of-age novels hit the New York Times bestseller lists and stay there for weeks, months, years. And they tend to get made into movies. If you've read one John Green book and want more, or you've read all of his books and would like others in a similar vein, take a look at our list. And for more great teen reads, check out these lists: Coming-of-Age Books and Teen Romance Novels.

Love Is a Revolution Poster Image
BOOK

Love Is a Revolution

age 13+

Charming story of teen trying on new identities.

By: Renée Watson (2021)
See full review
The Moon and More Poster Image
BOOK

The Moon and More

age 13+

Savvy coming-of-age tale is great for mature teens.

By: Sarah Dessen (2013)
See full review
Once and for All Poster Image
BOOK

Once and for All

age 13+

Grieving girl learns to love again in sweet romance.

By: Sarah Dessen (2017)
See full review
Saint Anything Poster Image
BOOK

Saint Anything

age 13+

Sensitive romance digs deep into difficult relationships.

By: Sarah Dessen (2015)
See full review
100 Sideways Miles Poster Image
BOOK

100 Sideways Miles

age 14+

Fabulous, thought-provoking tale about a boy with epilepsy.

By: Andrew Smith (2014)
See full review
An Abundance of Katherines Poster Image
BOOK

An Abundance of Katherines

age 14+

Funny, quirky tale of slacker geeks' road trip to Tennessee.

By: John Green (2006)
See full review
All the Bright Places Poster Image
BOOK

All the Bright Places

age 14+

Compelling teen romance tackles suicide, finds hope.

By: Jennifer Niven (2015)
See full review
Eleanor & Park Poster Image
BOOK

Eleanor & Park

age 14+

Intense '80s romance is a fabulous pick for mature teens.

By: Rainbow Rowell (2013)
See full review
Every You, Every Me Poster Image
BOOK

Every You, Every Me

age 14+

Cryptic photos drive emotional novel of teen angst and loss.

By: David Levithan (2011)
See full review
Fangirl Poster Image
BOOK

Fangirl

age 14+

Beautiful coming-of-age story about fandom and first love.

By: Rainbow Rowell (2013)
See full review
The Fault in Our Stars Poster Image
BOOK

The Fault in Our Stars

age 14+

Heartrending love story told by teen dying of cancer.

By: John Green (2012)
See full review
How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love With the Universe Poster Image
BOOK

How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love With the Universe

age 14+

Poignant, funny romance works through serious issues.

See full review
It's Kind of a Funny Story Poster Image
BOOK

It's Kind of a Funny Story

age 14+

Brilliant, edgy story about suicide best for mature teens.

By: Ned Vizzini (2006)
See full review
The Last True Love Story Poster Image
BOOK

The Last True Love Story

age 14+

Offbeat road trip tale shreds barriers of age, background.

By: Brendan Kiely (2016)
See full review
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Poster Image
BOOK

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

age 14+

Tale of dying teen is full of embarrassing comic moments.

By: Jesse Andrews (2012)
See full review
Never Always Sometimes Poster Image
BOOK

Never Always Sometimes

age 14+

Best friends veer toward love in sweet, offbeat romance.

By: Adi Alsaid (2015)
See full review
Paper Towns Poster Image
BOOK

Paper Towns

age 14+

Edgy, compelling teen angst mystery.

By: John Green (2008)
See full review
Say What You Will Poster Image
BOOK

Say What You Will

age 14+

Compelling misfits, touching romance, mature themes.

By: Cammie McGovern (2014)
See full review
Serious Moonlight Poster Image
BOOK

Serious Moonlight

age 14+

Layered, deep romantic mystery set in Seattle.

By: Jenn Bennett (2019)
See full review
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet Poster Image
BOOK

Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet

age 14+

Bittersweet, mouthwatering Latino coming-of-ager.

By: Laekan Zea Kemp (2021)
See full review